Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ruched Seamless Shorts

Stretchy seamless boy shorts with vertical ruched detailing all around with ruffles around bottom opening.
overall average rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Review 1 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:athletic
More charcoal or black please!
4.11.2014
"I got these in the charcoal hoping they would run small as they were left only in the m/l. For reference, I am 5 7, 135 lbs and size in fp bottoms varies from 27-29. The color was great - really flattering on my skin tone - but they were way too big. I returned them and tried the wisteria in the xs/s. Sure enough, these are the right size, but the color not so much. The color is more nude than brown. Needless to say, these are going back and I am crossing my fingers that the xs/s in charcoal or black will come back in stock."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:San Juan
age:21-25
body type:petite
So cute
4.9.2014
"Possibly my single best free people purchase ever. These shorts are super soft and comfy, and incredibly cute with anything. Love love love them. I wish I could have them in every color. I ordered them in the wisteria color, and I know sometimes the colors change a bit when you see them in person, but I could swear they sent me the grey and not the wisteria color that I ordered. I was looking forward to them being "wisteria", but they are cute anyways."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
ok as a layering short
4.7.2014
"i purchased this for the primary purpose of wearing this as a layering short. i'm usually a M, and the M/L fits comfortably, almost a bit roomy. it does ride up a bit, and when worn with a tighter dress or one with a tighter slip, the bottom ruffle does catch the dress a little."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:MI
age:26-30
body type:athletic
great basic
3.1.2014
"I got these in black, size xs/s; I am 5'6 and 130 lbs with a small waist and curvy hips. Fit great. They definitely look tiny out of the packaging but stretch a lot. The ruffle is super cute. Haven't worn out of the house yet so not sure if they'll ride up or not... knocked a star off because the price seems a bit steep for a basic."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Portland, OR, USA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Nice Shorts!
1.6.2014
"I really like how simple and perfect these are. I have a lot of short, flared dresses and these are perfect for wearing underneath or just as a regular short in the summer. I'm going to get another pair."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:36-40
body type:petite
Cutest little shorts ever.
11.13.2013
"I love them so much I bought a second pair. I normally wear them over leggings, but I've also worn them over bikini bottoms lounging around in the sun. The merlot is really more of a burgundy color than the cranberry-ish red in the photo, which was a bit of a disappointment, but still pretty."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Colour not as pictured, overpriced
10.18.2013
"I think I've been sent the wrong colour. Definitely brighter then pictured. I think it's a little overpriced as well."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.18.2013
That is much brighter! We'll be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:petite
SOOOO ADORABLE
8.28.2013
"I purchased mine in a grayish purple color. Not sold anymore. I love them soooo much. So glad I bought it. I wear mine a bit shorter than the models do in the pics, it looks much cuter on this way. I only wear them around my loft or under my short dresses and skirts. They are super stretchy and don't fit too tight. I will say it's true to size but I believe a medium person could wear the XS/S. So comfy. I purchased another pair. Wish I could have all the colors. Will also use them for sleeping. Definitely get a pair"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect little black shorts
6.26.2013
"Great layering piece, so very comfortable and as an added bonus makes my butt look big! I wouldn't wear it outside by itself but could be used as sleep shorts or wear it to the beach. I'm 105 pounds and found the size XS fits well, has an adequate amount of stretch to it too."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:31-35
body type:slender
Good basic to have in your wardrobe...
6.26.2013
"So these are cute shorts, probably a bit overpriced for what they are, but nonetheless, cute.
They are very highwaisted though you can scrunch them lower as needed. The ruffle is a bit 'fluffier' than the pictures really show.
They are good for under short dresses and tunics, or throwing on as a beach cover-up....there is a lot you can do with, which helps to justify the price.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Palm Springs Florida
age:over 45
body type:slender
Returned
6.21.2013
"I am 5'7" 139 lbs I ordered a M they arrived and were too big I had to return for a small. I am still waiting on the return."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfect layering shorts
6.16.2013
"I purchased the light blue pair to go underneath a similarly colored dress I have that's a little too short - they will work perfectly for this! The shorts are very short, but I think the photos show that pretty accurately. They're comfortable and have nice stretch."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:forest hills
age:26-30
body type:curvy
DIVINE, but HUGE
6.13.2013
"I love it! But I ordered M-L, I had to exchange it for XS-S. I'm normally Medium size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Boston
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Soooooo Pretty and Flattering!
6.12.2013
"I absolutely love these shorts. I have them in black and the "ruching" makes my bottom look fabulous! I think these would look good on anyone. A friend tried mine on (totally different bottom type) and they looked just as lovely on her as well. They are definitely short (as other reviewers have mentioned), but certainly not any shorter than they are in the photos. I wouldn't wear them to work, but they are a perfect casual short. The fabric is very stretchy (i.e. they will not squeeze you in unflattering ways, but they will also not hold anything - like your tummy - in) and comfy. This was a really awesome purchase. I am considering getting an extra pair in another color!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
Ride Up on Me, Glorified Undies
5.26.2013
"I agree with one reviewer, i don't quite see the hype of these shorts? And i don't think i could sport them as shorts, they're definitely glorified underwear for me. I bought them to wear under short dresses this summer, and they do work for this... but they are seriously high-waisted (can't see the ruffle peeking out) and do ride up on me. I have to keep pulling them down. Although they're cute when they're on properly, i do think they're overpriced. I could've just gotten boy shorts instead. Only reason i'm giving three stars, i do love the copper color."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:LA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Amazing
5.24.2013
"These are great got xs/s in copper and black. The copper has a lilac type shade to it and I really like it. The best thing about these is you can wear them as regular shorts or in place of a slip for a sheer/short dress and on top of that they are SO comfy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Amazing Piece!
4.25.2013
"These shorts rock. I bought them primarily to wear under the Daisy Lace Dress, since the slip that came with the dress rides up, so instead I am wearing these shorts underneath, with no slip. I LOVE them. The fit is very sexy, especially if you have curves. For reference, I am usually a size 4/medium in undies/pants, and I bought the XS/S, and they fit perfectly!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
very comfy!
4.21.2013
"i ordered these shorts quite a while ago but it's finally getting warmer to wear them as shorts. i got the copper color and plan on wearing them with the we the free white peplum tank some JC sandals and tons of accessories. overall they're fab and not sheer whatsoever!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
*PERFECT*
4.12.2013
"When I first took these out of the package, I was slightly concerned as the XS/S looked teenie tiny. But have no fear, they STRETCH!!! These shorts are just gorgeous! Beautiful cut and all the stretch gives them a perfect fit! The ruffles are adorable and add so much character! Their length makes them suitable to wear on their own or under short dresses and tunics. I can already tell they will become a staple in my wardrobe!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
very cute but overpriced
3.27.2013
"I just got these in the mail today and promptly tried them on. They are adorable! My only concern is them stretching out and being too big. I am 5'6 1/2 and 150lbs and ordered the M/L. They fit decently right now with a little wiggle room. I just had a baby two months ago so hopefully they will still fit after the baby weight is gone! Also, I think they are pretty pricy for what you get. They are very cute but I don't think they are worth $38 but that's what you get with Free People products, very cute but overpriced."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>