Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan

Cream-colored cropped crochet cardigan with button placket in the front. Intricate crochet detailing all over. A standout piece! The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *100% Cotton *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 20" Bust (all around): 31" Bottom Opening 46" Sleeve Length: 27 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:British Columbia Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Nice Sweater
6.12.2012
"This is a well made sweater and looks and fits exactly as the pictures depict it too. This sweater is a great deal at the sale price. My daughter has the ivory and I have the blue. I am normally drawn to ivory or white but I am surprised at how much I like the blue. It is a nice dark sky blue and not at all faded. Pleased with my purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Redondo Beach
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Vintage Charm!
5.12.2012
"I bought this sweater in the ivory color on sale. I must say, it is so cute! I wore it over an ivory tunic and received so many compliments! It looks so classic and vintage! I ordered my usual size because the sleeves are fitted, which I really like. I also wanted this cardigan to be able to fit over tunics, tees and dresses comfortably. Love this!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Has An Unexpected Fit
4.30.2012
"This sweater has a very strange baby doll sort of fit. From the bottom of my bust line it kind of fans out in waves of crochet. I usually stay away from baby doll styles and empire waists but this one is flattering because you can see my shape through the sweater. I bought it in the tea color and it is just as pictured. The loose knit style allows for me to button anywhere on the sweater (I like to wrap the extra fabric around to my side and then button one button so it fits like a wrap sweater).
A great layering piece, perfect for mild weather."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
age:over 45
body type:petite
Looks vintage
4.9.2012
"I purchased this in antique before it went on sale. It has a wonderful vintage look and feel. Now that it is on sale, I am thinking of purchasing it in the heather blue. Nice layering piece that does not add a lot of bulk."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:atlanta
age:41-45
body type:petite
beautiful!
3.20.2012
"I bought this in size S in the beige color and it is just gorgeous! It fits true to size and is very flattering. I was concerned about the sleeves being tight, but did not find them to be tight at all and I do not have thin arms. They are too long, but I can wear them pushed up so that's OK. The fit when buttoned is exactly like the photo of the model with the hat - fits at the bust and then flares out toward the hem. I'm petite and it hits just below the waist on me. I actually had some regrets after I placed my order, thinking this would be something that I'd rarely wear, but once I put it on I was in love. The color is a perfect neutral and this will work over dressy blouses, casual tops or dresses. I'm really glad now that I bought it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Melbourne australia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Pretty but loose
3.9.2012
"I like other reviewers couldn't wait to see in this went on sale and had to purchase straight away and not risk it selling out. Bought the blue and it's pretty but I'm not sure the fit is flattering, it fits well in the arms and shoulders etc but swings at the bottom and I normally like a swing top n jacket but there's something boxy or something bout this. For the record I bought the large and I'm a us12 so because of this can't really afford the added material just where this hits, a bit longer or shorter would have worked. Probably could size down for fir through the body but then would be worried bout length."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Prescott, Arizona
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Lovely
2.27.2012
"I bought this sweater right away without waiting for the sale as it was so beautiful. I received the sweater and it is as lovely as it appeared. I am 5'8", 34C with broad shoulders. I ordered a large as I do not like to have my clothes too tight. It is a perfect fit for me with a little swing in the hem. I know I will get many compliments with this sweater. I have long arms so I love the long sleeves and the overall attention to detail. It is worth the money if you can afford it. I will wear it throughout the year and it will match up with many outfits. Thank you FP."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Ontario, Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
great quality, fit is just ok
2.25.2012
"I ordered this in beige and it is exactly as pictured. The crochet is gorgeous and seems to be of great quality. However, I feel like the fit is a bit too boxy for my liking. I wish it draped in a more flattering way, instead of being cropped and square-ish. I don't know how they got it to fall so nicely on the models when unbuttoned.... it definitely looks best buttoned up. I think I am slightly disappointed because the price tag made me feel like this cardigan should be absolutely perfect. But it is well constructed and gorgeous overall."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, California
age:26-30
body type:slender
Holy Moly
1.24.2012
"I am so in love with this. I missed it the first time around on the website and was really heartbroken when it sold out. SO happy it came back! This cardigan is perfection. Fits true to size, ordered my usual xs and there is plenty of room across the shoulders and under the arms. If you have been debating whether or not to purchase this, take the plunge. Truly gorgeous."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Vintage Style Perfection
1.2.2012
"This sweater is absolutely gorgeous in every way. I loved it as soon as I saw it online and am very happy with my purchase. The crochet design is unique and there are so many special little feminine details. The actual color is slightly darker IRL; more antique as per the color name than the ivory it appears in the photos. (See photo.) It is soft and flawlessly constructed. I have a 38" bust, 26" waist and wear a 36C bra. I purchased my usual FP size M (for tops and dresses). The fit is snug at the bust with all the buttons done up, but there is a substantial amount of give to the crochet. Although unstretched the M is only 32" at the bust, it does not look overly stretched or distorted on my chest. I would likely never wear this with all of the buttons done up but thought it was worth mentioning for the benefit of others. I love the somewhat cropped length, which falls right at my waist as per the second picture of the model. For reference, I am 5'5" with a shortish torso as compared to my legs.) Def in my top 20 FP purchases of 2011. :-)"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Great Cardigan
12.18.2011
"I have a feeling this is going to become one of the most worn pieces in my wardrobe. The crochet is beautiful and delicate and genuinely looks like a piece you would see from the 70's. In fact, my Mum said she owned a cardigan almost exactly the same! It's very soft and the details, like the crochet buttons, make it look special. The sleeves are a little tight but I'm hoping they will stretch out a bit."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Sleeves run a little tight but Fabulous anyway!
11.14.2011
"Great topper to any fun top when you live in the south. The sleeves are a very fitted so if you like looser--order up a size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:petite
beautiful lovely
9.15.2011
"This is the most beautiful piece i own! I love it and there is so many different ways to wear it. I feel & look beautiful in it. Only thing wish I could have found it in a smaller size, the xs & s were sold out..ill be checking back sometimes they will sell an item over.!!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:LOUISIANA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
THIS IS A GREAT CROCHET PIECE!!!
9.8.2011
"IF YOU LIKE CROCHET YOU GOTTA HAVE THIS ONE!!! VERY WELL MADE AND JUST SO PRETTY BUT SEXY TOO!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Crochet Cardigan
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful Sweater
8.9.2011
"This sweater is very pretty and is just as pictured. The color is a creamy tan and the texture is extremely soft. Worth every penny."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large