Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Secret Garden Shift

Chiffon shift dress with floral bead and sequin embellishment all over."V"-neckline in front and low "V" back. Horizontal strap going across upper back. Lined. *100% Polyester (excluding embellishments) *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 32" Bust (all around): 38 1/2" Bottom Opening (all around): 46" Armhole Drop: 9 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Secret Garden Shift
Review 1 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Amazing details
7.16.2014
"Amazingly beautiful dress. The bead-work on this dress is incredible and the color is just as vibrant as it is in the pictures. Great price for such a well made, detailed dress. Only concern is that the beads tend to fall off quite often."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:TX
age:21-25
body type:petite
Garden Shift Dress
5.5.2014
"This is one of those FP pieces that is so beautiful to stare at (hanging on closet or on). However, I always feel like I don't have the right occasion to wear it to as I feel it's too dressy for every day wear and not dressy enough for formal events. Regardless, I haven't been able to part with it because the beading is gorgeous. Fit is slightly big, which I don't mind as much given it's a shift dress. Very well made piece!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
All that glitters...
3.25.2014
"I love this dress, even if I'm terrified to sit down in it because the beading is so delicate. I own this number in the red and it flatters my skin tone very nicely. I'm pretty curvaceous, so this ends up being kind of short on me and slightly awkward in the chest area. The piece is so stunning however that it outweighs any of it's negative qualities!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Oxford, MS
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
LOVE!
3.2.2014
"I wore this dress for a Mardi Gras date party. I usually wear a medium in FP dresses, but the M was too large in both the hips, waist, and arms. I realize that it is a shift dress, but it was just a little too roomy. I went and got it taken in on the shoulders and under the arms/waist. It then fit perfectly! It was beautiful and intricate! Definitely worth the money to purchase the dress and then get it tailored - It was too beautiful to pass up! I found these awesome BCBG shoes that were black, navy and royal and they matched perfectly!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Obsessed
2.5.2014
"First review on Freepeople
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. I am about 5"4 and a little wider at the hips so I was worried it would get tight below the waist.. and then I got it and it fit PERFECTLY. So if you're a little curvy, do not despair."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:NZ
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Beeautiful Dress
1.11.2014
"I bought this dress in a sz M and it was unfortunately way too big :( I am 5'7 and 145 pounds, the length was perfect but the width of the dress seemed to swamp me. I would go a szie down in this dress if you can afford to with the length. But in saying that, it is a stunning dress and covered in absolutely beautiful beading. I highly recommend!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:University of Missouri
age:14-20
body type:slender
LOVE
11.11.2013
"Baggy in a good way and the beading is beautiful! Hands down my favorite dress! May end up buying it in blue!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:CT
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love This Dress
8.27.2013
"This dress is great! I am 5'3" and about 145 lbs. Carry most of my weight in my mid section. This dress is great as a dress and looks awesome with white or dark blue skinny jeans. Anyone taller would have to wear it with something under it. Love It!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Way too baggy
8.12.2013
"Bought this in an XS, it almost has a square shape, way too wide, it pretty much swallowed me. Lengthwise it's pretty short. but at 5'6 I had no problems it being too short. I do love all the shiny details, not a huge fan of the material though. I haven't worn it out so can't comment on the stability of the decorations, but they seem to be secure. I'm sure this dress would look amazing on someone, sadly just not on me. If you're thinking of buying this make sure to size down 1, maybe even 2 sizes!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Fabulous! But runs a little big
7.13.2013
"I purchased both a SM and MD based on previous comments. I am thankful I did. I normally wear a MD. I am 5'6" 135lbs. The Medium could have worked but the arm holes were considerably larger than the small, and since I am small busted (36B) it just hung too loose. Although the length was slightly longer which I liked.
The small fits wonderfully. This dress is a must have --- as It is extremely versatile. Dress it up, dress it down, jeans, tights, boots, sandals. It's a great purchase. And the beading work is done very well."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Ca
age:31-35
body type:curvy
So sad!
7.1.2013
"I love this dress soooo much! The fit, the sparkles! I sized down to a medium. BUT.... I wore this to a wedding and there were beads all over my chair :( I had compliments all night and it broke my heart knowing it was the first time wearing it and beads were falling everywhere. Even the extra beads that it came with aren't enough to see back on. So sad"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:41-45
body type:petite
Fabulous dress
5.27.2013
"I loved this dress. The beading makes it heavy so it feels like you are wearing something substantial and unique. However, I am 5'3" and needed it to be about 2 inches shorter through the straps. It just hung shapelessly on me. I considered altering it to make it fit but decided to let it go. A petite offering would have solved the problem."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:athletic
gorgeous!
5.24.2013
"wore this dress to a graduation party and was complimented all night! its a perfect balance between fun and flashy, dont hesitate to buy this dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Fort Collins, CO
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous, but runs large!
4.11.2013
"I bought this dress to wear in a wedding, in the navy. I ordered a small, which was pretty loose and baggy. I ordered an XS to compare and am hoping that the smaller size works out! The dress is gorgeous and the beading and embroidery is very pretty."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Gorgeous but....
2.24.2013
"I loved this dress and lusted after it for months. I finally broke down and purchased it- it fits terribly! I looked absolutely ridiculous and it is such a bummer because the dress is so beautiful. Maybe a smaller person could have fit into it better."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Houston
age:14-20
body type:petite
Absolutely gorgeous but...
2.18.2013
"just a BIT too big on me. Although I don't really blame so much the design of the dress but more so my super small stature (darn you Asian genes). I'm 5'3 and 102 pounds and I bought the XS in navy. But even in XS it swallowed my frame and didn't hang at all like it does on the models. It looks perfect when I cinch it a little in the back but because of all the detail it would be impossible to have it altered. Even so, I can't bare to return it and now it sits in my closet in hopes that one day I'll be able to fill it in *weeps silently into hands*"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:usa
age:over 45
body type:slender
this dress i love
2.13.2013
"Really, i love this dress. I caught it in store as an online return and snapped it up. It is well made, I didn't lose any sequins when I wore it, and I got lots of comments on it. I wore it to an art opening but it could go anywhere I feel like. Also usually I can't go braless but with this I could because the fabric is not clingy. I am 5'6", 135 lbs and got the red in a small. It fits perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Miami
age:21-25
body type:petite
Great statement dress!
2.9.2013
"I bought this dress the past summer in a small and I LOVE IT! It is not a form fitting dress in any sense. If you like "shift" or drop waist dresses, this is the one for you! The beauty of this dress is the heaviness of the detailing and lining enables us smaller busted ladies to forego a bra and really show off the lovely back of this dress. Looks great with flats to really showcase the dress. Just be careful what bag and sweaters you wear with it! Have not had any embellishment mishaps yet...."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:slender
if only!
2.4.2013
"I had been obsessed with this dress for weeks, then finally bit the bullet and bought it. Unfortunately, the xs was just too baggy on me to be even slightly flattering. From the armpits to the hips, it hung in a way where it didn't even graze my body and looked like a sack. If this came in an xxs I would be all over it, but for those with a small bust/hip area, I would try to find in a store to try on before you buy online."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Secret Garden Shift
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Loved it!
12.12.2012
"I had been checking this out online, waiting for a reason to buy it. I had a roaring 20s party to attend and it worked perfect! I am 5'9", 140, and I ordered a small and it fit great. I vary in Free People sizes but usually go with a small in dresses. I would say this runs true to size, if you want it to be fitted go down a size. I recommend this dress, very cute and fun!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 2 3 next>>