Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Danced To Pieces Mini Dress

Metallic embroidered velvet mini dress with heavily beaded upper back. Subtle "V"-back. Lined. *65% Viscose, 35% Nylon *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 34 1/4" Bust (all around): 36" Armhole Drop: 9 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Review 1 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Western Australia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Too big for me :(
4.17.2013
" This dress is exquisite and wonderful quality. I ordered the sea mist colour which is even nicer in person and a great buy at the sale price. Unfortunately it is way too big for me. I am normally an 8 but ordered the 10 because I didn't want it figure hugging tight - it just looks TOO big though. I wish FP did international exchanges. Or bring FP to Australia!! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.17.2013
Sorry this size didn't work out for you! We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
The fit is a little off...
4.13.2013
" I wanted to like this dress so much. Unfortunately, as other reviewers have mentioned, the fit was funky. It was fitted from the hips down, but loose in the top. It was really unflattering. Other than that, the material is high quality and the beading is stunning. I guess it just wasn't made for hourglass figures. It is TTS. My usual FP size fit really well. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:petite
Stunning but fit is a bit off
3.15.2013
" I ordered this dress in the mint green in size 6 (I am usually a 4-6 and 34D bust, but have hips size 2-4). The fit was very boxy on me; top portion was a bit loose, no waist definition whatsoever. The velvet is also shiny and sturdy, and the dress is made very well. I didn't have any problems with the arm holes being too large - you can definitely wear a bra underneath the dress. I also wore the dress backwards to see how it looked - looked great, but the mesh/beaded part is a bit see-through so keep that in mind. The fabric doesn't stretch at all. The hips were loose enough to allow comfortable movement and no clinging to my body, but I will exchange for the size 4 and hopefully it will fit me better. The mint green in person is also more rich in color and a bit darker than what the photos depict. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Bay Area
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Surprisingly stunning
2.24.2013
" This is a great versatile dress. The fit is comfortable and flattering and the material is great.
I have worn the dress out by itself for more formal occasions, but I've also worn a long sleeve tee underneath with leggings for more causal outings during the winter.
Key feature--the fabric is pretty thick so.....it can hide a food baby. It is my go-to dinner dress for this reason. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Runs very small, but beautiful dress
2.2.2013
" I bought a size twelve dress because I would rather it big than small and I had to get next day shipping in order to have it for my event. However, the dress was SO small in comparison to the picture. I normally buy a size eight or medium from free people, but after reading the review I thought best to go bigger, and I am happy I did. Although it fit like a bodycon, it still looked great and is very comfortable, however it didn't fit on me like it did on the model. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:manchester
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
It is so amazing
1.25.2013
" It is such a beautiful dress. I don't understanding why is it not sold out yet in this reasonable price!! The back is so OMG pretty!!! I didn't know the texture of the dress is velvet before it arrives. It is so gorgeous!!! I am usually a UK 6/8 in top and size 26 in jeans. My height is 170cm. I ordered US 2 after reading other's review. However, it is so loose on the top for me since I don't have bog boobs. The length is fine for me since it is not too mini cut. I will exchange for a size 0! cant wait to wear it to a party!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Oxford, MS
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
adorable lbd
1.22.2013
" This dress is so beautiful. The fabric is so rich and the beading is so elegant. Because it's a shift dress, I sized up from my usual 8 to a 10 and it fit perfectly. It's a little big in the shoulders but just right around my hips. I can't wait to wear it for a date party in february! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:British Columbia Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Well Made
1.14.2013
" The person who reviewed the dress from London is someone who has given a very accurate description. The material is lovely,soft and velvety. The beading is well done. The mint color is beautiful. I have very slender hips and a bigger to average chest and this dress is made small. I normally wear a 2 and thankfully ordered a 4 instead. It does fit loose in the midsection. If it was not for the slighly off fit it would have gotten 5 stars. The fit would not stop me from ordering it again. The other reviewer is right too as it would look awesome with the mint kabucha cuff thermal under it. This dress is a steal at the sale price. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
This dress can be your good pick too!
1.11.2013
" I normally wear size 4, but I ordered size 6 of this dress after reading others' review. That was right decision. The dress is so pretty and reasonably priced! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Stunning Beading
1.7.2013
" I bought the black dress and the beading is so unique and eye-catching. It stands out a lot better than the beading on the turquoise version. The front also has a little pizzaz since the beading extends onto the front of the straps. It is great for the holiday season or going out to a nice restaurant. I am 6 foot tall, 150 pounds, and the size 6 fits well. It is more of a shift dress than a form-fitting one, but the fit gives it a very nice, elegant look. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Odd fit
1.2.2013
" I saw this in the store and loved the mint color and beading on the back, it was very striking. Unfortunately it was a very awkward fit on me. It fit snuggly in the hips yet was very baggy in the waist, I even went down a size and it was still way too loose in the waist on me. Perhaps if you have small hips it will fit you perfectly as a shift dress, just did not work on me. It's a pity because I do love the design. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Amazing dress!
1.1.2013
" I bought this dress in black and wore it for New Year's and it was perfect. So comfortable and fits really well. I am 130 lbs, 5' 4" and got a size 4. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Gorgeous must-have piece
12.13.2012
" I had gone in person to the store and this dress, in the mint color, made me turn my head. I live in blustery Buffalo, NY so at first I was going to walk away because I thought it impractical for our weather as well as a little too dressy for my mostly casual social affairs. With a little creativity I tried the Kombucha Cuff Thermal in the seafoam green underneath and wore the dress as a jumper. Looked terrific! I even turned the beautiful back part around to the front and it was even prettier! (shame to waste the beautiful embellishment on the backside where it can rarely be seen!) Very artsy, dressy casual, and warm without being stifling...the thermal is a medium weight. I plan to wear this outfit with tights and dress boots in a grey or taupe color. I am a size 4 in all my other clothes and the size 4 in this product fit perfectly (I am 5'5", 120 lbs, have a straight, slightly athletic boy shape and I am small on top). I am also thinking of purchasing the black since it is a piece that will be able to be used for many years. I have the Kombucha cuff thermal in the boysenberry as well and would wear this under the black dress. Very excited! Highly recommend this lovely piece! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Weird shape, still cute
12.11.2012
" I agree with what the other reviewer said about the shape being not a shift, yet not a bodycon. I have the size 8 (UK size 12) and I think it's about true to size around the hips as a fitted shift dress, but then the top half is really loose and kinda shapeless.
The pictures in the model make it look loose all over but I think that's because this model has NO hips. I would say this dress looks much better on a woman with curves rather than the model shown. The fabric is thick and substantial so doesn't move a great deal or cling
The issue i have is with the straps - they're really long and the arm holes are really low. So it's tricky to wear.
But on the plus side the fabric is gorgeous and the back is really special. And it doesn't look/feel as though it'll fall apart. I'll still wear it!
"
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
beautful
12.2.2012
" The color, sizing and everything about this dress are perfect. Perfect for a Christmas/ New Years party! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Danced To Pieces Mini Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:26-30
body type:slender
Such high hopes!
12.2.2012
" I am SOOO bummed! I have been eyeing this dress and waiting for it to come into my local store. It is the perfect XMAS dress but unfortunately is way too funky of a fit. I am normally a size 6 and the 10 was still tight on my hips. It fits like its in between a body con style and a shift. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large