Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Romana Fest Sandal

Open toe sandal with criss-crossing straps all the way up. Zipper closure up the back. Eight adjustable buckle closure straps on side. Exclusively designed for Free People. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People
overall average rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer Reviews for Romana Fest Sandal
Review 1 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Crazy about these sandals.
2.25.2014
"I got the black and I love them. I wasn't scared about them being tight because I have very thin ankles. I have been wearing them with long socks and even with leggings. They look great and they are comfortable enough to wear for long walks with my doggie. They have absolutely no support and the soles are rather thin so if you are walking on uneven pavement or a rocky trail they will not work too well, but for sidewalks and the beach they work. I have skinny ankles and the fit is snug, but that is how I would want since if it was loose my foot would slide around in the shoe. The toe straps are a little loose. They fit true to size. I am a 9.5 and that is what I ordered. The top does twist a bit and shrugs down, but still looks cool. At first I was disappointed that the color I wanted was not available in my size, but I am glad I bought the black. They look great with everything. The quality seems to be very good. They are worth the price."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:TX
age:31-35
body type:athletic
sad but true
8.27.2013
"I loved everything about these sandals until I wore them. They were too tight around my calf, which I could have lived with, but they broke after just one day walking the streets of Paris! The zipper pull broke and it took two people to unzip the sandal, which I was close to cutting off with scissors or a knife. Très mauvais FreePeople!!! I expect more from a $160 sandal!!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb8.28.2013
We're so sorry to hear this! We'll be in touch to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:British Columbia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Awesome Sandals
7.8.2013
"The Sandals fit true to size. I am 5'8" and 120lbs. I have thin calves and found that the straps were large. Most of the straps are adjustable and I adjusted them down to the smallest size. When you wear the sandals the straps fall down a bit so the straps that I wasn't able to adjust just angled down and blended in with the others. I was skeptical that these sandals would work out at first but once I wore them for a bit and the straps settled into place they look awesome. They are very unique and fun to wear."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Agoura Hills
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Pulls it all together!!
7.5.2013
"The perfect shoes to complete a Free People outfit! I'm a 12/14 with muscular calves so I had to loosen the buckles. They look awesome with shorts, dresses, and tunics. I'm going go try them with leggings and maxi skirts/dresses. I want a second pair!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:California, USA
age:26-30
body type:petite
awesome sandals
5.23.2013
"these are so cute! I got the rust in a size 6 1/2 and they fit true to size. The buckles are on the second to last notch for me and this is a perfect fit. No drooping on me, like the photos show on the models but I do have more muscular legs. I'm petite (5ft) and was concerned these would be too high for me but they aren't at all. They hit me mid calf. The zipper in the back isn't as obvious in person as in the photos which was a plus. These are very soft too. A bit lighter in color but not that drastic.
I'm very pleased with the purchase. They'll be a lot of fun to wear. I hope they hold up for the price!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
age:31-35
body type:athletic
these will be my go to sandals this summer!
4.30.2013
"After reading the reviews on these, I must admit i was a bit hesitant to purchase them. But, I finally gave in and I am so happy I did! If any of you out there are hesitating, GIVE IN, YOU WILL NOT REGRET PURCHASING THESE! Many of the reviews focus on the slouchiness or tightness of the straps. I would like to say, the straps are very adjustable and I love how they are breaking in. I think they look even better in person than the photos here. Very well made and the colors of the aztec ones are very vivid. These will definitely be my signature summer sandals!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Manhattan, NY
age:36-40
body type:curvy
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!
4.21.2013
"I am such a huge fan of JC. These sandals are TTS, and when they go on sale, I'm buying all of them! Only thing, I ordered the rust color, but it seems more like a caramel color, than rust, just FYI...other than that, these sandals are a must buy!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Love them!!
4.18.2013
"I love everything about them! I've had my eye on them since last summer and was to scared to order them. I finally did, and I'm so happy. My new favorite shoes!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love these!
4.15.2013
"After looking at these for awhile, I finally decided to buy them in the rust suede color for this summer. The color is great - I think they will go with a lot of different outfits, and they are definitely very unique! I read a lot of reviews before I bought them and many people complained that the straps were too loose and that they kind of sagged down. I tightened all the straps on mine to the tightest possible setting, and they actually do not sag down on me at all, even when I walk. I would say that I do have bigger calves than most girls of my size however (115 lbs) because I am a gymnast, so I can see why these probably do sag down on most people even when on the tightest setting. I still think they'd be worth it though since they are SO awesome and different! They also seem very comfortable - they don't rub anywhere or give blisters. My ONE complaint is that the heel part is a little too roomy, so my feet tend to slide forward while I'm walking. It's not too bad though! Can't wait to wear these this summer!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Mountains, NC
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Slightly disappointing
4.7.2013
"Just wore mine for the first time. Looks-wise, they're just as awesome as they are in pictures. However, I'm having a significant problem with the fit. They're huge around the ankle and slide around a lot, and it's not something that can be fixed by adjusting the straps (it's the width of the back of the shoe). This causes my feet to slide forward and make the sandals appear too short even though length-wise they're technically a perfect fit.
They're also huge around the calves, which I find odd because I'm not overly tiny (size 4 overall but with fairly defined calf muscles - definitely not stick legs). This causes the back portion to twist outward by about two inches and the whole thing to look crooked. I've adjusted all the straps to the smallest setting but that's not enough.
So I'm going to have to poke new holes. The sandals are so cute and original that I'm going to keep them and "alter" them. However, for the pretty hefty price tag you wouldn't expect to do an amateur leatherworking job. So I feel the design is a little flawed in that these sandals are clearly designed for larger people only.
I marked them "true to size" because yes, my regular size works just fine as far as the length of the sole. But if you have very thin legs, or even average legs like me, you're going to be doing some work on these."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
love!!
4.1.2013
"I originally bought the Sarafina style and they wouldn't go over my calfs so I exchanged them for these in the rust suede. The fit is perfect and I love them. I usually wear a size 9 1/2 to 10, I ordered the 9 1/2 and it is perfection! I will definitely be rocking these all summer long."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:36-40
body type:slender
SUPER CUTE
3.14.2013
"I got these in the tan color and love them! They fit a bit snug around the toe area but otherwise they are great. Love them! Wish they were 50.00 less but still, I couldn't resist!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
In love
3.12.2013
"I bought these sandals a year ago. I have a size 10 foot and hate shoes that make my feet look big. These sandals do not make my feet look big at all they are super comfortable. You might need to adjust the straps to hug your ankle and calf but besides that I am so happy I bought these sandals"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love these sandals!
2.28.2013
"So just like the previous review I waited about 2 years to get these. I'm 5'11 and normally a 10.5-11, but can sometimes fit size 10 depending on how the shoe runs, especially if its a boot. I wasn't sure whether to get a 10 or 11 here but I got an 11. It was PERFECT. Literally like a glove to my foot, I didn't need it to be any smaller or any bigger. Also I do have muscular calves and these sandals still fit perfect and come up high on the leg. I'd say they run just a TINY bit small. Also these are EXTREMELY comfortable!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Miami
age:31-35
body type:athletic
so many compliments
2.17.2013
"After looking at these for 2 years I finally decided to purchase them. Normally I really dont like the gladiator style, but these look so different I decided to buy them. So glad I did! I receive compliments wherever I wear them! Also Im an avid runner so I have pretty muscular legs. The adjuster straps are perfect for any leg shape...skinny, medium, large, muscular, etc. So glad I finally bought these!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Perth, Australia
age:41-45
body type:athletic
eye catching
1.29.2013
"Very eue catching and people wanted to know where I bought them from. Comfortable and true to size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:petite
Meh.
1.19.2013
"These are practical and cute, IF you an manage to open the annoying packaging. The quality is good but they're nothing too spectacular. I am 5'2" so maybe they don't look as good on shorter women. Debating whether or not to return them."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:BALTIMORE
age:21-25
body type:slender
Must HAVE
11.9.2012
"LOVE THEM! so many people asked me where i got them!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cool gladiator
10.17.2012
"These shoes are awesome for summer and are comfy too!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Romana Fest Sandal
Name:
Location:Southern Cal
age:41-45
body type:petite
Very Cool!
9.27.2012
"I just received these sandals today and I am very pleased with the fit and style. I bought the Aztec and very glad that I did. The colors are very beautiful and looks like it will go with many things as the colors are vibrant yet muted. I ordered a 6 1/2 which is my size and it fits perfectly. I was hesitant in ordering my true size as with JC I have better luck ordering 1/2 size larger. Not so with these sandals. They seem to run exactly true to size. My legs are skinny but not extremely yet the straps fit me loosely like the model's. I wasn't sure they would be but they are very comfortable to walk in. I'm only disappointed that I bought this now in the Fall. I probably won't be able to wear them too much longer but look forward to wearing them a lot next Spring and Summer. I recommend these sandals highly!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 next>>