Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress

Sleeveless maxi dress pretty lace detailing around the skirt portion and crisscross tie detailing at each side of upper bodice. Pleated detailing at front of chest and upper back. Adjustable shoulder straps. *FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Review 1 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
pretty // bottom frays // fragile
12.20.2013
" i do think this dress is pretty, and as i was able to get it on sale, i think it was a pretty good deal. all the details are pretty and go great together. i also think it has just enough weight so that it drapes nicely and flatters. the one slight issue i have is that i wore this with boots and the lace got caught on my boot buckle and it ripped a hole at the seam. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:AZ
age:26-30
body type:slender
Awesome Beach Dress!
12.19.2013
" I ordered this dress in black. I ordered a small, and it fits as expected! It is well made and I LOVE the lace- up detail on either side of the dress! I was thinking I would wear this on our honeymoon for a casual dinner by the ocean. If you are debating on which size to order I would get the smaller size since it is a flowy style dress.Once again beautiful dress from Free People! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Shape
12.3.2013
" I think this dress would look really nice on tall willowy girls. Unfortunately I'm 5'0 and big in the hips, and it just makes my waist look huge as well. The top also looks a little weird in person although the bottom part is gorgeous.
I returned because it was really unflattering on me. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Houston
age:36-40
body type:slender
Such a cute dress...
11.20.2013
" I really liked this dress in the store! I found it on the sale rack in black, XS. Loved the lace, the flowing fabric, and the side details with the lace up look. And I found that if I tied the strings from the sides in the back, the dress had some shape on me. But my husband didn't like it on me, probably because it was still too baggy, so it went back to the store!! For reference, I'm five foot nine inches, weight 125, wear 34B. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Meh, it's ok....
11.4.2013
" When the gray came back in a medium I jumped on it (I typically wear a large, but this dress runs a little larger, and then I tie the sides around my back for a more fitted bust). It's a pretty dress, but it's not as great as the criss cross floral maxi, which is basically the same dress, but with a much lovelier pattern, and no sheer paneling. The gray is a beautiful and soft color, but when push came to shove, I felt like I was wearing nightwear. I might have kept it, because I could easily have layered it with shirts and sweaters to make it more flattering, but I also purchased the French Courtship Slip, and between the two, I would rather keep the slip. It's good that it went on sale, because if I was on the fence that might swing it in favor of keeping. Pretty dress, but all in all, didn't meet my expectations having purchased the criss cross maxi. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:14-20
body type:petite
nearly perfect
10.16.2013
" The dress is see through, so you ned need to buy a slip. The material is very delicate and the back is a bit longer than the front so heels may be needed as well. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:petite
Beautiful but poor quality!
7.18.2013
" I have wanted this dress for a long time! I finally received mine today after deliberating over it for months. Let me talk about the good parts first: The dress is just beautifully designed. The pleats and the U-shape neckline were a stroke of genius. Even though I am almost completely flat chested, I don't have to wear a bra with this and it is amazingly flattering. It makes me look like I actually have boobs. The lace panels are dreamy and floaty. The length is almost perfect, the longer back hem touches the ground for me but if I wear boots, it is just right. And now, for the bad: The fabric used is WAY TOO DELICATE. This dress looks like it would possibly fall apart after a few washes. My new piece has several of the pleats on the back COMPLETELY fallen apart, the fabric looks like it is ripping around all the stitches. And what's more, the shoulder straps were sewn on the wrong way, making them twist awkwardly with no way of straightening unless I were to take them apart and re-sew them! How could mistakes like this happen for a $168 dress? And how could a store ship this to me without even checking the condition of the dress? I am very disappointed but I love the dress very much and will attempt a replacement. Uploading modeling pics to FPme after I submit this review. For reference, I am 5'0, 85 lbs, 30A/32AA. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Honolulu
age:31-35
body type:slender
nice dress for one day
7.7.2013
" wore this dress for my wedding day, had it on for just a few hours and the pleats across the chest and back were becoming undone. Definitely needed a slip but don't I recommend the seamless mini. I bought it specifically for this dress but it did not work out. Otherwise, I got many compliments. If I ever want to wear it again the pleats need reinforcement. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Cornwall, UK
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Beautiful dress
6.30.2013
" I bought this dress in the pale grey, when that colour was available and I have to say that it is one of my favourite FP purchases. I love the alternating lace panels in the skirt and the lace up sides- it makes the dress that little bit different and special. The fabric is heavy but floaty and drapes beautifully. I do think the dress comes up a little large- but then that is the style- I like that it isn't too fitted on the bust and is roomy across my hips. A lovely dress that I have so far saved for special occasions but really should wear more often as I like it so much. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Great Summer Dress
6.29.2013
" This dress is more beautiful than pictured online. I can see why it is amongst FP customer favorites. The lace is pretty, the style would fit most shapes and sizes. Not too long, even for a petite person as I am. However, does not come with the slip, and for the price it should be. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:St. Louis, MO
age:over 45
body type:slender
Cool and sexy
6.24.2013
" With all the coverage that you will need if you wear nude underwear. Absolutely perfect for the hot summer in the Midwest, airy and sexy. Perhaps a bit too sexy for some occasions. Love the bodice of pintucks. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
So pretty!
6.21.2013
" I went into my local FP store today for something else but saw this dress in the tea color, tried it on, and couldn't say no! The lace is really soft and intricate, and definitely doesn't feel cheap at all. Normally I'm a s or m in FP sizes, but there was only one of these left in an xs, and it fit perfectly (for ref. 5ft 7, 140, 34D). The waist and skirt have a LOT of fabric and the side ties can be let out a little to accommodate your chest, so if you're ordering online, I'd say to size down. Also because I have a larger bust it looks a little like a maternity dress when worn plain, but it's absolutely gorgeous belted. The skirt is unlined, so grab some nude bike shorts for underneath. I'm going to be wearing this all summer, thanks FP<3 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Clovis, CA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Cute but somewhat deceiving photo..
6.14.2013
" Ordered this dress in a medium. I am 5'10" 165. Beware, it's TOTALLY SEE THROUGH. It's very cute, but a slip, unless it's the right one, might look weird. I have breasts that are on the larger side and this should be worn without a bra and that didn't work for me. Had to return it. I think I was a bit too old for it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:41-45
body type:slender
LOVE Sooo Comfy
6.8.2013
" I bought the blue in S and it is so gorgeous on. The XS would have fitted also, but I think that would have made it tight under the arms with the crossover tie. Highly recommend this dress. It looks nicer with a bra on, on me any way, seems to give a nicer shape. The sides don't have to be as open as on the model, that you can adjust by tightening. So comfortable and sexy, but not too revealing if you want to hide lunch! I am slim and in my 40's and appreciate the room. I don't really need to hide, but the tummy is not as firm as it used to be. I am size 25 jeans and approx. 37 inch bust if that helps. The fabric is super soft and flowy, really makes you feel wonderful wearing it. Oh and very see through so a slip is recommended. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Puerto Rico
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love it!!
5.15.2013
" Love, love, love this dress!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:36-40
body type:petite
agonized over this one....
5.13.2013
" ordered the ivory in a small and agonized over whether i should send it back or not mostly because the straps kept falling down and i knew this would drive me crazy. i sew and i tried figuring out how i could move them but because they are attached right at a corner, i couldnt figure it out (it would leave the corner hanging if i moved the strap) i tied the straps on the sides at the back like a reviewer suggested and it made the dress look much better by pulling it in under my chest for a fitted look. it is very pretty and a small fit my 36C chest because the sides are adjustable with the straps, the length was perfect-im 5'3 and it would look good on any height. the ivory colour is beautiful-old looking. in the end i, unfortunately, sent it back because i knew i would be pulling the straps up all day. i dont think a different size wouldve fixed the problem. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Orange County, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Pretty and romantic, but a little misleading
4.14.2013
" I love this dress, but the pictures seem to suggest that there's some sort of slip underneath; however, the lace pleats are completely see-through, and unless you want everyone to have a nice glance at your undies, you'll need to buy a separate slip. I was a little disappointed by this, if only because I was looking forward to wearing this dress as a sort of airy throw-on-by-itself kind of look. That's not happening. But it is a very pretty dress! I just kind of wish the description and pictures were a touch more straightforward about the see-through pleats. "
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:over 45
body type:petite
Romantic, versatile, fun dress
4.11.2013
" I got this dress in the soft grey color, and I really love it. It isn't meant to be a figure hugging dress, but instead has a almost naughty Jane Austin heroine feel to it. It is quite transparent due to the lace inserts, so you must either plan on an under layer, or be very daring! I've worn the dress out for Easter with a long sleeved FP shirt underneath on top and a slip/grey tights & boots below. I do plan to try it over a lavender seamless slip (sized up there for a longer fit as they tend to role up). The side lacing is really a great detail, although I find that even drawn in tight the dress is a bit loose in the bust area. But it's OK because the dress has a less structured feel. You just have to be confident that your body lines show through the flow of the dress. The rayon fabric is substantial, and I can imagine the straps needing reinforcement, although this has not been a problem for me. Can't wait to wear this to parties, museums and dinners this summer! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Montezuma
age:26-30
body type:slender
Beautiful, but overpriced.
4.7.2013
" I loved the Grey colour in person. It's more of a very baby blue/gray that the studio photos depict, rather than the brighter blue the first picture shows. It's a very pretty dress, but the lace inserts made the bottom half entirely see-through, which would be a nuisance. Also, I'm a 32C and it fit oddly across my chest, not too tight, but I guess my chest made the dress "flow out" and made my top half look bigger than it is. It just wasn't flattering. I'm 5'7/8", 120lbs and tried the XS. I came *thisclose* to buying it, but couldn't justify the quality for the price tag. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Victorian Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
Pretty but for the price quality is BAD
4.1.2013
" was looking forward to receiving this dress. I tried it on only to be worried as the main shoulder strap was hanging by a thread so I couldnt get to play around with the dress to see how I could wear it out of fear of it tearing completely off my shoulder. It has some pretty elements to it with the lace and the side lacing though as mentioned did get to give this dress a chance...straight back, I expect alot better quality for $160+ australian dollars. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.3.2013
So sorry that your dress arrived in this condition. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 2 next>>