Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Mandalyn Ankle Boot

Distressed leather slip-on ankle boot with leather harness strap. Rubber sole. *By Free People
overall average rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Customer Reviews for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Hawthorne
age:36-40
body type:petite
Nice Fit
4.24.2014
"I wear size 5.5 and the 36 did fit without being loose. It fits even better with anklets socks. They are well made. I have no problems yet with the shoes and I have them for 2 months now. I am on my feet all day and they were okay on my feet. I got the black but they are charcoal color. Glad I decided to buy them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Sunny California
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Loved but tight in toes
1.30.2014
"I really liked this bootie in the lighter color but alas, not comfortable in the toe area. I had to return and no other size available. Big sigh."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Blue Pacific
age:over 45
body type:petite
Everyday Comfort
1.22.2014
"These shoes are designed to slip on and slip out the door with ease. The styling is very casual and appealing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Russian Federation
age:31-35
body type:slender
Very nice shoes!!
12.30.2013
"Thank you very much for these boots!! I am wearing 38 italian size, made order on 39 size. It is ideal and comfortable."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Beautiful but just too small
12.28.2013
"I love the look, and the high heel-back is comfy, but these were just too small. I'm sure they'll stretch a bit, but with my toes hitting up against the front when I walk in them, they're definitely too tight. And that was barefoot, so forget about wearing socks or even tights with them! I'm a solid US9 and all my euro sized shoes are 38 or 39, but these 39's run small. I'll keep my fingers crossed that they restock the 40's (and they should definitely add bigger sizes than that!) Also, as mentioned by others, the tan is a much lighter color than pictured. It's not what I'd hoped for, but still nice-looking and the leather is soft + high-quality (as is the insole and stitching.)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:north state Calif.
age:over 45
body type:petite
So darned cute!
12.20.2013
"I bought these little booties last summer in the tan color. Loved them. Then decided I wanted the black ones too. Ordered them in a size smaller because I wanted them so bad and 40's weren't available. Both sizes ended up working just fine. I'm an 8.5 and I have them both in a 39 and 40. Love, love, love them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Northern VA
age:41-45
body type:petite
Love these shoes!
11.19.2013
"Love. Love. Love them! They are a cross between a clog and low-ankle booties. They are a bit difficult to get on but once feet are slipped in, they're just fine. As previously mentioned, they run a half size smaller, so order a half size bigger. I'm a 5.5 US size, the 6 US (36 EU) are a perfect fit."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Tofino, BC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Ideal Fall Boot
10.27.2013
"I ordered the tan in size 39 and am usually between an 8.5 and a 9. These fit perfectly and are so comfortable!! They were a little snug to get on the first time but they do stretch to fit your feet. They look best with an ankle crop pant or slightly rolled pants as the model is wearing them. They instantly add an extra something to an outfit and I get a lot of compliments on them. As other reviewers have said, the tan is much lighter than in the photo."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Super Snugg
9.30.2013
"SO DESPERATELY want these...but I'm a size 10 and the 40 is WAY too tight. The brown is lighter in person, but still fabulous. Bummed I have to return them because they don't make them in a bigger size."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:petite
Utilitarian chic!
9.23.2013
"I've been debating on purchasing these shoes online for months since I typically have buyer's remorse when purchasing shoes online. But after discovering that my neighbor FP store carried both colors in my size online, I rushed straight there to see them in person. Agreeing with previous comments that the tan is much lighter in color in person, but lovely nonetheless. I'm wearing them now and they fit my ladylike-tomboy style perfectly. I hope they last forever!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Lowcountry SC
age:36-40
body type:petite
LOVE!
9.12.2013
"These are really cool and different. I love that. They are a little snug but I think they will give a little with wear. Super comfy! Really like them with skinny jeans/pants."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Simple, but so cute!
8.24.2013
"I was a bit hesitant on buying these, (since I'm a teenager with not that much money to spare.) but it was my birthday and hey; I couldn't resist. I'm so glad I have them though! I went down to a FP store to try them on and they didn't have half sizes so I tried both the 7 and the 8. The 7 was way too small, and the the 8 was snug. So, I decided on sizing up a complete size- just so it would be more comfortable, especially with socks and what not. The color for both were slightly different, though. I agree with the term "chalky" used in other reviews, I think the tan seemed a bit more 'nude,' and the black was slightly more 'smokey-' I suppose. (Regardless, it was still very attractive.) Both boots supported a "worn" look, it wasn't anything too drastic, it was subtle and still appealing. I just got these, but I could see myself wearing them with practically anything. They seemed comfy when I tried them on; and I hope it stays that way. :) WORTH THE BUY."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:lax
age:31-35
body type:petite
My New Favorite
8.13.2013
"I wanted these a while back when I first saw them. Sad I waited so long...Glad I purchased them. I adore these shoes. They make me feel spunky when I wear them! Extremely versatile. Wear with flowing dresses, beach pants, skinnys, shorts, everything. I love a shoe that isn't wardrobe specific. Totally worth the money.
Lighter than pic shown.
Sizing ran me a 1/2 size smaller than my usual size of 6 1/2. Purchased 37.
Comfortable wear with or without sock.
Hey FreePeople...How awesome would these be in a distressed Auburn shade?!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Houston
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love these! A lot!
7.2.2013
"I ordered the shoes in tan. I was just a little concerned about the size after reading the reviews bit I have a narrow foot so thought I'd be OK. I wasn't. I've ordered the next size larger and in BOTH tan and black. I can't wait until they get here!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:over 45
body type:athletic
So comfy and cute
6.15.2013
"I love these boots.!!!!! LOVE!!! They are a shoe and they are a boot. I have so much trouble with my big toe on my right foot, it always rubs the top of my shoes and makes it almost impossible to wear flats or any low shoe with a closed toe. This boot has a toe box that does not allow that to happen.... I'm so happy that I am going to order the black ones too! The color is much lighter than the picture shown but I'm hoping mine will age like those pictured."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:western US
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Beautiful... but still deciding
4.29.2013
"I stared at these for quite sometime, and finally went ahead and ordered them. I am a true 8.5 and the 39 fits perfect. The color is also a bit lighter, but not sandy... more like a chalky caramel. They seem fragile, but durable... that is what I am on the fence about. For the price, I really want them to hold up!
Totally cute for spring/summer and even fall.
My main question for freepeople is how to care for them... not anticipating they will get wet, but how do you keep the leather in good condition?"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.30.2013
You can get a spray protectant that works really well. I use them on all of my leather and suede boots! You will want to do a spot check and let them dry to make sure they won't stain at all. The sprays are the less likely to stain. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:athletic
cute... at first
3.16.2013
"I bought these shoes about a month ago and loved them. Now they have fallen apart almost to the point of being unwearable. The little string part around the band is starting to come off. The back of the strap falls down and I step on it and now its almost ripped. Overall the shoes just look slouchy and sad now. I am really disappointed. I thought shoes this expensive would hold up."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Phoenix
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Amazing nude boots
3.12.2013
"Color: I got the tan color. They do not look like the picture. They are more nude than tan. But i love the idea of wearing nude boots. They are subtle and go with everything.
Fit: I usually wear 7.5/8. I got a 38. They fit snug, hoping they will stretch a bit. I dont think i can wear thick socks with it, but i wasnt looking to do so anyways. These will be my summer boots.
Style: Look like pictured. No complaints.
Material: I was taken back by how the leather looked. Everything looked floppy. And easily bendable. I would expect them to stretch a bit looking at the material. I thought the curved edges will bite a little, but its actually soft.
@freepeople: You have mastered catalog shots. But please get your pictures more accurate. All you clothes look very different lately from what is shown in the catalog."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:midwest
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Unique!
2.25.2013
"I am always a size 8 or 8 1/2 and went with the size 39. It fits, but my toes just touch the end, not too scrunched so I'm definitely keeping them. However, I imagine any type of sock will make it a packed fit. The leather is not your ideal camel tan color, try a very much faded camel tan, which is unlike the model pictures. The distressed markings are a little strange, not real 'natural' looking, but it works. I'm wearing mine with rolled up crop jeans! Worth the price, and they should probably be treated with some sort of guard against moisture!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Mandalyn Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Austin
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Love these!
2.13.2013
"Ordered these in black. Love them! They have a perfect worn in look and are a great alternative to flats. They look great with everything. They do seem to run a bit small. I am an 8.5 normally and ordered the 40. They fit perfectly with socks and still stay on just fine without. Love. Love. Love."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>