Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Directions In Lace Maxi Slip

Sheer lace maxi skirt with ruffle hem. Elastic waistband. *75% Cotton, 25% Nylon *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 35 "
overall average rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Customer Reviews for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Review 1 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
possibly the most gorgeous piece from FP yet
8.15.2011
"i was so upset when this went out of stock in the white, and when i saw the black slowly slipping away in my size xs, i decided to grab it. hesitant about the color and length, i was rather certain this wouldn't work out but i wanted to try it anyway. the lace looks so amazing on the models! i just received this in the mail today and oh my lord, i am speechless. this is the absolute most gorgeous piece i have boughten from free people to date. made of a durable, thick lace, this is breathtaking. i am petite, and let me say that this is by no means a maxi skirt. on me, it is a maxi dress, but it looks so good as such! i can wear it in a number of ways: i pulled it up over my breasts to show just a little ankle (with heels!) and it looked beautiful. i can wear it with the top pulled up to just below my breasts for a maxi skirt in its only possible form for someone my size and it also looks lovely. at both times i paired it with the seamless romper in black and a vintage sliver belt. i decided to play with the fit a little more and pulled the front of the skirt up towards my breasts and cinched it with the belt to create a high, flirty hemline in the front and a long, sexy hemline in the back. again, omg, i cannot believe i was ever even skeptical of this, it is so versatile and in the end i am glad i bought the black. for petite girls like me, heels are a must, i also worked it with the jeffrey campbell joe lace-ups in black, which also looked phenomenal. you really just can't go wrong with this, so many ways to wear, what a beautiful, outstanding piece. thank you FP!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:orlando, fl/ philly , PA
age:26-30
body type:slender
gorgeous lace!
7.27.2011
"I am so glad i got the ivory before it sold out!!
I wore initially for christmas party as a dress with a red wide sash that I made out of I yd silk satin ($5!) and nude bandeau slip- it looks so gorgeous!!! Yesterday I wore with a leather brown belt and brown wedges. Love it - Iam thinking about getting the black one too. You'll have this piece forever, and the lace is sturdy but soft!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Restocked Tea color in my local FP!!
5.1.2011
"And I'm glad I came in mid-week to see my size, so I grabbed the xs right away :) Definitely LONG on my 5'2" self. I dont have to pull it up if I'm wearing 5" wedges with it. But wore it with 3" espadrilles the other day to work, and I just have to roll the waistband twice so the edges don't drag on the ground :) There IS a slip! Yay FP! Got a ton of compliments on this skirt. You won't regret getting this -- it's BEAUTIFUL, twirly, flattering. A definite head turner :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Cali
age:31-35
body type:petite
Amazing in Cream!
4.27.2011
"I tried this skirt on in the cream/natural/oatmeal color and it is absolutely gorgeous! I'm only 5'1" and it dragged on the floor in the back so I didn't end up getting it because I didn't want to "have" to wear platforms to wear it but it is must have if you're at least 5'3"ish. The color is rich and wonderful (better than the online pics) and the lace is not too fragile to wear it anytime. I think I just talked myself into getting it anyway... :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:pasadena, ca
age:26-30
body type:curvy
I love this
4.24.2011
"I was kind of hesitant to order this, not sure what I would wear it with. I tried it with leggings underneath and it looks super cute.
However, it did come to $170 with tax and shipping, and looking at it, i realise that anyone who knows how to use a sewing machine can make it VERY easily. It is 8 equally sized panels and a ruffle at the bottom.
all in all, I am glad I bought it though.
Looks cute with a plain tank top or a tube and a nice low slung belt.
P.S. i am 5 feet 7 inches and weigh around 135 and I bought an XS and it is VERY long.
I fold it a few times to stop it from dragging. I wear it with flats though, not the giant heels the model is wearing.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:31-35
body type:petite
love It!
4.22.2011
"I bought this in the tea color just the other week and I'm in love with it. I want to wear it all the time but it's really a statement piece! I wore it out to a jazz club and my buddies really loved it. It's really very beautiful."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Breathtaking!
3.21.2011
"I bought this as soon as it was released in the tea color. I knew the skirt was not lined, so was not surprised with the sheerness. (I have yet to find the perfect little bodycon mini for it though!) I have a 26" waist & 36" hips, ordered a S. The relaxed elastic waist on my skirt is 27”, but I didn't bother exchanging for an XS. I felt it couldn't hurt to leave extra room for wearing other skirts underneath. The length is INSANE on me (5'5"). I have to pull the waistband up until it is under my breasts in order to get it to just brush the floor in bare feet. Even with 4" heels, it is too long. I don't like this piece as a strapless dress on me. The tea color is true to online photos. I think it has a very rich antique look to it...how ivory would look in a sepia treated photo. None of the photos can due this lace justice. The skirt is actually quite heavy because the lace is so substantial and there is yards and yards of it cascading, ending in the most incredible asymmetrical hem. The quality far surpassed my expectations and I highly recommend this skirt to anyone. It is more than worth the money. :-))"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:slender
oh my word.
3.7.2011
"Well like everybody says: it's gorgeous. It's true. I first saw it in the store, drooled, and restrained myself. Stalked it online, hesitated. Drooled some more. Waited a bit too long and the tea color was all gone :(
Somebody must've returned b/c a medium popped back up and I pounced on that thing!!!
I should never have hesitated in the first place. This is to die for. I probably should've gotten a small but I snagged the medium cuz I wanted it so bad I didn't care. This is actually fine, the medium fits well on me (5'4", 125 lbs. with booty). Yes it's long, but that's what's so cool about it. If i wear it on my hips, it puddles (easily fixed with some platform shoes). But you can just hike it up a bit and belt it, and YES you can totally wear it as a dress! Yes you need to wear something underneath, but no big.
I know it's a lil' bit of cash to drop on a skirt, but this is one of those pieces that is so beautiful and well made, it's worth it. It's the kind of item you just want to hang on your wall so you can see it every day. An imitation of this won't due, you need the real Free People deal."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
take my breath away skirt :)
2.13.2011
"yea.. i shall called it 'take my breath away skirt' :)) i have nothing bad to said abt this wonderful romantic lace skirt.. i m 5'5" always between size s/m and i got colour tea, size M, bcoz the small is runs out. it fit loose and long on me, but, still an amazing piece~ loveeeee~
i m sooooo happy i got this and the Netted Layers Maxi Skirt. yeeepieee !!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
to.die.for.
2.11.2011
"I got this in an XS {5'3'', 110lbs, 32B, XS/0} in tea and ohhh my gosh, it is so BEAUTIFUL. The color is a perfect beige-cream, the lace is intricate and beautiful, and the cut is just perfect. I have to wear it more as an empire waist skirt or strapless dress because of my height, which is fine because I don't like how skirts look on me when worn at my hips. I plan to wear it with tights and boots and a maxi slip underneath as a skirt, or a strapless slip under when it's a dress. I'm also cooking up ways to wear it as a slip, but it's just so gorgeous I want to show it off! If you're unsure, GET IT, because it's so gorgeous. You will feel like a beautiful bohemian princess -- it's worth the price! Track it down in your size if it's not here, you won't be sorry!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Point D'Esprit Maxi Slip
4.7 out of 5(47)
 
 
 
FP ONE Mermaid Maxi
4.1 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
Mesh Maxi Skirt
5 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 11 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Soo Pretty!
2.2.2011
"This skirt is fantastic! I love the adjustable waistband because it lets you change the length of your skirt! The length of the skirt hit my 5'9" like it does the model. I ordered this in a L and it fit comfortably. My only issue is that this is a bit sheer, so you may want a maxi slip."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:slender
.
1.21.2011
"Makes me feel like a free-spirited princess. It's very long, and I'm a bit over 5'9", and I pull it up a little. The lace is delicate, but not so much that you have to worry every moment, just be careful. Too special! Sexy in an unexpected, fresh way."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:nj
age:14-20
body type:curvy
SO BEAUTIFUL
1.19.2011
"i just went to the free people store in my local mall and i saw this and tried it on. i'm usually a large and i tried it on in the last available size, a small... surprisingly it fit!!! the mini skirt on the inside was somewhat hip hugging but overall the skirt was definitely beautiful and looked great as a dress as well."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:athletic
MY FAVORITE FP ITEM!!!
1.16.2011
"The pictures of this skirt just don't do it justice! It is a beautiful beige color and the cut of it is gorgeous! I am 5'6" and the length of the skirt was great- it was just a tad long, but I like my skirts a bit long so I can wear heels. The waist was very true to size. There is a little mini skirt attached so that you don't have to wear anything under it, and it looks great. I like it better this way than I would if it was fully lined. By far my favorite Free People piece!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Perfect Skirt :)
1.11.2011
"I received this skirt in the mail only a few days ago and have already received a multitude of compliments on it! It is incredibly beautiful. The lace is so intricate and delicate. I ordered the "tea" color. My skirt is unlined (which doesn't bother me at all). However, it is a bit long (I'm 5'5"). I ordered my usual FP size and the fit was right on (aside from the length). So...the skirt almost drags along the ground if I wear flats, but with heels the length is perfect. I'm very glad that I bought ths and I know that I will love it for years to come :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Fields of Lace Dress
4.3 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
Lace Trim Thermal
4.7 out of 5(59)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Most amazing skirt... EVER.
1.10.2011
"I have had my eye on this skirt for months. After reading all the reviews and thinking about it constantly, I decided to get it. Best decision ever. This skirt is absolutely amazing! Like other reviewers stated, it is long and does run big so I sized down and it fits perfectly. I have to pull it up to my natural waist in order for it to not drag on the ground, but that's okay. Mine is unlined, which I don't mind much either. You just have to wear something underneath. It is beautifully stitched so the skirt flows really nicely. This is absolutely one of my favorite FP purchases, and I plan on buying the black one as well! I highly highly highly recommend this skirt to anyone, especially if you are on the fence about it. It's perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:LA
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Gorgeous !
1.8.2011
"GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!! BEAUTIFUL !!!! LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT !!!!! My husband was speechless. It fits perfectly. I am 134 pounds, I ordered medium size and it was just right for me."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Great piece for layering -- top or bottom
1.7.2011
"I got this in both colors, and I'm wearing them in so many ways . . . incredibly versatile pieces. As a petticoat, under a full skirt, or as a top skirt over a slip or another skirt, they are great. Adding colors underneath gives them a totally different look. I spent a couple of hours in my closet with them when they first arrived, and it's paid dividends, as I now have so many layering looks to grab and go using these skirts.
They ARE long -- so size down. You can also take some inches off the TOP by rolling and stitching the waistband, or by cutting the top off and moving the elastic.
The waist is smooth and the cut if very slimming -- great figure-flattering piece. It does not poof out like so many elastic waisted petticoats do . . . WELL worth the sale price.
Love it with the net skirt . . ."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Nicholas K Check Trapeze Dress
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:US
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Very feminine!
1.7.2011
"The skirt is beautiful and long...keep that in mind. I am 5'9" /145lb. and I got XS, fits me perfectly! :) Even though I was expecting to have some lining,,,,there wasn't but it's FREE PEOPLE...you can come up with an alternative solution!
To all the Maxi Skirt Fans - YOU WILL LOVE IT!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 20 for Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:36-40
body type:slender
this.skirt.is.AMAZING.
1.3.2011
"holy flattering/awesome/flyness!!
it runs a little big, so go down a size.
otherwise
this
skirt
is
totally
fab.
dress it up or down, wear with boots or flats. tights underneath or no tights.
gah.
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>