Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lots of Ruffles Tunic

Tiered ruffle tunic with layers of crinkle gauze and woven fabric. Deep woven racer back and metallic straps. * 100% Cotton * Dry Clean * Imported Measurements for Size 6: Length: 32" Chest: 31"
overall average rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Review 1 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
PARTY DRESS!
4.4.2010
" This is such a great dress. It's a tad short.. I'm 5'6. But I LOVE IT! I've worn it to many parties and there are so many ways to wear it. I have the grey/black one and have worn colorful sweaters and so many different combinations. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:seattle, washington
age:14-20
body type:curvy
so pretty.
3.28.2010
" i tried this on in store when it first came out and i absolutely loved it; it's so flattering. it's a bit short, but perfect with leggings or tights. the purples are absolutely beautiful. definitely need to wear a tank top or bandeau with it. definitely worth it on sale or full price! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:curvy
I wish!
3.10.2010
" Free People dresses never fit my body. That being said, I still was tempted to try this on. It would work for a small to medium size body. Curvy girls, stay away. The violet color is absolutely beautiful. The cut of the back is elegant. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Rouched Seamless Tube Slip
3.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
Stretch Cropped Tube
3.9 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Where's the party?!
2.3.2010
" This dress is also a rare find! I bought it in the charcoal color and it is definitely prettier in person than on the internet. If you plan to wear this as a dress and are somewhat tall, I would go a size up. If not, stay with your size or even go a size down because the top falls down a bit. I bobby-pinned the dress to my sticky-bra so that the bra wouldn't be revealed and it worked like a charm! Great buy for that perfect event!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:ny
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
So Adorable!!!
1.9.2010
" I bought in charcoal....adds so a blast to my wardrobe! I would, though, reccomend with something like a FP Lace Top underneath, seeing as it's pretty thin and open. Very beautiful piece overall! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:Encino, CA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Fuschia is My Favorite
12.19.2009
" This is so fun. As a casual tunic, night time tunic with jeans or just as a party dress. Fun and funky colors. Soooo pretty. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
age:14-20
body type:petite
sooo cute! maybe not so practical though
12.19.2009
" saw this in the store and just had to order it! just as shown in the picture, it's very short - i'm 5 ft. and can't wear it as a dress without leggings. also low. like the picture, you have to wear something underneath. i bought a size 0, but if they had a 2 still in stock i would have gotten that and just shortened the straps to wear as a dress with nothing underneath. also, ruffles are very fragile, i haven't even worn it yet and strings are already coming off the fabric. in love with the idea of the dress, but not so practical "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:indianapolis
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
gorgeous!
12.14.2009
" it's so pretty! more fushia than purple - but it could just be the colors on my comp. are off. regardless of the colors - i LOVE it! i got an 8 - 5'7 135 34d could have done a 6 but i wanted to make sure it would be long enough. and it is! :D it looks just the pic and i don't think the ruffles make me look chunks either.... can't wait to wear it! prob. new years with my sequin shorts and tights!! but obviously i'm gonna wear it before then... ;) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
The Title Says It All
12.2.2009
" No wonder this is called a tunic, not a dress. I purchased this for a school dance, and I'm extremely happy with it, although, I would have been happier if I didn't have to wear tights with it. This is the shortest thing EVER! The colors on the charcoal one are just soooo pretty, and it definately flatters my figure. I think I would have passed if it hadn't been on sale in the store for $49.95. This can either be dressed up, with a pair of heels, or shiny flats(what I'm wearing, cause I'm extremely tall and would tower over everyone at the dance), or dressed down with jeans, like in the picture, or even made to a sort of grunge look, with tights and vintage-y boots. All in all, a very good buy, plus I'm planning to wear this for New Years as well to get some use out of it, before it becomes too small. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:Memphis, TN
age:21-25
body type:athletic
adorable and flowy
11.23.2009
" i think this tunic/dress is beautiful! i will definitely not wear it without leggings/skinny jeans, but it's adorable! a bit shinier than the picture (i got the black color) and i don't have to wear a bra with it(although i sometimes wear a sprapless or bandeau). My only complaint is it doesn't hug my waist area and isn't as slimming as I hoped it to be..Fits true to size though, size 4/Small, 34C, 5'4"! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:slender
Far too 'mini'.
11.22.2009
" I adore this conceptually. That is why I was so disappointed that it barely covered my crotch. In addition, the ruffles were so fwooffy that it made me look like my entire body was rolls of love handles. I would still buy it to wear under a nice structured jacket (because conceptually it is just SO CUTE) but it was already fraying at the hem and coming apart. Not worth the money... "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:motor city
age:over 45
body type:petite
absolutely gorgeous
11.14.2009
" Colors on the black are better in person than the photos show-the lighter charmeuse layers are closer to a gun metal grey with a deep violet tone. Had seen similar dresses, tops elsewhere, so glad i ran across- i never saw in the new items list! was already out of size 0, but the 2 fits- i'll just have straps shortened a bit.Very short - just cover butt, can be tunic or dress, cute with leggings. I'm 5'4" tall and 105 lbs- i can wear without cami under- if that helps. Now wondering about the purple one... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:new york
age:14-20
body type:petite
I LOVE THIS
11.3.2009
" when i saw this at the store i loved it but i didnt get it cuz it didnt fit so much. but i found it here and i ordedred it!!! i cant wait for it to comeee. overall, this is a very nice dress!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:newtown, pa
age:21-25
body type:slender
unsure....
10.17.2009
" i really wanted this dress to fit perfectly because i think it is adorableee and i have been eyeing it up for ever. i finally got the chance to try it on in the store and i was soo let down! i'm 5'6", 120 lbs, and a 36b. i usually go between a small and a medium so i tried on the 4 and the 6 but neither fit well! and as i tried on the larger sizes, the ruffles just became unflattering on me. i'm so disappointed, i really wanted this to fit well! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Bulky and SHORT
10.11.2009
" The colors are fantastic and vibrant. Very true to the pictures. The rest of the tunic I wasn't thrilled about. The layers seemed to poof out at every single curve I have. This made my butt look HUGE. The tunic wasn't long enough to wear with leggings, but given its bulk it looked bad with jeans under it too. I think if you didn't have ANY boobs or butt, this would be just fine. I just felt silly and fat in it. (And I'm *not* a big person.) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 16 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:curvy
so versatile!
10.3.2009
" i bought this dress for my homecoming, and i'm wearing it with black boot heels, opaque grey tights, and a lace cami from free people. also, i'm going to use a new belt i bought. you can dress it up like that, or dress it down with skinny jeans. i love it! just be careful not to snag any jewelry on the edges, they're delicate.
(:
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 17 for Lots of Ruffles Tunic
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:26-30
body type:slender
Very cute!
8.26.2009
" Just got this top in the black and it is really cute. The material is very soft and it is very comfortable. I got a ton of compliments on it because it is different looking even though it is black. It looks great with skinny jeans. It is too long to wear with shorts. Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5