Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Golden Quills Military Parka

Distressed cargo jacket with beautiful stud and metallic embroidered embellishment on sleeves. Drawstring ties at front of neckline, bottom front, front of waist and at lower back hem. Zipper opening in front. Four front zipper pockets. Hooded. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.43 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer Reviews for Golden Quills Military Parka
Review 1 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Long Island, NY
age:14-20
body type:curvy
The Definition of Perfection
11.10.2014
"So I have been eyeing this jacket for weeks. I finally bit the bullet and ordered it, I could not be happier it is truly gorgeous. I usually wear a large/ extra large in coats depending on whether I am wearing bulky sweater or not. The large in this has plenty of room for layering with room to be comfortable. The sleeves are the same width the entire lengths which allows for the design on the arm to lay properly. If you are looking for a more fitted feel definitely size down. This is a truly gorgeous coat and I am honestly debating purchasing another color and possibly a back up. I'm pretty sure now that I own this coat I'll never be able to live without it!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:over 45
body type:petite
Really Fun
11.8.2014
"This parka is different, fun, and warm. On the other hand it is heavy (weight-wise) and ultra large. I love it. I exchanged a small for an extra small. My fingers are crossed!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Sweden
age:26-30
body type:slender
LOVE
10.24.2014
"I've been watching this jacket for so long, and when I visited NY and got to try it, I knew I just had to have it, it is so incredibly beautiful, best purchase ever!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Ocean City, Maryland
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Amazing.
10.24.2014
"Finally, after going back and forth on one of these for a year, I caved and bought one in Olive when they were restocked. It was the best decision I ever made. I love it so much and the complements roll in every time I wear it out. The embroidery on the sleeves is beautiful and the pictures online don't do it justice when you finally see it in person.
I'm 5'9'' and 135 pounds and a small fits me just right. It's a little loose, but I think the fit works for this jacket. When paired with a sweater, it's perfectly warm. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Stunningly Beautiful Piece
10.13.2014
"I purchased this jacket in olive, size xs. For reference I am 5'4", 110 lbs. I can't get over how gorgeous this jacket is in person. While I like the other color choices for this jacket, the contrast between the olive coloring and the navy blue on the sleeves is what sold me. While this jacket is definitely on the big side, it's not overwhelmingly so. Definitely worth the money."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:U.S.A
age:14-20
body type:athletic
L.O.V.E
8.13.2014
"literally in the green I've never loved something sooooooo much needs a sweater under to keep you warm but so cool!!! runs huge get xs or s!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Utah
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Lived up to the hype!
8.6.2014
"I have been debating on buying this parka for a solid year. I wasn't sure if I could pull of a jacket with this much decoration, and wasn't sure about sizing or the price. However, I finally got the guts to spend the money on this showstopper. It's very pretty in real life. I got the olive color. I am glad I went with an XS after looking at the measurements for the S. I'm 5ft7in and 136 lbs. I have pretty long arms and a long torso, but this still covers below my butt. It's not super thick, but also not thin. It has a good weight to it for the chilly days ahead. I recommend if you just can't stop thinking about this parka, get it while it's in stock!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Not what I expected...
7.18.2014
"If you are thinking of ordering the black jacket you should definitely consider the following aspects:
The pictureof this jacket can be a little decieving as the jacket in person does not appear to have as much of a navy blue undertone as the picture does. The sleeves are also much more sparkly and and "Blinged out" then the photo conceives.As well as the fit runs slightly large. Overall I would recommend this buying this jacket simply due to its unique design of the sleeves, comfortable fit and it definitely is a piece that will attract compliments... and so it should for $298!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Wheaton, IL
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful Coat
7.11.2014
"I ordered this in both a large and medium as i have wide shoulders. The medium is still plenty roomy and this coat is beautiful - i'm hoping for cool weather so I can wear it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
more shiney golden bling than pictured
7.4.2014
"I love the idea of this jacket though the black one I purchased had bright golden patterned arms not like the photo in which to me looks more white, maybe silver. this was " bright gold" and it stood out a little too much for my liking. I purchased the small and I usually wear a 6-8 and it fit ok, I little bit long in the arms. sent back as not as pictured in the photo so if you like gold bling you will like it but not for me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:36-40
body type:petite
disappointed
6.6.2014
"I love this coat and was so excited to receive it. However, it had to go back as it is enormous. Not just big, but huge!
I am petite. 5 4", 105 pounds and was swimming in an XS. I looked like a child wearing adults clothing.
Otherwise the coat is beautiful. Details gorgeous.
Please make this coat in XXS maybe even XXXS!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:boston
age:21-25
body type:athletic
nice!
5.9.2014
"As all the other reviews have said, it runs very large. I usually wear a medium at other stores and usually a small in Free People fits me snugly. I ordered this jacket in a small and it fits in an oversized baggy way - which is just what I was looking for. I ordered it in black only because i have so many army color jackets already but I wish my size was available in green so i could just have both!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:RI
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Love this coat!
5.1.2014
"I bought the m as it was the only size in stock and it's big (5'7- 135lbs) but kept it anyhow. I was surprised that the embellished sleeves were much brighter than the pictures. Kind of a Sgt. peppers vibe going on but I still love it. It is a weighted coat. Perfect for spring or fall."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Stunning!
4.27.2014
"I purchased this jacket online and missed out the first time as I hesitated about the price. My misfortune because I had to wait till it came back into stock. I immediately purchased one in size M as I heard they are over sized and they are! I wish I had ordered a size S but cannot now as they are all sold out again! I still love it and get heaps of comments when wearing it. I purchased the olive one and it really is stylish and can go with anything. The embroidery is very well done and I do not think it is over the top at all. I usually am a good guess in the Free People sizing and would normally purchase an Australian size 12-14 but the size M I would say is a 14-16. Never the less I'm keeping it!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Chile
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Different from photos
4.20.2014
"The metallic embellishments on sleeves are brighter than they appear in picture, really shiny golden and silver, not slightly golden like the photo. Also I ordered an xs, my regular size and it's really big."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
What Can I Add......
3.19.2014
"Better than perfection! This jacket is a standout without being obnoxious. I love the fuller fit. It allows for layering, but the drawstrings that cinch at the waist help to give definition. It's not quite as heavy as it looks which is great for weather that isn't too cold. I wish I could wear it everyday. It's more than a jacket, it's an experience! Perhaps I'll add another color..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:japan
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
LOVE
2.15.2014
"Very nice!Amazing!L size is slightly larger"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Boho cool
1.17.2014
"Outstanding. In love with the cut. Two chest pockets and two waist pockets. Got the xs for my size 4 frame, which fits great in body but sleeves were waaaaaaay too short. Ordered a small, but was afraid it would be too boxy. Nay! It's perfect and sleeves are Just the right length. What ya don't know is how smooth n' soft the cargo material is!!! A real unexpected surprise. Looks cool opened and w/ hoodie on. The black is more of a faded black. doesn't show the distress marks as on the olive, but I think the black is more beautiful - cooler and more sophisticated and the gold/ silver embellishments pop more. My fave thing: Substantial thick material for winter!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Favorite Jacket
1.2.2014
"I have been in love with this jacket all year. Sadly when I went to order it there was only one size M at the time in stock. You can pull on the cord to make it a little closer to the body though. Nearly every time I wear it out someone tells me how much the love it or where they can get one. Great layering jacket for people who live in colder climates. The pockets on this are very roomy and no need for a purse !( if you are someone who is always on the go and hates carrying a purse around 24/7)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Golden Quills Military Parka
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOVE
12.26.2013
"Like all free people clothing it does run a bit larger than a normal jacket BUT that's the style and that's how it's supposed to look.
LOOOOVE this jacket so much worth e amount of money.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 next>>