Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt

Tube top and multi-material with many tiers maxi skirt. Can be worn as a skirt or as a dress. Length: 40"
overall average rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Review 1 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Layers of Versatility
6.10.2011
" Amazing! This skirt really has an old world feel with a modern flare. It can be pair with so many different types of tops which create many looks. The fit is spot on. You won't be able to take very long strides when walking. It is a bit fitted. It fits well as a dress if you don't have a long torso, otherwise I recommend wearing solely as a skirt. Great buy at the sale price! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Charleston SC
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Crowning Queen
5.17.2011
" I never buy the same anything, but I bought all three colors in this skirt. I can make it dressy or wear it with my cowboy boots. I get more questions asked that I feel like I just should put a sign on my back...Free People! This is a piece that is worth every cent and more, so if you get one thing this summer then I recommend this skirt. It Rocks! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Goddess Long Tube Dress
4.1 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
Ripped Up Maxi Skirt
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
Nicholas K Check Maxi Skirt
4.4 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Cali
age:31-35
body type:petite
Who's that Girl?
5.6.2011
" I love this skirt! I got it in ivory which I was initially worried would be too wedding like but not at all! I love it with the fp black/gray concert raglan (belted) or with a white james perse t and a pair of boots! It's the kind of skirt I would see on someone else and think "who's that girl?" I'm only 5'1" and it doesn't drag the floor at all so it's great for petites! I'm hoping to snag it in black too! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Absolutely Gorgeous
4.17.2011
" I ordered the large size in the Charcoal color, and it fit me perfectly, me being 5'7" and 147 pounds. I ordered it from online, had it expressed to me by overnight shipping, and wore it Saturday for my bridal shower. I received so many compliments on it! The quality is fantastic. The material feels great, and the ruffles lay flat exactly like the pictures shown online. I like how the stretchy material at the top of the skirt makes it extremely comfortable to wear. Absolutely gorgeous, and I'd love to purchase the ivory color, too! Totally worth the money. :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:carmel by the sea
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
LOVE
3.20.2011
" I cannot tell you how much I die for this skirt!!! i have it both in the haze and the black and it really depends on my mood which I prefer. i have worn them very funky with rugged boots and belt and denim jacket and also kind of understated with just a cami. It is fabulous and I think I should also get the cream to complete my set! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:LA
age:31-35
body type:slender
wow
3.4.2011
" i love it, very well constructed, true to size. Two things: i get tired of wearing this with boots, kinda feel im trying too hard, and i dont think it looks that good as a dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Raleigh
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Not cute on me
2.18.2011
" I have 2 of the shorter ruffled skirts and love the way they fit, so I thought I'd love this longer one. However when I tried it on I felt fat! Lol, who wants that right? All these reviewers who keep mentioning their itty bitty measurements, I'm sure the xs looks great on them. Once I lose 15 pounds I'd probably love this on me too. I am a smallish/average build, and all the extra layers just added 10lbs to my frame. As a dress I looked pregnant, as a skirt I felt like I needed to go flamenco dancing in South America. And this was in the black color, hate to see one of the lighter colors on me. :O It had to go back. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
4.6 out of 5(113)
 
 
 
Colorblock Mesh Skirt
4 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:OH
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Feminine and flirty
2.12.2011
" This is a very cute, feminine, flirty dress/skirt. I would have preferred the large but only the medium was available, and it worked out okay because it does stretch a bit where the tube top is. I will wear it both as a dress and as a skirt. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Lawrence, KS
age:14-20
body type:petite
Best Purchase Ever
1.20.2011
" I am in complete head over heels in love with this skirt. I got the extra small just because i am 5'2" 100 lbs and i didn't want it to be dragging on the ground. I purchased the Ivory and the colors are exactly as pictured. The waste band is super soft and easy to roll up. The edges of the tool and other fabric are jagged but aren't easily frayed, so no big worries there. Every time i wear it, i get many compliments! If you're even considering on buying this, DO IT! I love to dress it completely down with rough field boots. You will adore this piece forever. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
adorable
1.1.2011
" Really well made and well detailed. just like the shorter skirt version but with more ruffles. Runs true to size. Soft material. The raw seams will tend to catch on things though. Very cute. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Like a Dream
12.31.2010
" I am stoked about my purchase - this skirt is very lovely and well made. Looks amazing worn girly with a delicate cardi or as shown on the model, with boots and jacket. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Way Too CUTE!!!!!
12.24.2010
" This Skirt is So Dog-Gone CUTE!!!! Bought it in "Black", "Haze" and ordered it in "Brown"~
Sufficed to say... I'm hooked! Love the fact that it can be dressed Up or scaled down~
Super cute with distressed combat boots but also very hot with flat sandals! Because of the waist band you can size down. It's a great fit and you will not be disappointed with this purchase!!!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:California
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Great look!
12.23.2010
" This skirt is adorable...very flattering look. I highly recommend it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
My favorite skirt!
12.14.2010
" I found this skirt in the ivory color this fall at a FP store when someone had just returned it. Lucky me! I normally wear a small or medium but the XS small fit perfectly. The skirt hangs really well and it has the perfect amount of pouf so you don't feel like a poodle. The length hits right at my ankle (I'm 5'7"), but you can adjust the length with the fold over skirt if needed. I love wearing it with a t-shirt, boots and a denim jacket, but it works just as well with a tidy cashmere sweater and pumps for a fancier look. This has to be one of my best unexpected purchases ever. I like the skirt so much I just ordered it in the charcoal. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
So Fun!
12.13.2010
" I bought this skirt in haze and paired it with the motor cuff thermal in black, wide, leather waist belt, three-quarter sleeve leather jacket (totally shows off the cuffs on the thermal) and combat boots. I wanted the same look as on the model and I totally got it. I love wearing this outfit because it confuses people...like I'm supposed to be wearing satin pumps and pearls? I don't think so. I'm 5' 6", 110lbs and the XS fits great although I do wish there was an actual waistband to keep the skirt in place better (it tends to slide up my waist). I mean get real, this skirts looks totally stupid as a dress. Other than that, it's really great and, in my opinion, not at all overpriced. "
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Motor Cuff Thermal
4.7 out of 5(127)
 
 
 
Rebel Yell Hip Belt
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Such a fun skirt!
12.12.2010
" I went to the store today just to poke around, and I'd been eyeing this skirt for a while but was hesitant to buy online because a skirt with that many ruffles could be very hit or miss (I have wide hips). I was so lucky that someone had purchased one on line and returned it to the store, though - so I got to try on the small! It fits perfectly, thanks to the stretchy waist band, and it's the perfect length - I'm 5'6 and it doesn't drag on the ground, plus you can adjust the length you want by rolling over the waist band. I got the ivory color and it looks PHENOMENAL with the Fragments of Time Turtleneck in any color. It's so versatile and fun! It really livens up any outfit and isn't nearly as heavy as it looks. I can't wait to wear it with some chunky boots and a cute vest over the turtleneck! GREAT purchase - it doesn't really flare out at the hips at all. Highly recommended! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Fragments of Time Turtleneck
4.6 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Long and Lush
12.9.2010
" This skirt is fabulous to the nth! Fits exactly as pictured and the colors are accurate as well. I'm 5'2" and the length was NOT a problem. (This is due to the ability to fold over, or pull up the waist banding.) The fit is exactly the same as the shorter versions of this skirt (and the material is the same). I found the skirt to run a bit big, and would suggest sizing down if you are either between sizes OR short. If you are not between sizes or not short, you could go either way. The waist band has a lot of give, so I'd say go with your usual size unless your usual size isn't available, and then you should be just fine to size down. (Really, you could size up if availability becomes an issue. Again, the stretch waistband makes size not too big a deal unless you are concerned about length.) Highly recommended! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Provo, UT
age:21-25
body type:petite
Oh to be a couple of inches taller...
11.19.2010
" Surprise, suprise: too overwhelming for my petite frame. Overall, good quality, gorgeous color (haze) and really cute style, but loses a star because FP should also make long skirts in petite sizes. Despite the length issue, I loved the skirt (which looked better as a skirt than as a dress on me) but it just wasn't meant to be. I enjoy unique pieces, but I also prefer to purchase things that I can use more often. So, while I'd use it for a special occasion, this piece makes too much of a statement for my day-to-day taste (I mean, look at it, it's unforgettable!). I'm sure it would really suit others though, so still highly recommend. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Adorable!!
10.17.2010
" I love every reincarnation of this skirt: be it the tule layering slip, the ruffle layers slip, or the ditsy floral ruffle skirt.... I love them all. The skirt is so fun and unique. The fit is TTS and very comfy!! I am 5'9" and this came to ankle length. It looks cute as a dress also! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
age:31-35
body type:petite
Fun and unique!!!
10.6.2010
" I loved this skirt in the short length so couldn't wait to get it in this long length. I have the cream and the black. I bought a small in the cream and a medium in the black (medium was sold out in the cream) There is a lot of stretch in them and they both fit. The only difference between the medium and small is the small prevents me from taking bigger steps when I walk. I have gotten compliment after compliment on these skirts!!!!! They go with everything!!! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>