Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

White Romance Embroidered Maxi

Semi-sheer white maxi dress with embroidered detailing. 3/4-length sleeves with ruffled trimming. Sleeve hems, waist, and middle of skirt portion has frayed trimming going around. Body of dress is fully lined with mesh. A gorgeous and romantic piece to keep bringing back season after season. *100% Polyester Chiffon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 57 1/2" Bust (all around): 32" Waist (all around): 30" Sleeve Length: 19"
overall average rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Review 1 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:London
age:31-35
body type:petite
WHERE THERES A WILL THERES A WAY!
5.29.2014
"I have ALWAYS wanted a dress like this but was put off by previous reviews. NEVER one to agree that you need to be "5ft 10" to carry off these maxi dresses I decided to take the plunge...
I'm ONLY 4ft.11" tall, so this dress if purchased, was surely going to be a fast return back to the USA due to the long overwhelming length right?... WRONG!
THIS DRESS ROCKS!! So for all you LITTLE ladies out there longing to be taller to enjoy these beautiful boho dresses let me tell you there is a way and platform wedges aren't your only option!
As you can see from the picture the dress has a 5" gap between where the embroidery ends and the under bust frill begins... This is where you can get a seamstress to work her magic, though don't trust a dry cleaners alteration service, you want a good tailors because your dress is expensive.
Simply have the dress pulled up from that point, so the embroidery starts not 5" down but from the frill, this does take the dress up high enough for you to see your booties, I wanted to see mine since they are Black Python and Swarovski but if you want your maxi almost to the floor, then you won't even need to raise the dress to 5". Yes you'll need a new side zip inserted, that's easily done by a professional and the even better news is that your dress will be fuller at the bottom giving you more "swoosh" and keeping that gorgeous embroidery around the edge of your lovely dress!
This boho dress is so worth having altered because we probably won't see many like this around. I didn't have any issues with mine. The XS small was a perfect fit. For reference I'm 115lb - 36C bust, 26" waist and 33" hips. Yes the dress is sheer, but not so much that a usual slip, something like the mid length seamless slip won't fix, that's what I'm using. Mine looks exactly like it does on the model and it's well made. The material, is fine, so you'll need to look after this dress but you'd need fabric like this to create that vintage look. I will certainly buy the black as soon as its available and can't wait to wear this out. thank you FR for another amazing dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:livorno -Italy
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Absolutely wonderful
5.23.2014
"Absolutely wonderful and suitable for my future wedding in September in Italy!
Perfect size for size M height 1.70 and weight 65 kg.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Ivory with a Vintage Feel
5.7.2014
"I bought this dress in the white and although all the online pictures look white it is actually an antique white or ivory. Other than the color the dress looks exactly like it does online. The material is VERY thin and even though there is an extra layer underneath you can see through the entire dress; if you buy the white you will have to buy a slip as just wearing nude undergarments will not be enough. The horizontal lines in the dress have a bit of a frayed look to them, which you can see if you do a zoom on the close-up pics of the dress online. I think it adds to the vintage look of the dress, which I was going for. I am 5'3" and normally wear a size 2 in clothes which equates to an XS in FP. I bought the S and it fits perfect. I have an athletic build and sometimes I have difficulty with the arms of certain items being too tight on my biceps, that wasn't an issue for me in the S although I think it would have been if I sized down to an XS. The length is about 1-2" too long on me. I could wear it with flats if I wanted it to brush against the ground but with small heels it works perfect."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Love Love LOVE!!!
2.24.2014
"I bought this dress last Feb in black. It has easily become one of my favorite dresses. I just feel so good in it. It's the perfect amount feminine and flowy. It's so fun to walk around in the bottom of the dress moves so well with my body. I always feel pretty in it. I am a size 4 and 34D and the small fit me perfectly. It is a bit sheer so I recommend wearing a little tank slip underneath. It's fun to try out different colored slips for a different look. This is def one of my best Free People purchases!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Incredible
5.22.2013
"I tried this dress on in the store and it was amazing. It was so comfortable and I looked so elegant. I highly recommend it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Valley Cottage
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Beautiful Dress
3.15.2013
"The dress is exactly what I hoped it would be. I am using it as my wedding dress which is in September. The only thing that was a little annoying, and someone else pointed it out as well, is that the bottom of the dress was really dirty. I cannot complain since it was the last one left in my size and I desperately wanted it. The thought of wearing one of the traditional, uncomfortable dresses was not appealing and shopping for one was even less appealing. One thing that would have been helpful is knowing what slip the model in the picture is wearing so that I could order it at the same time. All that being said, I am 5'4" 145 lbs with a 36B bust and the medium fit fine. It is difficult to get over your head, thank goodness for the zipper on the side, but once it is on it is a nice fit, just like the model only I am much shorter. I am so glad I happened upon it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Miami, Florida
age:26-30
body type:petite
BEAUTIFUL dress
2.21.2013
"I purchased this dress in white and finally received it in the mail yesterday! The details in it are gorgeous ... its flowy, romantic, with a bohemian feel, a truly beautiful dress! I think it fits true to size, only downside is that I'm pretty short, 5 3" so YES it is pretty long, but I think it can be worn with booties to give you height #and an awesome black leather jacket!# If I was to get it tailered, I'd do it from the seam that hits mid-thigh or from the shoulders, if that's possible, because it's a tiny bit long on my torso. It's not too heavy as previous users have stated and yes, it's pretty sheer so you must wear a slip underneath. The ONLY reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 is because I received the dress somewhat dirty at the bottom, shame considering it's a $200 dress! it may have been from previous buyers from trying it on and off, but still... I expected to receive a brand new CLEAN dress and because I received it thrown in the shipping back rather than inside its own plastic bag and THEN inside the shipping bag. Nonetheless, a keeper! I'll def. be able to wear it year-round :-)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:36-40
body type:curvy
So so pretty
2.14.2013
"I fell in love with this dress in white the moment I saw it. It is a little sheer so count on a slip. It's very pretty, very boho. May be overwhelming to some but I adore it. As is usually the case with FP clothes and my body the xs was awesome everywhere but a wee bit tight in the arms and a little shorter than I like. I want my maxis on the ground:). So I sized up. The small is less fitted and more flowy but I dig it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
Pretty but Poorly Made
2.3.2013
"I wanted to wear this dress for my wedding but after trying on many different size XS 's (in store, plus ordered twice), I am convinced that it is too poorly made. The two-three size XS's that I tried on in the store all had their own issues. On had an off-centered top embroidery (basically it was crooked), one had a top layer that did not lay snuggly over the bottom layer so the fabric drooped, and one had holes in the sleeve. Of the two that I ordered from online, the first had the same issue of the top fabric not fitting the bottom fabric, creating a drooping effect, and the second has developed holes after my trying it on 3 times (not even wearing it out of the house). I am concerned that the dress will simply fall apart on my wedding day. I literally only want it to last that day but due to the above issues I feel that it is too poorly made to hold up for 7 hours of movement, especially if I will be dancing. This is VERY disappointing because I LOVE the style of this dress, the fit, the embroidery, the length, the off-white color. What I do NOT like is the extremely poor craftsmanship that went into making it. Now I don't know what I will wear as a wedding dress..."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Ga
age:36-40
body type:slender
Is it a dream?
1.21.2013
"This dress is beautiful. It's exactly what I wanted. I need to have it altered, slightly, but that's not too much to ask, having bought my {{giddily}} wedding dress on line. Thank you, Free People! I'll post a picture after our wedding day, 12/31/13."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Long and Heavy
1.2.2013
"I was very excited to get this dress. I pictured myself wearing it through winter into early summer. However, the dress was very heavy! So much material! I felt bogged down, plus it was far too long for me. I ordered the black color but it was all too much. My husband said I looked like a witch, and not in a good way. I returned it; wishing it was a bit different."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Lovely
1.2.2013
"This dress is just beautiful. I bought it in white. I wear an 8/10 or medium. I purchased the medium and it fits perfectly. I love the way it twirls around my legs when I move. I am aware that I look very bridal in this dress. However, I am secure enough to enjoy the heck out of this dress for a nice night out. The dress is very Victorian vintage and entirely feminine. I love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Beautiful but not for short people
12.29.2012
"I ordered this dress in Black and White, Large and Medium. The dress itself is well made and the fabric is beautiful and substantial. It's still somewhat see-through and it needs a slip underneath. I ended up returning both because they were just impossibly long and having them tailored would mean to lose the wonderful embroidery at the hem. I'm 5'3" and don't like wearing heels. If you're short, this is not the dress to get, but if you're tall, like the models, you should definitely go for it :-)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Chicagoland
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
romantic dress
12.10.2012
"I just received this beautiful, flowing, angellic dress.
I LOVE it. This dress is so beautiful and makes me feel so feminine, and pretty. The material flows like an angel. I love it because you can wear a jean jacket or any form of jacket over it which gives it a more casual appeal, and still feel very pretty. This dress is very long... I'm 5' 6" and you will need at least a 3" heel to avoid it touching the ground. All in all I adore FP clothes for their unique and feminine style.LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESS!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, Indiana
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Absolutely Lovely!
12.7.2012
"I purchased this dress for my wedding and I couldn't be happier. The embroidery and frayed edging is lovely. The dress hangs off the body in a way that makes you feel so feminine. The dress, however, is VERY sheer, so you'll need to purchase a slip to go with it. You can literally see right through it. As far as measurements are concerned, I'm a 36C bust, a 32 inch waist, and about a 41-42 inch hip and I fit easily into a large. I'm 5'5" and the dress drug on the floor by about an inch. But a shoe with a small heel would easily take care of that. Overall, the dress is adorable. If you are looking for sweet, bohemian dress unlike the rest, I would highly recommend this one."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for White Romance Embroidered Maxi
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Romantic
12.6.2012
"I can't wait to wear this dress on Christmas Day! It looks so romantic and feminine. FYI - it is quite long for me - I am 5'3'' and ordered an XS so I will have to wear platform shoes."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large