Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress

Vibrant floral printed maxi dress with crisscross tie detailing at each side of upper bodice. Pleated detailing at front of chest and upper back. Adjustable shoulder straps. FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
3.92 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Review 1 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:over 45
body type:curvy
GORGIOUS COLORS
4.11.2014
"I purchased this for my mom for mothers day. My birthday is also on mothers day this year so I am planning on getting her some fantastic items for her wardrobe. I think she will love this one especially with the beautiful colors going on. Cant wait to surprise her with some awesome stuff from fp.xoxoxo"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Love
1.5.2014
"This dress is great! The floral design is beautiful and the construction of the dress is excellent. The straps can be shortened by tying the strings on the side tighter, and it looks cute with no bra (it isn't see through at all) or a lace bra underneath showing through the side. Runs true to size. I highly recommend this!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Pretty Dress, Not Quite Perfect
10.15.2013
"So I normally wear a large in most FP clothes, but will occasionally fit into a medium if the top or dress runs large. Since plenty of people said this dress ran big, I took a chance and ordered the medium since size was in stock, and I don't know if the large will return (considering this isn't a new item). It fit nicely overall, but there are a few details that make me wish the large was in stock. First, I have a large bust (36DD) so the straps along the sides did gap quite a bit (I was able to tighten the sides, but not enough to get the top comfortably closed, but I don't think that's the point of this dress anyway). This isn't that big of a problem for me, since I will most likely wear it with a shirt on top, and usually wear a long cardigan over sleeveless dresses. Plus, I think wearing a pretty bra with lace panels on the sides would be sexy through the openings. I was also able to tie the straps behind my back, which made this more figure flattering for my curves. The second, and primary, issue I have is with how tight the arm hole is. I was under the impression that the ties along the side and the shoulder strap were one length of fabric and that I could sacrifice the sides a bit in order to not have the straps be quite so tight beneath my arms. I was able to arrange them in such a way that it's ok, but it's not the most comfortable feature of the dress. Other than that, it's a real beauty, and I think the colors of the navy are bold enough that this dress can transition nicely into fall with heavier layers and boots. I'm still contemplating whether or not to keep it, but I've lost about 5 lbs in the past 6 weeks, so I imagine I'd still get a lot of wear (with more comfort) after losing a bit more."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
not flattering on an athletic frame
7.18.2013
"I have a broad back, but a smaller bust(36B) and this dress did not work for me. The strapps were SO tight against my shoulders! I was swimming in the rest of the dress, but the straps looked like I was trying on an XXS. I am sad about this dress, I thought it would be a great summer dress, but I will keep looking. the quality was good, and I can see it looking fantastic on someone a little more slender."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Beach city
age:31-35
body type:curvy
I really love this dress
6.26.2013
"I backordered this dress in ivory Medium. It got here faster than I expected so I was really excited when I received it today. I open the package and tried it right away .Length is perfect for my 5'2 height and color is beautiful but when I looked at it
The string was hanging out from the strap so I take a look at it and strap was falling out. :( so disappointed. It's sold out online so I don't know if I want to return this because I Love it so much. With this price it should be perfect :..(
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Long Island, NY
age:41-45
body type:curvy
I want to love this dress
6.16.2013
"At first I loved this dress, then I wore it. The straps are not sewn right they are placed so far from the shoulder and it caused a rubbing irritation on my back, I repositioned the straps later on. Then I also had an allergic reaction from the dye used. I broke out in massive welts in certain areas. I initially bought this dress to wear at my nephew's graduation so I found out if I washed it several times the dye will not cause such harm. In which it did, But, washing this item a few time also caused some holes throughout the dress.This fabric is very delicate and rips very easily. For the price of this dress I'm very disappointed. I am a very big fan of free people for over 15 years and I have found that the clothing isn't as all its worth at times... Sorry!"
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.19.2013
We're so sorry to hear this! We'll be in touch shortly! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
AMAZING!
5.27.2013
"I am 5"10 130 lbs. I usually wear an XS in free people dresses-in the real world I'm true to a small. The XS was perfect! I initially wanted the other floral combination this dress came in but when I saw this dress in the store and tried on-I was sold! Its a great fit if your tall and thin-can't speak for the length on those that are shorter. The colors are super flattering against any skin color. I was concerned about the ties on the side since I am modest-I pulled them a little tighter and wore a bandeau underneath and it worked perfectly. I got a ton of compliments wearing it and it's so comfortable I want to wear it everyday!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Washington
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
perfect summer dress
5.12.2013
"I am 5'6, 130 lbs and a 34 A. I purchased this dress in a Small and I love the fit--it is long enough and the scoop back is so sexy, as are the side laces. My one complaint is that the straps were set too far to the sides. I wrapped the top material in a little bit and sewed it to the straps, which helped. It sort of tweaked the side laces a bit too far up into my armpits, but I'd prefer that to having my chest fully exposed.
I highly suggest wearing this dress while listening to Shakira's "Gypsy" while walking down a windy street in the sunshine. You will not regret it. It can be worn without a belt, but I like a leather belt to break up all the floral."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Ca
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Love but too fragile!
5.4.2013
"I'm soo sad to say that I wore this dress for the second time and the strap snapped. It didn't even come apart at the seam, the fabric shredded apart! :( it was my favorite dress. I bought both colors because I loved it so much. I'm just disappointed that its so fragile. My other other dress is starting to do te same and I only wore it once. I'm free people obsessed and just sad about this dress"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:KC
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
LOVE! BUY IT
5.2.2013
"I love this dress. The print is really nice. Also the fabric feels fine to me. I am 5'6 120lbs. I bought an extra small. I also bought the navy. I have broad shoulders so i dont really have an issue with the side ribboning . It does run big. It looks super cute as a skirt also"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Newport Beach, CA, USA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
hopeless
4.16.2013
"I am a 34A and bought an xs, and the fabric would not cover my chest AT ALL--it clearly needed MUCH more in the chest to fill it out/pull it up. The whole top half just feels weird to me, with all of the criss-crossing straps. You clearly can't wear it without a bra, but whatever bra you wear will become a major feature of the dress--and on me, would still look odd. So basically it becomes a skirt... no wonder everyone styles it with a sweater on top! I gave it two stars since the skirt half seemed nice enough and prettyish, though I'm not the biggest fan of the print in person."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
it's not perfect but I still love it
4.11.2013
"first I tried it at the store and I just thought the fit was awkward. but I just kept seeing style pics and the print just looked so gorgeous so I decided to get it. This time when I adjust the ties right, it actually fits better. I think i can wear it both with a belt and without. And i got the ivory one, the color is great, very bright and rich."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Stoneham, MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Finally, a maxi dress for short girls!
4.9.2013
"I have always wanted a maxi dress but I am only 5'0 and they are all so long on me! When we got this in the store I was skeptical and didn't even try it on at first because of my past experiences with maxi dresses. Until my SM told me to try it... When I did I seriously almost fell over. IT. WASN'T. TOO. LONG. In fact, it was perfect! The ONLY complaint I have is that it's a little loose but that just makes it comfy. If you want to create more of a waist, just throw on a belt! So if you're little like me, and love maxi dresses, this is the dress for you! It's beautiful paired with the double wrap waist best and the scallop edge crop underneath! Also, because of the lace up side a bandeau will show nicely underneath, too. For winter it looks amazing with the shaggy knit pull over or a long cardigan! Loads of ways to experiment! :D"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
90% in love
4.7.2013
"Just got this one in ivory!
For reference- 5'1, 34DD-- typically a S or 28 in FP.
This dress is undeniable beautiful, just the way it fits is a little strange.
I tried on both small and medium; the small didn't cover my chest properly so I decided to go with medium even though its a little too wide. I also tie the "criss cross" straps towards the back to give this dress a little more shape. As for length... its just short of touching the floor on me. The hem is raw so I'm just going to hack off 3-4 inches so it hits me mid-shin like everyone else.
I'm in love with this piece and do recommend it-- it's just not perfect.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Beautiful! Looks just like the picture!
4.6.2013
"I ordered the ivory in a size medium and it fits perfectly! I love the sides and how you can adjust them because I am very busty and this gives me the option to wear it loose or tight and have the option of not wearing a bra. The material is so gorgeous and I will definitely be wearing this all through out spring and summer!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Torrance, CA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love!
4.1.2013
"I love this dress! I ordered it online and was anticipating it's arrival. I tried on the ivory one in stores, but thought it was a little too bright and "happy" for me as I am more of a dark skinned, sharp featured girl. I wasn't sure if the navy one would look any better, but when I tried it on at home, I fell in love! I also love how some girls styled this dress by layering a loose top over it. I plan to try the same. The only reason why I gave this item 4 stars is because it does fit a LITTLE awkward on the top. I'm afraid that I'll somehow accidentally flash people while wearing this, but hopefully the straps will stay in place. Excited to wear this for spring!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful but be wary
4.1.2013
"Fp: my dress strap snapped off within an hour of putting it on! and my express shipping took longer than the 2-3 days,not happy :-(
Okay ladies so this dress is amazing however everyone needs to know that the straps are too thin to support the weight of the amazing fabric. I would encourage all to still purchase this dress because its a stunner and I've never gotten so many compliments on a purchase from here ever!! My only thing is ladies after purchasing re-enforce the straps before wearing or there is a huge possibility they will just randomly snap.
Measurements: Im 5'9, 130Lbs and I bought a small. The hem hits me about mid shin, which is a sweet, unique length for a maxi. As far as size, the dress does run a little loose but a small would be good for small girls with a bust."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
in love..but
3.31.2013
"So I have been drooling over this beautiful dress ever since it has been on the market, and just last week I saw it in stores and decided to try it on. However, the only size in the store was an XS, I am 5'8'' size M and the XS fit me. It was a little small on the straps. but totally wearable. I suggest trying it on in stores before purchasing it, or definitely order a size smaller than your regular size!
Xo, Liza
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Vintage Kuchi Coin Necklace
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
La Luna Ring
4 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Perfect Summer Dress
3.25.2013
"This dress is GREAT! I am 5'11 So I though the length would hit me at a weird point but it doesn't. It flows beautifully and both prints are amazing! Well made and you shouldn't be hesitant about buying it because it will be worth it. I love the little skin you get on the sides to because it makes the dress unique. I think it runs a little big so I got the xs. Every lady needs this!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Criss Cross Florals Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Bouguet of Flowers
3.24.2013
"The day the catalog arrived, I ordered this dress. I initially ordered the the small then the medium to see if it would provide better coverage with the laced up sides. After trying on several sizes and ended up selecting an XS, size smaller than I normally wear so it would look like it does in the pictures. Unfortunately the straps still slide off my shoulders. You can change the look by adding accessories that you can already find in your closet such as a jean jacket, fuchsia cardi, leggings and a short sleeve t shirt or dress it up with a pair of kitten heels. You can express yourself in so many different ways with this dress."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>