Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Swinging 60's Dress

Sheer crochet mini swing dress with bell-shaped sleeves. Square neckline in the front and back. Pleat detailing at front of waist. Bottom hem is scalloped. Comes with slip to wear underneath.
overall average rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Swinging 60's Dress
Review 1 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Dubai
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Runs big & delicate
8.10.2014
" The cut of the dress is v pretty despite being larger than I expected.I'm usually size medium & i ordered this dress in small when i read other reviews, and still it was roomy. However it would still be a handy outfit for a night out, but the quality of the fabric was quite disappointing & the material very delicate. I have to say it looks much nicer & classier in the pic than in reality. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, Ontario
age:31-35
body type:curvy
I should have bought every color
7.30.2014
" I love this dress. I have worn it to two outdoor weddings this summer, one with my beautiful Old Gringo Boots and its a winner. At the time, I wanted Cranberry and they only had size large. I am between m & l, 5'7 and it does run large. I was planning on taking it in, but because its lace, its too difficult to do. Id like to buy this in white and this time, get Medium. Its a great dress and I have no regrets on the purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Glad I gave it a second chance - very versatile
6.2.2014
" I bought this dress in ivory last year and ended up returning it. Then a few months ago the black version of it was on sale at my local FP store, and I'm so glad I bought it because I wear it all the time. I love wearing the Wonder Woman top over it, or any colored cotton shirt, but it's also really pretty with a different color slip than the one it comes with. It's roomy and a different look than most FP slips (or any of my dresses for that matter), but I'm glad I gave it a second chance. It's feminine but can still wear it work with boots as well. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, Texas
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Feminine and Darling
3.24.2014
" I wear a large in FP, so tried on both large and medium in the black at the store. This dress is feminine and darling on. I ordered the purple in medium instead, because I want to pair it with my purple snake skin stiletto sandals. It has plenty of room in the arms and all around, so I recommend sizing down. I will be back to get the black one later. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Amazing Dress
3.19.2014
" This is one of my favourite pieces in my wardrobe and definitely my favourite Free People dress. It is so comfy and just looks absolutely amazing. Some people have mentioned the small seam under the bust which is there and I find it very flattering. I'm 5'8 (169cm) and a 34A so the seam gives me more of a bust than I would have had otherwise. I'm usually a small but listened to the other reviews and brought an extra small and I'm glad I did as it fits perfectly. The dress is short but is slightly longer on me than it is on the model so it's fine to wear to work as well as to play.
I'm going to order it in another colour I love it that much!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:NOVA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Perfect Shift Dress
3.11.2014
" Since this dress is a shift dress I wanted to try it on in person and really decide if it would be right for my graduation. It truly was! This dress is a shift dress however, so don't expect it to be tight or to hug your body. I usually am a size medium but decided on the small because the medium looked more baggy than a shift dress. But overall beautiful dress, great detail and material. I can't wait to wear it for my graduation! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Sweden
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Love, love, love!
2.5.2014
" So gorgeous! The prettiest dress in my wardrobe, and it'll be perfect for my graduation here in Sweden this spring! It is however a bit large, so to go down a size is definately recommended. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Perfect Engagement Dress
1.12.2014
" I loved wearing this dress for my engagement photos! The lace is very beautiful, and the sleeves look amazing. The dress definitely runs large, I purchased a size down to get a fit similar to the model. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Pretty Little Black Dress
1.9.2014
" This is a lovely little dress. I bought it among many other dresses for New Years Eve - didn't end up wearing it, but didn't have the heart to return it with all my other unworn dresses. It's just too lovely, and could be a perfect go to dress for nice or casual, depending upon your shoes and accessories. The length is perfect. I'm 5"9', approx. size 8 or 10. Others mentioned the little seem below the bust on the front, and I honestly wish there was more of a seam. I think that the seam is more noticeable and flattering on larger busted girls - I'm 36DD. It helps give a little more shape instead of a box that some shift type dresses look like on bigger chests. Hangs very nicely, not tight, but definitely not too loose. I got it in black, size medium. The photo of me in it isn't the best, but it may help a little! Worth the price :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Very Nice
12.31.2013
" I bought this dress last month and I have worn it a few times. It is a great dress and fits quite nicely on me. The one thing that might bother people that someone else mentioned in another review is that there is a seam on the chest that looks a little strange but I have gotten used to it and you can rarely see it in the black color dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
pretty little thing
11.28.2013
" I listened to the previous review and sized down from a small to xs. I am glad I listened because the dress is a bit lose in the mid section. I am 5'2" 120 ish. The dress is quite short but if you have nice legs it's totally do-able. If you prefer to layer, I have been wearing it with lightweight tights and boots, or tall socks and to the knee boots! The lace is delicate without being too fragile and the raspberry is a GREAT color to have in your wardrobe this fall/winter! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:athens
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
great dress
11.6.2013
" runs a little but loose, don't be afraid to order 1-2 sizes down. nice soft material that gives a nice cozy feeling when you wear it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
More versitile than expected
10.14.2013
" I loved the sixties style of this dress and ordered it in xs in plum for a wedding. I was about to return because it was too short to be comfortable. I am 5'5 32 26 37 and wear either an xs or s in FP. The top half was flattering but the bottom half clung a bit too much in back and combined with the short length wasn't looking right. I tried it with tights which helped but not the look I wanted for a wedding. As a last resort I removed the inside slip and switched it out with my voile trapeze slip in tea s. Perfect! The trapeze slip gave me the extra length I wanted and removed the clinginess of the fit which I think was caused by the original slip, basically a short and not particularly stretchy tank top. The trapeze slip also added interest and dressed the look up nicely.
My only criticism is the quality of the dress for the price. This crochet is VERY delicate and looks like it could start ripping at any time (it is also dry clean only). However assuming it lasts a little while it will be easy to wear as a tunic with jeans and the original slip. Overall a unique and versatile piece. Happy I found. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Pretty, but...
9.6.2013
" I loved how this dress fits, and the color purple. However, the material is of poor quality. But what bothered me the most, is the seam right bellow the chest area, also mentioned by previous reviewer. The reason I did not purchase this dress was this seam, not the lace quality. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, Tx
age:31-35
body type:curvy
runs large
8.9.2013
" O.k. so I wrote a review for this dress a couple of weeks ago and it was never put up. Maybe I mentioned a competing company or something without even realizing it. Anyway, here's another review. This dress def runs large. If you want it to fit like it does on the model, size down 1 or 2 sizes. I am 5'5", 36c, size U.S. 12 or large and had to size all the way down to a small to make it fit like it does on the model. The lace is not high quality lace, which I expected since this dress is cheaper than most dresses on the site. The thing beyond the cheap lace that really drove me nuts though was the shoddy craftsmanship. If you look closely at the photos, you can see a short seam right under the bust. That seam was sewn crookedly on every single dress in the store. In addition, the seam does not lay flat at all, which also drove me nuts. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:ca
age:26-30
body type:curvy
runs large
7.30.2013
" i ordered an M size according to my size in the size chart (87cms bust), and it is so much bigger than expected... not so great, i cant appreciate the beauty of the dress like this, it seems too baggy, not loose and hanging, but like a baggy sack... it would be nicer if it was smaller for me... im a bit dissapointed, wanted to wear it for my wedding day. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Pretty but not for petite girls
7.30.2013
" This is an overall very pretty dress, the crochet lace detail is very soft and feminine, it comes with a slip,which is also a plus. All that being said, this dress is not for me coz it is too oversized. I know it is the style but it looked rather like a night gown on me. I am 5'2'' 100 ibs, and this is how xs looked on me. I couldn't size down coz it is the smallest already. So sad that this didnt work for me coz it is a beautiful dress, I recommend it to taller girls. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Purdy
7.27.2013
" I wouldn't say this runs large, but its the way its meant to be cut: oversized and flowy. I am almost always a small, and purchased the extra small and I am happy with it. I am 5'3" and its short on me (which I like), but if you are taller it might be a problem. Very beautiful and delicate. The crocheting is soft and flowy and not itchy at all. Very bohemian and comfortable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
beautiful but huge
7.22.2013
" Okay so i bought this dress thinking i could wear it to a wedding. Normally wear a M in FP so that's what i ordered but it is REALLLLYYYY big. it looks like i'm wearing a bag. the fabric is super pretty though and i think in a smaller size it could be gorgeous on but as of right now i'm probs going to return because of the size problem. sad day :( "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Swinging 60's Dress
Name:
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
age:over 45
body type:slender
Amazing Dress
7.18.2013
" I bought it in plum, XS & it is amazing. It's soft crochet-type material, somewhat loose fitting. There is a slip provided to wear underneath and it also fit perfectly. I wear a Size 2 or XS in FP and the fit was perfect. I am only 5'3" so I was concerned it might be long and it is ideal length. Not as short on me as the model, but well above the knee.
I LIVED through the 60's so I can tell you I would have been as delighted to wear this in 1969 as I am today!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large