Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress

Fit-n-flare mini dress with colorful floral embroidery on each sleeve. Low scoop back. Fitted waist. *67% Rayon, 28% Nylon, 5% Spandex *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 29 1/2" Waist (all around): 27" Sleeve Length: 13 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Review 1 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA, USA
age:31-35
body type:slender
Good fit + scratchy sleeves
8.28.2013
" I am 5'7" and I ordered a size medium, in the hot pink. The fit is quite good, and the waist seam fits right where it should on my waist. #I've been pairing the dress with a belt# The open back isn't so low, that the shoulders of the dress fall off your shoulders, they stay quite well in place. My only complaint is that the embroidered flowers are not lined beneath the sleeves, making for a incredibly scratchy arm. I will be layering this dress, or lining it myself. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
I really wanted to like this dress but...
4.13.2013
" I was so excited to receive this dress in the mail. But when I got it, the seam on one of the shoulders was crooked. It made the shoulder gap up and no amount of resettling would change it. I was so sad to return this dress because other than that crooked seam, it looked phenomenal on me! It actually fell to just above the knee on my short frame. The mulberry color is as bright as it looks online and the stitching is simply gorgeous! What's best is that you can actually machine wash this dress. For reference, I'm 5'3", 135lbs, measure 37-29-38, and the medium was perfect. Really disappointed that I had to return it. I would buy it again but the girl at the store said they were out :( I highly recommend for hourglass figures! The crooked seam is the only reason I knock it down from 5 stars to 3. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
It's just okay
3.23.2013
" Other than the price there wasn't anything fantastic about this dress. I got it in an XS white and I'm 5'4". 103lbs. It didn't fit my small frame right and it was too long. I also felt the embroidery on the sleeves were itchy. I decided to return this dress and saw that it was on sale for $29.99 at the store, which is $20 less than what it's sold online. I still decided to not keep it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:IL
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
mixed review
3.22.2013
" I really like the quality and look of this dress. However, it does slide off my shoulders at times. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:new york
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
love it
3.20.2013
" I got other FP dresses in store before and I'm familiar with what size fits me well. XS fits as well as usual and didn't feel shoulders dropping off. Nice material. I was concerned with the sleeves before I got it. But it fits well and love the embroidery. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Austin
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Just ok
2.8.2013
" I think if I could've got this dress in black it would've been a nice fit. The white was a little too long for my petite. I didn't have a problem with the shoulders falling down like everyone else. The fabric and embroider is pretty but again the white looked funny on me. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Rockland, Maine
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
True to size
2.6.2013
" Based on my other purchased dresses from Free People, I went for an extra small. Generally the dresses fit a little on the roomy side. I am 5'4'' and 130 lbs. I have small shoulders so extra smalls generally fit perfect. This dress on the other hand is true to size and the extra small was a bit snug. I love it but I exchanged it for a small. Like the other reviews stated, the shoulders are a bit wide and I can see how they might slip off. Also, it's a bit on the short side, but what isn't these days? "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
love love love!
1.27.2013
" I tried this on in store but I ended up buying two other dresses instead... I waited about a month and just had to have it. I have gotten so many compliments on this piece. It's heavy and warm so I think it's perfect for every season but summer. The delicate scalloping at the neck is so cute and the embroidery is absolutely gorgeous. I'm 5'6 and about 130 and I tried the xs in stores and it fit but was snug, I sized up to a small for my online purchase which gave me a little room. Another great thing is that the white doesn't show sweat... I work at a place that requires nice clothes but I'm constantly running around and I love that I don't have to worry about the fabric darkening if it gets damp (eek). Overall great dress for a great price. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Practical and cute
1.26.2013
" I wore this dress out last night to a local bar and was waiting by the bathroom. A guy comes up to me and asks me where I bought my dress. I turn and say "Free People. Would you like one as well?"
Sass aside. I got compliments from several people (not just the guy) for this dress. Cute, girl, and practical...will be wearing this a ton. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
pretty little dress
1.5.2013
" I ordered the dress online in black, size medium. It is a pretty and unique dress with a nice feel to it--kind of Spanish meets ballet. The material is thick and stretchy. The other reviewers were right that it suits the busty among us--I am a 34 H and the medium fits well (usually I have to size up to accommodate my chest). The dress is a little short, even on me--it falls to about mid-thigh (I'm 5' 3"). The embroidery is brighter and more red than it looks online. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:slender
Not good for smaller girls
12.31.2012
" I tried this dress on in the black and white colorways. Both very cute, but I could not keep the shoulders up--too roomy even in an XS. The roomy top area also made the scoop in back fall too low to wear a bra (which you need with this dress as it's clingy). If you are broader-shouldered and/or have a larger bust, this dress should be fine. Really wish it fit me as it's a great length to show off legs! I am 5'6", 100-105 pounds, small B cup. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:NY, NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful but runs a little big
12.19.2012
" I was at the store and really wanted to buy this dress . The fabric and embroidered sleeve is gorgeous, but the xs was it was a little big on the top bc the back is a low scoop. If you have bigger breasts this dress should fit real well. I would have gotten it but since it's winter and I don't think I'll be wearing this dress as much as I would be if it were spring, so I'm holding off. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Ontario
age:14-20
body type:slender
Good Quality
12.18.2012
" it's pretty good quality. Considerably thick fabric for a dress. The detail is really nice. I was going to get the black one but changed my mind and got the white one instead. It is a little big. I'm 5'5, 34B, and i usually wear a small. I had to get an extra small for this dress. For some reason though, the black xs was a bit shorter than the white xs (might just be that specific dress) and the other problem is that the shoulder do occasionally slips off but its not a big problem (just twist the 'hanger ribbons' around your bra strap). nevertheless, i really like the dress! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Beautiful fit and gorgeous sleeves
12.17.2012
" I absolutely love this dress. The scoop in the back is just low enough that it doesn't show your bra. The fabric is thick enough too that it hugs your body just right. My ONLY complaint is that the sleeves kept slipping a little bit off the tops of my shoulders and exposing my bra strap (the simple fix is to wear a strapless bra next time).
I am 5'5'', 130lbs, 34B bra. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Buffalo
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
The sleeves make this dress worth it!
12.11.2012
" I saw this dress on a sale rack in my local free people store and knew I just had to have it. The embroidery on the sleeves is intricate, well made, and beautiful! I found the dress ran really large though. I am usually a small or a medium in fp and this dress I had to buy an xsmall. The material is very stretchy and fits nice. I have worn it twice now and I keep getting compliments on it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:British Columbia Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Sweet Dress
12.9.2012
" I liked this better in person. i liked the creamy white color on line but black was nicest in person. i think the embroidery looks nice and is of good quality. The dress can be casual or dressy. i will warn you that it is tight in the arms and i debated between a small and extra small because of the sleeves. i would recommend this dress and i am glad i bought it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:LA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
amazing!
12.2.2012
" this dress is super flattering. i had trouble deciding between the white and black, but decided to go with the white. i am 5'10 slim and athletic, i usually wear a medium but went with the small. it is truly a high quality flattering dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:NY, NY
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Awesome fit
11.27.2012
" I just tried this on in the store and it is most definitely on my Christmas list! Or I'll get it first...I've bought free people dresses before and I'm usually xs and this dress was no different. I am typically a 2 dress size and I'm 5'6" 125 lbs if that helps. The waist comes in right where it should and the length isn't too short which I hate on dresses. The sleeves fit well too, and the neckline is really flattering (ballerina cut) as is the scoop back. Can't wait to wear it with tights or high socks and boots! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful, but not for petite
11.14.2012
" I ordered this dress in black, it was very high quality material. Although the sleeves were not as bright (colorful) as I wanted, I could have overlooked for a sweet swing skirt but it just ran too big. I am normally XS or 0 petite and this is just not designed for petites. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Garden Sleeve Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Slovakia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
sleeves do not fit tight, pretty embroider, though
11.5.2012
" I have received this dress today and I am going to return it. The reason for it is the sleeves – I was expecting it to fit tightly on the arms like you can see on the model. But the picture is misleading, though. Simply the cut of the sleeves is not tight fitting – it is a wider cut. It also runs large. I usually wear S for tops and M for bottoms. I found the S size to be too large for me – if I wanted it to clinch in the waist I would definitely have to exchange it for and XS. The material is stretchy, so it is better to downsize. I was thinking about exchanging it for the smaller, but it would not solve the sleeve issue, so I decided to just send it back. I have to say that the embroidery is beautiful, though. Very eye-catching. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>