Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Ladder Rungs Sweater

Knit thermal top with ladder ribbing detail throughout. 3-button snap at the neck. Ribbing along sleeve cuffs and neckline. *100% Cotton *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 29" Chest: 27" Waist: 26"
overall average rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Review 1 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Nice
1.14.2011
"I like this top, but a few things should be pointed out: 1. The top looks soft and thin in the pictures, but it wasn't as soft (not scratchy or anything, just not that soft) and it was much thicker than I thought it would be. (You're not going to be able to use this as an underlayer.) 2. The fit is crazy narrow, especially in the arms. I needed a size up for sure. Otherwise, the top looks great on and the colors are as pictured."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:Spokane
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Nice shirt
1.8.2011
"This is more of a shirt and not at all a sweater. Got on sale but still a bit expensive for basically a shirt. Was tight fitting across the chest even tho very small chested. Loved the snaps across the top and the light purple color. Nice longer length."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
snappy red ditsy
1.3.2011
"i love this red sweater. it's warmer than it looks too! i'm usualy an xs in free people henleys, but i sized up like the other reviewers suggested. (the small is pretty snug on my whopping 32b chest.) love it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:NJ
age:36-40
body type:petite
It's okay.
12.29.2010
"Not too crazy about the navy color...it was more like a purple. I really would have liked the mauve. Everyone was right about the sizing. It is a bit tight so you definitely may want to go a size up. I usually wear XS most of the time but I bought this top in Small and it fits very snug. I would have even taken the Medium if it wasn't for the fact that the sleeves would have been obnoxiously long. Overall the top is cute but not too crazy about the color ... debating whether to return the item."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:midwest
age:31-35
body type:slender
favorite shirt for winter
12.26.2010
"I thought this would be shapeless from previous reviews, but it has plenty if you have a bust. Great neckline so no layering needed. Bought multiple colors. It is very warm and looks more like intricate thermal material. Super cute and easy to wear!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:31-35
body type:slender
Much cuter in person!
12.25.2010
"I saw this top in the November catalog and I thought it was adorable, but online it didn't look that great. I ordered it anyway in mauve and I'm so glad I did, it's really cute and great quality. It fits snug but I love it. 5'2 95 lbs, I ordered the XS."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
runs small, but worth it
12.25.2010
"first of all, i highly recommend sizing up one size at least. two sizes if you want to layer with this. i received the size small for christmas, and i am typically a size xs or s. this fits VERY tight. i'm ok with the fit, but i can tell that it might be uncomfortable if i got too hot. all of the colors are exactly as pictured aside from the red... the red is NEON red in person. very pretty, but bright. the quality of the sweater is great, and for the sale price the item is a true steal."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:Switzerland
age:31-35
body type:slender
Gorgeous but tight!
12.4.2010
"I LOVE this top but I agree with other reviewers that it is a super tight fit. I normally wear an XS in FP but thankfully ordered a S this time. I could have almost done with a M!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Love this Sweater, had to buy 2
12.3.2010
"Got the red and blue one. The fit is snug and tight around the chest and the buttons makes the look unique and fun. Great thermal for this cold winter."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:maryland
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Yikes! Tight!
12.1.2010
"I bought the NAVY color, which because of the wash really resembles a purple, like grape. Still is super nice color though.
But I ordered my usual size, medium, and the body is tight as the other reviewers have stated and the sleeves are looser. I have a C cup and it just mashed my chest down. I'm sending back, but will reorder the large because over all the top is lovely. I think the large will still look slim so, I wouldn't be concerned about losing shape. Overall great, just order up!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:31-35
body type:slender
weird
11.22.2010
"i didn't like the way this sweater fit. i'm used to free people tops being tight, so that wasn't the problem. it looks almost boxy and is unflattering. also the sleeves are extremely long, and looser fitting than the torso. returning."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful unique sweater
11.18.2010
"I absolutely adore this sweater. I saw it in the catalog and knew I had to have it! I was very concerned reading the reviews here that it would be too small! Although I am 5'3" 120 lbs, I wear a 30G bra so I was really afraid that it would be way too small in the chest. I ordered a size small, and it is definitely snug, and tight across the chest, but it is not unflattering. The weave of the fabric has some stretch to it. I really love the slim fit, but if you prefer a looser sweater, definitely order a size up. I love the cuffs, collar, and snaps at the collar - so cute. It just feels unique and sturdy and I'm sure I'll be wearing it for years. I actually ordered it in mauve AND navy (definitely more of a washed-purple color as another reviewer said) and I think I might want to save up for the pimento one, too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:illinois
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
beautiful but tight
11.16.2010
"i love this sweater! the material is very sturdy and the mauve color is as shown. i had to return it to the store for a size larger because its very tight in the chest and smashed my chest down. not flattering. but i love everything else, just size up."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:athletic
rugged, beautiful knit
11.8.2010
"I tried on an xs (which usually fits) and it was skintight! I wanted a looser fit, so i sized up to a medium, and its perfect. It wear it with leggings as a tunic.
The fabric is great-- its texture is great and its really strongly knit, this won't lose its shape, and is very well-constructed. Favorite winter/fall layering piece!
This is 10,000 times cooler in person. Just one of those things you have to feel to understand.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Stirrup Leggings
4 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
Crochet Ruffle Knee Sock
4.9 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 15 for Ladder Rungs Sweater
Name:
Location:boston
age:31-35
body type:petite
cute style & an awesome fit
11.7.2010
"Saw this in the catalog and then online, thought it was cute so I tried it when I went in-store...I am usually an xs in FP and the xs fit but it was tight - I always layer a tank underneath everything so I got a small in this...but all my other FP thermals are xs, so I would say maybe to size up on this one. I am 5'2" 115lbs 32b.. (it helps me a lot when other reviewers leave measurements so i hope this will help.)
I love the floral button detail - it gives this such a unique look. and the cuff bands at the wrist are awesome too. One more thing... this is def way more of a washed purple than navy, but i still love it. :)
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large