Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Shipwreck Cove Dress

Bell-sleeved drop-waist mini with rugged fringe, lace crochet, and a lace-up deep V-neck. Built in slip.
overall average rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Reviews for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Review 1 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous and Comfortable
3.6.2014
" Have to admit, I'm a huge AHS:Coven fan and am currently patiently working my way through collecting all the FP dresses on the show. :p
To assist others considering this dress, I'm 5'7, 120lbs, bust-waist-hip is 37-26-36. I own this in brick (small) and black (Xsmall). In regards to the fit: laid flat from shoulder to hem, the Xsmall measures about 32 inches (not counting the tassels) while the inner slip is about 28 inches while the small measures about 34 inches from shoulder to hem while the slip is around 30 inches. So...true to size? Size up? Size down? Depends on what you're looking for. The Xsmall is moderately more nipped in on the sides, however it's also (clearly) shorter. Owning it in 2 different sizes, and considering that this garment is meant to be flowy and have movement, I honestly have to say it runs true to size and would recommend you not size down. However, I can see how some might feel that it's too big or boxy, ymmv on this and my own bias is that I typically won't wear a dress that's under 32 inches. Circumstance had me get the dress in two different sizes and I'm fine with both of them :).
One thing which may or may not convey very well in the model pictures, there actually is a bit of structuring on the dress, I was concerned it might be a little shapeless but due to the slight nipping in at the side and back, it actually hangs very nicely.
Also, the fabric is just...oh, amazing. It's so soft , and while the sleeves and bodice are of a gauzy material there's still a bit of weight to it. The lace is well constructed and durable.
The brick is gorgeous, however as a redhead I've been told this isn't my best shade (hasn't slowed me down in the past, however) The black is also great, however I think the lace detailing may show up a little better on the red. the lace around the hip area and back gets a little lost on the black.
The only cons I can see about this dress are probably going to be an issue down the road, they seem to want to fray quickly. I do wish the sleeves had been finished where they attach to the shoulder lace, that too isn't going to hold up well over time. I plan to exercise TLC when washing them and hope for the best. The inner slips seem very cheap and poorly made, I believe I will end up switching them out down the line and honestly the garment has enough weight that you don't really need to slip under.
All in all, I'm very pleased with this purchase. It's just a fun, flirty and dramatic dress. Much love. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:36-40
body type:slender
Amazing!!
2.6.2014
" I got this little number on sale...for some reason I didn't see it before...Bought it in the brick red and the antique.This dress is amazing!! Sized down to an XS as per the reviews. I'm 5'4", 115, 34B.
What an awesome awesome look...like a gypsy!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Well worth it - especially at the sale price!
2.5.2014
" If you're even remotely on the fence about getting this dress, just do it. Do it! After seeing this dress on an episode of American Horror Story, I had to track it down. I bought it instantly (at a higher price, unfortunately - a sale is a sale!) in the brick colour. The colour to me is a bit deeper and richer than in the stock photos. It definitely fits a bit loose, but that is just the style of the dress.The lace is soft and silky, and the materials are all very high quality. It's the fit that I find the most flattering - for reference, I am 5'9. My measurements are 34-18-38, and I got a size Medium and it fits perfectly. The skirt hits me about mid-thigh, and I wear bike shorts underneath for a little extra coverage. The fringes hit at about knee-length, as shown on the model, and the sleeves are long enough! If you're like me with long lanky arms, you won't be disappointed. The lace paneling makes me look curvy and sexy, and I love it! Could not speak more highly of this dress, it is perfect! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:N. CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Cute dress
2.3.2014
" I ordered the brick color and love this dress. It fits TTS. It is a little short for my age (mid 50s), so I added 4 inches to the hem using the fabric from the slip (it's the same color as the dress). This dress is very comfortable and flattering. I will wear this a lot so have also ordered it in black. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:England
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Fabulous!
2.1.2014
" I saw this dress on an episode of American Horror Story and spent about three hours online trying to find it afterwards! Absolutely stunning, fits perfectly (although it did take me a while to figure out the lace across the chest had to be tied up, oops!)
My new favourite dress, would recommend to everyone! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love this! Very big.
1.25.2014
" What a fantastic dress. I run S-M, and sized down, which was a great idea as it is a very roomy dress. I feel like a mystic and can't walk 50 feet without someone asking me where I got it. The tassels are fantastic, though they occasionally fall off (still worth it to me as I am very handy with a needle and thread). I wear it without the tonal slip, as there is a sheer panel in the middle, and I like the subtle peek-a-boo effect. Grab it while it's on sale! I like it so much I'm considering getting another color. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Glenn Dale MD
age:36-40
body type:athletic
cove dress
1.20.2014
" Beautiful! just a really fun top to throw on a look great with minimal effort. really cute with leggings or as a dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Okla
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
The black is a bit too goth for me
1.14.2014
" I had to try this since I love fringe. I had the choice of red or black, so I picked black. I am 140 and 5'6" and I got the Medium. It was plenty roomy. My problem was, I just looked bad in it. Too 'different', too goth/shipwreck
I'm too old I guess to carry off some of FP styles. So it went back.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, California
age:36-40
body type:petite
Such a beautiful and unique dress, but...
1.10.2014
" It is a beautiful and unique dress, But I returned it for one reason that the dress felt somewhat heavy on me. I agree with most reviewers mentioned, romantic, beautiful and unique even with those fringes fit in the design of the dress (not tacky at all). But being a not tall person (5'2", 34A chest, 27 for most designer jeans and 26 for boyfriends), a S (my usual size) fit perfect on me: I think the dress is TTS, but felt heavy. I agree with that one reviewer said it would fit much better on tall girls. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Really pretty. Very romantic top.
1.7.2014
" This is a really pretty, romantic piece. It's not something I would usually pick out from the photo but glad I tried it on. It looked really great on. I would wear it over jeans most likely. Very cute! Glad I took a chance on something that wasn't typical. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Fairfield, CT
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Adore
1.6.2014
" I absolutely love this dress. I do not mind that it is a bit loose throughout because that allows you to wear pants or whatever underneath. I bought the brick combo first and was so in love I had to buy the black. I've received so many compliments on both of the colors and I think it looks super good with tights and tall boots. Definitely recommend this dress however I could see how shorter and thinner people may have issues with this. I am about 5' 9'' and curvy and I think it looks fantastic! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Amazing Dress
1.1.2014
" I bought this dress in white which i loved but unfortunately & sadly i had to return it,it did not look good on me it does run large so size down as it is not a fitted dress the fabric is a little heavy so imagine it would be great to wear with leggings & boots for the colder months. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:petite
Amazing
12.11.2013
" I love this dress so much! I bought the brick color and its gorgeous, a little richer/deeper in person, which I was happy about. It makes me feel like a witchy hippie and it's beautiful. I'm 5'2 120lbs and I ordered an XS. It fits perfectly with a little room still because the dress is meant to be a little roomy. I was so excited when I saw Misty Day wearing this on American Horror Story! It's a perfect dress for her and it fits my personality. I love to wear this with high socks and boots and I think I'm going to get it in black as well :) "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Ecuador
age:26-30
body type:curvy
misty dress!
12.3.2013
" amazing dress, but size down! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:TX
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Beautiful
12.1.2013
" I tried this on in the store in the black. The xs compared to my usual s gave a better fitted look. My large shoulders weren't a problem because of the adjustable ties at the front. The material is sturdy, and the lace on the shoulders are absolutely beautiful. The strings at the bottom doesn't look tacky at all in person. However, it was too short to wear as a dress for me (5'6"), and the main reason that I didn't purchase it was that it was too gothic paired with my naturally death black hair :( "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
tts
11.19.2013
" I feel this runs true to size. I don't care much for the shape, or cut, on me. It has a pirate sort of look to it. The color is beautiful, and the material is soft, and thickly layered. This does not require a slip for full coverage "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Ay matey
10.30.2013
" Simply a fun and gorgeous piece! It is cut boxy but it flatters my curves bc I have wide hips so it doesn't hang straight on me and swallows my figure. For straight thin gals it may hang on you like on a hanger.
27 waist, 36 hips and the xs was perfecto. The red is slightly lighter in person.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:capo beach
age:over 45
body type:petite
i love this dress
10.13.2013
" This dress is absolutely gorgeous got it in the ivory, Love it with ivory colored tights and knee high cognac boot. also looks great with my skinny jean! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Shipwreck Cove Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Boxy cut, best on a tall thin gal
10.5.2013
" The sleeves and lace up neckline are so cool, but the torso portion is cut like a box, so if you have any curve it looks like you are wearing a paper-bag shape. It's just not flattering if you are short, I don't think, even on the super petite ladies. I ordered it in black Medium to be safe but it's just too, I don't know, not quite right. If you are a total Goth chick and thin, the black is perfect. I am a singer and thought it would be good for stage, but no. Tall thin ladies, yes, Short curvy gals, no. But nice fabric and concept. Runs large. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large