Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Fairisle Long Cardigan

Gorgeous knitted fairisle long cardigan with slouchy opening in front. Two front pockets. *56% Acrylic, 37% Wool, 2% Alpaca, 5% Other *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 41 " Bust: 31" Sleeve Length: 25 "
overall average rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Reviews for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Review 1 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:pa
age:over 45
body type:petite
all curled up and cozzzzy
3.27.2012
" Took 1 star off because as you put your hands through the sleeves, the inside of the sleeves easily catch on nails, rings, whatever...even if you are extremely careful. I wish I would have ordered my regular size xs, but sized up to s to get it at the sale price, since xs was out at the time. Honestly, you can not beat this for $50. It is warm for being a thinner, not hefty, sweater, and I really like the fact that it covers my legs too on those cold fall and winter days! Looks great with leggings, boots, and a swingy purse. I knotted the sides that hang mid thigh which has the effect of making it more fitted around the body for me, and puts a slightly different take on the cardigan. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Love the color and pattern
1.22.2012
" This sweater has a great color, pattern and length to it. The weave is a bit odd in some areas as there is one particular thread that is woven narrow at the wrist and at the center of the back. The narrow wrist makes it a bit challenging to squeeze my hand through the end of the sleeve. I'm not sure of the intention behind these details but it seems a bit over thought. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:PA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
better than I expected
1.21.2012
" I bought this because I loved the colors, (I got the orange), and I was surprised at how nice it looked on. Was concerned it would be too long, but it's fine. It makes me look sooo slim. It's a really great sweater for fall. I think it runs tts, I got a small, my usual size. I am 5'4", 120lbs. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Length and flow
1.17.2012
" Great fall colors, sleeves fall past wrist, I sized down to a small. The drape and how the material lays is slimming. I found the fit in the shoulders a bit tight for my athletic frame. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:The Windy City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love It
1.5.2012
" This is why I love Free People. Colors are lovely and it fits true to size. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Northern Alberta Canada
age:36-40
body type:slender
so very comfy!!
12.17.2011
" the biggest plus of this cardigan is that there is no itch! it is so comfy and warm and it flows beautifully as I walk. LOVE this! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
fp gold
12.16.2011
" i tried this on in a department store in both colorways, but really prefer the colors of the blue, although the rust might be more versatile as a fall/winter sweater, whereas the blue looks definitely more winter/holiday. in any case, the fit seems true to size (I took an XS) and didn't fee especially tight in the arms. The drape in the front is really pretty and very flattering, even on someone who's petite like me. I love maxi cardigans and this was no exception. The pattern is so fun (i think the blue looks like snowflakes & christmas) & i think this piece just screams FP. The price is a bit steep but it is a cozy sweater with a gorgeous knit pattern and I think it's worth it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:south carolina
age:36-40
body type:slender
Love this
12.14.2011
" So soft, so comfy and super warm but not too heavy. Goes great with Jeans and leggings as well as long dresses. This is my go to cardigan it puts the finishing touch on any outfit. I ordered the Blue and have received so many compliments on it! It has pockets too which is nice, I Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:14-20
body type:petite
My go to Cardi!
12.8.2011
" I can't even explain how much I love this cardigan. I purchased mine in the blue after seeing it on an FP employee at my nearby store. Every time I wear it I feel like I'm wearing a blanket! I've worn this with an oversized shirt, uggs, and leggings. But, also have worn it with some jeans, boots to dress it up to more of a casual look. I will say it can be a bit itchy at times, but nothing too out of control. I wouldn't mart down my rating because the itchyness isn't a big deal. Overall, this cardigan is SO comfortable and I can't get enough of it! I bought an XS, I am 5'2 and 115 lbs. It is quite long on me, but that's another positive that I enjoy about it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:WA
age:over 45
body type:petite
chic!
12.5.2011
" Thank you all reviewers! I followed your comments and bought this cardigan. I love it! Without the reviews I would not have bought it because of the length. I am 5'3" and it looks cool on me! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:SF Bay
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
So soft, beautiful and the perfect shape
12.1.2011
" I love this cardigan! It's really soft and made beautifully. The shape would flatter anyone - it drapes perfectly. My only complaint is that the rust colors aren't quite as vibrant as shown. But very pleased with it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Idaho
age:36-40
body type:slender
already getting compliments!
11.29.2011
" this was an early x-mas gift and I LOVE it! I am 5'6'' tall and weigh 120lbs and I got the XS and it fits just like the model. It's very soft and looks awesome with tall boots! I got the rust color and it's just beautifil...just like the photo! One thing to be cautious of is that the knit has lots of loops that can get snagged on rings and back pocket buttons...so just be careful of that. Worth the $$ "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Loveeee
11.22.2011
" I tried this on in blue and can't wait to get it for X-Mas. It's true to size and the perfect layering piece to amp-up a plain jeans and tee outfit. The open, shorter panels in the front are great for revealing a cute dress underneath. Plan on wearing it with many leggings and tunics with tall boots. Beyond cozy as well. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Perfect In Everyway
11.21.2011
" This may just be one of the best things ever created by Free People. It's comfortable, warm, not crazy long, and just very lovely. For me, it's not really itchy, but it does contain wool so some may experience an itch. I really was expecting this to hit the floor because of how long I thought it would be. To my surprise it's well off of the floor. I am 5'2 and bought a L for reference. It's the perfect length. I wear a 36D, and also had a lot of room around the bust. Wonderful FP sweater!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Winter Coziness
11.19.2011
" I LOVE LOVE this sweater!!!!. While it was a little bit of a stretch on my wallet, it was worth every penny. It's a long sweater/cardigan and it would flatter any body type, even with the open front part. Even for larger chested girls like me (for reference I'm a 36DD) it doesn't make me look bigger on top which is a big plus. It has a mild itch factor but it is super soft & cozy. This goes great with leggings, jeans & colored cords...a must have for this season!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:va
age:21-25
body type:petite
Another great purchase
11.17.2011
" I am 5'2 110 llbs. I got this in rust color XS. I have already worn it a million times. It is very comfy and soft. I also really love the pockets! So many of my long cardigans don't have pockets, so that is a great feature. It goes great with everything! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:36-40
body type:slender
Love it!
11.17.2011
" I'm so glad I bought this sweater. It drapes perfectly. It's cozy yet not at all bulky. I feel it run true to size. I've been wearing this sweater in orange with my Frye cowboy boots and light fade bootcut jeans. Love the pockets - they are in the exact right place.
I'm a sweater addict since I am always cold. I even knit! This sweater is well made and unique. Love it.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Lexington ky
age:26-30
body type:athletic
MUST HAVE!!!
11.16.2011
" When I first saw this I though it was beautiful but on the long side like the Dursosuro Maxi Cardigian (that I tried on in the store). It was waayy to long and I felt buried in it. To give you an idea Im 5'1 102 lbs. So when I saw this I figured it would be the same as the Dursosuro. However, I saw it in a local store and tried in on anyways. Love it!!!!!!! The colors pop, its soft and form fitted to my body. It's still long but it's soooo beautful I had to have it. It goes with just about everything in my closet, which I didn't think it would because of the pattern. You don't want to miss out on this sweater. I have attached some pictures but the lighting in my room dose not give the sweater justice "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:31-35
body type:petite
Very happy
11.14.2011
" This is a gorgeous cardi. I bought the rust and the color is true to the pic. I am 5', 93 lbs. It's length hit mid- calf. I also have the Dursoduro cardigan which is a tad more fitted than this one. I have narrow shoulders and like the fit of the Dursoduro better but the Fairisle is not too large on me. I pull mine together with a pin and it looks a bit like I am wearing a cardi with a matching scarf - very pretty. It looks great over a maxi dress. The material is somewhat soft to me. The arms are fitted and just a tad long (like on the model) and the sweater is very very warm. Again, a great sweater to wear over a sleeveless maxi. You will stay warm in winter! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Fairisle Long Cardigan
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
perfect layering piece
11.13.2011
" LOVE this sweater!!! got it in both colors - its so versatile. Great length, colors work for many complexions, the orange hues are prettiest , though. Work well for petites, too. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>