Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

French Courtship Slip

Sheer lace slip dress with high neckline at front and low "V"-back. Skirt portion is double layered with ruffled trimming. Hangs longer on the sides than the middle. *Please note, an additional slip is not included with this style. We recommend pairing this piece with our Seamless Mini, STYLE: 24841850, as pictured.
overall average rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 173
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 137 Answers
Customer Reviews for French Courtship Slip
Review 1 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Ethereal
4.13.2014
"It's so ethereal and delicate. I'm 5''2' and it reaches to my ankles. The only thing that
I didn't like was how the top looked. It was just awkward-looking on me. Thank god it pairs well with sweaters and tops. I think its a really nice fall dress to wear.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:orange county
age:36-40
body type:petite
Cute piece...
4.12.2014
"I wanted to love this dress, but the style is not for me. It is really versatile and i can understand how so many people love it. I just feel I am too short to make it look cute for my body type. I am 5'2 105 pounds. I tried it with a belt and with my boots. I just felt like there was too much material for me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Mobile, Al
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
beautiful!
4.8.2014
"Love this dress so much! I will be wearing it to my college graduation this May. I bought it in a size small in the color cranberry. I purchased the black slip to go underneath and the color really pops. I generally go Medium size for tops (My measurements are 37, 27, 34 and I'm a 32E/32DD bra, weighing 133, height 5'7) and I can say that a size small fits me perfectly. It's a bit stretchy like other reviewers mentioned, so keep that in mind with ordering :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Cute, but durable?
4.5.2014
"Very cute and exceptionally comfortable. I am somewhat worried about how it will stand up in the wash, due to the stretchy nature, however. TOTALLY BUY IT. It's versatile. You 110% need a good slip with it, though."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
romance in a dress
4.1.2014
"Wearing my French Courtship Slip as I type.....it is lovely! I purchased in black (wearing it over the tea length slip with black motorcycle boots) in a M. After reading all the previous reviews, I felt that the M would be the best size for my build (5'6", 142) and it definitely works, but......the lace is very stretchy (and very comfortable) but it does not define my waist particularly well. I am large chested (30GG) but have a small waist which is not immediately noticeable in this dress. I did not, however, feel that I could go down a size because the shoulders/sleeves are, if anything, a little snug.
Despite my issues with the sizing, I love the dress.....it is incredibly comfortable and my husband said I looked amazing :).
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Norwalk, CT
age:over 45
body type:petite
BEAUTIFUL
3.23.2014
"This is an awesome dress. I bought it the plum and black colors. Stretchy lace and comfortable very flattering fit. I ordered the small. I am 5'2" 115lbs. 34DD 27" waist 36" hips. I ordered the M/L slip to go under it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:east coast
age:14-20
body type:curvy
perfect!
3.15.2014
"i went in story to get this and I'm glad I did!
the medium was a little bit to big, wear able but still..... I went down to a small! I absolutely love it!
I got the blue which is a little more green in person. but its so pretty and unique its perfect!!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Williamstown, MA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Not Exactly As Pictured....
3.12.2014
"I absolutely had to have this dress when I saw it online... It was irresitstably romantic. However, it was not immediately obvious that I needed a slip to go under it! It's completely see-through. Also, in the pictures, it seemed to be a tight fit on the models... With a 24" waist, the XS was definitely not form-fitting along the torso (although the cap sleeves were cut in a little close under the arms)... Ultimately, I couldn't bear to return this item, and the purple color is really beautiful with a silver slip underneath, but the dress didn't quite live up to my expectations."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:finland
age:36-40
body type:athletic
So pretty and super comfy
3.11.2014
"I got the dusty pink colour and its so beautiful. The dress is very stretchy so you could go a size down and wouldn't notice."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Perfect
3.11.2014
"This does not disappoint. When shopping for my wedding dress, I knew I wanted something boho, something lacy, something that was NOT stark white, and something I could wear over and over. I found just what I was looking for in this beauty! It is gorgeous, relatively inexpensive, and so versatile. I am usually a medium in size, but found the small to be the best fitting, as it is quite stretchy and long (especially if you're short, like myself). I plan on wearing it with a pair of boots, a nude/flesh colored slip underneath, and a large statement necklace on my special day. I love it so much, that I'm even considering purchasing it in another color! Or two!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Mexico
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
J'adore!!!
3.10.2014
"Never did I think I would love this slip so much! It is fantastic, I bought the rose color and antique one for me and the black for my mom. They are SO comfortable, even here in Mexico where one would think it a bit heavy for the weather, it is not! Its flattering, flowing, romantic, so soft... I don't know what else I can say to describe our love for it! I'm usually a size 4-6 and bought this one in small, the fit and lenght are perfect. Get it before they run out!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Nebraska
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Loved it!
3.7.2014
"I got this dress in purple. I am 5'6" 120 and VERY broad shoulders but got the small and it fit great. I ordered the slip that they suggested to go under it and that also worked except that the dress is scooped in the back and the slip you can see a bit of in the back. I will just have the slip altered to the dress because I love it so much. It is a dress that you can wear causal or to a wedding."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Hello lovely
3.6.2014
"Hellooooo new staple of my fantasy wardrobe! A shamefully committed American Horror Story Coven fan, I had to get this one in basic black. And it's wonderful, simply wonderful. To assist you in your sizing, I am 5'7 and 120 lbs, bust-waist-hip is 37-26-36 and I ordered this in a medium.
When in doubt, I size up on a dress to be certain I'm not busting out up top (pun absolutely intended) and to be sure to maximize in length. I did so with this garment, and while I am satisfied with the length as I wanted something very dramatic and flowy, in the future I believe I will order in a small as due to the weight of the fabric, it doesn't hang quite as nicely as I'd like and needs to be nipped in with a belt.
But seriously, if you are on the fence, don't be. This dress works on it's own (with something underneath of course) or as a slip under something else, or layers layers layers. The only question you should have is which colors you'll need because I can't see stopping with just one version of this dress! A wardrobe staple!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Madison, WI
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Amazing. Just amazing.
3.1.2014
"I'm a longtime fan of Free People. Sometimes I have a tough time wearing some of their great pieces due to my short waist and broad shoulders but not this dress. This dress is so flattering I want another one in a different color. There is a really nice give in the fabric yet it doesn't feel so delicate that I couldn't dance all night in it. I also ordered the slip that's recommended and they go really nicely together. If you are hesitant, don't be! Snap one of these darlings up. You won't be sorry!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Size down a couple sizes
2.19.2014
"Size way way down on this one! I am normally a Size Large/XL in everything and I tried this on in Small and it fit perfectly. This is so beautiful and goes with everything either as a petty coat slip or a dress itself. The entire top though is thin lace (the way the top collar part looks online), so you will need to either put a top on over it or a tank/cami under. I want it in every color! Definitely worth the price."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Austin
age:36-40
body type:petite
beautiful dress
2.17.2014
"the lace is very good quality although not as durable as another intimately free people lace slip i bought a few years ago. it's still put together very well, and all lace requires a higher level of care. i ordered an xs, and it's a little wide at the waist. (i'm 5 feet tall, 30d bust, 22 waist, 35 hip) anyway, i put a belt with it, and it's perfect now. the length is perfect for my petite frame, and the layered skirt is super flowy and feminine. overall, i'm very happy with it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:east coast for now
age:26-30
body type:slender
better THAN ANYTHING! EVERY DRESS EVER
2.16.2014
"THIS IS THE ABSLUTE COLEST THING CREATED> I wish I had one in every color. one is enough I adore it I just stare at it in my closet afraid to wear it in the rain or snow for I love it so much. LOVE LOVE LOVE raddest thing in the world cant say enough excellent things about this dress. yes you must wear a slip. but a slip. easy done. wear enjoy wow instant coolness best kept secret. LOVE THIS DRESS yum, yum"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Washington D.C.
age:26-30
body type:petite
Lovely, Lovely, Lovely Wardrobe Staple
2.11.2014
"(5'3", 109lbs, 32b-24-37) I got this in the Xs, tea color. It fits perfectly! The lace is so soft and flows with my movement and the wind. Be mindful what jewelry one wears because it is easy to snag the delicate lace and make a hole. Try to also avoid open zippers and sequins for the same reason. Wish I could snuggle in this all the time!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Texas
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Romantic and Unique
2.8.2014
"I kept seeing this gorgeous slip everywhere and on everyone. I was very intrigued, wondering if it would suit me. I am 5" 8 a 34DDD with an hour glass shape, I usually wear a small or xs. I purchased this in black in a small, I could have probably sized down, but I like the length. I found a really great long slip that has a top that covers my bra straps so I was happy that this worked out. I think you could wear this anywhere, and make it dressy or wear with sandals. I haven't even worn it and I am thinking of what color I want next! I think the only thing free people could improve upon is making this dress fully lined as an option."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Santiago, Chile.
age:31-35
body type:slender
Dreamy!
2.6.2014
"This slip is stunning! I fell in love as soon as I saw it on FP and bought it right away though a bit unsure of how it'd fit me. Though I love FP's designs, I used to have a couple of bad experiences with items that were always too big on me. I weight 107 pounds and I'm 5.7`and things always fitted a bit lose. Not this slip! Got it in S and it's just perfect, not too big nor too small. It looks so beautiful on and it's really versatile. Got it in tea and black so far and would love to have it in almost every single colour."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>