Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip

Beautiful burnout velvet floral printed body-conscious slip dress. Low neckline in front. Stretchy. *60% Polyester, 30% Nylon, 10% Spandex *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 32" Bust: 29" Waist: 27" Sleeve Length: 25 "
overall average rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Customer Reviews for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Review 1 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:petite
Quite Fine
3.6.2012
"I ordered this dress in the Merlot color in a Small. Upon first trying it on, I was really unimpressed, and was intent on sending it back. However, after a second try, I realized this piece's finer attributes. It is very soft, very unique, AND it can be worn backward if you, like me, are not a fan of the plunging neckline. The Small is not as contoured to my body as I would have liked at first, but I am growing to appreciate this fact because it adds versatility. Also, the Small hits at just the right length, whereas the XSmall may have been much too short. For reference, I am 5'4" 110lbs and a 32B.
*the pic is not a full body shot, but a pretty good demonstration of the neckline of the dress if worn backward :]"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Stunning
2.29.2012
"I got the merlot one and I LOVE IT!!!! It is thicker than I was expecting because I was thinking of all the other bodycon slips that Free People has. Unlike the other Free People bodycon slips that (a) are too sheer and/or (b) show every single flaw and every tummy pudge, I can actually wear this one as a dress! The neckline is also to die for. It has a "snubnose" shape rather than a regular V-neck which is so unusual and awesome!!! It makes it not TOO low cut for chestier girls. I can also wear this as a top by wearing a skirt over it! Layering heaven! This is one of the best purchases I have ever made from Free People!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:New York City
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Excellent Dress.
2.5.2012
"Beautiful Dress. I bought it in the store and I was so excited. I had seen it online and it was stunning and I had to have it. It had more of a vintage inspired squared-u neck but stunnning all the same. Very versitile, you can dress it up or down, classic or grunge amazing. Its pretty short, but workable. Amazing dress, would recommend anyone to buy this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
Amazing
1.18.2012
"This slip is beautiful. I got it in the black color in XS and i am 5'1 and 100 pounds and it fit great! its not even see through. Awesome purchase and I would definitely recommend it! Just a warning though: it is pretty short and has a low neckline, but still five star."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
JUST like the photos...
1.8.2012
"This dress is flattering in both the black and merlot. Pleasingly broad shoulders and long sleeves. Seams accentuate your curves. Neckline is very low, a unique squared off "U" more than a V-neck. A true mini dress. If you love the pictures, you will love this mini."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Web Lace Bodycon Dress
3.6 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 6 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Best Dress in Merlot
1.8.2012
"Love this dress, the colors shimmered in light. I'm 5'4" 120lbs and curvy, 36C and a bubble butt. Size M fits me slightly loose which is how I'm comfortable. My only problem was the neckline kept sliding, revealing my bra a little. I have a feeling a Small would've prevented this. I would recommend this dress 100%. Especially with dark brown tights, it looked hot."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:slender
BUY THIS DRESS.
1.1.2012
"This is my favorite dress I own. I have the pink-ish one. The material is to die for, and there is such beautiful detail in the dress. I wore it for New Year's Eve this year, and got many compliments. I hope to wear this with leggings and boots and a cardi and hopefully dress this down so I can't have more opportunities to wear this gem! It is a little shiny, which may not be conveyed in the pictures, so just a warning! I am also hoping to snag the black color soon! I wore a small and I'm 5'4" 118."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Absolutely Gorgeous!
12.30.2011
"I am so obsessed with this dress I cannot wait to ware it for NEW YEARS!!! So sparkly and glam but not too over the top. I love the patterning and I think that the color combination in the black version is unique and absolutely stunning (although I am tempted to purchase the red/wine as well)! It is a little bit short but great for a special occasion!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful!
12.29.2011
"This dress is gorgeous. The fabric is really nice, and although there were comments about the colours not being very vibrant, I definitely found that they were. The amount of colour that you see seems to change depending on the lighting in the room, and that's part of what I loved so much about this dress. And in the right light, all of the colours look beautiful. I also opted to wear this dress backwards, and it works really well as I prefer the low back. Love this!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Southern CA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Fantastic Holiday Dress
12.28.2011
"I recently wore this dress to a Christmas party and received compliments on it the entire night! I got the dress in black - the colors are subtle and beautiful and the fabric is very soft. I am 5'7", 120lb, 25" waist, and a 32D and I wore the small. The bodycon fit was perfect, the dress was as short on me as it appears on the model in the picture. It did tend to ride up, so I just had to pay attention. I wore stockings with it, which helped keep it down. Also, it is very low, but I wore it with a really pretty black and burgundy lacy balconette bra which peeked out but looked like it was part of the dress. Awesome, really happy with my purchase and can't wait to wear it again!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:boston
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
not as colorful as it appears
12.22.2011
"I purchased this dress for my daughter but was dissapointed in it. the nape in pic shows it as colorful but the dress i recieved is dull with no vibrance..it appears that the nape is in the other direction and if i turn the dress upside down it gets the colorfulness. also it was flimsy and very sheer material. no where worth the 100 dollar price tag. Its going back!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Marysville, CA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE!!!!
12.22.2011
"I work this to my work Christmas party and got so many compliments. It fit great! I'm 5'4 and 110 pounds. I wasn't sure what shoes to wear, but I found adorable Vince Camuto nude peeptoe's and they went so well with this dress. The only thing would be it's pretty low cute, so i work a black camisole underneath because there was too much boobage."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Wear it backwards!
12.21.2011
"I wore this backwards to have the scoop in the back and it was great. Comfy and warm, long enough for my long torso and arms, I'm 5'10'' and I bought a M."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Marblehead, MA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOVE!
12.15.2011
"I absolutely LOVE this dress, I got it in the Merlot...and I love it. I got an XS, which fit very well! I'm 5'9" 115 lbs. I'll certainly be wearing this for new years eve! The only issue is that is kinda rises up when you walk, so wear tights!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:GA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
More praise for this silky velvet dress!
12.13.2011
"This dress is absolutely wonderful! By far my favorite purchase from Free People over the years. It's incredibly soft in person, with an almost silky quality to the velvet. The fabric has just the right about of sheer--it can definitely stand on it's own, though tights set it off wonderfully. Don't let the title of 'slip' fool you. The dress is assuredly a statement item in itself, nothing else needed. I'm 5'6" and 110 lbs and the small fits me well, it's slouchy in all the right places and I'm very glad I didn't get an XS! As with all slip dresses, however, it does ride up a bit but that's easily fixed with tights. A simple black waist skirt also sets off the top of the dress nicely. I read in an earlier review that it works well backwards-with the low neckline in the back-and they were right, I actually prefer it that way since I'm a fan of dresses low in the back. Either way, this is a must-buy!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love this dress
12.12.2011
"I bought this in S (I'm 5'5", 110 pounds, 32D) and it fits really well. The fabric and print are beautiful, and look great on. As several other reviewers have mentioned it is a bit see-through, so I wear tights underneath. I also wear a tank top under it, as it is quite low cut and I'm busty."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
eh....
12.11.2011
"I was super excited to get this dress in the mail! I had been eye-ing it online for a while and finally decided to go for it. The fabric is undeniably gorgeous. I love velvet and this velvet is so beautiful and soft! When I tried it on though the neckline was really awkward! It was very low but it was an awkward squared off neckline which I thought looked pretty weird. I tried then switching it so the back was in the front which did make it look better but it was still really tight on my butt and loose in my torso so it just looked weird. Plus it kept riding up my butt and every two seconds I found myself tugging on it to stay down. I wish I could have kept this dress because the fabric is so so beautiful, but it just didn't work for me. As a reference I am 5' 8 1/2" and 115 pounds. Unfortunately I will be returning this one!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute but rides up!
12.10.2011
"I was lucky to get the merlot before it sold out, the colors compliment my olive complexion nicely. I'm a 32b and I didn't find the bust line to be too low on me, it hits me just like it does on the model, it's definitely TTS but the only thing is that it definitely rides up as it's quite short so tights are a must. This is the only reason why I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:14-20
body type:slender
Beautiful but..
12.4.2011
"I tried this dress on today, and the pattern and coloring (black) is absolutely beautiful. Way prettier on a body, than on the rack. I don't think the website does it justice either. I tried the xs which fit fine, though I would have wanted to try the small just to compare.
Now, the problems with the dress. It is short. I have a long torso (I'm almost 5'7") and there is no way I can wear this without leggings. Within the steps out of the changeroom it had already risen too high. Also it is see through, which I usually don't give two hoots about but I did feel a little uncomfortable in it. I think it would look really pretty tucked into a high waisted skirt though.
Last thing, is I actually prefer this dress backward. The square V is a little deep, but it looks great turned around! The sales associate and i both thought the back was actually the front, so give it a try if you haven't already!
I didn't buy this, but i'm thinking about putting it on my wishlist. I do suggest trying it on first though."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Velvet Burnout Bodycon Slip
Name:
Location:VA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Beautiful Piece
11.25.2011
"Since many people have already reviewed this dress, I'll make it brief. Both colors are very beautiful, although I am partial to the red. I didn't notice the dress to be that see-through, but since it is a burnout dress, I would wear leggings or something just in case. When light hits the dress, it looks metallic and absolutely beautiful. Without direct light, the colors are noticeably muted, but the pattern picks up the slack. The neckline is VERY low, and ends in a squared off shape instead of a V. I found the dress to be a bit longer than bodycon dresses typically are, but I very much appreciate that because tight dresses tend to ride up quite a bit. Besides, the wrinkle effect on this dress will better show off its metallic colors. The sleeves were also a great length and the dress was surprisingly very comfortable! For sizing, I am 5'7", 120lbs, and a 30DD and I would wear a Small in this dress."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>