Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Romana Fest Sandal

Open toe sandal with criss-crossing straps all the way up. Zipper closure up the back. Eight adjustable buckle closure straps on side. Exclusively designed for Free People. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People
overall average rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer Reviews for Romana Fest Sandal
Review 1 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
This are the sexiest flat sandals to date!
10.8.2014
" I can not stop wearing these sandals. Purchased the tan pair. Even when it would be more appropriate to wear a nice heel, I find myself reaching for these. I am obsessed. The price was a little daunting, but now I just wished I hadn't purchased all those stupid heeled sandals before purchasing this pair of FLATS. I haven't had to adjust the straps yet and I think I am up to wear 20! However, I don't have calves whatsoever. Luv this shoes "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Awesome Sandal
6.20.2014
" These sandals really look great on. I do have thin legs with muscular calves from running, but I made sure to buckle the tightest buckle to prevent the back of the sandal (zipper portion) from slipping around and twisting which it does tend to do. However, I could careless about that because they look so great. I bought the Tribal Print and get compliments all the time. For me they are true to size. I'm usually an 8/8.5 and since people said to order down a little, I go the 8 and it fit perfect. Love, love, love. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:UK
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Nice style but not for me
6.17.2014
" I like the quality and style of these, but the style didn't work for me as I hoped it would. I think they are probably best for the slender-calved. Even at their loosest, the straps didn't fall as they do in the pictures (and some of the straps are not adjustable anyway, which made the fit wrong for me). I am 5'6" with average-to-athletic calves, and found these hid the shape of my ankles, making my legs look very stumpy! I think these probably look great on more slender calves. I found it very hard to work out my size: I tried the 10, thought it was too big on the foot (though slightly hard to get past the ankle strap when putting them on, as others have said), but then found the straps wrong and ended up trying the 11, which had a bit more strap room but too much foot room. After trying these, the Rae and the Lina, I've settled on the Lina, more flattering on me, in which the 10's fine but slightly long, so I'm going to try the 9.5 too to make sure it's perfect. For comparison, I take around UK 7, EU 40-41 US 9-11. I have tried Bed Stu Manchester (Tan) size 9, Bed Stu Whiskey Sunset 40, JC Perspective and Minimal in size 10, JC Joe boots in size 11: all of these fit perfectly. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Bear, DE
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Wish they stayed put
6.9.2014
" So, I love these shoes right? Fit to size (size 9 & I purchased a 39), true to color (Aztec print), and a huge zipper up the back for easy slip on. BUT the only problem is the top buckle only had two or three holes to size. Now I have athletic legs... they aren't too wide nor too skinny. The top buckle all the way tight was still loose so when I walked the rear zipper twisted around my leg. I could have punctured my own hole to tighten them but I ended up returning and found a pretty awesome dupe at a local store for 40$. Not really worth 168 in my opinion. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
age:over 45
body type:petite
What more can be said!
6.4.2014
" After almost 100 reviews on these sandals there is not much more that can be said! Last year I purchased them in the Aztec print. I really loved them and decided to go for the black suede. The suede are my favorite! I am 5' 1" weigh 108 and found the black to fit better on my calves. The Aztec seem to twist on my legs more. I unbuckled 2 of the straps and wove the buckle strap around the fixed strap one time and they felt better.. The black does not twist and seem to be a better fit.. I think it might be the difference in the material.. They sure are keepers and I receive a lot of compliments when I wear them. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Unique comfortable and awesome!!! :)
5.29.2014
" These sandals are everything I hoped they would be! I got the black suede, and it feels like good quality... they fit my wide size 10 feet perfectly right out of the box! I didn't have any problems with the ankle being too tight - in fact, I like that the ankle is snug since the lace up part isn't tight enough to hold the sandals in place. I am tall and medium build (6', 155lbs), but they fit my calves fine with room enough to slouch. I dooo have smallish calf muscles though (Thanks to having extra long legs) so I would advise anyone with really muscular calves to be cautious. It seems that ankle size is the most important factor, though - if your ankles aren't slim, these probably won't fit you. Anyhow, they are amazing and super comfy, unique and even got an immediate stamp of approval from my husband! ;) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Saudi Arabia
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Loved these sandals
4.20.2014
" I debated getting these but am glad I decided to in the end. They are gorgeous! I got them in tan as I already have this type of style in black. They fit great, are light weight and comfortable, Are exactly like the pictures. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Crazy about these sandals.
2.25.2014
" I got the black and I love them. I wasn't scared about them being tight because I have very thin ankles. I have been wearing them with long socks and even with leggings. They look great and they are comfortable enough to wear for long walks with my doggie. They have absolutely no support and the soles are rather thin so if you are walking on uneven pavement or a rocky trail they will not work too well, but for sidewalks and the beach they work. I have skinny ankles and the fit is snug, but that is how I would want since if it was loose my foot would slide around in the shoe. The toe straps are a little loose. They fit true to size. I am a 9.5 and that is what I ordered. The top does twist a bit and shrugs down, but still looks cool. At first I was disappointed that the color I wanted was not available in my size, but I am glad I bought the black. They look great with everything. The quality seems to be very good. They are worth the price. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:TX
age:31-35
body type:athletic
sad but true
8.27.2013
" I loved everything about these sandals until I wore them. They were too tight around my calf, which I could have lived with, but they broke after just one day walking the streets of Paris! The zipper pull broke and it took two people to unzip the sandal, which I was close to cutting off with scissors or a knife. Très mauvais FreePeople!!! I expect more from a $160 sandal!!! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb8.28.2013
We're so sorry to hear this! We'll be in touch to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:British Columbia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Awesome Sandals
7.8.2013
" The Sandals fit true to size. I am 5'8" and 120lbs. I have thin calves and found that the straps were large. Most of the straps are adjustable and I adjusted them down to the smallest size. When you wear the sandals the straps fall down a bit so the straps that I wasn't able to adjust just angled down and blended in with the others. I was skeptical that these sandals would work out at first but once I wore them for a bit and the straps settled into place they look awesome. They are very unique and fun to wear. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Agoura Hills
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Pulls it all together!!
7.5.2013
" The perfect shoes to complete a Free People outfit! I'm a 12/14 with muscular calves so I had to loosen the buckles. They look awesome with shorts, dresses, and tunics. I'm going go try them with leggings and maxi skirts/dresses. I want a second pair!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:California, USA
age:26-30
body type:petite
awesome sandals
5.23.2013
" these are so cute! I got the rust in a size 6 1/2 and they fit true to size. The buckles are on the second to last notch for me and this is a perfect fit. No drooping on me, like the photos show on the models but I do have more muscular legs. I'm petite (5ft) and was concerned these would be too high for me but they aren't at all. They hit me mid calf. The zipper in the back isn't as obvious in person as in the photos which was a plus. These are very soft too. A bit lighter in color but not that drastic.
I'm very pleased with the purchase. They'll be a lot of fun to wear. I hope they hold up for the price!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
age:31-35
body type:athletic
these will be my go to sandals this summer!
4.30.2013
" After reading the reviews on these, I must admit i was a bit hesitant to purchase them. But, I finally gave in and I am so happy I did! If any of you out there are hesitating, GIVE IN, YOU WILL NOT REGRET PURCHASING THESE! Many of the reviews focus on the slouchiness or tightness of the straps. I would like to say, the straps are very adjustable and I love how they are breaking in. I think they look even better in person than the photos here. Very well made and the colors of the aztec ones are very vivid. These will definitely be my signature summer sandals! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Manhattan, NY
age:36-40
body type:curvy
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!
4.21.2013
" I am such a huge fan of JC. These sandals are TTS, and when they go on sale, I'm buying all of them! Only thing, I ordered the rust color, but it seems more like a caramel color, than rust, just FYI...other than that, these sandals are a must buy!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Love them!!
4.18.2013
" I love everything about them! I've had my eye on them since last summer and was to scared to order them. I finally did, and I'm so happy. My new favorite shoes!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love these!
4.15.2013
" After looking at these for awhile, I finally decided to buy them in the rust suede color for this summer. The color is great - I think they will go with a lot of different outfits, and they are definitely very unique! I read a lot of reviews before I bought them and many people complained that the straps were too loose and that they kind of sagged down. I tightened all the straps on mine to the tightest possible setting, and they actually do not sag down on me at all, even when I walk. I would say that I do have bigger calves than most girls of my size however (115 lbs) because I am a gymnast, so I can see why these probably do sag down on most people even when on the tightest setting. I still think they'd be worth it though since they are SO awesome and different! They also seem very comfortable - they don't rub anywhere or give blisters. My ONE complaint is that the heel part is a little too roomy, so my feet tend to slide forward while I'm walking. It's not too bad though! Can't wait to wear these this summer! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Mountains, NC
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Slightly disappointing
4.7.2013
" Just wore mine for the first time. Looks-wise, they're just as awesome as they are in pictures. However, I'm having a significant problem with the fit. They're huge around the ankle and slide around a lot, and it's not something that can be fixed by adjusting the straps (it's the width of the back of the shoe). This causes my feet to slide forward and make the sandals appear too short even though length-wise they're technically a perfect fit.
They're also huge around the calves, which I find odd because I'm not overly tiny (size 4 overall but with fairly defined calf muscles - definitely not stick legs). This causes the back portion to twist outward by about two inches and the whole thing to look crooked. I've adjusted all the straps to the smallest setting but that's not enough.
So I'm going to have to poke new holes. The sandals are so cute and original that I'm going to keep them and "alter" them. However, for the pretty hefty price tag you wouldn't expect to do an amateur leatherworking job. So I feel the design is a little flawed in that these sandals are clearly designed for larger people only.
I marked them "true to size" because yes, my regular size works just fine as far as the length of the sole. But if you have very thin legs, or even average legs like me, you're going to be doing some work on these. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
love!!
4.1.2013
" I originally bought the Sarafina style and they wouldn't go over my calfs so I exchanged them for these in the rust suede. The fit is perfect and I love them. I usually wear a size 9 1/2 to 10, I ordered the 9 1/2 and it is perfection! I will definitely be rocking these all summer long. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:36-40
body type:slender
SUPER CUTE
3.14.2013
" I got these in the tan color and love them! They fit a bit snug around the toe area but otherwise they are great. Love them! Wish they were 50.00 less but still, I couldn't resist! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
In love
3.12.2013
" I bought these sandals a year ago. I have a size 10 foot and hate shoes that make my feet look big. These sandals do not make my feet look big at all they are super comfortable. You might need to adjust the straps to hug your ankle and calf but besides that I am so happy I bought these sandals "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>