Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Golden Quills Military Parka

Distressed cargo jacket with beautiful stud and metallic embroidered embellishment on sleeves. Drawstring ties at front of neckline, bottom front, front of waist and at lower back hem. Zipper opening in front. Four front zipper pockets. Hooded. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer Reviews for Golden Quills Military Parka
Review 1 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
What Can I Add......
3.19.2014
"Better than perfection! This jacket is a standout without being obnoxious. I love the fuller fit. It allows for layering, but the drawstrings that cinch at the waist help to give definition. It's not quite as heavy as it looks which is great for weather that isn't too cold. I wish I could wear it everyday. It's more than a jacket, it's an experience! Perhaps I'll add another color..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:japan
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
LOVE
2.15.2014
"Very nice!Amazing!L size is slightly larger"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Boho cool
1.17.2014
"Outstanding. In love with the cut. Two chest pockets and two waist pockets. Got the xs for my size 4 frame, which fits great in body but sleeves were waaaaaaay too short. Ordered a small, but was afraid it would be too boxy. Nay! It's perfect and sleeves are Just the right length. What ya don't know is how smooth n' soft the cargo material is!!! A real unexpected surprise. Looks cool opened and w/ hoodie on. The black is more of a faded black. doesn't show the distress marks as on the olive, but I think the black is more beautiful - cooler and more sophisticated and the gold/ silver embellishments pop more. My fave thing: Substantial thick material for winter!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Favorite Jacket
1.2.2014
"I have been in love with this jacket all year. Sadly when I went to order it there was only one size M at the time in stock. You can pull on the cord to make it a little closer to the body though. Nearly every time I wear it out someone tells me how much the love it or where they can get one. Great layering jacket for people who live in colder climates. The pockets on this are very roomy and no need for a purse !( if you are someone who is always on the go and hates carrying a purse around 24/7)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOVE
12.26.2013
"Like all free people clothing it does run a bit larger than a normal jacket BUT that's the style and that's how it's supposed to look.
LOOOOVE this jacket so much worth e amount of money.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Portland
age:31-35
body type:slender
In love with this jacket!
12.24.2013
"I didn't really remember seeing this coat while browsing online until I saw Bryn's style pic in front of the Eifle Tower. So hot!! So I immediately put myself on the backorder list and the wait began… I was in love with this jacket since the moment I ripped open the bag! I did not find the embellishments to be over the top, or cheap looking, as other reviewers did. I think this jacket is so unique and the green color makes it like denim- goes with EVERYTHING! So…I debated long and hard whether to order the XS or S. This coat seems to fly off the shelf and I didn't want to miss out by ordering the wrong size. (I am always an XS or a S in FP, but sometimes it's really hard to tell which from the photos online) Well, I also didn't want to splurge and order both sizes, so I ended up ordering the S and hoping for the best. (I am 5'6" and 115 lbs with very long limbs) Yes, it is a little roomy- BUT that is exactly how it is supposed to look. The drawstrings help cinch it in the show you have a waist and I loved the length of the sleeves (Perfect- sometimes I can't find sleeves long enough) There is plenty of room in the sleeves as well. I probably would have been fine in an XS as well, but this was the safest bet. Love my purchase! If you are on the fence, just do it! It'll be a very special addition to any FP lover's closet."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Simply perfection!
12.19.2013
"This jacket is one of the best purchases I have made at Free People. It is worth the price.
I sized down to XS and still there's plenty of room. The detail on the sleeves is amazing. I like the distressed, stained look. It is long, comfortable and warm.
Get this!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:canada
age:over 45
body type:athletic
really love the details
12.9.2013
"I received this jacket on Sunday, mine is beautiful, the beads are all on, ties are all pulled, ready to wear, i have the black, the velvet on arms is black, jacket fits a little loose for xs, can sneak a nice sweater and thermal tee under with ease, dont feel like a potato sac either. I am 5'6"ish, 120 lbs, long arms, length is perfect. Its a heavy coat, and I wear mine walking the dogs, and with layers & i find it is warm enough but i am walking at a nice pace. It is a piece that will be a favorite for a long time, well worth the price. Its a fun piece to wear and it seems when i wear something funky from free people, I always seem to get compliments on it. You won't be disappointed. Debating on the white combo now."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Still unsure...
12.6.2013
"I debated for a long time whether the sleeve decoration on this parka would be too much for me. I ended up purchasing the original olive color, but to be honest, I'm still torn. I'm not sure if the contrast between the braided golden decoration and the distressed military feel of the olive translates as well in real life as it does in the online photos. I may consider the black and am intrigued by the new white version, but perhaps this jacket is not for me. If it came in red, though, I think it would be a total knockout."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Favourite
12.6.2013
"Not normally one to post a review, but I had been debating purchasing this jacket and I'm so happy that I did. I receive compliments literally wherever I go and am completely in love - it is such a great twist on a classic military parka.
I normally wear a medium with free people but decided to get the small because I read that it is a roomy jacket and I'm glad that I did.
I live in Toronto where it gets quite cold.. This jacket is great when it is right around freezing, but not much colder. I plan on wearing it as long as I can with a sweater or extra layers to last a bit longer in the season.
Great piece, definitely worth it.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
age:31-35
body type:petite
Love it
12.4.2013
"The jacket is really cute, I am very small, 5' tall 93lb.. Im wearing XS and its still pretty big on me… but the jacket is too cute and I could wear it with skirt or big sweater for a loser look. won't return it even its still kinda big on me, love the jacket."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:26-30
body type:curvy
HUGE, but sweet.
11.30.2013
"This is a great parka, and actually pretty warm (esp. paired with sweaters, thermals, etc.), but it is ENORMOUS. I typically wear a large, and sized down to a small, and it fit perfectly. Still roomy through the arms, but fit close to my body. When I adjust the side toggles, it creates a very flattering hourglass shape. I do wish the arms were a bit more fitted but it's fine as is. Only two complaints: I didn't get nearly as much of the "speckled paint" on the green parka as shown in the stock photos online, and the sleeves are UBER sparkly. I mean, I expected some metallic detail, but it is so shiny, I sort of feel like an extra in the Nutcracker. I really really love this jacket, and don't plan on returning it, but that's contingent upon how well and how much I can wear such an intensely shiny sleeve with the rest of my wardrobe."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
<3
11.28.2013
"Well I'm in love. this is the perfect jacket and I know I'll wear it for years and years."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
In LOVE!!!
11.27.2013
"I absolutely love everything about this jacket...it's amazing!!! I bought it in the army green color and I get compliments ANYTIME I wear it! I may have to buy one in blue too!!! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
in love!
11.9.2013
"i was a little hesitant buying this jacket, but the second i tried it on i was in love! it is a great jacket to wear with leggings and an over-sized sweater or a dress and a pair of boots. I am curvacious (5'4, 140 pounds) and the medium was quite big, but I didn't mind, because i can layer a lot under it and still be able to wear it during the winter months. i constantly get compliments on this jacket. love love love it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:new york city
age:21-25
body type:petite
so so great!
11.7.2013
"This jacket was one that i was really excited about.
when I got it - i realized it was probably the most genuine feeling and comfortable jacket ive ever gotten.
the silver beads are a little too sparkly- but I can fix that somehow. this jacket is super flattering and has room to wear sweaters underneath.
im pretty petite uptop and its hard to find a jacket that will be fitting but also give room.
this jacket totally does both. and it fits in all the most flattering ways! i bought the XS.
its perfect for that fall transition season."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful piece!
11.3.2013
"This jacket runs large so, I decided to order a small rather than a medium, which I normally wear. I still have room in it after layering with a sweater or a hoodie under and find it pretty cozy (wearing this in Canadian fall/winter weather right now). There's drawstrings along the hood, waist, and the bottom that allow you to adjust the fit even more. The work on the arms is exquisite and has so far held up from nearly daily usage. However, I do try to be careful and choosy about accessories that I wear with it that won't snag on the studs or other embellishments. That being said, I think it's worth the extra TLC and it's one of my favourite jackets I've ever owned!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:nj
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
military with a bit of gypsy flair
10.27.2013
"this is a great jacket, i have gotten so many compliments on it i have lost count, haha. its quite heavy when i picked it up out of the box, i was like woah! but its a great piece that serves its purpose and more I suppose. It keeps me pretty warm if you layer underneath it. It is a little roomy and i purchased an extra small ,but still has that baggy look without looking like it completely doesn't fit me. overall, very satisfied. Thanks FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:lala land
age:26-30
body type:petite
Bling- bling!
10.26.2013
"Just received my jacket today and I'm afraid to wear it cuz the sleeves are a bit too much lol. Its comfy though. I was going to get the black because I already have another olive parka, but then I got the green anyway since I thought that the design would stand out better than black on black. In this case a little too much. I got the small since there's no more xs and my usual is s anyway. Could probably size down but the oversized look is fine. Like others have said, some beads are either broken or missing. I expect better quality for the price, but it's understandable for beads to be fragile. However, I believe there are better beads out there than the ones fp are using because they really look cheap and that they are really from China (even though they are lol). At least make it seems like it is from Italy or something right? Wish to give more stars if quality was better and supply was readily available. I think I would have preferred xs over s if they had it. I know that it would be restock since its doing good, but hey the cold is now who wants to wait til spring for a winter jacket?! Fp always does this. You guys never stock well because you're not sure if something is going to sell, but you should have a backup plan. People don't like to wait for s long time. Still debating whether I should return this or not."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:West Yorkshire, UK
age:over 45
body type:curvy
wanted to love this jacket.
10.20.2013
"Read all the great reviews on this jacket and I also love khaki so purchased it. Spent all weekend prancing round the bedroom wearing it but I just couldn't love it. I found the mottled colour unappealing so I've ordered the black jacket instead. Hopefully that will change my mind. For the price of this garment it has to knock me out."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>