Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Move West Maxi Dress

Super soft sleeveless maxi dress with tiered ruffle bottom. Scoop neck. *50% cotton, 38% polyester, 12% rayon *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 53 1/2" Chest: 34 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Customer Reviews for Move West Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great for layering
12.13.2011
" I bought this for a trip to India and SE Asia. It will be great for layering under other dresses or tunics in India (modesty is key), and cute over a swimsuit once i hit the beaches in SE Asia. Keeper. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Clemente
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Fun and sexy
12.2.2011
" Love this style... though it runs a little big so get one size down. The white is pretty sheer, but leggings and a colored bandeau makes the dress look sexy. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Comfy Style
11.20.2011
" I got this dress to use at home as if I wasn't trying to dress upl, but look good anyway. It works. Comfy, not pretentious but sexy & flowy. Love it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 4 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Southern Cali'
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Size Down!
11.2.2011
" Usually wear a size small in FP dresses. I'm 5'4", 120 lbs and I bought an XS. Glad I did because it's still a bit loose. The back of the dress hits the floor. It's a tad sheer so layer accordingly or wear nude color undies. Very beautiful dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
IN LOVE
10.27.2011
" I loved the look of this dress but was hesitant to buy because there was only Small sizes available in the black colour and I'm usually a M-L. After the reading the reviews that said it was oversized so I caved and bought it. It fits perfectly (a touch tighter than the model) and is incredibly comfortable to wear. I love how the back is a little bit longer than the front. The weather has been all over the place in Sydney lately so I have worn it by itself with a light denim chambray jacket over the top and nice sandals and stacks of jewellery and also worn it with a biker leather jacket, floral scarf and black snakeskin ballet flats. Both times I have worn it I have received loads of compliments. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 6 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Runs Just a Tad Large
10.25.2011
" I'm 5'8, 118 pounds. Bought a Small and the waist was just a little too large to wear without belting it. It looks great though and is a really elegant, simple piece. The length is great and the collar lines are great for showing off...if that's what you're into. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 7 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:slender
too big
10.23.2011
" I thought the style looked adorable but returned the dress as it was way too big, the straps slipping off my shoulders and the bust way too loose. I also did not like the feel of the rubbery strips sewn into the the tiers. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 8 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
comfy n easy go~
8.15.2011
" i bought this dress on last year.. i got mocha in size S, it fits very loose n long at back, i m 5'5".. the material is very soft n light weight, very good for hot weather.. it def need a slip or bandeau underneath because the neckline n arm whole are pretty low.. very easy go n comfy dress~ :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:BAY AREA - CALIFORNIA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
For the Long of Torso...
8.7.2011
" I've been in love with this dress since I saw it on line - I finally got my opportunity to try it on this weekend, and was so disappointed. The fabric was really nice - dense but still light. The top part of the dress was fine, nice and tanky - but I had issues with the bottom half. I knew it would be too long on me (I'm only 5' 2") - even so, the ruffles were too low, and it was just weird! I think if you are tall and have a long torso, this would probably look fantastic on you - but if you are a half-ling like me, you might want to pass :) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
HUGGGEEE and LOONNNGG
8.1.2011
" The dress is really basic and nothing fancy. It is pretty roomy and ridiculously long. I would not be able to walk in it without heels. I am 5'7 and bought the xs. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful, but HUGE
7.23.2011
" This dress is so gorgeous, and I wish I could make it work... but I'm usually a 0-2 in FP, and the xs was like a tent on me. I'm 5"6, about 125 lbs, broad shouldered, and I have a 32D chest, so despite my dress size, I'm not super small. But this dress just hung on me like a costume toga. The bottom of the arm holes actually ended up somewhere between my bust and my belly button. I figured I had just grabbed a medium by mistake. But the tiers are so girly and romantic... If you have room to go, my advice is to order two sizes down, and go be beautiful. But if you're smaller than a small, stay away! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
One of My Favorite Clothing Items!!!
5.2.2011
" This dress is perfect. It is super soft and comfortable and hangs in the prettiest way. It is a little shorter in the front than the back, which makes it even cuter. It drags about an inch in the back but I am not very tall. You do need a bandeau underneath, and I bought a floral one that goes nicely and compliments the dress. I ordered the mocha in my normal FP size xs (5'4 120 lbs) and it looks and fits like the model. I've only worn it out once, but received many compliments. I almost cried when I spilled melted butter on it while cooking, but thankfully it came out in the wash! This is my go-to maxi for summer. Get it now, you won't be disappointed!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Soft, but Huge!
5.1.2011
" I was a little hesitant to buy this dress after reading some of the reviews that said it might hang off of me in an unflattering way. However, I decided to give it a try anyway. I ordered the mocha color -- which is not as slightly-purple as it appears on the site, more like a soft brown -- and when it got here, I immediately tried it on over the Point D'Esprit Maxi Slip in antique. The front looked fine on my nearly-flat chest, but the back swept straight from my shoulders to the floor, creating an unsightly silhouette. I tried belting it with a skinny leather wrap belt, and it looked great! The fabric is so soft and of really good quality, but it is pretty long. I had to get the medium because the small was sold out, but I'm 5'10", 125 lbs. and it still dragged the floor a little. With a very small wedge I was able to lift it from the ground. However, I wore it out with the slip and some platform wedges by JC. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Point D'Esprit Maxi Slip
4.7 out of 5(47)
 
 
 
Rio Concho Belt
5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Sadie Platform Wedge
5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:maui, makawao
age:36-40
body type:curvy
love it
4.30.2011
" this dress is great just what i wanted long and cool fabric can layer it really girlly. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Size down
4.29.2011
" The material is light and thin. I sized down from medium to xs to get the fit like the model. I am 5'5 and the dress is just barely about to touch the floor. This is not for shorter girls. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Nice
4.1.2011
" This dress is cute and simple. i got the Mocha in a Medium and it fit nice and roomy, just like pictured. The length hit me just like it does the model at 5'9". The fabric is light enough to wear in the summer, and heavy enough for fall/winter. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:maine
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Cute
3.28.2011
" Really love this dress but the white is see through. Guess I didn't really expect it not to be but was just a little disappointed at how much it was. Will probably still keep it and wear a slip or the the like underneath. Or just wear to the beach over suits. Bought an XS and I am 5'7, 135lbs, 34C bust; fits perfect with a tad lower drag in the back, just right. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Wish I could wear it every day!
3.26.2011
" I LOVE this dress! I love everything about it. It's soft, easy to dress up or down, fits exactly like the picture shows, and makes me wish I were at the beach :D I am 5'4" and got a M, which is my typical FP size. I found that this dress is shorter than some of the other FP maxi dresses I own. In fact, this might be the first one that I won't have to trim the hem of! This dress grazes the floor in the prettiest way, actually everything about it is pretty. I can't wait to buy it in another color! Catch ya later, this dress and me and my boat shoes are going out! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Lo quiero
3.8.2011
" This will be my go-to piece when I don't want to fuss about what to wear. Easy to accessorize for lots of different looks - layer with other dresses, put a tank underneath, knot the hem and show off your shoes, etc. I got the mocha color and it's perfect because it matches everything. Very comfortable. The fit is pretty loose, not form fitting at all, so if you like a closer fit size down. It's a bit long, but a knot on one side takes care of that. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Move West Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
love this dress!!- comfy and cute
3.5.2011
" I had been eyeing this dress for a long time. Due to some of the reviews saying it was so comfortable I bit. I admit I was a nervous because I usually don't wear something so loose looking, but I have to tell you it is a keeper! . I got the charcoal, I did initially really want the mocha but n/s. I think the charcoal will work out just as nice. I got an xs, I am 5'8" 127lbs 36d size 4 pant (this runs big!) mine fits like charcoal models pics!!! I believe you can get lots of use out of this one as a basic or layers.....love it!
I use to be one of those that had to wear the S shape all the time but thanks to FP I have totally changed my style and feel really good about it!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>