Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt

This full maxi skirt features intricate geometric and organic embroidery. Two front pockets and a snap front closure finish the look. Fully lined. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy.
overall average rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:TO
age:31-35
body type:slender
Lovely comfy quality skirt
8.19.2014
"I've been coveting this skirt ever since it first came out. To my pleasant surprise it went on sale!
So I snatched one in size 0. I usually wear 26/27 in fp jeans/pants. The waist fits but the length was long, nearly hitting the floor. I'm 5'5" for ref. I decided to shrink it in the dryer..it shrunk so that the length is around my ankles, which was perfect for me. The beautiful stitch detailing and the buckled waist and side buttons are some of the things i absolutely love. Oh of course the pockets are just awesome! This is a steal for the sales price!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Los ángeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
lovely!
8.6.2014
"This skirt is great I didn't ave any issues with the waist or length as some other reviewers did. I am 5'2" and my waist is 24". I got the size 0 and it perfectly"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Not what I expected
7.26.2014
"Contrary to what everyone else says, I found this skirt runs large (bought sz 0, 20 inch waist), so I do have smaller than average hips and waist so perhaps it's not surprising. Besides the fit it also flared out a lot on me, made it look like I was wearing an apron. The color is darker than pictured-like a greyish-blue. Other than these flaws, the skirt itself is very pretty and the detailing is impeccable, a work of art like someone else said. I'm bummed it didn't work out on me but for most people it's a great addition to their wardrobe especially at the sale price"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara
age:21-25
body type:slender
Absolutely stunning!
7.18.2014
"This is, hands-down, my favorite piece of clothing. I ordered it in the smallest size and it fits perfectly. If you have a small waist, order your regular size; otherwise, size up. The embroidery is mind-boggling, the pockets are handy, and the quality is phenomenal. (It's a good idea to remove the little hook-and-eye closure on the inside, or it can snag the fabric. I made that mistake.) You won't regret this piece!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Grosse Ile michigan
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Beautiful BUT >>>>>
9.24.2013
"I positively LOVE this skirt !!! Wonderful fabric , Fabulous embroidery work !! Like a work of Art ! BUT its fit is definitely a little strange in its fit !! I am 5' 4" an it is to the floor in length, even in heels ! Because of the beautiful design in the hem you can't shorten it . The waist size listed for a size 6 says 30" so I thought a size 10 would fit me just fine [ I don't have a model thin figure I'm more curvy ] when it arrived I was so happy !! couldn't wait to try it on, and to my surprise I couldn't fasten the waist ! I measured it and the waist was 29" ! Sorry, it had to be returned, I would have loved to keep it but it was too expensive just to look at, even though it is truly a work of Art !!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
plan to buy
9.21.2013
"I plan to buy this and would have loved it if the three reviewers here had supplied us with the size they purchased, their height, waist and hip sizes. It really helps the rest of us with our decision making! Thanks."
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Thunder Bay, Ontario
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Weird sizing
9.20.2013
"Although beautiful, I'm not sure if this is one of those skirts that fits most body types. I ordered my usual size and couldn't even get it buttoned up. It also seemed to have a weird flare on the backside that made my butt look huge! I returned it and unfortunately will not be getting it replaced."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Sizing is OFF
9.17.2013
"I have waited for this skirt so much and with such enthusiasm that yesterday when it arrived I almost cry when noticed that is weird sizing. The long is good but at the waist is just toooooo narrow. I worked out everyday, don't have a fat belly, and in this skirt after I finally could button it up I was looking like if I had a big fat belly with a weird looking behind. I though about exchanging for bigger size but then I would probably have to cut the hem so I don't drag it on the floor. But let me tell you, the material is exquisite, excellent finished and fresh. I might have to try on the bigger sz and see how I feel."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Sweet Nothings Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:NY
age:over 45
body type:petite
new romantics sweet nothings maxi skirt
9.7.2013
"true to size, looks beautiful on, best piece clothing i purchased this fall. you will love this skirt!"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large