Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Andean Beauty Dress

Semi-sheer floral print dress with fluttery off-the-shoulder sleeves. *51% Viscose, 49% Cotton *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 28 " Bust: 35"
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Andean Beauty Dress
Review 1 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:MS
age:26-30
body type:slender
sexy little number ;)
7.6.2011
"I just LOVE this dress ~ I'm 5'5, 115 lbs, 34C with about a 29" natural waist and 32" low waist/hips. I got a size two in the black/purple and it is SUPER hot!! It's not toooo loose and the shoulders drape perfectly. There was plenty of room in the bust area, so I could move my arms comfortably without any pulling. The straps were a bit loose, but the top stayed in place well, anyway. The length was nice. Not as short as shown on model - but well above the knees. I gave the dress 4 stars because the material holds wrinkles (it's been hanging on a hanger for months and STILL has wrinkles from shipping) & there were a few stray strings in the straps. Overall, I think it was worth the full price b/c it's unique and sexy =)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:the islands
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Lucky me
7.1.2011
"I went on a trip and found a FP store.
I asked the sales girl about this dress and they had it in the back in a sz 2 - she said it might me to big for me - I tried it on and the fit was great. A little loose in the chest but I was wearing a bandeau at the time. In no way did I feel it was too big though - I don't like tight clothing especially when sitting down - I don't like that uncomfortable restricted feeling.
The dress really fit me jus like the model and looks stunning.
Unique and beautiful !
5'4 102 lbs 32 A XS
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:manhattan, ny
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
i wanted to love this...
6.23.2011
"the material feels like an umbrella and the straps hang weirdly. i have especially narrow shoulders, so it might fit better on someone else. i really wanted to love this dress because it is so cute on the model, but i'm returning it."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
wonder-fall.
6.16.2011
"This piece just came in the mail the other day (Thank you so much FP Houston :) ). I bought it in a size zero and it fits wonderfully. The colors are much more vibrant then they appear in the studio shots....but it completely works with the design. Th dress is silky and soft and perfect for any occasion."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
Loved it!
5.28.2011
"I just got this dress to wear to a graduation! I am 5'5 and about 120 so I am usually a size 0. I did have to get this dress taken in on the chest part and had to make the straps shorter unless I wanted the look of grandma boobs. But other than that this dress is really pretty and is perfect for a summer day or night."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Girly Gorgeous
5.21.2011
"This dress is almost perfect to me. It is so sweet and girly...."Candy's" go to dress for spring. I love the off the shoulder flutter sleeves, the softly fitted shape, the neckline, the peaked empire waist, etc. Since there are already many conflicting reviews, I will address the main points made by others from my perspective. Yes, the flowers are vibrant. I love spring colors so the bright pink and tangerine flowers are just what I have been looking for. I would not call the colors neon. I would have knocked off half a star (if it were possible) due to the shine factor mentioned by others. The dress is not disco shiny, but it has a definite sheen. I was indeed expecting (and would have preferred) a matte fabric. The online and catalog photos should have captured the sheen, unless the sample dress was slightly different. The fit is huge! I have a 38C bust (38-26-36) and usually have to buy M/10 in dresses to fit my chest. I had to send a 10 back for a 6 (which was perfect for my taste). I am 5'5" and found the length perfect; a little longer than on the model. The dress falls away from the body, so the bust and underbust are the only important measurements to take into consideration. The problem with some FP web/CS provided bust measurements is that they are taken with the garment flat. In this case, that is not reflective of the actual size due to fullness added by gathering under each breast. I can see how this dress could be hit or miss depending on your body type and fit preferences. Unless you like a baggy look, if you are a FP 0 or 2, you will not likely find a size small enough to suit. On the other hand, this is an option for those who normally require a FP XL. I don’t personally find this to have a maternity look. There is enough shape to hint at curves without hugging them. It is a matter of getting the correct size on this one. If you go with your regular FP size, I can almost guarantee it will look like a sack. I suggest sizing down 2 sizes. I am very happy with my purchase and lucky that I checked several times a day for returns until a 6 showed up!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:Huntington, NY
age:36-40
body type:petite
Lovely
5.17.2011
"I love it :) Super-pretty, though I will have to hem the shoulder straps as I am petite... 5'2", 125lbs, average proportions, size 2 was a good fit (yes - it runs large: I have to send back the size 4 that I originally ordered). I don't agree that it makes you look pregnant - maybe that happens with girls who are bustier than me(?). It's a little shiny; not much. Very comfortable, too & feminine - I'll be wearing it to a summer wedding but in my opinion it would wok for casual or (somewhat) dressy..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:athletic
bummer
5.14.2011
"i tried this dress on in the store yesterday and i was swimming in it. i'm normally a small or extra small in dresses and even if they are a little loose it's fine, but you have to have boobs for this one. i'm a 34 B and even in the 2 the chest area looked ridiculous. maybe the black would look a bit better but i needed a white dress.
too bad.
i got the bohemian halter instead which i loove! and found true to size
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Cute but has issues
5.10.2011
"I was very excited for this dress to finally come off backorder. I ordered it in size 6, which is my usual FP size and it was very large. It is also extremely short on me and i'm only 5'7". If the wind blows the wrong way, well you get the idea!
Also, I hated the fabric - as the first reviewer mentioned, it is a cheap polyester type not a soft cottony or silk kind as I was expecting for this price. The flower print is very pretty though and surprisingly, the straps stayed up on me. But ultimately, I wasn't happy overall with the piece so I returned it.
Definitely size down on this - one size.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
cute dress, little different, makes it special
5.9.2011
"I was on the fence about this dress because i didn't know if i really liked the "flutter sleeves" or really disliked them. When i put it on the final verdict was they are cute and very feminine. It is sheer and will require a short half slip. It is a beautiful print though and doesn't look cheap at all. It is the kind of dress that really makes you feel like a girl. The only down side is it kinda makes me feel fat, like there is too much material right around where love handles would be, making me look wider. I'm usually a medium, and id be curious to see what a small would look like on. If it wasn't such a pain i would go to a store and try it. i think i might exchange it for a small, but i'm afraid that might not fit and then fp would be sold out when all is said and done and i got my M back. To sum it up i'm keeping the M, but i would suggest maybe sizing down if you are a "small medium" and i would recommend the dress if you are considering it. It's a nice piece to have in your wardrobe."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Not your mother's peasant dress!
5.5.2011
"And that's a good thing! I've spent many a spring shopping season trying on peasant tops and dresses, always to be disappointed at the heaviness of the extra fabric in the sleeves, and dismayed at their Renn-fair costumey look. Then this year I tried on this dress.
The shoulders on this dress are absolutely beautiful. I love the way far down below the arm-pit and the double straps stay on top. They just make such a gorgeous, 1940's type line.
Unlike the other reviewer, I didn't find the dress pregnant-looking at all, though I did buy the black/purple version, which may appear slimmer because of the dark color. The dress has a very flattering A-line shape, which is a welcome change from all the empire and drop waists that seem to have dominated the last few years in summer fashion.
Another GREAT aspect of this dress is its versatility- equally appropriate for Friday night and Sat afternoon- just change your shoes and jewelry!
Good job Free People - it's THE dress of the summer season!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Andean Beauty Dress
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
Darn!
5.2.2011
"Got this in a size 2. I am 5'3 117lbs 34C/D 25" waist 33" hips. The colors are brighter in person. Hated the material, was hoping for more of a cotton feel but it's way shiny and too silky feeling for my liking. It is also a lot bigger than I expected. Even the chest portion was roomy and from the side it gave a dramatic empire/pregnant look. I waited so long for this dress but it is going back immediately!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large