Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Golden Quills Military Parka

Distressed cargo jacket with beautiful stud and metallic embroidered embellishment on sleeves. Drawstring ties at front of neckline, bottom front, front of waist and at lower back hem. Zipper opening in front. Four front zipper pockets. Hooded. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer Reviews for Golden Quills Military Parka
Review 1 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:U.S.A
age:14-20
body type:athletic
L.O.V.E
8.13.2014
"literally in the green I've never loved something sooooooo much needs a sweater under to keep you warm but so cool!!! runs huge get xs or s!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Utah
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Lived up to the hype!
8.6.2014
"I have been debating on buying this parka for a solid year. I wasn't sure if I could pull of a jacket with this much decoration, and wasn't sure about sizing or the price. However, I finally got the guts to spend the money on this showstopper. It's very pretty in real life. I got the olive color. I am glad I went with an XS after looking at the measurements for the S. I'm 5ft7in and 136 lbs. I have pretty long arms and a long torso, but this still covers below my butt. It's not super thick, but also not thin. It has a good weight to it for the chilly days ahead. I recommend if you just can't stop thinking about this parka, get it while it's in stock!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Not what I expected...
7.18.2014
"If you are thinking of ordering the black jacket you should definitely consider the following aspects:
The pictureof this jacket can be a little decieving as the jacket in person does not appear to have as much of a navy blue undertone as the picture does. The sleeves are also much more sparkly and and "Blinged out" then the photo conceives.As well as the fit runs slightly large. Overall I would recommend this buying this jacket simply due to its unique design of the sleeves, comfortable fit and it definitely is a piece that will attract compliments... and so it should for $298!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Wheaton, IL
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful Coat
7.11.2014
"I ordered this in both a large and medium as i have wide shoulders. The medium is still plenty roomy and this coat is beautiful - i'm hoping for cool weather so I can wear it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
more shiney golden bling than pictured
7.4.2014
"I love the idea of this jacket though the black one I purchased had bright golden patterned arms not like the photo in which to me looks more white, maybe silver. this was " bright gold" and it stood out a little too much for my liking. I purchased the small and I usually wear a 6-8 and it fit ok, I little bit long in the arms. sent back as not as pictured in the photo so if you like gold bling you will like it but not for me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:36-40
body type:petite
disappointed
6.6.2014
"I love this coat and was so excited to receive it. However, it had to go back as it is enormous. Not just big, but huge!
I am petite. 5 4", 105 pounds and was swimming in an XS. I looked like a child wearing adults clothing.
Otherwise the coat is beautiful. Details gorgeous.
Please make this coat in XXS maybe even XXXS!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:boston
age:21-25
body type:athletic
nice!
5.9.2014
"As all the other reviews have said, it runs very large. I usually wear a medium at other stores and usually a small in Free People fits me snugly. I ordered this jacket in a small and it fits in an oversized baggy way - which is just what I was looking for. I ordered it in black only because i have so many army color jackets already but I wish my size was available in green so i could just have both!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:RI
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Love this coat!
5.1.2014
"I bought the m as it was the only size in stock and it's big (5'7- 135lbs) but kept it anyhow. I was surprised that the embellished sleeves were much brighter than the pictures. Kind of a Sgt. peppers vibe going on but I still love it. It is a weighted coat. Perfect for spring or fall."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Stunning!
4.27.2014
"I purchased this jacket online and missed out the first time as I hesitated about the price. My misfortune because I had to wait till it came back into stock. I immediately purchased one in size M as I heard they are over sized and they are! I wish I had ordered a size S but cannot now as they are all sold out again! I still love it and get heaps of comments when wearing it. I purchased the olive one and it really is stylish and can go with anything. The embroidery is very well done and I do not think it is over the top at all. I usually am a good guess in the Free People sizing and would normally purchase an Australian size 12-14 but the size M I would say is a 14-16. Never the less I'm keeping it!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Chile
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Different from photos
4.20.2014
"The metallic embellishments on sleeves are brighter than they appear in picture, really shiny golden and silver, not slightly golden like the photo. Also I ordered an xs, my regular size and it's really big."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
What Can I Add......
3.19.2014
"Better than perfection! This jacket is a standout without being obnoxious. I love the fuller fit. It allows for layering, but the drawstrings that cinch at the waist help to give definition. It's not quite as heavy as it looks which is great for weather that isn't too cold. I wish I could wear it everyday. It's more than a jacket, it's an experience! Perhaps I'll add another color..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:japan
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
LOVE
2.15.2014
"Very nice!Amazing!L size is slightly larger"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Boho cool
1.17.2014
"Outstanding. In love with the cut. Two chest pockets and two waist pockets. Got the xs for my size 4 frame, which fits great in body but sleeves were waaaaaaay too short. Ordered a small, but was afraid it would be too boxy. Nay! It's perfect and sleeves are Just the right length. What ya don't know is how smooth n' soft the cargo material is!!! A real unexpected surprise. Looks cool opened and w/ hoodie on. The black is more of a faded black. doesn't show the distress marks as on the olive, but I think the black is more beautiful - cooler and more sophisticated and the gold/ silver embellishments pop more. My fave thing: Substantial thick material for winter!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Favorite Jacket
1.2.2014
"I have been in love with this jacket all year. Sadly when I went to order it there was only one size M at the time in stock. You can pull on the cord to make it a little closer to the body though. Nearly every time I wear it out someone tells me how much the love it or where they can get one. Great layering jacket for people who live in colder climates. The pockets on this are very roomy and no need for a purse !( if you are someone who is always on the go and hates carrying a purse around 24/7)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOVE
12.26.2013
"Like all free people clothing it does run a bit larger than a normal jacket BUT that's the style and that's how it's supposed to look.
LOOOOVE this jacket so much worth e amount of money.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Portland
age:31-35
body type:slender
In love with this jacket!
12.24.2013
"I didn't really remember seeing this coat while browsing online until I saw Bryn's style pic in front of the Eifle Tower. So hot!! So I immediately put myself on the backorder list and the wait began… I was in love with this jacket since the moment I ripped open the bag! I did not find the embellishments to be over the top, or cheap looking, as other reviewers did. I think this jacket is so unique and the green color makes it like denim- goes with EVERYTHING! So…I debated long and hard whether to order the XS or S. This coat seems to fly off the shelf and I didn't want to miss out by ordering the wrong size. (I am always an XS or a S in FP, but sometimes it's really hard to tell which from the photos online) Well, I also didn't want to splurge and order both sizes, so I ended up ordering the S and hoping for the best. (I am 5'6" and 115 lbs with very long limbs) Yes, it is a little roomy- BUT that is exactly how it is supposed to look. The drawstrings help cinch it in the show you have a waist and I loved the length of the sleeves (Perfect- sometimes I can't find sleeves long enough) There is plenty of room in the sleeves as well. I probably would have been fine in an XS as well, but this was the safest bet. Love my purchase! If you are on the fence, just do it! It'll be a very special addition to any FP lover's closet."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Simply perfection!
12.19.2013
"This jacket is one of the best purchases I have made at Free People. It is worth the price.
I sized down to XS and still there's plenty of room. The detail on the sleeves is amazing. I like the distressed, stained look. It is long, comfortable and warm.
Get this!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:canada
age:over 45
body type:athletic
really love the details
12.9.2013
"I received this jacket on Sunday, mine is beautiful, the beads are all on, ties are all pulled, ready to wear, i have the black, the velvet on arms is black, jacket fits a little loose for xs, can sneak a nice sweater and thermal tee under with ease, dont feel like a potato sac either. I am 5'6"ish, 120 lbs, long arms, length is perfect. Its a heavy coat, and I wear mine walking the dogs, and with layers & i find it is warm enough but i am walking at a nice pace. It is a piece that will be a favorite for a long time, well worth the price. Its a fun piece to wear and it seems when i wear something funky from free people, I always seem to get compliments on it. You won't be disappointed. Debating on the white combo now."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Still unsure...
12.6.2013
"I debated for a long time whether the sleeve decoration on this parka would be too much for me. I ended up purchasing the original olive color, but to be honest, I'm still torn. I'm not sure if the contrast between the braided golden decoration and the distressed military feel of the olive translates as well in real life as it does in the online photos. I may consider the black and am intrigued by the new white version, but perhaps this jacket is not for me. If it came in red, though, I think it would be a total knockout."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Favourite
12.6.2013
"Not normally one to post a review, but I had been debating purchasing this jacket and I'm so happy that I did. I receive compliments literally wherever I go and am completely in love - it is such a great twist on a classic military parka.
I normally wear a medium with free people but decided to get the small because I read that it is a roomy jacket and I'm glad that I did.
I live in Toronto where it gets quite cold.. This jacket is great when it is right around freezing, but not much colder. I plan on wearing it as long as I can with a sweater or extra layers to last a bit longer in the season.
Great piece, definitely worth it.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 2 3 4 5 next>>