Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Decorated Officer Jacket

Heavy knit jacket with oversized fold over collar. Gathered material at front edges. Lace detailing along inside back. Button detailing on front with oversized pockets on the side. Flap at back with button detailing at lower back. * 97% Cotton, 3% Spandex * Machine Wash * Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 30 7/8"
overall average rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for Decorated Officer Jacket
Review 1 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:slender
BEAUTIFUL<3
1.7.2011
" This jacket is super beautiful!! I got this in both Black & Ivory. What made me fall in love with this jacket is the uniqueness and the feminine details. Unique because the lapel or the jacket is big and droopy. Feminine 'cause there's a frill that traces the jacket and also, there's a lace inside the jacket (the picture I attached will show you the inner lace. Very pretty!). Whenever I wear this jacket, I get compliments from both guys & girls. Makes me very happy<3 I am super happy with this jacket. Thank you Free People! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
super cute and cozy
1.5.2011
" This jacket was surprisingly heavy -- it's fully lined in cozy cotton, plus the girly lace inset in the torso -- and really adorable. I'm 5'2'', 110lbs, 32b and I got an XS in the ivory. I was nervous it would be a bit overwhelming on me, but it's really not, although I do think that it works better on me if I wear a shoe with at least a bit of a heel. I love the oversized buttons & pockets and the ruffly edges. I think this could do double duty as a cardigan-type jacket with lighter underlayers, and as a coat with thicker garments underneath. Overall I was pretty happy with this purchase and felt like I got a sturdy, well-made garment that will serve me well with its versatility and unique details. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Very Warm!
1.3.2011
" I was surprised by the quality of this jacket, very very warm but the cotton keeps it from being too heavy. Really cute but runs large, just size down and enjoy!! Looks so cute with skinny jeans and tall brown boots. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Boston
age:36-40
body type:athletic
cute but not for me
12.9.2010
" I love this jacket on the model, unfortunatelly it looks ridiculous on me. I got it in S but it was still way to big. Definetly size down if you want to buy it. Has to go back. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Bahamas
age:36-40
body type:petite
Nice Sweater/jacket
12.8.2010
" I got this today, and like it a lot. I'm 5'0, 110lbs and got the XS, and it fits and hangs nicely. My only complaint, and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is it came really wrinkled and I'm hoping I can iron them out. But otherwise, really cute on, and since I live in the Bahamas, will be a nice winter sweater and even better since I got in on sale! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Warren, Vermont
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
A great jacket that can be paired with EVERYTHING
12.6.2010
" I just got this jacket today in the cream and I'm so thankful I did. It is incredibly well made and there is a lot of detail through out the jacket. I love the tinny ruffled trim along the collar and the buttons make it a little more casual, but you can easily pair this with a dress or jeans. I got the medium so I could layer underneath it. I'm usually a small. I'm so happy with the fit. The arms aren't extremely long or wide and the length is perfect and hits mid bottom. I'm 130 lbs and 5'7" FYI. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Officer jacket
12.3.2010
" Why put this jacket in a box by limiting it to the military? This jacket has actually taken some of my FP summer dresses into Fall and with a heavy pair of tights underneath into winter! I have received many compliments!
It is a bit bulky for a size 10 body....but my size 4 friends said it looks great! Thumbs up. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Decorated Officer
12.1.2010
" This is a great jacket with a lot of great detailing. The inside has a beautiful lace inset and the buttons and trimmings on the outside really contribute to a nice feminine military look. I would say that sizing up only contributes to making the jacket longer on your body as the arms seemed to be the same size in both the medium and large. Otherwise the body is really roomy and the pockets are huge! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Comftorbale oversized boyfriend Jacket
10.7.2010
" Really soft and comfy. I got a small and I am 5'4" 115 lbs, it looks a tad bit over sized but I expected it to be that way so I was really happy with it. Not only that but it has nice details that give it the military feel without being too much. Great for a lazy weekend with your boyfriend or over a mini dress for dinner. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:nyc
age:14-20
body type:petite
must-have for fall!
10.7.2010
" I finally got this in the creme. I love to wear tights, boots, and over sized t and this over. I have been wearing this every day the second it started getting colder. Its warm, yet there is enough arm room to fit in some layers for winter too! I highly recommend this. The way it drapes is very unique and sophisticated. I own a lot of darker, grungy-er things so pairing it up with that really gave my style a new kick to it. must must must-have. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:curvy
i love this jacker
9.21.2010
" I'm 5'8" and usually a medium in free people tops so I got this jacket in a medium in the ivory. I wanted it for so long but was a bit worried after reading reviews. I LOVE IT. The fit is perfect with enough room to layer tops and still be able to wear the jacket over but its not too big of bulky at all. The sleeves go to just about my knuckles which i LOVE. It is cute buttoned or unbuttoned and warm enough for Georgia winters. It is not a light jacket but it is Very comfortable. Can't wait to wear it!! This jacket is a lot like FP cord pants which you cannot tell very well by the pictures but I didn't find that to be a problem at all. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Ahhhhh so cute!!!
9.15.2010
" Just got this coat for fall/winter and I loveeeee it! I got it in the black and it makes me look very long and lean! I'm 5'9" and 135 pounds and have pretty broad shoulders. So I agree with the previous reviewer, that my shoulders might be a reason it fits well (it makes them look quite small though actually)! But I love this coat, it's comfy, cute, and very unique looking! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, California
age:14-20
body type:slender
beautiful jacket!!
8.24.2010
" My boyfriend just got me this jacket for my birthday, and boy oh boy was i happy(: this jacket is gorgeous on the inside and out! the little details make a difference, like the lace detailing on the inside and the pretty ruffles along the edges of the collar really make this piece of clothing very unique.
the sizing is perfect for me, i like oversize things, so expect the jacket to be big, i ordered a small and it was perfect, the sleeve length fit my arms really well.
i would definitely recommend this item to other people! you'll get compliments...trust me!!<3(:
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:petite
beg to differ
7.24.2010
" Frumpy? Unflattering? I am stunned by the negative reviews. I love the way this looks on me. Maybe it's a matter of body type. I'm only 5'1 1/2"/105 pounds but have broad shoulders, and that may be what is needed for this to hang properly. As for fit, the body of the garment is (deliberately) oversized but the arms are fairly narrow, so I would NOT size down if you are planning to wear this over even a light sweater. The fabric is soft but not sturdy enough for a cold-weather garment -- my only complaint. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Perfect winter coat!
7.22.2010
" Okay, this is not a coat for July. It is HEAVY and is designed to keep you warm. The material for both the coat and ruffles are the same as the Military Ruffle Jacket, but it's more subtle here. There is also this awesome lace detailing on the inside of the coat, which I thought was a snazzy touch. The fabric is also a LOT thicker, meaning this is one where you would want snow on the ground to wear. I liked my normal size, but if you wouldn't want to layer under it, sizing down would probably work just fine. I thought the coat was beautiful and was shocked to see it getting such low reviews! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Military Ruffle Jacket
4.7 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:cali
age:21-25
body type:petite
sigh...
7.22.2010
" I completely agree with the first reviewer. I had seen this jacket online and in the july catalog, when I tried it on the store I was very dissapointed. The fit runs VERY large and the shoulders are point outwards. Overall the jacket was very unflattering and heavy (literally). "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Decorated Officer Jacket
Name:
Location:Omaha
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Looks amazing on the model but....
7.19.2010
" I have had my eye on this jacket ever since it first showed up on this site. I was about to purchase it online, when I saw the jacket at the mall. I was so excited, but when I tried it on, it was not what I expected. The jacket was way to big and bulky. I also thought that it made me look frumpy. The color was also unimpressive. In the picture it looks midnight black, however, in the store it looked faded. I also wish it was made in a sturdier material. Overall, I was disappointed with the garment. I'm kind of short (5'3" and 118 lbs) so maybe if you are taller it may not look as frumpy. If you can, you should try it on before you purchase. So sad, cause it really does look cute on the model. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large