Product Reviews

Beatnik Tunic

Soft, oversized tunic, trapeze cut with long sleeves and scoop back. *FP Beach is a collection that embodies the free spirit of the seaside lifestyle with casual knit dressing, lightweight layers and effortless shapes.
overall average rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Beatnik Tunic
Review 1 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Ugh awful.
11.24.2014
"First of all, the smell coming off of the one I got (Plum) was heinous. It may wash out, but I could barely stand it while trying it on. The plum color was nothing like the picture imo--it was a very muddy, dark purple color. In the end, none of this mattered because the sleeves were absurdly tight. I could get it on, but I could barely move the seams straight, they were so snug! Paired with the wide torso, it was pretty comical looking. I loved the neckline, and the torso looked cute belted, but tbh the fabric was pretty thin and with the aforementioned issues, at this price? No."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
love it
10.25.2014
"I'm really happy that I didn't listen to all of the negative reviews on this tunic. I don't know why everyone is so unhappy with it because it is one of my favorite pieces from free people I own. I'm 5'2 125 lbs and ordered the XS/S and the arms are not even close to being too tight. Its super comfortable and looks cute with leggings and tall boots. Definitely getting a lot of use out of this for the fall/winter."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Oregon Coast
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love it in the picture, but tight on!
10.8.2014
"Right when I saw this I knew I had to have it. For reference I'm 5'9" and curvy size medium or large in FP. The arms are super tight and the way it falls doesn't look like the pic. Ultimately, I am returning it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:dc
age:14-20
body type:athletic
not same color as pic
9.30.2014
"I ordered this in plum in an xs/s and i am very disappointed. The color in person is much darker and has more of a brown hue. Also was too long and baggy, I am 5'5. sadly will be returning this."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Queens
age:26-30
body type:petite
HUGE!
6.18.2014
"I am very petite but this shirt looks nothing like the model on me. It is very wide! ..I like long and loose but wide is very unattractive! It will be going back!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:curvy
not what i expected
5.29.2014
"I just purchased this in the berry color for an upcoming vacation. Was expecting to take it with me on my trip in a few days. It is not even close to the color pictured. It is a dark red with almost a brown tint to it. Very dull and not pretty at all and not what I expected. Free People, I love your stuff and you are one of the few websites I shop at but this experience was definitely a failure. :("
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:slender
Overpriced
4.10.2014
"I took a few days to decide whether I loved or hated this top. I still haven't reached a verdict but I've chosen to keep it. As someone else said, this piece will depend entirely on how it is accessorised.
One thing I will say, with certainty, is that it's not worth the price; and I say this as someone who lives in Australia, where clothing is twice as expensive as in America. I really hate unfinished edges, but Free People just won't give up on them. Rayon can be a great fabric, but this is a poor quality version which almost looks pre-loved. It pills easily and this is already evident, especially around the neck-line.
Sometimes I don't know how Free People gets away with charging what they do. The styles are often beautiful but the quality just doesn't warrant it.
"
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:slender
LOVE IT!
3.29.2014
"This tunic is amazing! I ordered it in the deep berry color in XS and couldn't have been more pleased. It looked just like the image on the web. The fit through the shoulders is truly perfect and definitely makes this piece work with the trapeze shape on the bottom. On my 5' 7" frame it falls just high enough that I wouldn't recommend wearing it without pants/leggings/etc, but it would totally work as a beach cover-up. I also tried wearing this top backwards with the scoop in front and it totally works. 2 tops in one! The fabric is super soft and I will probably have to get another color in this!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:26-30
body type:slender
Great Buy
3.27.2014
"I adore this top! I purchased this top wanting something comfortable but not boring, I love a good flowing top and this is just that with the nice dip in the back. This might be one of my favorite pieces for a lazy day."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Calgary
age:21-25
body type:petite
Wrong colour and I'm too petite
3.27.2014
"The colour definitely does not match the website. Instead of being a deep berry, it's more of a burnt red. It's still a lovely colour, but it's frustrating receiving something completely unexpected. I'm 5'2 and 110lbs. It makes me look like a little red/ orange balloon, especially from the side. And isn't interesting that the Free People website doesn't show you a side view of the model? Perhaps she looks like a balloon too. It would make a nice maternity dress."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Love the wide look
2.26.2014
"I normally wear clothes that are form fitting- I generally do not look good in wide/boxy silhouettes. HOWEVER, I purchased this because I saw how it looked on another customer's style pic and really liked the look. I am glad I got it because it looks really cool! I love the low back and the way it looks on my shoulders. The sleeves were moderately tight-- I have bigger arms and it was not a problem for me. And the length is nice and short so I still feel sexy! If you want form fitting, skip this look. But when you try it on, you may be surprised by how flattering this silhouette is!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:curvy
No Thanks...
2.21.2014
"I wanted to love this, I reaally wanted to. But the sleeves were just too tight for the frame of the body and for me there was too much fabric around the body of this tunic. The sleeves were a bit tighter then I would have liked on a top like this making this uncomfortable for me. I am so upset because I planned to wear this for a vacation. Bummer. I do love the color of it and the idea is great. Just didn't work out for me."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Miami
age:14-20
body type:slender
returning!
2.18.2014
"I'm not as tall as the models but I'm definitely not short (5'6) and I'm really thin but the dress was just WAY too large like the arms are too tight and everything else was really boxy so it's not flattering at all and the color was more of a rust than a "deep berry" color which was really disappointing :("
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:over 45
body type:petite
Not "Deep Berry"
2.7.2014
"The shape of this shirt is definitely as it appears on line. I was holding off purchasing the grey because I thought it might wash me out so I was very excited when this new color popped up. However, the color is definitely more of a brick red or rust and not the pretty red it appears to be on line. It's a nice alternative but not what I was hoping for. If you're not hung up on the "exact" color then go for it!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:CO
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love!!!
1.20.2014
"I got this in the grey color size xs/s and i am 5'6'' about 120 lbs. it's a little tight in the arms but stretches out a bit with wear. looks so cute paired with leggings or jeans and some boots, can be dressed up with jewelry, a scarf, whatever. not sure if i'll be able to wear it without pants underneath, but perfect for winter and fall. could layer it with another FP dress or maybe a black skirt or something under!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Southern States
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Perfect for Fall
10.11.2013
"This is my favorite purchase this season yet! I bought a M/L in the mustard color and it fits exactly how I want (5'9"). Its the perfect length for layering with jeans/leggings and boots. Its tight on the arms, but a little more blousy on the body than the photos show. The material is the perfect weight for fall nights, and just enough to keep you warm in the cool air. xoxo"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Super simple
10.6.2013
"Love the fit of this tunic (I'm already a fan of the trapeze/swing shape - i know they're not for everyone), and it's just long enough to be a dress for me. Chose my regular size, and it fits the way I expected. Love the low back and raw edges. Hems will fray and roll a bit with wear. Wore this with a statement necklace and black ankle booties and got many complements. I highly recommend this dress!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:uk
age:21-25
body type:athletic
love it :)
7.30.2013
"The dress is comfortable, elegant, and chic (especially the low back) - the 'tent-y' shape is totally my style (I'm 5'5", ordered xs/s). I didn't find the online pictures misleading (remember these girls are models, they usually exceed 5'10 people!). THANKS for creating a .co.uk site free people.. SO AWESOME. I love it!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:toronto
age:31-35
body type:slender
:-(
6.27.2013
"I am 5,5: 116 pounds. I just got mustard XS from internet.
I like the colour , but the size fitting OMg. Way to large on the side. trapeze shape.
this is no way I could wear it as now. The picture look better than the real results"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Beatnik Tunic
Name:
Location:seattle
age:over 45
body type:athletic
wanted it but..
5.8.2013
"I really would love to have this in all colors but the xs/s is like a giant tent on me. the sleeves are tight, and it doesn't hand enough to get rid of the tent appearance. I was surprised
I am a good tailor, seamstress but don't feel I want to sew and re-do this at this price
dang
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>