Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

French Courtship Slip

Sheer lace slip dress with high neckline at front and low "V"-back. Skirt portion is double layered with ruffled trimming. Hangs longer on the sides than the middle. *Please note, an additional slip is not included with this style. We recommend pairing this piece with our Seamless Mini, STYLE: 24841850, as pictured.
overall average rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 194
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 137 Answers
Customer Reviews for French Courtship Slip
Review 1 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Denver, Colorado
age:21-25
body type:petite
Bohemian Meets Victorian
11.26.2014
"I love this dress so much that I own it in grey, black, tea, rose pink, cranberry, and evergreen. I hope to acquire one in each color, because this dress is amazing. There's so much versatility to it with layering. The quality is great, though it is delicate by nature. Careful with jewelry choice, as some necklaces will snag the dress easily. A timeless piece and wardrobe staple."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:nashville, tn
age:41-45
body type:curvy
favorite dress
11.20.2014
"this dress is so versatile. i bought this in black. it can be dressed up with heels or casual with combat boots or booties. so comfortable. it stretches to fit your form. i can't wait to wear it again and buy other colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:36-40
body type:slender
So pretty.
10.24.2014
"Makes such an easy outfit. I have this in the sunset purple, maroon and black. I am 5'5 and 105 lbs and S and XS fit me. XS fits better and gives a tighter bodice but either is fine. It washes very easy. I just leave it out to dry. It works perfect with leggings, tube top and a strappy bra. A slip would too but I like the leggings. It is totally see through. It is a perfect slip that you can't have to many of."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:31-35
body type:petite
amazing piece.
10.22.2014
"i ordered this slip in an xs to wear as the matron of honor in my sister's wedding. the theme was lace and i was looking for something different than all the other boring lace dresses out there. I cannot tell you how amazing this dress looks on- I am a smidge under 5'3" and around 105 lbs and was worried that it would be too long/too baggy but it was PERFECT. such a great stetchy fit and perfect length for a moderately sized heel. I got compliments on it all night. I ordered this slip in evergreen and the seamless mini in pine to go underneath and they went perfectly together. I can't wait to wear this is a ton of other ways. thanks fp!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Adelaide
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful staple
10.16.2014
"This is a lovely dress - it's definitely going to be a staple of mine. It's got a lovely flattering drop and is very stretchy, so very forgiving - but slimmer girls might want to size down if they want a neater fit. It's very easy to style, a perfect length and is quite resilient despite the delicacy of the lace."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Trondheim
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
My last FP dress ever :(
9.16.2014
"It's a dissappointment, because the size xs looks much more like M. I'm 166 cm tall and 55 kg weight, and this is the third time I buy FP dress in the smallest size available, and it's still too big.
I love the the styles on FP, but this dress might be the last one I buy, because I live in Norway, and I can't really send it back every time, because it costs a lot :(
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Cranberry is maroon
8.20.2014
"FYI Cranberry = maroon. I've been waiting for sooooo long to get this dress in Cranberry because the photos look like a gorgeous red color, however it's really maroon/merlot/dark raspberry in real life. The dress is lovely though, all the reviews do not lie.. the lace is super SOFT!! and it's feminine and stretchy comfortable. I'm 5'9", 160 lbs, 34-30-40, and the Small and Medium both fit me well. I hope they make a red one in the future, in the meantime I'll wait for my perfect color.. or possibly settle for the Tea and wear different color slips underneath."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Ferndale, Michigan
age:26-30
body type:curvy
You can't have too many of these dreamy slips...
8.16.2014
"Well, you can, but not really! I have four of these gorgeous slips and I still want the berry shade. I have the black, cranberry, tea, and evergreen. I'm plus sized, so these are cut very generously and the lace stretches quite a bit. For reference, since there are not that many reviews from plus sized ladies I'll add my details. I'm a busty lady, I usually wear a size 18 in clothes and my bra size is 40G and the large fits very comfortably. The only issue I have with them is finding a slip that goes well with the colors. So far the tea is the only one I still need a slip for. These are so versatile and truly gorgeous. Not to mention ridiculously comfortable!!!! I feel so beautiful in them and I can dress them down or up. If you're a plus sized lady and in doubt if it'll fit just try it! I was pleasantly surprised."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Third Most Beautiful Dress I've Ever Worn
8.11.2014
"I LOVE this dress. I would have to say that as of right now, this is literally the third most beautiful dress I have worn (the first being my wedding dress and the second being a ballgown that belonged to my grandmother to provide some sort of scale of comparison). I bought this in the tea color, which I found works very well with the warm/yellow undertones of my complexion. There is enough stretch in the medium dress for my 34D/36C bust and hourglass figure. At just under 5'3" though it is a bit too long for me to wear without some sort of heel. But a size small felt too tight on my chest and shoulders, while the medium felt just perfect. As for what to wear underneath it, the first time I wore this out I used a black slip I already owned. Unfortunately the M/L seamless mini or tea length slips Free People offer don't seem to fit small waists with large, curvy hips very well and I have been limited in finding other slips in such nice colors to wear with this dress. I dream of them adding a third size option someday, but for now I'm having a hard time finding other things to wear beneath this sheer dress and it's a bit of a draw back. I'm sure I'll figure some other options out. I really hope they never stop making this though! I want to buy the French Courtship Slip in a few more colors eventually. It's soft, feminine, and flowing; I didn't just look very beautiful in it, I felt very beautiful, too!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Super elegant and versatile
8.10.2014
"Firstly, my body type is a little athletic but on the slender side. I am really happy with how much the dress looks like the one in the photo, I got the tea colour one. I did a happy dance when I put it on. My only regret is that I got a small and it is loose on my trim waist, so it doesn't look as flattering on me as it does on the model. I should have gotten a XS, but I can wear a belt. It mentions that the slip isn't included, though I don't mind. I have worn it to Splendour music festival and it looks stunning. I wore mine without a slip under it and a cute flanno over the top. It can be dressed up or down.
I have added a photo, the skirt of it looks quite thin but I found that it had a bit of weight to it.
My advice is that if you do have a smaller waist get a size down, as the lace is stretchy and will probably fit better.
Probably best fitted on the tall and slender, though.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Melbourne
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beautifully soft, feminine and sweet
7.30.2014
"I've had my eye on this dress for a while and all my favourite colours were selling out in my size. Reading all the reviews, I decided to grab one. I've bought the tea colour and it is beautiful. Not as 'white' as it appears on the screen, it has an almost pinkish/creamish hue. It's so beautiful. So flattering on the shoulders and deep at the back, but not so deep that you can't wear a bra and slip underneath. I got the tea length slip to go underneath, which is a bit long, but I wasn't sure the mini would be long enough. It sits just under the v neck at the back, which is great as I didn't like the look of the slip above the dress on the back. It could be worn back the front too, if you prefer the shape.
The skirt is so full and frilly. It makes you feel really elegant as you wear it. It's a very special sort of dress and reminds me of a vintage piece you'd wear in a French meadow somewhere.
The lace is really soft, but also stretchy. The fit is pretty true to size, but going a size down would be fine, you wouldn't want it to be loose as the top half should contour to your shape.
A really good purchase.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:PERTH AUSTRALIA
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Feminine
7.2.2014
"I wasn't sure about this dress but it looks exactly like photo unlike some sites colour is altered.
Lucky I listened to reviews and got size small because it is stretchy lace as I am usually a medium in most clothes.
I ordered the French blue love the colour!,I ordered the slip that was recommended and that goes well and I didn't find it rides up like some reviews
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Great style!
6.20.2014
"I love this slip! Everytime I wear it I get compliments. It's so functional, can be worn with so many different outfits, great layering piece, etc. It's funky and flouncy and I just really like it. Wardrobe staple!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:NJ
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Stunning
6.15.2014
"Perfect slip dress! So versatile and beautiful. Material is stretchy, so I sized down. Probably the most flattering cut."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Perfect layers for my concert
5.28.2014
"I'm wearing the French Courtship Slip, Bell Trapeze Cami, and 100 Degree Tunic. Thanks to the girls at the Fashion Show Mall in Las Vegas for assisting me in choosing wardrobe for my concert. These were the perfect clothes for the event. What better label to have in my clothes: FREE PEOPLE!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 16 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:NJ/NY
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Dreamy and Romantic
5.23.2014
"It took me a year to get this and after trying it on I decided I wanted the berry and the ivory. I bought the longer slip in ivory and the shorter one in burgundy. Both works. I only wish that I can rock some jewelry since it snags a lot.."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Minneapolis/St. Paul area
age:over 45
body type:curvy
FRENCH COURTSHIP DRESS
5.17.2014
"I love love love this super feminine and gorgeous dress. I bought this in a small and I usually wear a medium or large in FP. I got a crème color and a black. I am losing weight so I went for the small but if you are typically a large and ample busted you would go for a medium for sure. I had purchased a large a few months ago and had to send it back. It is quite stretchy so keep that in mind in sizing.
If you want to feel totally feminine and trendy buy this gorgeous dress. I am going to think about buying the plum..........."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
Fits like a glove!
5.14.2014
"Great fit, I got it in black and comfortable fit perfect length. Looks great when you wear a top over or as a dress. New favorite FP piece!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Montana
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Lovely ethereal slip
5.12.2014
"I love this dress/slip! It runs slightly large, I got the medium and m 5'4, 120lbs, and could of have gone with the small. I'm going to keep it though since I live in the middle of nowhere and it's too much hassle to exchange. I like to wear it with the seamless mini underneath and it looks amazing. Perfect for everything!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for French Courtship Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Awesome Lace Dress!
5.4.2014
"I am a romantic at heart, and when I saw this dress in the store, I had to try it on! Bought the evergreen color and got lots of compliments on it. Went back and purchased the black and ivory. Ended up getting the cranberry and plum colors because I love this dress and it works with a lot of items in my wardrobe, including the FP tea length slips. And it washes well (put it in a garment bag in cold water, delicate cycle). Dress is stretchy, I took a small even though I could have gone with the xs.. For size comparison, I'm 5'4", 36B, 29 waist, 39 hips, dress is not too long on me. Hope FP keeps stocking this dress! ."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>