Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress

Gorgeous embroidered open shoulder dress with ruffle hem and angel wing sleeves. Crochet on upper chest and back. Beaded tie detail. *80% Cotton, 20% Rayon *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 29 _" Bust: 28 "
overall average rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Reviews for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Review 1 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
A Definite Favorite!
9.19.2011
" This is def one of my all time favorite FP pieces. I can't think of anything about it that is not perfect. I purchased the coral color as soon as it was released. I measure 38-26-36 and wear a 36C bra. I ordered my usual M as I was not aware it was so roomy. Although it is voluminous, I don't think size matters much unless you are worried about length. The dress is so flowy and is honestly just so flattering (even on a bustier gal like myself) that I would not worry about accepting a larger size (I kept the M) if your usual size is sold out. That said, everybody could size down in this dress, especially if you prefer less fabric. The coral is such a beautiful color; rich but not overpowering. I love all the textures going on with this dress: the crochet is fabulous and the cute self stripe of the fabric adds interest. I am 5'5" and find the length perfect..mid thigh. The length provided by FP online does not include the shoulder straps, so this is not overly short at all. Unlike many other reviewers, I don't find the dress too sheer. I certainly would not add a slip. I feel it would take away from the breezy feel and drape. A nude strapless bra and panties work great for me. :-) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:14-20
body type:slender
Perfect lounger.
9.2.2011
" This dress represents everything great about FP. It's just a total winner! I ordered the tea as I am not really a fan of the other colours. I am a very slender build with a tiny waist and small hips and bottom, just under 5'11 tall, and after reading the reviews decided to order the xs. I have to say, it fits perfectly on me. I am perhaps a little taller than the model online (wearing the tea colour) but not by much. I prefer to wear the dress on it's own with nude legs and heel boots, but I sometimes wear with sneekers if I am lazing at the beach or park. I was a tad concerned about the length as I never wear underwear, but needn't have worried as the hem just about covers my bottom, so nothing is visible whilst standing which is ok. It's a little sheer but not so much that you need to worry about. As other reviewers have said, if you if you are more prudish you can always wear a slip or something underneath, although personally I think this would be a little uncomfortable and ruin the free flowing look of the dress. My thoughts are that, if you ARE more prudish, and a string or thong is not enough and must wear something under it, then I would suggest a pair of boy shorts or hotpants. But even then I would still suggest wearing nothing under it up top as it really isn't that see through I promise - and no ugly bra straps to ruin the look or feel of the dress. It's just super comfortable and loose fitting and great to wear when it's hot and barmy. Just as an aside, I wore it out to a club a few weeks ago with a pair of pure white thigh high stockings with lace detail at the top along with pretty black silk ribbon bows on the front of each, 6" heel suede ankle boots, a black and Jade French beret and Bohemian bangle sets - and was the best dressed girl in the house!! And was continually told that by just about everyone I bumped into!! Now that's what I call a result!! Cute sexy day dress turns into sexy sophisticated evening dress at the drop of a.. err.. hat.. lol. FP - you are the greatest, and fast becoming my fav store on the planet!!! Girls you have to buy this dress if it's the one item you buy this year. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Memphis, TN
age:31-35
body type:petite
So chic! A wardrobe MUST!
8.8.2011
" I was out shopping the week before my birthday, and ran across this charming dress. It is slightly sheer, so I paired it with a nude strapless slip and voilà! It was perfect! I wore it to a nice birthday lunch, and it was so breezy and fun! The color (coral - which I had never been brave enough to try before) was incredible, and I received so many compliments! The silhouette is very chic, and I think the color of the dress would be accented beautifully with some turquoise jewelry! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Of Two Minds About This
8.2.2011
" I can't decide if I like this dress or don't exactly. Pros: the sleeves are gorgeous and dramatic, the colour (coral) is rich and gorgeous — a lovely, flattering pinkish red, more like the picture in the lookbook than the one with the model — and the little stripes you can vaguely see in the pictures are actually sweet little rows of cross-stitch... so cute! Single con: it's totally shapeless through the torso. Basically, my female friends love it, but my male friends do not (and no kidding). Belted, it's alright, but there's so much excess fabric, that it sort of bunches in an odd way. TTS though; I'm 5"6 and 125 lbs, and the xs fits just like the pictures. Other details: as the other reviewers said, it is sheer, but you might get away with it at night, and for day, it can pretty well be remedied by a slip. All in all, the dress is really feminine and cute, and if its shapelessness doesn't offend you, it's really a great piece, but know what you're getting! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Cute dress/top perfect for almost any occasion
7.28.2011
" I ADORE this dress! I tried it on in-store and it was love at first sight. It is perfect for lounging, beachware, and, my favorite look, belted with a snazzy pair of trousers or super flare jeans for a bohemian/peasant look. It does run large; ordinarily I wear a small, but the XS was the best fit for this piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7.27.2011
" I love this dress! its fun and pretty and fits comfortably! Its my favorite thing Ive bought from FP! I recommend this dress to everyone but especially if your curvy or thicker in the middle, it hides all that! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:26-30
body type:petite
So Much Fun!
7.27.2011
" I fell in love with this dress as soon as I saw it on line. I ordered it for a trip to Miami and was pleased with how it looked in person. I would recommend the coral because the material is a bit sheer and looks more casual in person. I am a size 2/4 and ordered the small. It is really loose on me but I like it oversized becasue the hem is rather short. I paired is with a lepoard 1/2 cami and some sky high wedges for South Beach and had a ball!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:md
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Cute, sheer
7.24.2011
" Bought this and it is really cute, but you have to wear something under it since it's really see through. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
Tea stain darker in person
7.15.2011
" Tried on the tea stained color in XS. It is darker in person, doesn't bother me but just letting anyone know you is interested. I am 5'3 and the length was good, not too short. 34D bust 33 hip bone 36 hip.. size was nice but since I am busty it poofed the stomach out a bit. I LOVE the sleeves and it is such a fun dress to wear. I provided a side shot photo so you can see the effect it may have on larger busts. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Wow.
7.15.2011
" This is definitely my favorite free people piece. I am 5'3" 115 lbs, I got the xs and everything about it is perfect. The dress is loose but still very flattering, it coud use a slip, and falls about 1-2 inches above my knees. I bought the tea and it is a beautiful neutral color, I would definitely recomment this dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:West Chester, Pa
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great Summer Dress!!!
7.15.2011
" I just bought this at Free People yesterday I was at first thinking it would be to big, but I was pleasantly surprised. I am 5'8" and 140 and i got a small, which is my normal size it fits perfect. The tea color is exactly like it is picture on the website! It is a bit see through so i recommend getting leggings to go under it other then that it is a perfect summer dress =) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE
7.13.2011
" Bought this beautiful dress yesterday and I absolutely love it! The dress does run very large so be sure to go small. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Loosely lovely.
7.10.2011
" If you love loose fitting dresses, then this one is for you! The name of this piece is exactly what it is an angels dress. Beautiful light and airy...loved it in pink, would LOVE to see this in plain white. Size small fit loosely for a 115lb 5'4 frame. I'd size down on this one ...You'll love it nonetheless. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Scrumptious
7.10.2011
" As amazing as previously stated. I have it in the Ivory which has a different look from the coral. The Ivory is a bit less beachy in my opinion. The length is short, but long enough to not be confused as a tunic. Gorgeous draping, full w/o looking shapeless. A must have! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Gorgeous
7.8.2011
" I'd been craving a top or dress in the open shoulder style for so long that I knew I had to snatch this piece up instantly. I tried it on in the coral and tea in my usual size in the store. First off, I have to say that the coral is much more stunning and rich looking than the tea in my opinion. I was also happily surprised by the fabric and crochet detail as it looks much more beautiful in person. I bought my usual size (Medium) and it is a looser fit, but I think it goes well with the style of the dress. At 5'8", it was a nice surprise to see that I could wear it as a dress with something like a bike short or legging underneath. I personally like to tie the top of the dress because it allows the beautiful crochet to be more visible. Some things to keep in mind: you will need some kind of bra (I wore a bandeau) and it will be slightly visible, so it should be neutral or match the dress. Also, I found the dress was ever so slightly sheer, so some people might be more comfortable with a slip underneath. For the casual days of summer, though, I think it's perfect as is. The long angel wing sleeves are a gorgeous contrast to the short, flirty length of the dress. The only minor complaint I have is that it gets slightly wrinkled, but I think it goes well with the casual aesthetic of the piece. I got so many compliments wearing it for the first time. Friends wanted to borrow it for a day at the beach and graduation parties. This is definitely one of my favorite FP pieces and I highly recommend it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Best dress on the site right now...
7.5.2011
" OKay, I think I've said that a dozen times, about a dozen different dresses, but I love this dress. The fit is off the hook cute, and it hangs exactly as pictured on the model. I went with my usual size, a small, and at 5'2" the length is JUUUUST right. An xs would've fit (let's face it, this is a billowy dress) but would've been too short. I think your best bet for sizing would be to pick a dress based on length. (I tried on a large because that was the only size left in the coral at the store, and truthfully, the body hung about like the small did.. the the bust hung lower and the sleeves were a bit longer, but mostly, the length was longer.) I'd say to call customer service and find out how long different sizes are. I can say that if you are in the 5'2" - 5'5" range, go with a small for sure. (Maybe if you are usually a 12+ go with a medium... at least order 2 sizes.) ALERT!!! The stores have this dress in a beige/tea color and it is about 1,000 times better than the coral - which is cute and all, but it's not the most flattering shade, and with all that fabric, you risk looking like a walking tomato. So yeah, you might want to call customer service and find out if the web is getting the beige in, or if any stores have it in your size in the beige.... AWESOME DRESS! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Very Feminine
7.1.2011
" On a recent trip to New York City, I saw this @ the 5th Avenue store and its georgeous. I am 5'7' so the dress is a bit short for me,so I will wear it as a tunic with skinny jeans and heels. As the other reviews noted, the fabric is thin, so keep that in mind when ordering. The color is very vibrant, although the store also had it in a neutral tan color which was just as nice. I wear an 8-10 which is unusally a medium, but I had to get the xs. I would definately recommend going down a size. You'll love this one! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:14-20
body type:petite
As Cute As It Looks!
6.26.2011
" I'm obsessed! I'm 5'2 and got a small. I was worried that it might be too long, but it's perfect! It would look flattering on anyone. The color is fantastic. Everything about it stands out. I've received so many compliments everywhere I go. It's definitely one of my new favorites from Free People. The material is kind of thin so a nude thong is a definite. Other then that, I definitely suggest getting it! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Angel Wings Open Shoulder Dress
Name:
Location:Houston
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Perfect summer dress
6.24.2011
" I purchased this dress the moment I saw it and I'm so happy I did. I bought my usual size small and it fits a bit loose but I couldn't go any smaller mostly due to the length. It fits me exactly like the model. It is sheer so nude panties or a slip are a must. It's super comfortable to walk around the house in but to go out, I belt mine with a high waist belt. This gives some shape to the dress and doesn't make it too much shorter in length. This is a must have for the summer! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large