Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lace Rendezvous Dress

Lace dress with gathered flounce bottom and rounded v-neck. Beaded crochet trim along neck line. Fully lined. Dropped waist. *Hand wash *Import Measurement for Size Medium: Length: 36" Chest: 31 1/2" Waist (relaxed): 23"
overall average rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Review 1 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Pretty.
12.8.2010
" I got this dress in light blue, which is only available in some stores, and it is beautiful. The beading is gorgeous, the lace feminine and comfortable. I am usually between a M and L, and I went with the M because this dress is roomy. The waist of this dress is lacking in definition, so adding a waist belt is a good choice. The length hit my 5'9" at mid thigh. This dress comes with a removable slip, but I used a nicer slip instead. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:NH
age:14-20
body type:slender
Little Blue Dress
12.4.2010
" This is one of the most comfortable dresses I own. The dress is really delicate and as pictured, except I don't think the pictures show the clinched waist very well. There's kind of an elastic-y band right along your stomach. It's very flattering because it makes my chest a little more full. hahahaa, but it is definitely sexy as well as feminine. BUY!!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Better than in picture
11.19.2010
" The model makes this dress look grandmotherly. I love the autumn color. In person it has a very down to earth yet gorgeous look. The beading along the neckline is what gives it flirty feminine appeal. The lace does seem delicate so you have to be careful not too snag it on anything. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Shibuya.
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Very interesting dress.
11.18.2010
" I finally got the Blue one. It is runs large so I'm glad I got a Size XS. It stretchs a lot so someone who wear Size M might even fit in. The only bad thing is the inner(tank) is really really really thin, see‐through so I had to buy a long tank top for a inner. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:petite
Beautiful Lace Dress
11.8.2010
" I am 5'2,103 pounds, and bought the autumn color in xs. It is absolutely beautiful. I love everything about it, from the detailed design at the neck line, the stretchy and sturdy lace fabric, and the longer in the back look. There is a slip lining underneath so no worries about it being see through. I am contemplating on purchasing the black one as well. This dress will definitely essentuate your body figure as it hugs to your body. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Why so enormous?...
11.3.2010
" This dress is a pretty style — I tried the "autumn" colour, and it's luxurious and lovely and, though the material seemed prone to picking, it actually seemed relatively sturdy. — but the fit is not good. I am usually a size 0 with FP so I tried the XS, and it was massive. Not just in that it was too large, but it was also stretchy, which made it even worse. If only it had a cute, tight fit, it would be such a super little dress. Everyone who has the room to go, definitely order a size down! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:The South
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Absolutely fantastic and versatile!!!!
10.22.2010
" I've been obsessing about this dress for a month and I finally tried it on and fell in love. I'm no bean-pole at 5'5", 150 lb.s and 34DD, so I do have a hard time on occasion with some of FP's cuts. But this dress actually ran big for me - I'm normally a M/L and the lady at the store thought the small looked best. I went with the medium though because the slip on the small was just too short, and the dress is translucent. I got the autumn color - and being a redhead, it REALLY flatters my coloring. Not to mention it's perfect for fall and goes with everything since it's neutral. The black would be easier to dress up - but I loved the brown. So if you're on the fence - it's a GREAT dress, and it does run big so order down a size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Encinitas, CA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
I want to love this dress..
10.10.2010
" I do like this dress, but it just is not great. I do like the pull on feature and the fit is a bit on the big side. However, the attached slip does not fit the same. It is too short unless you go out of your way to keep pulling it down. The waist on this dress is a smocked elastic, but it is wide and you really need a belt with it to make it look less plain and noticable. I like the dress, but because of these issues I will probably return it and wait for something that doesn't have issues to deal with. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Somewhat of a let down
9.17.2010
" I received the autumn color of this dress in the mail the other day. When looking at it online I thought it was SO beautiful and perfect, but when I got it it was a disappointment. The flowers in real life are much more noticeable than in the picture and a darker color. Also the waist clenches in a weird place. I'm 5'7" ~170lbs and have pretty wide hips which this waist accentuated in a way that made me look fat. Also my boobs are D and I can tell this would look much better on a girl with smaller boobs/hips. Still beautiful, I'm still trying to decide if I'm going to return it or not. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Ditsy Ruffled Layers Skirt
4.6 out of 5(57)
 
 
 
FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
4.6 out of 5(113)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Not what I was expecting
9.14.2010
" I expected the material of this dress to be better quality, but it was surprisingly thin. I got the blue in my usual size small and I returned it. Unfortunatly the fit just didn't do anything for my body. The waist cinches in a weird way making the dress very unflattering. On another body type this would be stunning. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
awkward flare
9.5.2010
" i only tried this dress on in a size S. I am 5'3 115 34C and 25" waist and the length was actually shorter than i thought it was going to be, in a good way. however, the crinkly-ness of the dress did not flatter me at all. i do not have bulging hips and yet when i put this dress on the hip area flared out as if i had huge love handles. my chest also felt too large in the top area. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
Lots of good qualities
9.2.2010
" I am giving this 4 stars, but I would give 4.5 if I could. I tend to be in more in agreement with the 5 star review than the 3 star review. Here's what I like about the dress first:
I bought this in silver, which is really a lovely ice blue (a hot color this fall). I think the lace is pretty- it's soft and stretchy and I think it looks good close up.
The dress is the perfect length for me- I am 5'6, 120 lbs and I bought an XS. I think it hits me the same as the pictures show.
The cinching in the waist hits me in the perfect spot. NOTE: the dress is stretchy. If you think the dress is too short or the waist hits in the wrong spot, then simply pull it down. It's really that simple.
I pulled it down to get the waist down lower and the dress then felt a little too long for my taste, so I just shifted the dress back to where I originally had it- it stayed put and it's fine.
This dress looks amazing layered with knee high boots and I added a black belt around the waist. I also think a jacket will make it a lot better when it cools down.
The not-so-good:
I think that the dress, by itself, isn't all that special and that is why I gave it 4 stars and I considered sending it back. Again, I love the color and the femininity of the dress is an amazing contrast to some riding boots and a jacket. But by itself, kind of boring.
That's really the only bad thing i have to say about.
Yes, the slip underneath stops about 6" higher, and I really like that about it. And I love the fact that the back is longer!
So overall I am going to keep this and rock it out with boots, belt and jacket. I think that you could potentially size down if you wanted to, say if you like your dresses shorter and tighter. In any other brand I would wear a small in a dress but I wear an XS pretty much all the time in FP, even in dresses and I think this would have been too big on me in a Small.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Rowdy Zip Back Boot
4.7 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
Pacific Woven Waist Belt
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Textured Jacquard Ruffle Jacket
5 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 13 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Miami, Florida
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Easy glamour
8.30.2010
" This dress pulls on. The beading is awesome. It has a soft slip inside. I bought blue but black looks awesome. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:------------
age:21-25
body type:athletic
CAUTION!!!!!!!!
8.25.2010
" I'm beginning to doubt that the previous reader and I bought the same dress:
For starters, I'm 5'4'' 120 lbs and the dress is a little short for ME. I definitely would have to wear a tight underneath because the front far above the knee. (The back, as shown in the picture, is fine.)
The lace, however, should not be called lace. While technically it is, it's a stretchy, cheap lace that looks like a child's dress or a grandmother's dress up close. There's elastic throughout the dress that makes it all crinkly... soft, yes, but crinkly and matronly. There is twice the elastic in the middle to give the dress it's shape, but if it doesn't hit you in the right spot you're screwed.
I was happy to see that it came with a shift underneath--this is one of the upsides. However, the shift comes down only a foot ABOVE the bottom of the dress. Again, tights are a must.
From far away the dress looks great. The back V and front V are beautiful. Up close it's a mess, and I would save your money. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lace Rendezvous Dress
Name:
Location:Malibu, CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
So COMFORTABLE & AMAZING IN SO MANY WAYS!!!!
8.18.2010
" I have been looking and looking and looking for a black lace dress for so long now, so when I stumbled upon this one, I immediately purchased it and could just tell it was going to be the one for me =) Not only is this dress extremely comfortable, it is really sexy and feminine as well. It is very different than any other lace dress, for it has a black cotton/spandex-like slip underneath it, which is attached to the lace shell, but can be removed it you choose to cut it off (but most likely you won't b/c the dress will be see thru without it & you will need to waear something under it). This dress looks exactly as it is pictured here. The back does fall a little bit lower than in the front, but looks incredible and I am loving it :-) I am 5'8" 115lbs and the length is perfect, but may be a but long for someone a little shorter. Also, I ordered the XS and it fits, but its definitely not a snug fitting dress. Though it is fitted at the waist. I could go on and on about this dress and I am really in love with it. It can be worn as a cocktail dress or the way I am going to wear it , which is with a pair of high brown leather distressed boots and my black label green miltary jacket (which is distressed as well, but in a real beachy, boho type way. I received compliment after compliment in this outfit and can't wait to see what other types of ways I will end up wearing it with. There is so many different possiblities with this dress and with the amazing detail and extreme comfort, you can't go wrong!!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Rowdy Zip Back Boot
4.7 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
Old English Boot
5 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
Work Custom Gidget Flare
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
Vintage Lace Bodice Top