Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Straight Laced Shift Dress

Lace shift dress with frayed edges. Zips up the back. Fully lined with the sleeves and neckline sheer. Delicate and romantic. The perfect little lace dress. **Special Note: Actual dress is exactly as shown in the studio shots, rather than the catalog shot. This is particularly for sleeve detail and the placement of the crochet pattern. *Bodice - 83% Cotton, 17" Nylon *Lining - 100% Nylon *Hand Wash Delicately *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 32 1/2" Bust (all around): 33" Waist (all around): 33" Sleeve Length: 7"
overall average rating:
4.095 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Reviews for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Review 1 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Alexandria, VA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Super cute
8.19.2013
"I got it in red to wear to my brother's wedding. I'm usually a size 8, can fit into a 6, should never buy a 4. Guess which one I bought? The 4! I still don't know which of the voices in my head talked me into doing that ;) Anyway, I had about 6 weeks until the wedding, and I managed to fit into it :D It didn't fit as loosely as it does on the model, in fact it was quite shape hugging because it was still a size too small on me, but I got a huge ton of compliments on it! It is very short, I'm 5'2 and it hit my mid-upper thigh. My big round butt didn't help, though. All in all, because it's lace, yes it does have threads hanging out here and there, and you will have to be very careful when wearing and washing/drying, but it is definitely worth it :) My advice? Learn how to care for lace, and buy the size that you wear (!)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:31-35
body type:slender
Poor quality
7.13.2013
"I didn't think it looked well made in the picture; it was even worse in person. Random threads sticking out, the ends of the sleeves not matching, multiple issues...
I've noticed that Free People's quality has generally gone down. So many companies are doing this in the name of larger profits. Sad.
"
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.15.2013
We're sorry you were not happy with the quality of this item and will be sharing your feedback with our designers. Thanks for letting us know! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:London
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Doesn't look red to me...
6.10.2013
"I find the dress looks weird on me especially on the shoulders due to mine being slightly wider than usual. The colour is more a raspberry to me which is another disappointing factor. A final note if you are tall like me, it is FAR too short. But the fabric is lovely."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Lovely dress
3.18.2013
"I chose a size 4 (I'm a UK size 8 and 110lbs) and this fit me perfectly. I've never bought from Free People before I found the previous reviewers comments really helpful when deciding which size to go for. The lace is lovely and of good quality. It's quite a dark cream colour but this adds to the antique look. I'm very pleased with this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:South Dakota
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Beautiful dress
2.7.2013
"I love the way the dress fits on me. I ordered the Straight Laced Shift Dress in Winter Sky in a size 12. I am 5'9" with an hour glass body type. It is a lovely fit. I have no complaints. I am happy with my purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
Want this in every color
2.4.2013
"Wow, do i love this dress. The lace is a bit thicker than fragile, which makes this dress a dream to wear with boots for a more casual look. I am 5'4", 115 lbs, small bust and narrow shoulders, and the 4 fit me best. The 2 was a bit tight in the armholes, although couldn't worked. Although this dress doesn't hug the curves, it's flattering and far from frumpy. Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:slender
Beautiful, but runs just a bit big
1.17.2013
"I think this dress is adorable and very versatile. I love the quality and how comfortable it is. Although, it may be just a little too comfortable because it just runs a bit big. Even though it is a little big, I like to wear this dress with a sweater or belt or both. Go one size down. It is still gorgeous!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
age:31-35
body type:athletic
So flattering
1.4.2013
"I just bought this dress for a holiday party and I love it. It's so flattering and lays perfectly. I got a ton of compliments."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Costa Rica
age:31-35
body type:petite
Shapeless
12.25.2012
"The dress is very well made but it is too boxy, as one of the reviers said, it made my torso looks wider. and it runs big. Im 5'1 105 lbs, ordered size 2, and it feels ok on top but way too loose on the bottom."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Sweet & girly
12.24.2012
"Second purchase from free people & I'm so completely happy! At first I thought I wanted the black, but once I saw the red I knew I had to have it. It's so sweet. The only slight problem is the fraying as other reviewers noted, but it doesn't bother me."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Pretty but boxy
12.21.2012
"This dress is very pretty and the fabric is okay. I had to send it back due to its boxy design which made my torso look shapeless, or worse, like a rectangle. I usually wear a size 8 in FP but ordered a 6 and it 'fit well,' so it does run large. Last thing: the smoke/bluish color is much more of a light blue than a pretty silver, which was disappointing to me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:L.A. Calif.
age:31-35
body type:slender
The Perfect Holiday Dress!
12.20.2012
"I was so excited to receive this dress in the mail! It is beautiful!! The color is even more vivid than in the online picture. A gorgeous shade of a "true" red. The fit is tts;and is NOT too short. I think that I will wear it with boots and high socks,or wear it with booties or heels. Very versatile. Worth the price. Other reviewers have said that it is delicate. Almost any lace dress is delicate and you do need to be careful. Can't wait to wear it!! Merry Christmas!! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Philadephia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Ripped Dress
12.18.2012
"I received this dress yesterday in blue to celebrate my birthday today and the dress was ripped the whole way down the seam on the right hand side. It seems to be really bad quality. I've ordered it in black too and I'll have to wait and see if the quality in that color is any better. Apart from that, it is a cute dress - but unwearable! Now off to reconsider and panic about my last minute wardrobe change!"
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb12.21.2012
We're so sorry to hear about this! If you can send us your order number at service@freepeople.com we'll take care of this for you right away!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, OH
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE
12.17.2012
"I ordered the winter sky in a size 6 (5'5, 130 lbs) and it fits a little bit big. I am fine with that however, because I think that makes it flattering unbelted and belted (which I definitely plan on doing).
The winter sky is a gorgeous color and looks very much like it does on the website. Since I am pretty short, I don't have a problem with the length and find it flattering for my figure.
The ONLY reason I didn't give this five stars is that the lace is already fraying a little bit and that's concerning (it was fraying when I received it---I haven't worn it out yet).
Overall, though, I love this dress. It's a great party dress, can be dressed up or down, and is reasonably priced for the look, feel and quality!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:St. Louis, Mo
age:26-30
body type:petite
Romantic Dress
12.17.2012
"I was so excited to receive this dress in the mail! I fits like a dream and looks so enchanting. I ordered the cream and have no complaints as to the coloring or fit. Big Bonus: this frock is lined and not see through too. : )
The only reason this dress does not get a 5 is that the lace is SO DELICATE that it actually split at the bottom hem. I was rather disappointed since I had not actually worn the dress out yet. I do love the garment enough to not hassle with returning it, I can figure out a fix myself.
I really wish you would consider a St. Louis, MO store location. The nearest FP store location is 4 to 6 hours away in Kansas City or Chicago.
I am still an advocate of this dress and will most likely purchase more colors... BUT I suggest to others considering this frock, be very careful! The lace is SUPER delicate."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Beautiful lace, but frays
12.10.2012
"I have only worn this dress once and it has frayed quite a bit from both arms and across the hem at the bottom. I was wondering if any part of the middle would snag, and fortunately, it hasn't yet. However, I am disappointed when you pay so much for Free People to have items with lower quality or craftsmanship and might just have to return the dress. Or I will have to do some altering of my own to prevent further fray."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:petite
Girly
12.4.2012
"I love this dress. It is very feminine, lacy, & pretty, yet comfy & can be thrown on & your dressed! It can be dressed up or down. I bought the mint color & love wearing it insteed of the drabby winter colors right now. The sleeves are the best things about the whole dress! Love the lace & how it just flows off the arms instead of being ttight or uncomfortable! The price is right too, this ones a winner! Thanks Free People for your unique beautiful clothes!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:14-20
body type:petite
Gorgeous Dress!!!
11.30.2012
"I bought this dress in the washed red. It so SO beautiful! It's elegant and very flattering. I am 5'3" and 102 lbs for reference and a 0 fit perfectly. It hit about 2 inches above my knees. What is also great about this dress is that you can wear a regular bra and it won't show through the dress! The dress is not body con or form fitting; but it really makes your butt look slimmer and your legs look longer! My only complaint is that the rugged lace edges seem to be too frayed in some places. So be very careful with the material! It may get caught on zippers or rough edges. I would pair this dress with opaque black tights like the model, and suede ankle heeled booties!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
This is so gorgeous...
11.28.2012
"I wanted this dress immediately when I saw it! I bought the blue sky in a size 4 and it fits perfectly! It fits just like it does in the photos and the color is the same. The material is very comfortable and easy to move in. My only complaint is that I have long legs (I'm 5'9 and 145 lbs) and it's a tad short! If I lift my arms up, some cheek pops out if you know what I mean. But I plan on buying thick grey tights to help eliminate this problem. Overall, this dress is gorgeous and is SUCH A GREAT PRICE :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Straight Laced Shift Dress
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Very Lovely...
11.23.2012
"I tried this dress on in the washed red, very lovely. The dress is very well made and is definitely worth the price. It is slightly full, a little bit loose. The dress is very short which is the only reason I passed. I am 5'5" and it hit me inches above the knee. I found the bust area to run true to size on me, I am a 36 C or 34D, the hip area is slightly roomy. I loved the beautiful design. I am usually not a fan of red, but this shade is amazing. I think it would make a perfect New Year's Eve dress. Wonderful FP piece."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>