Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Mexican Wedding Dress

Stunning high-low maxi dress with intricate floral embroidered detailing and crochet inset all over. Fitted at the waist. Cutout back. 3/4-length sleeves. Please note: This dress has ivory embroidery, not the multicolored embroidery featured in the January catalog.
overall average rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Reviews for Mexican Wedding Dress
Review 1 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Wyoming, USA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful dress.
1.29.2014
"I love, LOVE how this dress fit me and looked from the front. Gorgeous! Hit my curves wonderfully. I had a problem with the open back. It was unflattering for me but I wish it hadn't been. I returned this lovely item."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:China
age:21-25
body type:petite
so cute!!
1.14.2014
"I feel so lucky to order the last white one in stock!It is absolutely gorgeous.I ordered this one for my future wedding and it fits so well.I'm 5'4'' and size 2 is perfect!Cannot wait to dress on it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Mexican Wedding Dress
3.9 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Littleton, CO
age:41-45
body type:petite
Stunning!
1.4.2014
"I just bought this dress in the off-white. It is absolutely gorgeous. It is even more beautiful in person. It is very innocent and sexy at the same time.
This dress runs true to size. I bought the size 2. For reference I'm 5'4" 116 lbs, 32D. and it fit perfectly.
I think this dress is very well made. I'm very pleased with this purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:slender
Day of the Dead Wedding ~
11.11.2013
"My daughter wore this dress on her recent wedding day In the mtns. of N.M. on a gorgeous sunny day outdoors . She wore the ivory in her size and it was a bit L, we took it in a bit at the waist/back. It was also long in the back and someone had to hold it up as she walked .It was absolutely stunning on her w/ the Pieced Lace Scarf in Ivory as her veil and her Frye boots. The bridesmaids wore the Viscose Convertible Slip in Storm and i wore the Scallop Chevron Maxi Slip which is blue w/ the New Romantic Jilly Tee in the blue over it .The flower girls wore the Ruffled Up Cami in the soft blue . This was the PERFECT MEXICAN WEDDING DRESS , well made with a simple elegance ,exactly what she wanted . Everyone was beautiful and i was so happy with such stunning choices that i did not have to search far and wide for."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:'bama
age:21-25
body type:petite
this was my wedding dress [picture]
8.26.2013
"I ordered this for my wedding, and other then having to take it up some at the shoulders, it was perfect! I've read some of the other reviews, and I can see how they would think it is poor quality, but if you're wanting a truly organic and bohemian dress, this is the one for you. There were a few loose threads when I received it, and the embroidery is asymmetrical, but that just adds to the charm of the dress. Loved it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Usa
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Arg
7.13.2013
"I agree with many of these other comments. I loved the dress and wanted to wear it for my wedding, but I couldn't get my hands on one that was in good condition. One that I ordered had makeup all over it, a dirty hem, and rips in the embroidery on the front; another was in better shape, but was already tearing in the back. The material seems too delicate to be worn (or even tried on) multiple times. The whole experience was very frustrating, and because of the timing of backorders, mailing, and trying to decide if I wanted to pay to have it repaired, I ended up with store credit rather than a refund. In short: lovely dress in theory; poor quality; awful shopping experience."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.15.2013
We're so sorry to hear about this! Our team will be in touch to help!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Mexican Wedding Dress
6.29.2013
"While I did think that the dress was beautiful, it undoubtedly ran small. Generally I wear a six, but when I noticed that the girl who was modeling it on the site was wearing a size six (and was much thinner than I am), I thought I'd be safe with ordering an 8. This wasn't the case at all, and in fact I couldn't even zip it up."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Sacramento
age:31-35
body type:athletic
sadly disappointed
6.27.2013
"I will say that this dress IS beautiful. BUT the edges of the dress seem to frey easily and over all quality is shoddy at best. Though the sizing of the body seems right on target the arms are incredibly tight causing me to size up for adjustment. The dress that I received must have been a previous return because the train of the dress was filthy and there are make up stains on the inside of the bust area (foundation and what appears to be lipgloss). Shame on FP for not checking over their items carefully before sending them out again."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.28.2013
We're so sorry to hear that the dress arrived in this condition. We'll be reaching out today to help!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:31-35
body type:petite
Very Nice Dress!
6.27.2013
"At first I wasn't sure about the white so I ordered the black instead and I find it much more wearable than the white. It does run a little larger. I'm 100 pounds and 5'4". But it works nicely with a belt around the waist. I like to dress it down with some funky boots and jean accessories. Super cute and fun!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:switzerland
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
I love this dress BUT...
6.20.2013
"I've dreamed of owning a dress like this, now that I have it uh...well. First of all: regarding the quality, it's ridiculously overpriced. My dress arrived with a lot of seams fuzzled out. The zip looks as if it won't survive long (the dress is overall a bit loose on me but it gets stuck anyways). And on the embroidery on the front there seems to be some kind of plastic, which is in between the embroidery and I can't take it out without destroying it. I don't know what that is supposed to do there?!
The fit of this dress depends a lot on the size of your back. Because of the elastic around the cut out, it may be loose there. Then again it's great for women with a bigger bust, as it will be comfy for sure.
Another issue I had: my dress arrived dirty. Now this is a delicate fabric and I can only wash it cold or have it dry cleaned. I don't know who is responsible for this (either the customs or FP), but it's a pain anyways (I will complain by the post office too, as I live in europe and just sending it back is no option after having had paid 60 bucks on the customs...).
If it weren't for the plastic and the stains though, it would still be my perfect dress.
"
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.21.2013
We're so sorry to hear that the dress arrived dirty! Our team will be in touch to help with this! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:slender
Shoddy seams
6.19.2013
"I bought this dress for an actual wedding dress, and it is beautiful. I love the color and fabric. Unfortunately, the seam along the bust was coming apart upon arrival. Now I have to exchange it, which is a tad inconvenient. I'm afraid my size will no longer be available to get a new one! Would be an easy fix to stich up, but I would expect a higher quality from FP."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.19.2013
Hi! We'll be in touch to help with an exchange and make sure you get the size you want. xoxo!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:San Clemente
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Disappointing!
6.10.2013
"I ordered this dress in ivory- size 2 for a possible wedding dress. The only positive thing I can say is that it fits true to size. The length and fit was perfect, except it was a little more snug in the armpits and arms than the rest of the body. I wasn't at all pleased with the quality of the dress. There were loose end threads coming out all over and the seams were very loose like they were going to split. And to top it off I noticed that the dress had been worn before, as there was a food stain still on the dress and another spot that looked like it was rubbed out which made very noticeable hole on the rear. I love free people and have never had any problems with previous orders, but for the price of this dress I would hope that it would've been inspected before it was shipped off to me. This dress will be going back, I just hope someone else doesn't end up with it!!"
Response from Free People:By Free People web6.11.2013
We're so sorry to hear this! We'll be in touch soon to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Plain & Pretty
6.4.2013
"Five stars for how lovely this dress is. On fitting, its a bit off though. I'm 5'9 and the trim of the dress touches the floor. I can wear a 4 or 6 in FP dresses, went with 4 and its roomy in the back part."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:costa mesa, ca.
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
cute but cheaply made
6.2.2013
"I wore this dress a total of 3 times before the fabric started to peel and then to top it off the zipper busted. So for the price with taxes was over 200 I would suggest not buying the dress. The dress also runs a little large so I bought a size down. It is now being fixed by my tailor which annoys me off."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb6.3.2013
So sorry to hear that - we'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:US
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Very Unique and Sexy
4.13.2013
"I bought this in black. It is true to size - I ordered an 8. The detailing is gorgeous and I don't see why I can't wear it all year around. Its beautiful. I'm very happy with this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:slender
Not great on me...
4.3.2013
"I ordered this in both black and ivory ( black when the ivory sold out..)The black arrived today and although is a beautiful quality, the fit is not great on me anyway.I ordered the size 0 and although it fits perfectly, the style does not suit my body shape. I am petite and this dress makes my hips look very wide- yuk! Very sadly it's going back.."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Philly
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Runs a bit big...
3.29.2013
"I bought this dress in both the black and the ivory and absolutely love it. I've never left a review before but really wanted to point out for those with questions about the fit that it does run a little loose, especially in the waist because of the elastic at the back waistband. I'm normally between a 4-6 in FP and wear a 34D in FP bras and I actually bought a 2 in this dress and can get into it without even using the side zip because the waist is so stretchy and since the back is open the chest is almost free size. Hope that helps anyone wondering about sizing in this dress!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Mexican Wedding Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:curvy
the perfect long dress
3.12.2013
"I've been wanting to invest in a long sleeve dress in awhile but often times I feel like they look unflattering. This one is not only flirty and feminine but sexy with the open back. I got the black in a size 2 and shows off my figure well. very happy with this purchase. I recommend buying it fitted because it could look weird having the loose open back area."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large