Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Neo Folk Embroidered Dress

Sheer dress with traditionally embroidered bodice, loose sleeves, cinched waist, and wrists.
overall average rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Review 1 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:US
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Top is too puffy
2.4.2014
"I got the black in small, and the back was way too puffy, and it looked extremely strange from the side or back. Ended up returning it."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:LA
age:14-20
body type:curvy
a little large
1.17.2014
"I bought an Ivory one. It is beautiful but a little large. I have a small one now and I want to exchange a XS one. But I just found that this item was sold out. I don't what to do now."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:east coast for now
age:26-30
body type:slender
very strange fit
1.15.2014
"I love the details fabric flattering but I don't know whether or not to return - here is why; I tired on the small in the store an dit was humongous. I ordered xs thru mail on sale it is so tight in the upper arms I cant move yet the rest is a little large on me. what do I do. I kinda think EACH DRESS IS SEWN DIFFERENTLY EACH ONE IS SEWN EITHER CORRECTLY OR INCORRECTLY also I know the waist on small will be humongous but id rather move my arms. it is really weird. is free people down sizing their sizes now. I haven't gained weight yet suddenly xs don't fit and I ordered a medium top that does. what gives? also if I try to exchange this it takes forever and I probably wont get a small in time. not sure if I wear this til it rips or what. I cant even sew it to fix it . and why does a medium top fit close on me,. help free people donnt change your sizing on us please"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:petite
Love the embroidery
1.13.2014
"I got this dress in the sale at £28, and I am soooo happy. Love the embroidery---very muted. Will be wearing it often."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, BC
age:26-30
body type:curvy
hmm
12.21.2013
"I quite like this dress, actually. For a cotton dress with this kind of design and embroidery, the price is reasonable. I ordered the black one and it looks just like in the photo. The material is comfortable. However, the top part (front and back) is baggy, especially if you are busty. I'm wearing small (5'5, 122lb, 34C) like the model in the photo, and I had to change to a non-supportive bra to make my breast smaller in order to achieve a similar look. Overall, it's a nice and unique piece to have in the wardrobe. Thanks, FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:here and there, Texas
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Fun
12.14.2013
"The quality isn't bad, and it does fit a little bigger than I expected but not in any way that is offensive. A couple darts here and a little tuck there would be all that is necessary if I were to change my mind on that matter. It's a very comfortable dress, and I don't have anything (even from FP) like it. My husband thought it was terrific, when this particular item might typically get the "weird" label. It's one of those semi-timeless pieces where you have to put it in a trunk when it goes way out of style, but you can be sure it will come back with a roar."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Too large
12.12.2013
"I tried size XS at the local FP store, and although the material was beautiful and I loved the ethnic style embroidery, the dress was huge. The top part was too big, and I felt one more of me could fit in. It's a shame because I really like the dress,"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Love it!
12.10.2013
"This dress is beautiful! I'm a curvy girl with large hips and bust, but I still felt like the length and waistline worked perfectly for me."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Meh
11.29.2013
"I tried a size S on in stores and although it's very pretty on the hanger, when I tried it on I noticed the slip is straight across while the overskirt is handkerchief hemmed, so you can really see the difference in the white dress. Also, I'm pear shaped so I can't wear the waist lower like the model does - it inches up. And when it does, it creates this huge chest bubble up top that just isn't flattering. Not for me!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
fun
11.19.2013
"This is a light, peasant dress. It is sheer and I recommend a slip for full coverage. The material is thin, slightly textured, but soft and comfortable."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Lovely dress
11.19.2013
"I received this dress today and It is really very pretty. The fabric and embroidery are quite striking I ordered the cream M based on the few reviews and the specified measurements. I could have ordered the small...except that the armholes are quite small which would have made the dress uncomfortable in that spot. The fit is quite loose, which given the style is perfectly ok for me. Another lovely dress. I am very happy with the free people products. A tip for Aussies...the regular postage is very poor both delivery time and in tracking updates, I have waited up to 3 weeks for my last 2 orders. I highly recommend the express service well worth the money and DHL couldn't have been more helpfull. I ordered on Thursday and received my package on Monday. thanks FP"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Monica
age:21-25
body type:athletic
nice dress
11.7.2013
"It looks great, but just a little bit small."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Urban City
age:36-40
body type:slender
Wow! So Pretty!
11.2.2013
"This is so feminine and pretty but still has that laid back, handmade, hippie vibe. I picked it up in store in ivory with purple embroidery. I am 5'7" with a slim build, larger bust and no hips, and the wide waistband detail on this dress makes my thick waist appear a lot slimmer and also accentuates curves without the need for a belt. Try different sizes on! I found the small size looked the best, but I could easily have made a medium or a large work. Very soft fabric, comfortable and easy to wear. I can add boots and a sweater to easily transition to fall season. Looks so cute with either sandals or cowboy boots! I would give it 5 stars if the slip was either a little longer or if it had a handkerchief hem like the skirt - I find in the ivory color, the straight hem stands out beneath the skirt due to the translucent nature of the fabric."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Neo Folk Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Silver Spring, MD
age:36-40
body type:petite
great dress!
9.11.2013
"This dress is so fun. I saw it in my local FP store today and picked it up in both colors. The cotton is soft and comfortable and although the dress runs a tad large, it is still figure flattering due to the cinched waist. The only drawback is that you have to almost try it on as some are bigger in the waist than others, even with the smaller size. Other than that, the colors are great and it is a great fall transition piece. Highly recommend!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large