Product Reviews

Capone Oxford

Distressed leather oxford flat shoes with lace-up front and stud detailing. Rubber sole. *By Jeffrey Campbell for Free People *Leather Upper *Import
overall average rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Capone Oxford
Review 1 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Malaysia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfection in Black Leather!
3.25.2014
" Reading previous reviews left me a bit skeptical/hesitant to order these but they were so beautiful that I bit the bullet. Let me tell you, absolutely no regrets! Immediately taking them out of the box they had that lush real leather smell. They did feel stiff at first but I wore them today with socks and they felt great. No doubt they will soften in time. They aren't quite as distressed as in the pictures, that's true, but I still love the look of them. Definitely true to size. I'm a true size 7 and bought the 7s. They are narrow-ish though so maybe order half a size up for wide feet? The soles also aren't as padded as JCs usually are so my feet were a tad sore after standing in them for a long time. The insides were a lipstick red shape so that was a nice surprise. Wish that the shoebox was a JCxFP special box though instead of the typical cat sweater. Overall, these are the perfect oxfords to edge up your look. I couldn't be more pleased with them. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
like the idea
11.4.2013
" I just ordered these shoes in the black/tan. While they are cute and I like the idea of the shoe, they are not what I expected. They look a little cheap compared to the price of them. Also, mine were scuffed along the entire toe area. The leather just does not look good. I may send them back. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:UK
age:36-40
body type:slender
Don't fit well.
6.26.2013
" I really loved these shoes and ordered before FP opened up the returns option in the UK. They felt snug when I first tried them on, but because the leather was so soft (and returning seemed expensive), I thought they'd give and I judged the next size up would just slip off anyway. I've had them a while now and unfortunately they 'gave' in the wrong place. So, the shoes are tight and small round the front of the foot but rhave gone big at the sides/back, so nippy toes and saggy sides. Not impressed for the amount they cost. Not impressed at all. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Utah
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
LOVE
6.1.2013
" I bought these shoes in the taupe and they came exactly as pictured! I originally went with a 6.5, my true size, which ended up being too tight so I exchanged for the size 7 which fit perfectly. They are super comfortable and it only took me about a day to break in. Love wearing them with everything!! Definitely worth the money. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Very Dainty
5.28.2013
" These are very tight and small, narrow... almost like ballet flats. That makes them very feminine and less work friendly and more casual. I'd hoped they would be good work shoes, but definitely not. The material is great, the rubber sole, the studding, just don't suit me. Maybe if they were more like an oxford and less like a dance shoe. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Runs small and tight
4.26.2013
" I bought a black and tan pair in my usual size and they were at least a whole size too small. Unfortunately, the next size up is unavailable. I'm waiting and hoping for a pair to get returned so I can order up. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Gauged Shoe
3.13.2013
" My Mom ordered these shoes for me as an early graduation present for finishing my Master's degree and I muse say I am very disappointed. The shoes I received look as though they were previously worn. They are scuffed all around the black leather in the front, the soles of the shoes appear worn, and there is a scratch on the left shoe. I work at a leather goods store (Dooney & Bourke) so I am familiar with how leather wears, but this is ridiculous. The pictures make the shoes look as though they've already been polished but mine look dry. These are issues I expected to have in the future, not straight from the packaging. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.15.2013
So sorry that you received your shoes in this condition. We will be in touch to provide further assistance. Congratulations on earning your Master's degree!! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Boston, MA, USA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Another great oxford
2.19.2013
" This is another great leather oxford from JC for Free People. I fell for these shoes the minute I saw them on line. They fit TTS and the colors of the leather are exactly the same as they are represented on the website. I ordered the black and tan and really like the combination. Another great thing about these shoes is that they are a nice, buttery soft leather and after the first wearing, they seemed to be like a favorite pair of shoes I've had for years. They fit so nicely and did not cause any discomfort or blistering. I really like how they have that vintage AND edgy look about them. The brass studs are secure and really add to the style of the shoe. These shoes are not bulky at all, and almost feel like a slipper. I would recommend these shoes for wearing in all seasons, even in summer with a belted denim dress for example. I would order the size shoe that you normally take in most shoes. As far as the price goes, not bad for a great, comfortable leather shoe, worth every penny! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Washington
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
I'm in LOVE!!!!
2.11.2013
" I absolutely love these shoes. I have been looking for the perfect pair of oxfords and I have finally found them!!!!! They are great quality and look just as stunning in person as they do in the picture. I wear a size 10.5 to 11 usually but I just had to try these. They are snug, but I am going to keep them and try to stretch them out by wearing them with big socks. They were too perfect to pass up! I suggest trying these out if you are looking for a good pair of oxfords. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Knoxville, TN
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
cute
1.16.2013
" The color is very nice. They fit true to size. These shoes are very classy while also being very rock n' roll. Free People, Jeffrey Campbell, good work. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:new york
age:21-25
body type:petite
ugh
12.2.2012
" I got these shoes for a graduate school interview, but ended up being unable to wear them. I tried on a size up and a size down and ended up deciding that they run true to size.
THAT BEING SAID, i tried to break them in a couple days before my interview and could only stand about four hours of CLASS time in them (i was sitting for most of it and wearing socks). They are so stiff. They tore up the top of my foot at the knuckle of my big toe so BADLY that it's way past blister and looks more like a horrendous rug burn. At the moment, it's so bad (four days later) that I can only wear super low flats or flip-flops.
They're super cute, and I haven't decided if I want to return them or hope that they'll break in better because everyone else has such positive reviews. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Los Angeles Area
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
too small
11.30.2012
" I was so excited to receive these oxfords, but once they arrived I found them a little too snug. I usually wear a 8.5 in Jeffrey Campbell, so I was surprised to find out that these babies were too small. They sure look beautiful though, and also come with a cushioned inside for extra support. I will send them back and order the 9 instead. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
age:26-30
body type:slender
NEW FAV SHOE
10.28.2012
" They fit true to size. When I first took them out of the box I thought they looked too new and clean, but once I put them on I fell in love. I have worn them with dresses and jeans. They are my new favorite everyday shoe. Super cute. I get compliments on them everywhere I go. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:nuevo shire
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great shoes!
10.4.2012
" I'm so happy I decided to purchase these shoes! They were a little uncomfortable the first time I wore them, but I am somewhat in-between sizes on all shoes, so I expected that. These shoes are definitely going to be a staple that will last in my wardrobe for a very long time! If you're looking for a cute pair of oxfords, I would highly recommend these ones! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:New Jersey, USA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
AWESOME!
10.4.2012
" I have had the black and tan pair for about three weeks now and i get complements every time i wear them because they are so unique. They look just as they do in the picture and go with almost every outfit but because they're leather you will have to experience a little discomfort while breaking them in. I usually wear a size 10 but had to get the 9.5 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:PA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Perfect in every way!
9.11.2012
" Just got these in the black/tan combo and I can already tell they are going to be my new go-to, everyday shoe for fall. Looks great with jeans, dresses & tights, cute slouchy socks & shorts - i just love them & so glad that FP brought them back! Fits true to size and are comfortably broken in after one all-day wear. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:Arctic Tundra
age:over 45
body type:petite
Comfy shoes
9.7.2012
" Agree with previous reviewer that these are totally comfy shoes. Just enough bling to make them stand out without going over the top. I purchased these in the black on black and they look exactly as pictured. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Capone Oxford
Name:
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
My favorite shoes
9.1.2012
" Confession time: I bought these exact shoes from Free People nearly two years ago, and as soon as I saw them in stock again for September 2012, I bought a second pair. Not to wear — yet — but to keep in the back of my closet in case my original pair ever become worn beyond salvaging. These are beautiful, classic, sophisticated, light, comfortable shoes that are perfect for almost every occasion and outfit. I've walked so many miles in these shoes (my job requires a lot of walking) I've had them resoled. It is completely worth it — the tops gain more character as you wear them. These are keepers. If I had to pick a single pair of shoes to wear every day for the rest of my life, these would be the shoes. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large