Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Patchwork Plaid Flares

Multi-tonal, distressed wash patchwork plaid flares with stitch detailing and distressing all over. Patched detailing with frayed edges. 4-pocket style. Zipper and button fly closure. Super soft cotton feel.
overall average rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Review 1 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:USA
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Very Cute Pants :)
9.14.2013
" This is a very nice and light summer pants. Be aware that they do stretch alot after you put them on so I would suggest to get one size smaller. I am 5'6" 145 lbs. I got size 6. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Amazing addition to any boho/ hipster look!
7.29.2013
" But a bit big. I have a 26" waist around my navel but I wanted them to sit at my low waist near my hips (which is 33") so I got the size 6. I probably could have gotten a 4 to achieve this result, but the store only had 6 & 10, & I didn't want to wager on buying online & having them be too small because of the reviews about the upper thighs being tight, which they are, but not excessively. If you have big thighs I would steer clear but mine have some muscle to them & they fit just fine. My only complaint is how long they are! I'm 5'5" with a 34" inseam & these fell a good 5" below my feet. I'm debating hemming them but the patchwork gets prettier as you get towards the bottom, so for now I'm undecided & just let them drag the ground (with boots on of course! I wore them once with flip flops & got the bottoms filthy because I was walking on them more than the ground). One of my friends is 6'1" & the length fits her perfectly for that "just brushing the ground wearing flip flops" look. She had the Romana sandals on & it looked amazing! To shorter girls: these are worth the buy if you want to hem or work to get stains off the bottom. Don't let length discourage you if you really love them! (The pic below shows me wearing them with the Romana sandals & how far they drag for me) For tall girls, these are your boho dream! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Joplin Tank
5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
New Modern Fedora
1.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:21-25
body type:athletic
usually a 25/ size 0 worked
6.20.2013
" These are so nice! If you are looking for a pair of boho pants that are SUUUUPER casual unique and cute, these are it. The bottoms of the pants do appear sorta of dirty as pictured, but they are soo cute. The fabric is super light. I plan on wearing these a lot this summer. It is not heavy denim but feels like it is made out of cut up denim button down shirts. Super comfy. I usually am a 25 in free people and the zero fits good, with a little bit of room. These make your butt look great! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:socal
age:36-40
body type:slender
BIG fan
6.14.2013
" These pants are amazing. I love all the details, the stitching, the color combo, the ombre. There are so many great things. The flare is just right. I bought my usual size 6 (5'8" 135#) and the fit is good, but after wearing them, they do bag out. I have to belt them to avoid the droopy butt look. But I still LOVE them. The material is thin and comfortable. I can wear them with wedges without hemming, but I will probably end up cutting them so I can wear them with flatter shoes. SO many compliments too which is always a plus. Get them before they are gone! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:95076
age:21-25
body type:petite
If only they had made them to last!
4.22.2013
" Although the design is gorgeous and unique these are so fragile they would rip if you tripped and fell the wrong way. There is no stretch whatsoever and so they just kinda sag, making them totally unflattering. Why oh why couldn't these be made of higher quality fabric? Also, there were -several- patches coming off. I must've gotten a return that someone else had already worn out. If it had been made out of sturdier, or at least stretchy fabric I would've loved to have owned them, even with defects! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.23.2013
So sorry these didn't meet your expectations. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:Scottsdale
age:over 45
body type:athletic
fabulous retro pant!
3.10.2013
" I LOVE these pants! They are lightweight and comfy and PERFECT for AZ weather!! Not to mention I had several pairs of this exact style back in the 60's . Depending on the fabric, I either wear a 29 or 30. If they are stretchy, I wear the 29/8. Since these came in 8, 10, etc, and were not stretchy, I wore the size 10, which is probably a 30. There is no give at all in these pants, and you want them somewhat slouchy, so if you are in doubt, get the bigger size. :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Very Thin but cute
12.31.2012
" The fit is true to size, I am 5'6" and the hem was just a bit long, not too much though. I won't need to get these adjusted as with some FP pants. These pants are definitely thin. The fabric is not something you could wear in 50 degree or below weather. The pants are more for summer or if you live in a warmer climate. They are fun and creative and although I live where there are cold winters, I will keep these for the upcoming spring and summer months. There is no stretch in these pants at all. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Patchwork Plaid Flares
Name:
Location:Arctic Tundra
age:over 45
body type:petite
Lightweight but very long
12.27.2012
" I wasn't sure what to expect with these flares, but I ordered them anyway just to try them out. I usually wear a size 27 in FP denim, and purchased these in a size 4. The fit is pretty tts, however they are super long on me. I think I can hem them by carefully taking out the embroidered stitching on the inserted flare part of the pants, and then restitching the embroidery after fixing the length. This is truly patchworked fabric and not printed like the corduroy flares earlier in the season. The fabric is lightweight, more like chambray rather than denim. There is no stretch to the fabric, however the pants did loosen up a little after trying them on and moving around in them. The trouser pockets on the front are a nice touch, and the pockets on the back lie flat. Funky and definitely eyecatching, they are a fun addition to my FP wardrobe. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large