Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Velvet Foliage Dress

Velvet print dress with drop waist and gathering along waist line. Button detailing at the lower back. Hidden pocket detailing on either side in the front. Scoop neck front and back. *Machine Wash *Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 34" Chest: 36 1/2" Waist: 37 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Velvet Foliage Dress
Review 1 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Lovely!
1.11.2011
"This dress is beautiful! I would have sized down to an M, but they only had L in the store, so I bought it anyway. The dress hits my 5'9" frame around mid thigh. I like to add a waist belt to break it up a little bit. This dress is gorgeous!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:14-20
body type:petite
I wish :(
11.14.2010
"I tried this on and wanted it to fit so badly!! but the extra small was so big on me that the sales lady asked me if i was trying on a large. I told her that unfortunately, it was the extra small that hung down below my bra. I considered buying and fixing the sleeves, but velvet can be difficult to alter, and even i shortened the sleeves, the waist would still be way too big.
If you are tall, or curvy--GET THIS DRESS, in honor of us poor short girls who only wish they could wear it.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Adorable but gigantic
11.2.2010
"Like all the other reviewers I loved this dress the moment I saw it, however when I tried it on I was swimming in it. It just didn't seem to fit my waist in the right place either, and made me look wider. The back accent is adorable, and I loved the feel and vibe of this dress so I bought it anyway despite the size issues. I found that the problem could be fixed by adding a belt to cinch in the waist, this way the bagginess looks purposeful."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Knotted Stretch Waist Belt
4 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Long Sleeve Henley Lace Bodysuit
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:Rocky Mountains Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Needs alteration
10.27.2010
"This dress is lovely, beautiful fabric, great length (I'm 5'10, 150 lbs, size L) and a romantic style. BUT, it is WAYYYY too baggy!!! I'm not returning it, but will have to alter it-under the arms, around the bust and waist big time! Definitely size down on this one."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
meh.
10.14.2010
"very cute, however runs very large. don't purchase this item if you are an xs. runs about 2 sizes large."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Heavy and large.
10.11.2010
"This is a great dress for plus sized girls size 14-16, because it sizes at least one full size too large. I might even dare to size down two sizes. Unfortunately, it didn't work for me at all. Even the extra small was too large for me (size 4). In addition, the fabric is really, really heavy. There are two layers of weighty fabric and I felt that they really dragged the dress down. Because I am not an hourglass, this weight also made the dress kind of shapeless. I gave the dress three stars because, although it didn't work for me and would deserve less than 3 stars if everyone had exactly my body type, I know that curvier girls could rock this dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:West
age:21-25
body type:petite
Large but unique
9.20.2010
"Just as other reviewers said this piece runs large!!!! I got an XS but it still hit almost on my knees (I am 5"4 and 120). A little bit smaller would be PERFECT! If you are fortunate to be taller than me - size down! But I am keeping it because I love the material which makes this dress unique and classy. It is a wonderful dress for fall and I guess it would look good with sweaters or light jacket!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
VERY LOOSE FIT
9.19.2010
"This dress is so cute but it runs VERY large! its supposed to hang on your body but if you get the wrong size youll be swimming in it. The xs will fit about any petite to average size girl."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
aaaaalmost perfect
9.17.2010
"One of the other reviews said that this swallowed her petite frame - and I could definitely see why as it does fit pretty loose - I'm a lean-to-curvy shape, got the small and still the elastic waist doesn't exactly cinch - but I still love it. Couple of other things to note though, whilst the fabric is so beautiful, the velvet looks darker in natural light then it does in the photos here. Also the arms and neckline are pretty low, and I have to wear something under it (although it looks cute layered anyway). I also had to have the hem taken down - I'm 5'9 and have a long torso so it came up really short. I had it lengthened by a good 3 inches and it now looks like it does on the model.
But overall - it's really stunning and probably my favourite dress ever!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:14-20
body type:petite
ADORABLEEEE
9.7.2010
"I am IN LOVE with this dress. I usually wear medium, but the small fit great. Even the x-small would have been okay, because the dress is very baggy. Overall, I highly recommend this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Velvet Foliage Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:14-20
body type:petite
in my dreams
8.19.2010
"i tried this gorgeous dress on today and wanted it to fit so badly but the xsmall was way too large on my petite frame. im 5'2", around 105 lbs and the straps came down too far, past the point of minor alterations. the velvet is luxurious and the fit is baggy and relaxed with a perfect back detailing and pockets. im sure this will fit taller girls who can fill it out on top and it will be the most stunning dress in their closet."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large