Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ruched Seamless Shorts

Stretchy seamless boy shorts with vertical ruched detailing all around with ruffles around bottom opening.
overall average rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Review 1 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:athletic
No Frill - Smaller in leg than anticipated
10.16.2014
"I bought these hoping they would work. I have a thick waist but narrow hips and slim-to-muscular thighs. I bought the XS/S although I wear a US8-10. They fit in the hip and a little snug in the waist - but because the fabric is so stretchy- they work. The problem is the leg. The pair I have didn't frill at all. perhaps I should have bought the M/L. They look like bike shorts on me. I cannot fault the quality. So surprised but still recommend."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:midwest
age:36-40
body type:curvy
nice shorts
10.1.2014
"Bought in black to go under short charcoal embellished slip. I'm not a shorts fan but I love the idea of a "bloomer" underneath a maxi dress. I am a medium, 5'2" 150 lbs and curvy. The XS/S was a good fit for me because of the ruche and stretch of the shorts. They do ride high on your waist and come above my belly button but its okay as an undie look. Comfortable for an all day wear."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Austin
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Flirty short shorts
9.3.2014
"I found these shorts really interesting in the texture and frilly bottoms. I'm a 4 and I got a S in black and grey. I've worn them out as shorts, in yoga and under a dress that is more a just in case type thing. The only thing with them, since they are gathered and have the ruffle, they are bumpy under a clingy dress. Comfortable and sexy. I found as I wear them, my butt cheeks start to come out if I don't watch it but I've seen some girls wearing them on purpose like this so I guess it doesn't matter."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
My favorite shorts
7.16.2014
"I love these shorts! Unfortunately I ordered the M/L and find them too large. I kept them anyway because I'm tired of returns and exchange hassles. I'm 5'9", 160 lbs, 34-30-40 and the leg holes are 2" too wide. They are stretchy, so I can still wear them. I love how soft and comfortable these are. I especially like that I can wear them up as high waisted shorts, or scrunch them down like the models in the photo so that all the lovely ruching shows. I will definitely order more in the future. Just a minor quip, but the crotch area is a little narrower than normal underwear and shorts, which may cause some peeking. My favorite part is the lined stitching which makes my butt look so good!!! My husband has never made any comments on my butt until now! Maybe I will buy every color LOL."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Most comfortable shorts
7.11.2014
"I bought these in an XS/S in black as soon as they came back in stock and they're super comfortable and very flattering. They do ride up quite a bit but not to the point where cheeks are hanging out, so I don't mind it so much. Definitely worth buying a pair, I recommend everyone to do it, even if you just wear them around the house. I find them great to wear under the french courtship slip."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Different color in person
7.8.2014
"I got the merlot xs/s. I have a tendency to land on the large side of small, and the small side of medium, other reviews said these stretch a TON, and they were right. I got the xs/s, could not be happier with how incredibly soft the material is, and forgiving. These do not cut into the tops of my thighs at all, which can be a troublesome area for me.
The problem, though? They look like a deep wine red, burgundy, almost maroon-ish. In real life, raspberry pink. They are more pink than anything else. I hate the colour, and will unfortunately either be returning or exchanging for a different colour. A shame, as the colour looks so nice in the pictures!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
"grey"
6.25.2014
"I was so excited when the grey was restocked! Unfortunately, the color was a very light grey, rather than (at least it looks like to me) the purple-y grey pictured. I was going to return them, but they really are adorable and flattering."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:austin tx
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
not for me!
5.6.2014
"This material is the same as the seamless slips and it all acts the same way on my body. It rides up it wants to be around my waist and then its no better than a thong. I am pear shaped I wear a size 8 and ordered the M/L."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:athletic
More charcoal or black please!
4.11.2014
"I got these in the charcoal hoping they would run small as they were left only in the m/l. For reference, I am 5 7, 135 lbs and size in fp bottoms varies from 27-29. The color was great - really flattering on my skin tone - but they were way too big. I returned them and tried the wisteria in the xs/s. Sure enough, these are the right size, but the color not so much. The color is more nude than brown. Needless to say, these are going back and I am crossing my fingers that the xs/s in charcoal or black will come back in stock."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:San Juan
age:21-25
body type:petite
So cute
4.9.2014
"Possibly my single best free people purchase ever. These shorts are super soft and comfy, and incredibly cute with anything. Love love love them. I wish I could have them in every color. I ordered them in the wisteria color, and I know sometimes the colors change a bit when you see them in person, but I could swear they sent me the grey and not the wisteria color that I ordered. I was looking forward to them being "wisteria", but they are cute anyways."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
ok as a layering short
4.7.2014
"i purchased this for the primary purpose of wearing this as a layering short. i'm usually a M, and the M/L fits comfortably, almost a bit roomy. it does ride up a bit, and when worn with a tighter dress or one with a tighter slip, the bottom ruffle does catch the dress a little."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:MI
age:26-30
body type:athletic
great basic
3.1.2014
"I got these in black, size xs/s; I am 5'6 and 130 lbs with a small waist and curvy hips. Fit great. They definitely look tiny out of the packaging but stretch a lot. The ruffle is super cute. Haven't worn out of the house yet so not sure if they'll ride up or not... knocked a star off because the price seems a bit steep for a basic."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Portland, OR, USA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Nice Shorts!
1.6.2014
"I really like how simple and perfect these are. I have a lot of short, flared dresses and these are perfect for wearing underneath or just as a regular short in the summer. I'm going to get another pair."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:36-40
body type:petite
Cutest little shorts ever.
11.13.2013
"I love them so much I bought a second pair. I normally wear them over leggings, but I've also worn them over bikini bottoms lounging around in the sun. The merlot is really more of a burgundy color than the cranberry-ish red in the photo, which was a bit of a disappointment, but still pretty."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Colour not as pictured, overpriced
10.18.2013
"I think I've been sent the wrong colour. Definitely brighter then pictured. I think it's a little overpriced as well."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.18.2013
That is much brighter! We'll be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:petite
SOOOO ADORABLE
8.28.2013
"I purchased mine in a grayish purple color. Not sold anymore. I love them soooo much. So glad I bought it. I wear mine a bit shorter than the models do in the pics, it looks much cuter on this way. I only wear them around my loft or under my short dresses and skirts. They are super stretchy and don't fit too tight. I will say it's true to size but I believe a medium person could wear the XS/S. So comfy. I purchased another pair. Wish I could have all the colors. Will also use them for sleeping. Definitely get a pair"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect little black shorts
6.26.2013
"Great layering piece, so very comfortable and as an added bonus makes my butt look big! I wouldn't wear it outside by itself but could be used as sleep shorts or wear it to the beach. I'm 105 pounds and found the size XS fits well, has an adequate amount of stretch to it too."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:31-35
body type:slender
Good basic to have in your wardrobe...
6.26.2013
"So these are cute shorts, probably a bit overpriced for what they are, but nonetheless, cute.
They are very highwaisted though you can scrunch them lower as needed. The ruffle is a bit 'fluffier' than the pictures really show.
They are good for under short dresses and tunics, or throwing on as a beach cover-up....there is a lot you can do with, which helps to justify the price.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Palm Springs Florida
age:over 45
body type:slender
Returned
6.21.2013
"I am 5'7" 139 lbs I ordered a M they arrived and were too big I had to return for a small. I am still waiting on the return."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Ruched Seamless Shorts
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfect layering shorts
6.16.2013
"I purchased the light blue pair to go underneath a similarly colored dress I have that's a little too short - they will work perfectly for this! The shorts are very short, but I think the photos show that pretty accurately. They're comfortable and have nice stretch."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>