Product Reviews

Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress

Sequin covered mesh tank dress with ties at top of each shoulder. "V"-neckline. Bottom hem is lightly scalloped. Dropwaist style. Fully lined. *Sequins *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 37" Bust: 37" Waist (all around): 29" Armhole Drop: 9"
overall average rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Review 1 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Nottingham
age:14-20
body type:petite
Lovely Dress!!!!!!!!!!
2.15.2014
"I love this dress! It will definitely catch your eye from a mile away and It looks even better captured in a picture!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Perfect party dress
1.20.2014
"I absolutely love this dress, it made me feel like a princess! Fits really well and was very comfortable. Buy it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Denver,, CO
age:26-30
body type:petite
Really Pretty
1.7.2014
"This is a lovely dress, really sparkly and delicate. I received tons of compliments on it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:israel
age:31-35
body type:athletic
damaged
8.6.2013
"this dress is amazing and looks wonderful on me but it does need to be fitted and it got to me in the mail with lipstick marks on it!
so for such a price it is not worth it!
with the shipping and the taxes it coast me almost300$!!!!!!!!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb8.6.2013
We're so sorry to hear that this happened. Our team will be in touch to help you with a replacement right away! xoox
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:31-35
body type:petite
Cheap and Costume-y
5.9.2013
"This dress looks amazing on the model but on me, it looked terrible! Perhaps it's because I am only 5'4", but it looked like I was going to a halloween party or about to head out to the ice skating rink. I highly recommend that if you do not have this model's body, do not get this dress! Also, the sequins fall off the instant you put it on. I am still finding them in my room and I only tried the dress on once."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
too fragile
4.20.2013
"I am sad that I had to return this dress. I had such high hopes. This was designed in exactly the perfect style for my tastes. It does fit true to size, and the design is lovely, but unfortunately the craftsmanship is very poor. The sequins were already beginning to come apart when I took it out of the box and there were loose threads everywhere. Had to carefully replace it in its bag and return it right away. Very sad. Wish they would re-issue it with better craftsmanship!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.22.2013
We're sorry your dress arrived in this condition. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Brisbane, Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
Best dress I have ever worn, I mean EVER.
3.6.2013
"I cannot even describe how much I love this dress. I have the dark colour, size small; I think it fits true to size (note: it is not tight!). I wore it to my best friend's wedding; I was a bridesmaid. I styled it pretty much like the model, with a long necklace and stacked on bracelet; but it is mega hot here in Australia so I put on my Deborah clogs (in black, not tan as the picture) instead of boots. The quality of the dress is amazing; the sequins are the real, old fashioned, high quality style. This really is the ULTIMATE party dress. You could also dress it down and wear it during the day if you want to feel extra glamorous during daytime :o)"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 8 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love the dress - needs to be fitted
3.1.2013
"I ordered the silver dress and it's so beautiful. I do wish the lining was a tad bit longer, but I'll wear a slip under. If it was sized as a number the fit would be better than generic s/m/l. I'm going to have to have the shoulders & waist taken in, but other than that it fits great and looks super cute!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Dortmund
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
WONDERFUL DREAM DRESS
3.1.2013
"I ordered this dress in silver to wear it at my prom this year in july. It just looks amazing!
I already got so many compliments for it! Very Shimmy Shimmy, elegant and special ;)
The dress fits very well. I'm 1,76m,127 pounds and got S. It's a bit loose around my chest area and tighter to the hips, not exactly like on the model but similar.
I was concerned the neckline could look weird but I really like it the way it is, the skirt is also very flattering.
Some sequins are loose but this is nothing unsual with sequin dresses. Some stitches with a needle and it should be fixed..
I considered this purchase very carefully as I hadn't ordered from America before (I'm from Germany) but (although I had to pay 25€ taxes additionally) it really was worth the try!
Love the dress!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:14-20
body type:slender
Very Fragile
2.3.2013
"The fit was great, honestly I love the dress so much but there is just one big problem...it's very very fragile. The dress is beautiful but poorly made, especially for the price. The tule was poorly cut, and the edges were rather jagged as if the bottom was cut with safety scissors. I would have been able to ignore that minor flaw if the sequins had been properly sewn on, the thread was coming loose and allowing sequins to drop off of it as it was not tied in a secure knot. I pulled the dress out of its packaging and noticed there were some spots that were severely lacking sequins. I just really wish the sequins had been sewn on with more care, I love this dress but I'm not entirely sure I want to keep it given the poor quality."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Alaska, USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Couldn't Shimmy
1.17.2013
"I fell in love with this dress in multiple ways, but once I squeezed into it, I knew I had to return it. Very tight across my bust and much too short in the rear. If I had ordered a Large, I may have felt better. But I don't think that would change the problem I had with the detail of the band; it hit me at my widest section, emphasizing my belly (not cute!). If I wanted to add curves, this dress would surely do...but seeing as I want to complement my curves, this dress was not "the one." So sad."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Meh...
1.7.2013
"The reviewer who said this dress looks like a figure skating costume was unfortunately right. I am a lover of sequins, a lover of mini dresses, and a lover of light colours, but this piece just misses the mark for me. I got it in both colours, and the only one I'm going to consider keeping is the blue; the white has a thin, bare, sequins-less strip at the drop-waist line, and it isn't flattering to the midsection. As also mentioned by a previous reviewer, the neckline is a little weird, too; sits just slightly too high. The saddest part of all about this dress, though, is that the sequins are so huge; it really makes the dress look like a costume instead a $200 occasion piece. As for size: it's a bit roomy; I am a size 0-2 is FP dresses, and the XS is a bit large everywhere. One funny thing: I noticed when I photographed this dress for the review, it looked way better than it does in person; that's because, from a distance, you can't see the size of the sequins. Sigh."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
:(
1.6.2013
"I got this dress for christmas to wear on new years and first got the silver one, if you have curves its not the best chioce. So i returned it also cause thier was many sequins missing even before trying it on. So i went to the store to try the different color and sizes. The blue one was way more flattering. But i find it crazy that every single one no matter if the size was the same fit differently. Finally i exchanged my silver one for a blue one. I loved it until after one wear pieces began to fall off.. I only went out to dinner in it. :( Not worth at all the $198 !! As its made poorly none of the ends for the sequins are secured properly."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Flattering
1.2.2013
"It looked great on me when I put it on!! Omg the best NYE party dress ever!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Red Bank, NJ
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Gorgeous - Best for Boyish Figures
12.17.2012
"I've been coming back to this dress for WEEKS. I even went to my local FP store to try it on. The store only had the silver in a large which was too big up top and looked frumpy. I tried the blue/back on in medium and it was perfect. I bought the silver for NYE - I'm going for a certain look, yet to be fully determined. I received the silver medium in the mail yesterday and tried it on enthusiastically. I am a solid medium - 5'4" / 36-29-42 measurements. It's pretty snug on me. If I lose a few pounds it will be perfect, but overall I think it's better for boyish bodies. It looks nothing like it does on the models. The middle bands across are slightly unflattering.
I may have to return this for the blue/black combo which will be more flattering on my curvy figure - or close the chapter on the shimmy shimmy party dress altogether."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:21-25
body type:slender
incredibly beautiful
12.16.2012
"this dress is just beautiful. i wore it out and received so many compliments on it. like any sequin dress, it does tend to shed sequins here and there, but it's a small matter. i own this in the white/silver sequin combination, and it's very beautiful, vintage-looking, and the detailing is exquisite. I feel like a flapper straight out of the Great Gatsby!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:over 45
body type:curvy
You'll Love It!
12.16.2012
"Fits perfect. I was wondering because of the other reviews. Really flattering. Very sparkly. A perfect dress to dance in. Bought it to ring in the new year.."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:South
age:over 45
body type:petite
Soooo cute
12.14.2012
"My daughter bought this for a dance. You can dress it up or down. Cute with dressy heels or cowboy boots."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:CT
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
perfection
12.11.2012
"i bought this dress in the silver for the winter formal dance at my school. it is an utterly amazing dress that made me feel like a glamorous 1920s partygoer. i also bought the lance flats in grey to go with the beige-ish areas on the dress. the fit was great - i'm 5'8", around 120 pounds, and i bought the xs. i'm not sure how it would fit somebody who had a larger chest, though - it's pretty flat there. overall, a really gorgeous dress that was perfect for my dance."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 20 for Shimmy Shimmy Party Dress
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Sparkle!
12.6.2012
"I saw both of the colors of this dress when I was in a FP store near Detroit. Both are beautiful and while I would originally have been drawn to the darker color, I ended up liking the lighter color better with my skin tone. The material is on the thin side, but not so sheer you need to wear something underneath. The sequins seem a bit on the fragile side and a few of the dresses in the store had some of the sequins pulled visibly loose, which did cause me to feel like I had to be extra careful while wearing it. The cut is flattering, especially in the skirt. Wore this with a pair of boots and a short cardigan to the theatre and it was perfect! Truly a perfect party dress, but a little fragile for the price."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>