Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down

Beautiful sequin-bibbed button front blouse. 3/4-length sleeves. Embroidered trimming. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *55% Linen, 45% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 21 Bust: 40 " Bottom Opening: 39 " Sleeve Length: 19"
overall average rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:36-40
body type:petite
GORGEOUS
5.1.2012
" I bought this in both colors. The sequins of the white one came more perfect than the ones of the back, but the black is more discrete so it's okay. I am petite, so I like it short. It is a very sexy piece. One of the best I've bought on this site. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Central Coast , California
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Adorable & versatile top!
3.23.2012
" This top is so versatile! Can be dressed up or down. Slightly sheer , sequin detail done very well. I have this in both ivory & black.
I pair the ivory w/ jeans for a casul look.
I wear the black with velvet bell bottoms for a
dressy look.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not what I expected
2.16.2012
" I bought the white version of this top in a small, after obsessing over it online. I didn't realize that the material was more of a rough cotton fabric- I was thinking it was going to be more silky and smooth. For the money I paid I was expecting better quality fabric instead of something so casual and uncomfortable. The sequins were a bit messed up from the shipping as well. I'm sad it didn't work out, as I loved the look of it initially. Also I'm pretty petite at 5'3 125 lbs with a short torso and the small still fit a little short even with high waisted pants. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Old Bridge, NJ
age:31-35
body type:slender
Great Top!
1.31.2012
" Going to wear this with this with my FP Vintage Extreme Flairs! Love the way it fits and LOVE LOVE LOVE the sequins! Great that there's linen mixed in so I can wear it in the summer with the sleeves rolled up! I wish there were clamps or buttons in the sequin placket (there's a button at the top then the next one doesn't start again till below the sequin placket). Just a great top! I'm 128lbs, and took the M and it fit fine! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Arcata, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Quality FP Item
1.20.2012
" This is a quality, unique piece of clothing and the reason why I love FP. I love the fabric, although it is sheer so you will need something underneath it. The sequins are nice and not cheap-y looking sequins. They had a nice texture and weight to the top. The top is very very boxy, I'm 5'1", 105 lbs, 32B and I got an XS, but I do wish I could've sized down. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:SH, China
age:26-30
body type:petite
Simple & Complex
1.15.2012
" When I first saw it on the web, I liked the way it was on the model and I wanted to own it. But considering the price for a shirt, I hesitated. However I still bought it and now I just felt I've absolutely made a right choice. This has to be one of my favorite FP items. As the other buyer mentioned, the fabric feels so soft and comfortable. And the material combined with the loose cut somehow just makes me look natural, simple and humble. Then with the massive sequins added, it just turns to be a more classic and unique piece which goes with jeans, leggings & skirts, pretty much in most occasions too. It's fun. It's versatile. It's a MUST piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Fab Fabric
1.13.2012
" This combination linen and cotton fabric is natural, breathable and soft in addition to looking incredible. All of the details are amazing, from the covered button to the finish of the placket, collar and seams; look at the details on the back yoke and sleeves on the second model photo. I bought size small and all measurements match those listed. Additional measurements that might be of interest: 15.5" across back (from shoulder to shoulder) and also from arm seam to arm seam at back yoke. Only 8" from underarm seam to bottom hem at shortest part (sides) and open slit on front is 9.5". Quality construction. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Beaded Double Belt
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
Knit Slim Bootlegs
4.9 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:31-35
body type:petite
Treasure Chest!
1.3.2012
" This top looks as though it was found in a treasure chest! I love it. It will make a great vintage piece down the road as well. I think it fits TTS. I'm very petite and purchased the xs. It fit well. The sequins are very bold but not garish at all. I'm pairing with my fav. beat up jeans and chunky jewlery! Thanks FP! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:the islands
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
good day sunshine.......
12.30.2011
" This top is so soft ... the gauze is so light and comfortable. The sequin is not that gaudy - flashy type ...rather elegant and jazzy...bright in the sunshine.
I adore this top ... and it's versatility.
It is a bit cropped so will need to wear a tee under it .... I'm wearing it to the beach tomorrow for New Years eve day.
XS - 5'4 102 lbs 32A ...fits perfectly.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:minnesota
age:41-45
body type:petite
just right
12.21.2011
" Always one to find just the right piece…I slipped on an x small and immediately knew I was meant to have this :) the vintage ivory with the cute 3/4 sleeves and the golden detail stood out amongst my group of friends. I couldn't get enough of the "where did you get that beautiful shirt "questions from the entire party. Unsure I wanted to share my treasure I willingly gave up the answer FREE PEOPLE, where else. Good info to know: I am petite, yet large bosom (32dd) the x small fit perfecto!
I tried the small and it hung totally different on my body, not the same look at all. silly I know.
About the gold detailing. ..very heavy and exquisite. Lays just right , it toally makes the shirt. Get one while you can. This is not a trendy piece. The vintage look will always be here to stay. Grab one you will be pleasantly surprised. ..and the center of attention
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:CT
age:14-20
body type:petite
elegant bohem
12.17.2011
" I got this top in store and love it. It is a nice fabric, which is pretty soft. Overall it's flattering and looks great with jeans. It's a little pricey, but I think it was worth it. Good for pretty much every season too! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Adore!
12.12.2011
" This top is beautifully made with paper-thin material-perfect for pairing with a bandeau! The sequins are as beautiful as in the picture- yet have that rustic feeling that gives them a more casual feel. I am 5'1 and 107lbs 32D and the small fit very well- yet I was not aware that the buttons do not go all the way up the blouse so be aware of that! The top is definitely a cropped blouse on me and tapers up on the sides. I did go into the store to try a medium on but liked the more fitted look the small gave me. A must have for any season! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
sequin bib
12.2.2011
" the sequins are more matte and muted in real life, which i prefer as a shiny sequined bib is a bit too flashy for me. the shirt basically fits true to size, but i sized up to get more length, and it's still a bit short on the sides. i do have to wear a tank underneath. there's the button by the neck and the next one is at the bottom of the sequins. i find the style of this shirt quite interesting and unique. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
disappointed
11.23.2011
" it is beautiful. the sequins are really expensive looking and i really wanted to love it. i kept it for a few weeks and kept putting it on trying to make it work, but the cut is just so awkward. the top portion lays flat so it comes up high on your neck even when unbuttoned. and the shirt is very short and wide and it scallops deeply on the side to make it even shorter. You can see an example in the photo from the back on the model. it just isn't flattering. i wish FP would have made this longer and leaner and it'd be amazing. i'd definitely try this one on first if you're thinking of buying it. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:USA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Runs A Little Snug
11.15.2011
" This is a really cute top. I have admired it online since it came out. Saw it at a local boutique with my mother and tried it on. Normally wear a medium r large depending on sizing with FP. The medium fit but was really snug. I would size up in this as it is a great top to layer with. I had a black LS tshirt and it was really cute. There was only 1 top left in the store. This is one to buy ladies! The detailing is so vintage and high end. Not cheap looking at all. The sequin was done right and normally would never buy sequin anything so this is my first sequin purchase. Don't let this top get away. Buy it you won't be disappointed. On another note I am a 38C so that is why I sized up to a large. I wanted a little more room for layering. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:detroit, mi
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Loves it!
11.14.2011
" I was a bit apprehensive about this shirt as (in my opinion) sequence can usually go one of two ways cute or trashy. Also, I was a little concerned that it might be too boxy.
However, this shirt turned out to be all I hoped for and more! The fabric is soft, the detailing is gorgeous, and it fits perfectly.
I can't wait to wear this with jeans or dressed up for holiday gatherings. :-)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Funky and true to size
11.13.2011
" I really like this shirt. The gold sequins are intricate and not cheap looking. THe material of the shirt is durable and not too thin. It runs true to size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large