Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lucas Lace Up Boot

Oiled suede lace up booties with a contrast leather tongue, round toe, back zip and chunky wooden heel. *By Faryl Robin x Free People
overall average rating:
3.154 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Very sad about these boots
3.19.2014
" My boyfriend bought these boots for me as an early Christmas present. I've worn them maybe four times as it is very hard to get them on without a struggle. I went to put them on the other day and sadly, the suede around the lace holes disintegrated. I am so incredibly disappointed about this, as this is the third pair of boots that I have had to have repaired quite quickly after purchasing from Free People. I have them in my car now, waiting to go to the repair shop, but I am afraid it will keep happening on the sides that haven't already given out, making it insanely expensive to fix. Help me Free People, I don't want to feel like I've been ripped off (literally). "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:miami
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Very disappointing
2.15.2014
" I loved the look of these boots. The first and only time I wore them was at a family function...... the lace eyelet on the upper portion of the boot ripped in three places. I tried to wrap the lace around the boot for the rest of the night but it kept rising up my ankle ...in the end I had to go bare foot ...... very poor quality "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:petite
Beautiful design
1.13.2014
" I don't usually wear heels but these heels are just the correct height. The look and finish for the shoes are gorgeous. Thanks FP. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Nice but not happy
12.29.2013
" These boots are so comfortable! Not too low not to high. Size is just right. They look so cute.
My only problem is that even though I pulled shoe laces carefully ( because I read some reviews before) the material just broke. And it's almost imposible to fix it alone, I have to pay now to take them to repair store.
I don't want to return them they are so beautiful. Bad thing there always have to be some kind of problem. I love Free people! But this is the third time I order boots and have a problem again.
Free people - people it's just not fair!
It brakes my joy, I get the box, I rip of that package, so happy I got the boots, put them on and ooooh nooo:(
It's just like you give a broken toy to the kid.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FPCarrieFree People12.30.2013
Hi Sneska,

We're sorry to hear about your trouble with the Lucas Lace Up Boot. Someone from our team will be in contact with you soon!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Lyon, France
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Cute and good-looking !
12.3.2013
" Fell in love with them at the minute I saw them on the website. Ordered them in brown.
Former reviews were right about the discrepancy between picture and reality, but I don't bother...
Take some time first time to try them one, to adjust and everything, but once this step is done, they are super easy to slip on.
The heel is kinda high, but the shoes are surprisingly super comfy to wear !
Love love love them !! :)
(Please don't mind my poor english ! :) )
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Queens, NY
age:21-25
body type:curvy
I'm in love!
11.19.2013
" These boots are so funky! Just the right amount. I read complaints about the boots not looking like the picture. Actually, they do. The pictures are so dark and do not do it justice, except for the first one which clearly shows exactly what the boots look like. Anyway, they are one of those everyday pair of boots you do not want to take off! I'm wearing them right now!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:NYC
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Lucas Lace Up boot
11.15.2013
" I love this boot...the style is amazing..extremely comfortable and was exactly what I expected and more. The only thing I would have to say it that I wish it came in other colors....High recommend this purchase. Enjoy.. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Nice in theory, had to return
11.3.2013
" These looked so cute in the pictures I ordered them online. However, it took way too much effort and time to lace these boots up, and they were ultimately uncomfortable. I had to return them. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Avon, NJ
age:31-35
body type:petite
Disappointed.
10.16.2013
" Like other reviewers, I was a little surprised when I opened these up after receiving them in the mail. The boots did slightly differ from the pictures online. BUT, I decided I liked them anyway...they were different and after walking around my house for a few, they were pretty comfortable. I committed to keeping them and the first DAY I wore them, while I was adjusting the laces, one of the laces broke and then another! I am pretty sure that no shoe that costs this much should have laces that can't withstand adjusting twenty minutes out of the box. Extremely disappointed and feeling robbed! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.18.2013
We're so sorry the laces broke and you were unhappy with your boots -- we'll be in touch!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:slender
Really great.
10.10.2013
" I'm a size 7 1/2 aus sizing and I ordered a size 8 pair in black and they are the most comfortable heels I've worn. They offer great support with heaps of room in the toe.
Seemingly good quality fabric, zip, laces and sole. Not much fuss is needed when doing up the laces after the first time adjusting.
The picture depicts them quite accurately, except that the fabric looks a little different and the heels feel and look like plastic rather than wood.
Other than that, everything is sweet... Probably my favourite shoes so far.. and you can wear them with socks! :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New England, USA
age:over 45
body type:petite
Pretty much Yes, somewhat No
9.30.2013
" I don't know what the difference is between "textured" leather and suede; they seem pretty similar. These boots are very comfortable, even with the height of the heel. The trajectory of the foot bed is such that somehow most of your weight is NOT on the ball of your foot. Plus the leather is very soft. I love the rounded toe. (I have the black ones.) I would suggest not messing with the laces--takes forever to get them right again. I have just tucked the ends into the front of mine and you really cannot see them. It takes just a sec to zip and tuck. A correction is that the heel is not wood as the description states. It's some sort of roughed up plastic, which I think is really unacceptable in a shoe at this price point. I am undecided as to keeping them so far. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
so upsetting!
9.26.2013
" from the minute i saw these boots on the website, i loved them so much. when the finally came after being backordered, i anxiously opened the box and was so disappointed!! i got the black in a 7, they fit true to size but the quality is definitely not worth the cost. also the shoe itself is not shaped as it looks in the picture. the toe is very rounded - not even slightly shaped - so they look kind of like clown shoes when i look down at them. i wish they made these the way they look in the picture because they would have been a staple fall item in my wardrobe! free people rarely disappoints but this time they definitely did "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.30.2013
So sorry these didn't meet your expectations. We'll be in touch!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Lucas Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Suede, not distressed leather
9.23.2013
" I bought these in black, size 7. I usually wear a 6.5 and they are comfortable with thick socks so I would say they run TTS.
I really wanted to like these boots but there are two things that are deal-breakers for me.
First, although the tongue is leather, the rest of the boot and the laces are suede. Suede doesn't hold up well in the slushy winters where I live and so I avoid it in anything I wear often in the winter.
Secondly, I found myself struggling with the laces. You have to loosen and tighten them to get the boots off and on b/c they go outside of the zipper in back. The holes that the laces go into are not reinforced and the suede is fairly thin so I have to wonder how well they will hold up to the tugging.
Lastly, be warned that these heels are quite high. I have other boots with 3 inch heels that I wear often but I found myself needing to kind of march when I walked around in these.
These boots look cute in the photos, but they are not for me.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.24.2013
So sorry these didn't work out for you. This is actually a textured leather, not suede! We will be in touch.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large