Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

We The Free Distant Star Top

Super soft oversized Hi-Lo thermal top with half sleeves. Rounded hem in back. *We the Free brings us back to our down-to-earth, All-American roots, made mostly with casual cottons that have a lightly distressed and perfectly worn in feel.
overall average rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for We The Free Distant Star Top
Review 1 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:San Clemente, Ca
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Versatile and comfy
1.15.2014
" Just got this top in the mail, and I love it. I normally wear a M in Free People, unless it is really baggy. I ordered the small, could have possibly gone with an XS. I will probably be ordering this in every color they have. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:Texas
age:31-35
body type:curvy
cute but didn't last
1.7.2014
" I got his top in the cream. I wore it maybe 2 times and holes started popping up everywhere! So, I'd say it's definitely delicate. I had to throw it out as there was no way to repair. I did like the style, and I sized down for a fit similar to the models, if you still want to try. But, it definitely wasn't worth the money to me or maybe I just got a lemon! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Goes with everything
1.2.2014
" Great shirt. I've been wearing short/long shirts long before they were popular. This was great choice now that are much easier to find. These shirts go with just about everything. They are super sheer you'll need an undershirt. They don't provide much warmth either but the look is great.
I'm 5'6 and have an athletic/ muscular build. the small fits perfectly.
SIZE DOWN. Even though you may think to yourself no I always wear the same size.... Free people's sizes have changed and I wear at least a size smaller in everything now if not 2 sizes.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:iI live in Portland Oregon
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
awesome!!!!!
10.31.2013
" I received this top in Ivory as soon as they came out and have never been happier....I am a total fanatic on hi/low hems....I love an extremely long back on my tops, generally...I have worn this top a lot....whenever I see a cool way to layer it....since I got the ivory it is now sold in camo and black two more of my fav colors....ordered the black yesterday....Can't wait....will be ordering the camo asap....not too crazy about reds so I will prob pass on the raisin color.....It is very long and roomy but the ivory was a med and I love the fit so I stuck with that size even though I have gone down a size in all my clothing...I still want to be sure this top is big....so so comfy too....really soft and def. see through.....Have some fun with it....belting it is wonderful especially if you are blessed with a small waist....:) enjoy!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:houston
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Great Shirt
10.29.2013
" I have this shirt in olive and ivory and always receive compliments on it. I see just today there are new colors - need to snatch them up in my size before they're gone! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:Vancouver, BC
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Definitely size down
10.25.2013
" I wear M but for this piece I bought an XS and it was perfect. At 5 ft tall I thought it might be too long for me but nope - not at all. I got compliments from co-workers on the day I wore it with black leggings. I chose to wear a black camisole underneath to keep warm and comfortable. But that may be optional depending on the weather. I love how soft and flowy the fabric is and also the 3/4 sleeves showcases jewelry like bracelets, watch, etc. I may buy other colors as well. I put it in a mesh bag, threw in gentle cycle and it came out alright. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Truly love this new staple piece!
10.23.2013
" Received the Distant Star top today & I am in love! It is a great basic for everyone's wardrobe. I like that it is thin (to keep you cooler) and the 3/4 sleeve. I have the black and only needed a dark bra underneath. I went a size down and it flows nicely and gives you a shape. Perfect with sweater leggings for the length! (I am 5'7", so length is needed for me!) A must own!! Cannot wait to get more colors :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
age:26-30
body type:curvy
sheer goodness
8.3.2013
" First let me say....AMAZING!!! just got this in the mail after waiting 20 days!! it is PERFECT! for reference I am 5'6, 145lbs, 34DD and I can wear anything from a S-L depending on style. After reading the reviews and looking at the sizing details I decided to grab a small in the cream color and I am glad i did. it fits like it does on the model. It is semi-sheer, soft, beautiful, flowy and my new favorite item to turn to for ANY season. whether it is with printed leggings, tucked in the front of denim shorts or a cute denim skirt, or layered with a dress this top is a MUST HAVE. SO GLAD i got it before it sold out and I HOPE they bring this back in other colors. Absolutely beautiful piece. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:toronto
age:over 45
body type:curvy
gauzy goodness
6.20.2013
" Oh yeah, I love this top, I wear it with everything, leggings, shorts etc, it's just fantastic. I bought it in the green and it looks amazing. I don't know about the white, I was worried it might be too see through, but this top works on so many levels, it is big so size down ladies. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
biiig....
6.11.2013
" got the light color...love the style but it fit way too large to be comfrortable on me. I am petite so i am rather confident this is why. 5'4'' 100 lbs...the light color and sheerness is just as depicted..would totally have kept an XXXS "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:Jersey
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love
6.2.2013
" I love this shirt, It can be worn over legging, jeans or shorts.... It runs large, its a nice oversized fit! Just beware it does snag pretty easily... I am going to get the green... MORE COLORS PLEASE!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for We The Free Distant Star Top
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:36-40
body type:athletic
High/ Low
5.24.2013
" I didn't know what to expect with this shirt/ tunic but I was really surprised once I had it on. With cropped leggings or jeans it really does have a relaxed feel. It will also be great as a swimsuit cover up and since it is so light weight it doesn't matter that it is long sleeved. I would love it if it came in black but it is a versatile purchase. and I would recommend it to all body types. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large