Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Wakefield Tall Boot

Distressed leather tall boot with darker edges. Brown leather straps wrapped multiple times around the ankle with buckle detailing. Studded metal plate at the back of each heel. Leather sole. *By A.S.98. The designer is based in Verona, Italy. All materials are sourced in Italy with all Italian leathers that are of the highest quality and hand burnished to give them a beautiful rich finish that is unique to each pair. Each boot contains rugged antique details and a thick rubber sole for surprising comfort. *All materials and components are from Italy and exported for manufacturing.
overall average rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Wakefield Tall Boot
Review 1 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Sandy, Utah
age:over 45
body type:slender
Perfect Boot!
5.11.2014
"I love these boots! I bought the brown in 38. i wear a US size 8, they fit perfect. They are unique, stylish and comfortable. I am very happy I bought them!!."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:over 45
body type:petite
Show-stopping Boots!
4.27.2014
"I was a little skeptical about purchasing these boots as I am short and petite, 5ft. and 102 lbs. I was worried the boot shaft might be too tall for me. They are still below my knee and the leather is flexible enough to scrunch down if I want, which is great! I did have to take them into a cobbler to stretch out the widest part of the forefoot as they seem tight and irritating. The inside of one boot has a seam right across the big joint. The other does not. Stretching did the trick for me. These are definitely show- stopping boots! Everyone wants to know where I got them! I was also thrilled with the price!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Wichita, KS
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Sweet, sweet boots....
4.12.2014
"These boots are great! I ordered them in brown, and the color is nice and rich, like the photos. Soft leather, too. The strappy details just make them look even cooler, a little tough : ) As to sizing, I normally wear a size 9, but my feet are on the wider side so sometimes I have to size up to a 9.5 if the style of shoe runs narrow. I now own 4 pairs of A.S. 98 boots and I have found that I can get away with both size 39 and size 40. The 39 is more snug, but not uncomfortable. The 40 is looser, but not so loose that it slides around too much. I've found that all of their boots are comfortable and don't require much, if any, breaking in time. I hope the size info helps. These boots are a steal at the sale price, and you should snatch them up while you can! I would love to see more styles from this brand, as I have been completely enamored of each pair I have purchased so far!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Heart Strings Lace Up Dress
3.8 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
age:41-45
body type:athletic
My favorite boots
4.6.2014
"Gray color is awesome . Boots look very good and really good quality. Leather very soft. Im wearing them almost with anything and they look hot. Really recommend ."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:South Lake Tahoe, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Not for me...
3.27.2014
"I liked these boots but I did not think they were worth the cost. They need to be more distressed like they are in the picture... I did like the slouchy part. very cute..."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:36-40
body type:petite
Seriously, could not live without
3.27.2014
"I've been drooling over these boots since September but could not bring myself to spend the full price on them. When I saw them go on sale, I jumped on them right away. They are so super comfortable and will go with a ridiculously broad range of styles. I got these in the brown and they are not as vibrant as the photo, but I'm super OK with that because I actually like them better not as bright/shiny.
I usually wear a 5.5/6 so I got the 36 and they fit perfect. I wear them way more than I should. People are going to think I only have one pair of boots!
Deff grab these if they still have your size. Highly recommended.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Tenneessee
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful but....
3.25.2014
"Well I listen to the reviews and ordered up a size and that was a mistake. They do run a bit narrow but true to size in length. These boots were really beautiful and soft but I had to return them for a smaller size. So I got my new size today and was so disappointed in the boots I received. They weren't as nice as the first pair. They had scuff marks on them and looked like maybe they were a display shoe. The color wasn't the same as the first pair.. I was very sad but had to send them back."
Response from Free People:By Free People3.26.2014
Hi mcdougal1,

We're sorry to hear about your Wakefield Tall Boot. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Disappointed
2.25.2014
"I wanted these boots for a while and was so happy when they went on sale! But, once received my enthusiasm waned. First of all they arrived in a shoe box with no packing material, no tissue and nothing inside the boots shaft so they were all wadded up in the corner of the box as the shaft is an unconstructed leather. Secondly, the shaft leather isn't that nice in my opinion. Thirdly, they run small. I wear a size nine and got the 40 and they were VERY snug and short. All in all just a disappointing experience so the boots went back. :("
Response from Free People:By Free People2.27.2014
Hi Valentina888,

We're sorry to hear to how your boots arrived! Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to make this right.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous Boot But....
1.13.2014
"These boots are gorgeous. I wanted them to fit so badly. I am a size 10 in all boots and these ran too small. If you have larger or wide feet, and bigger calves, these boots just won't work. They are beautiful though and the leather is so soft. I am so sad that they didn't work out for me! But if you're a skinny minnie, which I am jealous of, these will work for you!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Aspen CO
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Very Styley!
1.11.2014
"I love these boots...was very happy when I received them as I was expecting great things with such a price! Very high quality, the grey is not as dark as picture shown, but a very lovely color indeed. They do run small...I wear an average 8.5 (8-9) and ordered a 39, I have a narrow foot/ankle. I had to exchange for a 40 as they are just a tad snug and I know I won't wear them unless they are completely comfy. the ankle is definitely a tight fit, but zipper goes to floor which is great. I love the notched top and will wear them year round in Colorado as they have a great rubber rim around the sole that will help (I hope) on slick snow surfaces. Go for it, you will love em too!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
Very cool boot with a few fit issues
12.16.2013
"I agree with other reviewers, this is a very beautiful boot in scrumptious leather. It fits a little on the small side in the toebox if you want to wear it with an insole, and the leg opening is big and has a slanted styling that looked kinda funny and did not work on me, i am petite and have slender calves. I think these would look amazing on someone taler with fuller calves."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
stunning boots
12.8.2013
"Absolutely stunning boots. I got the grey which is just gorgeous. I cannot wait ti wear these boots. They will be real keepers. So well made so I can understand the price. True to size. I always wear 37 and they are perfect!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Nice but uncomfortable
12.2.2013
"I ordered these in the green colour, and they look gorgeous. However, they are really stiff and not comfortable at all. Also, the leather straps are really poor quality. For a pair of boots at this price I really expect top quality and comfort throughout, so I returned them."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Ashland
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love them!!
11.11.2013
"I just love them! When I first saw them on the website I was like: these are what I am looking for! But I was a little hesitate because I was afraid that 36 would be a little small for me (I wear 6 or 6.5 normally), but I decided to give it a try anyway. It was amazing, everyone gave compliment on my boots and asked where I get them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beyond cool
10.20.2013
"These boots exude confidence. They tell people the wearer is a woman who knows herself! Super soft leather (I was worried that might make it baggy around the ankle, but it's structured enough to not look baggy) and the ankle straps are adjustable. The olive color is deeper and richer and more sophisticated than pictured. The toe is b/w rounded and pointed, which looks very cool. Super comfortable. I'm a size 7.5-8. Only 39 was available but it fits perfectly. They're a combo of sleek equestrian and rugged cowgirl. Totally cool."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Santa Cruz
age:41-45
body type:athletic
gorgeous and a little small
10.19.2013
"These are stunning in person. They look fabulous on and even if you have athletic calves they can accommodate them beautifiully. These run small. I will be returning them for the next size up. I'd say they run about a half size small so if you are between, round up ;) Amazingly crafted."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great boots but..
10.7.2013
"I was so excited to get these boots in green because I thought I found the perfect boots for this year. When I opened the box, they have that wonderful new leather smell. However, although the color is a deep green color, there is no luster to the boots like there is in the picture. The boots look rather dull and are very narrow in the foot. I will keep them, but if I had seen them in person before buying them I certainly would have thought twice about spending so much money on them."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Excellent.
9.12.2013
"These boots are as wonderful as the other reviews let on. I bought the green in a 41 (size 10) and they fit like a glove. The leather has that wonderful smell to it and is super soft. My calves (15" calf circumference) are no where near as thin as the model, so these boots hug my calves in the most comfortable way. They fit my leg exactly, but I know they will stretch with time and wear. The shade of green is absolutely perfect: not too much or too little. The actual weight of these is really nice because tall boots can be heavy and clunky and these are anything but. Everything about these is excellent. They are wearable right out of the box."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:31-35
body type:petite
Gorgeous boots
9.11.2013
"I had just bought a great pair of very expensive boots so wasn't planning to buy another but the green boots caught my eyes. I decided to order it online to see how it looked in person thinking that I would most likely return it as I normally like simpler boots without too many buckles or straps. I ended up loving the boots and have decided to keep it. The boots look really great in person. The leather is soft and the gorgeous green color is subtle and beautiful. The metal at the base adds a lot of visual interest without making it gaudy. The label says that the boots are made in Bosnia."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Wakefield Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Vestal, NY
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Most beautiful boots of the season
8.31.2013
"I'm a boot fanatic--multiple pairs of Fryes and Freebird by Stevens and Fluevog and Faryl Robyn and many others, and these are the most beautiful boots I've seen. The photos don't reflect how beautiful these are at all. The leather is butter-soft and top quality, and every little detail is stunning! There's even the impression of a wolf's head on the sole. I have the green, and the color is very resonant and deep, and the inside is a rich creamy tan. These roll down easily for a different look as well. Just gorgeous!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large