Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Desert Maxi Dress

Mixed print chiffon maxi dress with flowing shape. Rouching on the front and stitched neckline. Adjustable cross back straps and smocked inset on the back. Fully lined. * 100% Polyester * Machine Wash * Imported Measurements for Size 6: Length: 57" Chest: 30"
overall average rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Desert Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Beautiful gyspy-esque dress
12.1.2010
" I absolutely adore the soft layered materials of this dress. It is tight and revealing in the chest on the sides. I am a 36 c. If you are larger, you will need a bandeau underneath. Still a great piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:So Florida
age:over 45
body type:curvy
LOVE THIS DRESS
9.27.2010
" The price is right - fully lined - beautiful material, although the top was a bit tight (size 6) (I'm a 36-C), but throw a lace bandeau or an opaque long sleeve bodysuit add a chunky belt and some boots & it's versatile enough to wear through the fall. Where I'm from, you can basically wear it all year round. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Long Sleeve Scoop Body Suit
1 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:petite
a haute essential
8.6.2010
" I never had thought all that much about maxi dresses till my friend wore one. And since then I had been looking for one thinking its just something you just need to have in your closet. This dress is so pretty and i needed it. I bought a 0 and I'm 5'2 from previous reviews I knew it was going to be way too long. so I just see it as an excuse now to buy a pair of 4'' wedges. :) Overall totally worth the price.
..Just wish FP would start thinking about their xtra petite women.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo Buckle Wedge
5 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
Cactus Mountain Platform
4.7 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:wisconsin
age:14-20
body type:petite
perfect dress!
7.24.2010
" the desert maxi dress is a beautiful dress! i did not buy it with the original price but i waited until it went on sale to 50% off and i snatched it right up! i am 5'3" with a 34B chest and the dress was very true to my size 2 body! the hem of the dress just skims the floor but not long enough as to where i would trip on it if i walked. it will look great throughout summer with strappy brown sandals as well as a great piece in the fall with chunky boots and a edgy jacket!
i am very excited to see the dress transition throughout the year.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Rowdy Zip Back Boot
4.7 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
Military Shirt Jacket
4.9 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
age:14-20
body type:athletic
gorgeous dress
6.11.2010
" This is an absolutely Beautiful dress! But the sizing is terribly off. I tried this dress on in store. I'm a size 4 usually, but I fit into a size 0 perfectly. The back and sides are really low, so you can't wear a bra underneath this dress. Which I personally find annoying because the top doesn't offer much coverage. Also, this dress is a little big in the chest on me. I'm a 32 B and without a bra the top is still pretty loose. I suggest trying this on in store because of the odd sizing. It's a really gorgeous dress though. The length of the 0 is perfect on me and I'm 5'6". I recommend this dress! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
good festival dress
5.18.2010
" I tried this on in size 2 but, whereas the body fit perfectly, the bust was tiny and cut me off halfway. im a 34 B and 123 lbs, 5'7'. it would be perfect for festivals though and someone with no bust. the material is very thin and delicate and its really comfortable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Calling All Small Bodies!
5.18.2010
" This dress is gorgeous, and I'm keeping it, but I feel the need to warn everybody about the potential disaster; the fit could be very strange. First of all, I bought mine in my smaller FP dress size (0), and it hardly accommodates my chest (32D). And yet I think it's the wide-hipped ladies that should beware; the side panels of the skirt cut very high and make one's hips look much wider. I have quite small hips so I'm not concerned enough to return it, but please take note if you've got a lucious lower-half, haha. Other than that though, it's great; I'm about 5"5, and the 0 is a perfect length for me, and the pattern is beautiful, and the back is sexy... I do think I just got lucky with the size though, and if you can try it on before you purchase, definitely do so. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
I wish I was about 4 inches taller!
5.7.2010
" This dress draped BEAUTIFULLY from the hips up. If I was about 4 inches taller, it would have been perfect! I'm 5'2" and this dress was TOO long. There was no getting around that. My usual size was a perfect fit everywhere, sizing down wasn't an option. Even if I did size down though, the dress was still longer than I am tall. If you are long and lean, this is a stunning dress. It looks good with a tank under it, so you don't have to go braless, but you can also get a scoop back bra and be fine. (And you do need a bra in this... no support.) The material is so so soft, and so so beautiful. Exactly as pictured. Worth the money if you're tall enough to wear it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Seamless Cami
4.2 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Armed In Leather Cuff
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Leather Lock Cuff
4.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Triple Wrap Cuff
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:ma
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Desert Maxi
4.25.2010
" I tried this on in the store and it was just ok. I went with the 6 and it still wasn't very flattering at all. I just have big hips and it made them look huge. The length was perfect it just hit the floor I'm 5'3". On a thinner girl this would look great but I passed on this one. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:hill afb, ut
age:21-25
body type:curvy
incredible in person
4.10.2010
" i haven't purchased this dress yet, but i have tried it on in store and found it to be true to size. i love it. the pictures online don't do this beauty justice -- it's incredible. i can't wait to make it mine. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE!
4.1.2010
" I haven't had the chance to purchase this dress yet but I tried it on in a Free People shop. It was a bit tight around the chest, but I also did not realize it had adjustable straps. I am usually a size 2 in FP, the one I tried was a size 4 and a bit loose around the waist (as expected), so it must be true to size. Moreover, I'm 5'8" and it was the PERFECT length, I'd expect that if I were shorter than 5'5" or 5'6" I might trip over it without heels. All around awesome, I can't wait to buy this! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Desert Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Just couldn't make it work
2.25.2010
" Love the dress and bought it in both a 4 and then a 2, the dress is beautiful and fully lined but the chest is sewn for breasts and since I am relatively flat chested and you can't wear a bra even strapless due to the low cut back and sides, it just ended up baggy around the chest. The back has a little stretch at the bottom of the open part so you can definitely size down for a better fit. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large