Product Reviews

Off The Shoulder Slip

Semi-sheer pleated slip with deep scoop neck and back. Mesh overlay with embroidered hem. Lined. *100% Nylon *Machine Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 26 " Bust: 37"
overall average rating:
3.655 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Off The Shoulder Slip
Review 1 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:31-35
body type:petite
romantic and dreamy
2.11.2014
"Couldn't be happier with this! I got the black in XS and I tried it on. It's lovely and feminine and I *feel* lovely and feminine in it! Haven't worn in out yet because of the cold weather but I plan to wear it with black ankle boots. Thank you FP!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:14-20
body type:slender
Love it!
8.14.2013
"I have had this dress for over a year now and I still love wearing it. I keep coming up with new ways to wear it in every season, it is so versatile. My one qualm is that after a few months one of the spaghetti straps broke, but I was able to hand-sew it back to the dress. I've been very happy with me purchase otherwise!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles/ La Jolla
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Doesn't live up to the free people standard...
7.15.2013
"When I saw this slip I thought I HAD to have it but it's not nearly as flattering as I thought it would be. It's completely shapeless and unflattering. Also, it's much more pink than the picture depicts. The fabric is way too much like that of a nightgown, I would never wear it out. I have bought many slips from free people but this just doesn't live up to the same standard."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Fabulous! So many compliments.
11.5.2012
"I bought this in the raspberry colour, but hadn't worn it until recently. I had a wedding to go to in the south of France, and while I was packing late the night before noticed that my original outfit choice had a HUGE hole in it. So I pulled this slip out of my wardrobe, draped a burnout lace velvet shawl over it and wore it to the wedding that weekend. I lost track of how many people complimented me on it on the day, and on photos of me wearing it since.
It has a lovely loose floaty fit. It completely hid my tummy so I could have as much wedding cake as I liked and nobody could see ;).. Has become a go-to wardrobe staple!
Only thing I would say to be careful about is snagging the mesh over-layer with jewelry!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Austin, Tx
age:26-30
body type:curvy
great in theory but, not quite right...
4.11.2012
"I bought this slip when it first came out, about a year ago. I wanted so badly to like it. I bought the ivory and everything about it was right up my alley (cold shoulder style, lacy, flowy...). Unfortunately, it is just not at all flattering. I tried to make it work for many months. I wore it belted, unbelted, with a vest, with boots, with heels, with flats... Nothing worked. The way that it lays on the body made me look huge. Not in a cute, bohemian oversized kinda way but in a 'wow I look pregnant' kinda way. In fact, one day when I wore this to my local gas station, the attendant said "Man, you've really put on some weight, haven't you?!" (I'm not EVEN joking about this). If you belt it, the excess fabric looks puffy. Unbelted looks like a tent. I could see purchasing this to lay around the house in but, other than that, I would pass. It is also made of a pretty unbreathable polyester, which killed me last summer when I wore it. The white is semi sheer so you have to wear shorts or a slip underneath but the material is just so darn hot. When unbelted, it hits at a couple of inches above my knees. I ended up selling it at the consignment store where I work. For reference, I am 5'6" and a size 10-12 (medium/large)."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Shapeless
2.21.2012
"I really wanted to like this dress because I was so attracted to the raspberry color. When I tried it on, it was shapeless and frumpy. I tried the smallest size and looked pregnant although I'm really quite slim. Maybe belted, but there's too much material and I thought it would bunch up under the belt."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:ny
age:26-30
body type:petite
paid very little, but worth the full price!
2.20.2012
"i somehow got this in a FP store on the sale rack for a steal! i originally wanted the fuchsia color but got the pale pink instead. it is soooo sweet and sexy! i love the lace on the bottom, the color, the off shoulder detail--just a very well designed dress! you will turn heads if you buy it :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Rome, Italy
age:36-40
body type:petite
ADORABLE
2.14.2012
"This is a real Romantic touch in your wardrobe! I'm usually an XS with Free People and I received today my seashell slip in S size. I could not be happier! Really, the color and details are even more beautiful when you see them live. I preferred to size up because I wanted the shoulder straps to be comfortable and the front hem to be long enough. I think I was right, it's longer on me rather than on the model, but I prefer that so that it looks more like a dress that I can wear even on formal events rather then a night gown. It's a baggy dress, yes, and I love the baggy style, but compared to other reviewers it does not make me look pregnant at all! I would recommend it to short skinny girls with small breast like me, you'll feel flattered!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Calgary, AB
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Awful
2.8.2012
"I agree with other reviewers--does not AT ALL look like it does in the picture. Frumpy and unflattering and tight across chest and armholes. I bought a size small which is my usual (I am 5'9" and slim) and the under slip doesn't even clear my crotch. What a waste of money."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:21-25
body type:petite
Pretty
2.7.2012
"I got the cream colored slip and wore with a chunky knit sweater some tights and boots it was super cute. It fits a little large and alone it looks like a night gown but it is great for layering."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
runs small and itsn't that flattering
2.5.2012
"i ordered a S when i first got this dress because even though i've put on a decent amount of weight recently. the dress fit me everywhere except for the arm pits and the chest area. it made the whole top part very uncomfortable and wasn't flattering. i exchanged it for a M, thinking that would take care of the problem. when i received it in the mail and tried it on it was still tight in the chest (i'm a 56D) and was u[ high in the arm pits. it's not the most comfortable dress, but i'm hoping that if i lose the weight it will fit better."
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Not for me
1.21.2012
"Received this in the mail yesterday. I ordered the plum color and knew this wasn't for me as soon as I pulled it out of the package. The fabric is too heavy for such a breezy, feminine dress. The fabric reminded me of a cheap negligee. I'm tall so usually I can pull a style like this off but it was terribly unflattering. Too much gathering in the front. Looks adorable in the photos. I took it back to the store and bought the Flock Dot House Slip and I'm super happy with that."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute, feminine
1.11.2012
"Very delicate, comfortable fabric. Also VERY big/baggy. Don't buy unless you prefer oversized things. A little overpriced for what it is, since it looks like a nighty almost, but a great summer dress or over leggings in spring/fall."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Mexico
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Gorgeous
1.3.2012
"Perfect. No other words."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:31-35
body type:petite
seashell
12.27.2011
"simply a gorgeous dress! Love the seashell color- online pics are accurate. straps are a little fragile, but I like the delicate look of them. I'm typically an XS in Free People dresses, and that's the size I got.. I'm 5'3", and it fits great. highly recommend if you're thinking about this one."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Pasadena, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cute outfit
12.14.2011
"The idea of the dress is cute. I got the XS in raspberry. The color did not look that good on me. So I returned it and got the off white one. I like the style. Pretty cute. Casual and pretty. The off white one is a bit see through. You will probably need to wear something underneath. I am planning on wearing to the beach with swimsuit or for every day with casual flat boots. I really like this dress. The fit might be a little bit odd. It is loose. You'll have to try it to see if it works for you."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:las vegas
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Not flattering at all
11.26.2011
"this is the first time I've ever returned something to free people. I bought in raspberry, the color and detailing were beautiful but like many of the other reviews when I put it on I felt like I looked 11 months pregnant. I gave three stars for the quality, it just wasn't for me."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Maternity
11.3.2011
"Very pretty fabric and color. Lace detailing is also very nice, but the cut is not flattering at all. I agree with some of the other reviewers that said it looks like maternity wear. I bought this for my daughter who is very tall and thin (5'8" 120 lbs.) and it just made her look like a blob."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:middle of nowhere
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
A playful piece in soft and dark hues.
9.18.2011
"I didn't recognize the "seashell" color in store at first, because it looked a little orange. But when I put it on, it looked creamy and flirty and amazing! I had to size down to S because it is quite roomy, but it's also shorter. The girl in the store made a wonderful suggestion of pairing it with the Mesh & Tiers skirt, so I ended up getting both "seashell" and "plum" (it's dark purple to black)--I'll be wearing it both as a nightie and a go-out dress! :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Off The Shoulder Slip
Name:
Location:Cali
age:31-35
body type:petite
unexpectedly flattering
9.8.2011
"Got this dress in the plum color in a small. I am 5'3" and a 34DD. With being fuller on top, such dresses can make me look simply pregnant. This dress, however, did nothing of the sort. It does raise a little higher in front, but its sooo feminine and flows beautifully. And when the wind blows, the outline of your body peeks through. It really is very beautiful and perfectly lined.
Since my office is always 20 degrees cooler than the outside, I paired this with a long black cardi. I left my legs bare and wore black boots that came up just past my ankles! And with this, I did receive quite a few compliments!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>