Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Waves Hem Slip

Smocked slip dress with embroidery and eyelet detailing. Ruffled trimming below smocked bust, and around bottom hem. Bottom hem is scalloped all around. Adjustable and removable straps. *100% Rayon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 25" Bust (all around - relaxed): 25" Waist (all around): 24" Total Strap Length: 14 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Waves Hem Slip
Review 1 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:King of Prussia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Cutest Thing I Own !!
11.7.2013
"I received endless compliments the first time I wore this slip; It's a really flattering cut and perfect little dress. I'm 5'8" and I always buy XS in slips, but I sized up and got the Medium for an appropriate length. Fits like a dream!! I feel like a fairy princess!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Idaho
age:over 45
body type:curvy
love it but...
8.30.2013
"Beautiful layering piece but the top of this slip was very small. I normally wear a medium, but this one runs very small. I think even the large would not be flattering as it tends to flatten out the chest. The bottom half is so pretty and just the right length to go under many of my FP tops. I wanted to keep it in the worst way but I just couldn't make it work."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Adorable Waves-Hem Slip (Top!)
8.7.2013
"I just got my first WHS in navy and it is adorable! I love it! I'm 34B, 5'8/135 lbs and I ordered a M based on other reviews. The top is not tight at all, but I was hoping for some additional length in ordering a M. That didn't happen, but it's okay because I will probably fold down the top around my waist and wear it as a skirt, w/my black shaggy knit pullover on top. Got some Vintage Thigh Highs to go w/it, my slouchy boots, and this FP girl is good to go! The top is a little thinner than I expected but it's all good :) Home run FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love this
7.24.2013
"Bought this last year in pale pink/nude. Absolutely loved color, only had size Medium at store. I am 5'3' and a size XS always but decided to try on anyway. Super comfortable and SUPER happy I had tried the Medium! I see this may work more as a top for others, I loved and wanted specifically as a slip/dress. Great length and enough swish around to be worn longer :) Smocking top fits very well too and straps are nice (removable). I've only worn this a handful of times, and washed in cold water/delicate cycle for dry. Not sure what would happen otherwise but it hasn't shrunk in wash or dry and is still just like new! Reviewing now, so I can buy another color :) I do think the fabric is light and somewhat see through, at least the pale pink color is - not bad but I wear nude undergarments just in case."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Love this dress!!!
5.2.2013
"I gave this 4 stars because it does SHRINK! I bought the navy in a medium a few months ago and it totally shrank a size down. Thankfully, I'm short (5'3) so it doesn't look too bad. The top of the dress fits me snug now but it's not bad (34C). I just purchased the apricot in a large so it stank down to a medium. I still love this dress, it's very soft and super cute. Very unique, I get lots of compliments when I wear it (in both navy and apricot). This dress is also very see through."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Another slip not for the big chested
2.24.2013
"Was so excited when this came in the mail, and it looked and felt great. Unfortunately when I tried it on- i looked like a tent. Would look great on people with smaller chests (I am 36d)"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:36-40
body type:slender
So sad!!!!!!!!!!!!
2.7.2013
"Wanted to love,not to be. I do not consider myself at all busty but this dress was VERY unkind to my chest area. I odered in a small and it was way to tight. Maybe a med. or large might have worked better but i think the material then would have been too much everywhere else. I wear a small in the trapeze dress(fit perfect).36b-27-36. The material is quality and the Champagne clor beautil."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Wavey Wonderful!!
2.6.2013
"I love this dress. Its so pretty. I got the navy blue in a Medium and it fits perfectly. For reference I'm a 34DD and a 6/8. Its so versatile and works with sandals, boots tights, ect. It does require a slip but my FP black slip looks great underneath or a cute lacey tank with leggings. love love love. a must have. now let me go buy another color.... :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Brisbane, Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
I am in love
1.8.2013
"I love this slip! I got it in navy, size small. It is adorable. I think it fits true to size. Bear in mind that it is quite short. If I wear it to work (I am a university lecturer) I would layer a longer slip underneath. I love this so much that I immediately ordered it in one more colour!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Review 10 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Bay Area, California
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
The sweetest slip around
11.21.2012
"I originally bought this dress as a slip for another one I bought at Free People, but then I realized it's too cute to not be seen. So I've just been wearing it as a dress, or a long shirt with shorts under. The champagne color is too beautiful."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Ottawa, ON
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Worth every penny
11.16.2012
"Love this top - wore it constantly this summer. While most babydoll-style tops make bustier women look pregnant (for reference, I'm 34F), this one is really flattering, even sliming. I've got it it navy and the colour is deep and rich."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Brisbane, Australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Very versatile
11.13.2012
"Beautiful slip, so versatile I cannot wait to buy it in more colours. Such a lovely bouncey shape and very nice material"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Austin
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
So pretty!
10.23.2012
"I bought this in the ivory color and it's so much prettier in person than in pics. I fact, I didn't notice it online but went right to it in the store. I had to go up a size in the bust because it was very tight. There wasn't much of a difference between the small and the medium but it worked better. I thought the medium would be too big everywhere else but it fit the same as the small. It looks really cute with a seamless slip underneath. It can be worn as either a tunic or dress. Very sweet piece!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:austin
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Great layering piece!
10.4.2012
"Very versatile, comfortable. It's short, but that problem is solved with a nude tap short worn underneath. I get tons of compliments on this one!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Pennsylvannia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
horrible!
9.29.2012
"When i first put this on (gently) the strap broke! Also it is very poofy and short so it isn't very good for putting under big sweaters/dresses!"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.1.2012
We are so sorry that the strap broke! We will be in touch to offer assistance. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
One of my fav pieces!
9.12.2012
"This is one of my favorite pieces from FP! Fits pretty true to size. It is a bit short for me, so I wear tights or leggings underneath."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Buy it in more then one color!
9.7.2012
"I tried this on in the apricot, navy, black, and the ivory. It is really short so I suggest leggings or jeggings underneath. Would also look good with jeans. I added the lace burn-out shirt from intimates over the top and tied it up in the back. My favorite color was the ivory.I will be going back for this piece."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Love it!
8.26.2012
"I bought this dress in a Free People store and I love it! It fits perfectly and is gorgous in person! You can layer it under things or wear it as is!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great slip!
6.30.2012
"I love this slip so much. I got it in champagne, navy, and yellow. It works wonderfully with so many outfits and can be worn underneath tunics, dresses, or a top itself with a bandeau underneath. The slips are see through, so something will have to be worn underneath. The straps are delicate, since one of them broke on the navy slip. Still would recommend this to anyone. For reference, normally a M (36DD, 32, 40)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Waves Hem Slip
Name:
Location:lala land
age:26-30
body type:petite
absolutely beautiful
6.13.2012
"as with many fp slips, you can wear this in many ways. i don't like the color navy, but somehow i like the navy color in this slip the most. it's really nice. this runs small though. i'm usually a small, but had to get the medium because it was a little tight around the bust area. the medium is more comfortable and still tight enough to go strapless if i wanted to."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>