Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FP Vintage Extreme Flare

Light wash wideleg jeans with raw hems, exposed seams, and two front slit pockets. Button and zipper fly. Two back pockets. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist (all around): 32" Rise: 9 1/2" Inseam: 35" Leg Opening Width: 22 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Review 1 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:mountains
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Quality issues...
8.17.2014
" I love love these jeans, however the snap fell off after the 2nd wear. With such a hefty price to pay for some admittedly rad jeans, I thought they would last a lot longer :(.
Such a bummer!
"
Response from Free People:By Free People8.20.2014
Hi funkymtnmama,

We're sorry to hear about your FP Vintage Extreme Flare! Someone from our team will be in touch shortly.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:AUSTRALIA
age:over 45
body type:slender
AWESOME!
8.3.2014
" I don't think I should add up all the hours I have spent reading FP jeans reviews! I am 5ft 3" 52kg (114pds) completely straight figure. So far I have FP jeans from size 27-29...generally the 28 is too roomy..which blows me away as I am not as small as the models who are usually in a 28. The exception being the FP Denim Super Flare..where for some reason I have no room to spare in a 29. I purchased the Vintage Extreme Flare in 27... they fit really well with a bit of room around the waist. Great super light denim...Easy Rider Wash - great colour! Length is never an issue for me as I live 100% of the time in high wedges or platforms... I have never chopped off any FP jeans. I was concerned I would look like I was swimming in a sea of denim..but I have to say thats not the case...These jeans ROCK! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:AZ
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Inner hippie loves
5.13.2014
" For reference I am 5'8'' and around 130 lbs. I was worried these jeans were going to be too tight in the waist as I ordered a size 28. I am a size 29 in most denim but size 29 was sold out. I was thrilled to put them on and find they fit perfectly. Right at my natural waist, flattering, and comfortable in the rear area too. Considering how light weight the material is, I suspect they will stretch out. The length is great for me to wear flat sandals and not worry about tripping over the pants. Great find and I hope to order more colors. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:NY
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Love the Jeans BUT
12.21.2013
" I really like those jeans ... but for the price i am not so sure ... first mistake was to order one size up ... it turned out they are true to size ... i was kind of disappointed with the packaging. The pants were too long (i am 5.5") ... the material is quite thin and it was not the quality i was hoping for ... seemed cheaper than expected. But i like them nevertheless ;) "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
not for the taller girls only good for flat shoes.
10.8.2013
" I LOVE these jeans, and was super excited to get them. Unfortunately they are not long enough for MY preferred length. I like to to wear bells with heels, and still have them touch the ground ( hard to find), these lacked a few inches for that. If it were summer and I wanted to wear them with flats, then awesome, no problem. I am 5'8 flat footed, so if you are in that height range and want to wear them with heels, then it's a no go. Otherwise, they are amazing jeans, the fabric, the cut, the flow, are amazing! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Cambridge, MA
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Hippie
9.22.2013
" I feel like I should be living in a cabin in the woods of California when I wear these. The soft cotton light weight feel to the flow of the flares make this piece totally worth every penny. I have been tempted to sew on some patches of my own to make it even more amazing! It is a bit long as usual but I have sized up 29 and I pull them up to my belly button and the length is right near perfect with some boots. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Woodstock NY
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
nice dupa jeans!!!
7.15.2013
" I purchased both sz 26 & 27 easy rider color based on all the reviews I wasn't sure what size to get, I am normally a 25/26 in all jeans.
The 27 fit nicely and the 26 fit exactly the same except tighter in the crotch area...the waist on both pair is to me the same. I trimmed off a few inches from the bottom and used a fraying pick to redo them which turned out nicely.
I absolutely love these jeans, they are the most comfortable and dupa flattering jeans ever!!!
The materail is very light , soft and easy to wear , although it is rather thin buying two pair was a good idea since they will more than likely wear out easily.
The waist is a bit loose in both sizes however , not a low rise fit at all. 5'4 (long legs) 105 lbs 32A normally 25/26 bottom sz or 29/30 inch waist.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
like mine worn low down on the hip
4.5.2013
" These are fun flares! I wanted them to drape nicely and ended up ordering three pairs, 24 (regular size) 25, and 26, all fit:) but i found the 24 and 25 did not give me that flowy look i was chasing. so 26 i s for me, size up two sizes in my experiences. Got the london fog and it is a delicious lavenderish gray.
I am short 5'4'' 100 lbs and end up shortening pants with a raw edge a lot, so here is how i do it, in case you need them shorter, unless you choose a tailor, but truly there is no need to in this case:
The trick is that find a length that works with the shoes you wear, ..because the worst is to wear these too short...mmmm, trust me on this on, plus you want them as long as possible because of the weight of the fabric will make them drape so much better. BUt know that once you wash and cut they cannot be returned, so be sure, very sure:)
..i wear quite the range; flats, sandals, converse, boots with 1-1.5'' heel, kork ease with 2 1/2 platform and that's about it. so before putting the scissors i would recommend to use the longest length and pre-wash and tumble: cut after you washed (at your normal wash temp for 100% cotton jeans) and tumbled them (you need to tumble afterwards to get the frayed edge back)
Once you treated them you are good to go...work on a flat surface thats a little elevated, an IKEA kitchen island is perfect.use a ruler and make little dots at the distance form the bottom of the fringe that you need to remove, i my case, it would be 3'' with these flares. at about 4-5'' distance between the dots, then -connect the dots right through the lower third of the dots, cut so you remove the marker-line (thats why you make the line right under the center of the dots. take a deep breath, cut as careful as you can, then wash and tumble as before and you can wear them! My trick to wear with flats, converse and sandals is to fold down the lining..that hitches your flares up about one inch. phew this was a long one, hope it helps:)
"
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Sound of The Sea Tank
 
 
 
Skull Studded High Tops
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Alberta
age:41-45
body type:petite
Easy to wear
3.14.2013
" I love these jeans! I have 2 pairs, autumn nights and the dark wash. They are comfortable and always stand out! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Sedona
age:31-35
body type:slender
Vintage Extreme Flare
2.6.2013
" I am absolutely in love with these pants. First I ordered a 29 in the Autumn Nights, my usual FP pants size. They were too baggy in a not so flattering way so I exchanged them for a 28 in the Easy Rider wash and they fit like a dream! There is plenty of room in the waist. This was the color I originally wanted. I usually wear a 29 or size 6 and I'm 5'8, 135 lbs. Hope this helps! I don't dry my FP pants so a 29 may be for you if you do. If you are debating on these go for it, you won't be disappointed! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Houston
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Spectacular Pair of Pants
1.14.2013
" I love love love these jeans... they are even better than I expected. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:26-30
body type:slender
Amazing!
12.5.2012
" I am about 5'5" and 108 lb. I got the autumn nights color in a size 25. They look great and fit comfortably. I marked them as a little bit loose because I can pull them on and off without undoing the snap, but they don't look big or anything. Very nice and lightweight, which is good considering how heavy they'd be in the legs otherwise with all of that material! "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:41-45
body type:slender
Awesome jeans
10.24.2012
" Runs true to size for me....slouchy just like the photo. Probably my favorite pair of jeans and I own over 50 pairs! I get compliments on them all the time and they are so comfortable! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
FAVORITE FP JEANS!
10.17.2012
" I love love love these jeans! At first I was a little afraid of being able to pull them off, but now I have to make myself stop wearing them, They fit true to size & I get so many compliments on them! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Been wanting these pants forever!
10.10.2012
" Finally was able to purchase these wide leg jeans and for the most part, I'm very pleased. The fit is great and makes my butt look really cute! The dark wash is awesome with a vintage tint to it, great for Fall, but the material is very lightweight so these can definitely carry into the warmer seasons too. I'm 5'5 so the 35 inch inseam is a bit much, with 3 inch shooties, they just graze the floor. I might have to cut them if it bothers me too much. I was worried that because of the width of the pant and my height that they would make me look short and frumpy, but they don't. All it takes is the right top to balance them off.
On the con side, they came really wrinkled so I imagine that they are prone to wrinkling. I hate ironing! Maybe I'll steam them.
Overall, glad I got them! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:WA
age:36-40
body type:slender
My Favorite Jeans
9.15.2012
" I bought these jeans over a year ago and I still love wearing them. They're comfy and cool. I think they do run a little small. I'm almost always a 26 but I got a 27. They were definitely worth the money. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Duncan, BC
age:36-40
body type:slender
Size Matters!
9.11.2012
" I pondered ordering these for months. I only hesitated as I was unsure about the sizing. After reading reviews the consensus seemed to be that they fit small. I am normally a size 25 in jeans, almost consistently in every brand, so I decided to size up and order the 26. They do fit... except they fit perfect, not baggy like they are on the model. I wanted them to fit like they do in the picture, kind of "boyfriendy," but they don't. I still like them and have kept them, I just had to change my vision about how they looked. So if you want the baggy look, I would say size up a lot, I sized up one size and it did not achieve the slouchy effect at all. If you want them to just fit normal, snug through the hips, then order your normal size. (For reference I am 5.6" and 120 lbs. My hips, the widest part, around the top of my things, is 37 inches.) Oh, and as to the length, I did not find them too long at all. I wear them with four inch wedges and they sit perfectly, just grazing the floor. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:41-45
body type:athletic
MOST COMFY JEANS YOU WILL EVER OWN!
9.6.2012
" I am a hippie chick, so I adore these, as I do all the bell bottoms, these are the only non-vintage jeans like this I have ever seen, and they are one of my most comfortable pairs I own!! The denim is not heavy, it is a lighter weight and they drape amazingly well on the body, plus the waist is lower than the festy. They re not too long either, just perfect for a nice platforms, but if you are planning on wearing a flat shoe, they could drag a lot if you are petite. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:Brazil
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Love, but it would look better with a belt
9.2.2012
" Love these pants. they are super flare and cute. The only reason I don't give it five stars is that they can become "puffy" where the front zipper is at. Since it does not hold straight to the waist and the fabric is soft, it gives a little bit of a weird impression, as if you had a small belly. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP Vintage Extreme Flare
Name:
Location:europe
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Not DENIM but still Love them!
8.27.2012
" I got the 'blizzard' one. The color is creamy white and has a few bleached/blue stains around the waist and legs. Im usually 28 with other denim brands and 26/27 with pants I took reviews into consideration and got 29 of these ones and it was a perfect call! SO these ones r lil' bit tight, the fabric is VERY light and no shaping up around bottom area. So u might wanna go w/ a seamless nude underwear. I'm 5.6 and these needs alteration. Good choice for summer and warm autumn days. You can always wear them for casual occasions. enjoy. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 2 3 4 5 next>>