Product Reviews

Battalion Boot

Suede military tall boots with button detailing all up the front. Zipper on inner sides. Suede heel and platform. Elastic insert at top of outer side. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People *Leather Upper, Rubber Sole *Import *21" shaft height, 17 1/2" opening circumference *5" heel, 1" platform
overall average rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Battalion Boot
Review 1 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:LA
age:21-25
body type:slender
The calf bulge...
2.12.2013
"Beautiful boots but a bit tight in the foot since they kind of squeeze them and I think the only other thing that really bothers me about them is the weird calf bulge that just blatantly sticks out.. going to look into possibly altering that."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:NJ/NY
age:36-40
body type:athletic
oh baby..
1.16.2013
"So ive been eyeing this boots for awhile and finally got them during the extra sale. I opened
the box and fell in love!! This boot is gorgeous!! This is the first time that I gushed over how beautiful a shoe looked on my leg. It's definitely a show stopper. I'm normally a 7 1/2 so I sized up just because I know from experience that Jeffrey Campbell shoes tend to run on the small size. Got an 8 and it fit beautifully. I also put some cushy padded inserts in them for comfort since I know I'll be standing on them for hours. Overall quality is great as expected from all JC shoes. Comfort is okay being that it's a very high heel. Everyone needs a boot that will make them look sexier, for me this is definitely the "it" boot. Five stars!!(somehow it didn't give me the option to rate it 5 stars)..
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:VA
age:41-45
body type:slender
Super Gorgeous Boots
1.15.2013
"These Boots are fabulous. I am 5.4, 115lbs. My legs are really skinny and I find it hard to find boots that fit both legs and thighs. These boots were perfect. They fitted me just as they look on the model. However, based on the conflicting reviews regarding size from other reviews I decided to order my normal size 8 and they were a little tight. Initially I decided to exchange them for a size 9 but the one thing I was worried about was that they are a little unconfortable to walk in. I wear heels all the time. I don't do flats so the uncoforntabilty is not due to the height of the shoe, it's just the shoe part of the boot feels a little awkward when I tried to walk in them. It's like the shoe part was constructed in a squeezed way...can't describe the exact feeling. Bottom line, unconfortable. So as much as I loved them boots, If I kept them, they could have been making my closet look good but not my feet & legs because It would have been hard to wear them. I was sad to send them back!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Gross!
1.14.2013
"These were a distinctly negative experience for me. I was so so looking forward to them, but they were just totally weird. First of all, they didn't hug my legs like they do the model's; the calf area was wide and floppy. Also, the black is not a soft, delicate black; it's a deeply-saturated black, very silly and new-looking. I was so excited for my new beautiful, Parisian footwear — swayed entirely by the '20s segment of the Nov. '11 catalogue — but what I got made me feel like an anime character or superhero. ALSO: I had these forwarded to me here in Canada by a friend in the US, and the box in which they arrived was SO unnecessarily huge, which not only cost $32894170239487 to ship, but is massively wasteful. For shame, FP!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Beautiful Boots!
1.11.2013
"These are beautiful boots! However, I agree with some of the reviews. They do hurt a little on the foot if you're in them a long time. But I think I just need to add some padding on the bottom. It is a bit hard on your feet and they are a bit high, that's why I think other reviewers claim the arch is awkward. I will definately keep them since I got them 25% off the sale price, and will just add padding.. Definately worth the money. I even got chased down in the store by a woman asking me where I got these boots. Lots of compliments!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Sexy
1.10.2013
"These boots are so cute. I feel like my legs are borderline too thick for them (years of soccer playing) but they look great, and aren't too uncomfortable for being 4+ inch heels. I think they're the type of shoe that will start wearing on you early in the night, but not cause any major blisters- the type of pain that is bearable and worth it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:san francisco
age:31-35
body type:petite
Amazing boots - get them
12.10.2012
"If you are considering these boots, get them! I wouldn't have paid full price for them, but at $230 I think they are worth the money.
I am 5'3" and 115lbs, I'm pretty petite but not crazy skinny or anything (although I wouldn't say I have athletic legs either), and these boots fit me exactly as pictured.
For you ladies who are used to high heels, these are fine to walk in. I would say they are only impossible to walk in if you are unaccustomed to wearing heels over 3" tall. I found them to be comfortable since they have a hidden platform.
In flats/sneakers my size is 6.5 and in boots I always buy a 7, and these 7's fit perfectly so I would say they are true to size. They are lightweight (I hate shoes that are uber heavy) and gorgeous in person. I also read in another review that the calf bulge is weird but if it doesn't bother you in the photo it won't bother you in person, they are exactly as pictured."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:US
age:26-30
body type:athletic
a lot of boot, a lot of pain
4.13.2012
"i already own the joe boots so i knew what to expect quality wise (nothing great), and the price of these is defiantly high, but there's just no denying that they are amazing to behold. had to have them. however, they are very uncomfortable. (not a shocker of course) the arch area of the footbed doesn't even come CLOSE to making contact with my feet (read: zero arch support), so the weight is badly distributed, making them needlessly painful and akward. wearing them around the house for the evening let me know i would have to get insoles for these before i dare wear them out. seriously ouch."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Strange calf bulge
2.22.2012
"I absolutely love the style of these boots, however they are too big for my thin legs. Being a little large wouldn't be a problem except that the boots have a big calf muscle shape in the back and it bulges out strangely. The suede is heavenly soft, definitely not cheap material, and I love the metal looking buttons."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:california
age:26-30
body type:athletic
This is PERFECTION!
2.14.2012
"I don't know why some reviewers gave this less than perfect reviews, they really flatter a girl with slimish legs..you will love it..a keeper..gets compliments EVERY TIME!"
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:curvy
I have no problems with these boots
1.14.2012
"I'm going to be the odd one out and say that I have had no problems with these shoes other than compliments. I'm not sure why people are saying the quality is bad. I was surprised by the thickness of the leather and sturdiness of the material, so I don't find quality to be an issue. I will admit that the soles themselves are thin, could use some traction, and they could have used a bit more arch support for the price. Since I had to hunt these down by calling actual FP locations, I went with an 8, hearing that JC boots tend to run on the small side. Having said that, I could have gone with a 7, as there is some roominess in the heel as another reviewer said, but that's more of a personal fit issue than a boot issue. It definitely does make walking feel different, but I wouldn't say it makes them hard to walk in, as I've survived 8 hour work days and walks through malls with these babies. In regards to the thighs, I'm 5', and I don't have the thinnest thighs on the block, but I found no issue with where they hit me above the knee. All in all, I'd say these boots are well-made, and will be instant show-stoppers, but I will agree that the price is a bit nuts."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:Greece
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Disappointed
12.31.2011
"For some reason I decided not to pay attention to other customers' negative reviews and went ahead with the purchase. This boot is very poorly constructed and not only is it nearly impossible to walk in, the proportions are all wrong, making this shoe rather unflattering. I love thigh high boots and, believe me, if there was any way I could make these work I'd have kept them, as I'm an international customer and return charges are rather steep, but they're simply not up to par. Huge disappointmet"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
I wish these fit better!
12.1.2011
"These boots look amazing!!!
However they do not feel good. The foot sizes a bit large and the top part fits a bit tight around the thigh.
The part that disappointed me most is how it is so difficult to walk in them! They rock forward and are completely unstable. I wear plenty of very high heels and have never had that problem before.
I am on the fence about keeping them. But despite them being gorgeous, I probably won't. What is the point if I cannot walk in them?
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:Winnipeg
age:21-25
body type:petite
Okay.
11.14.2011
"These are nice boots - unique and beautiful. I would say it would be more reasonable to price them at about $250. The fit is fine - nothing like the model, of course, but that's expected. I'm very short and I have muscular legs, and these boots fit very tightly around my thighs and come up too high. My heels slide to the inside of the boot for some reason, makes it hard to walk as it throws me off balance. Hopefully this is just a personal issue and not typical for everyone. I'm on the fence about keeping them. I'm sure they'd look a lot better on someone with longer, skinnier legs."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Battalion Boot
Name:
Location:Greenwich Ct
age:21-25
body type:slender
exquisite..but narrow and bad quality soles
11.8.2011
"these boots are awesome there's nothing like it anywhere else. but as with all jeffrey campbells they're narrow, if you have wide feet your regular size will not fit you. also the soles are bad quality, there's no reinforcement or any traction whatsoever, i expected better for the price. but nonetheless they're unique enough for me to keep"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large