Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Diani Dress

Eyelet-detailed dress with woven rope straps that ties in back to adjust. Skirt part of dress is soft woven cotton that is pieced together. Bottom part of dress is fully lined. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length (from top of strap to bottom hem): 38" Bust: 32" Waist: 32" FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Diani Dress
Review 1 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Overwhelming
6.15.2012
" I don't know how the studio shots look so dainty. This dress is all bulk and overwhelms my 5'2" frame. The dress also came down to about 3 inches above my ankle... super unflattering. I'd recommend sizing down if you are flat chested, but otherwise go with your usual size b/c the bust area is fairly tight. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:Kure Beach, NC
age:over 45
body type:slender
Felt like a princess!
5.15.2012
" Love this dress! It just floats around you with yards and yards of fabric, but yet doesn't make you look heavy because of all the fabric! The image in the description where the model is 'twirling' the dress outwards gives you an idea of the yardage! Feels somewhat "ethereal". On the negative side, this material catches and picks on EVERYTHING! You have to be very careful what you brush against, as this will catch and pull. I went grocery shopping and continually was pulling it back from the cart where it had caught! Because of the wide weave guaze, the fabric pulls are not really detectable. Felt it ran pretty true to size, normally a size 6 - ordered a small and it fit well (34D). There is not much shape to the dress except for the top. Definitely need to wear a cami. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:Los angeles
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Lovely
5.11.2012
" I fell in love with this dress the first time I saw it in the catalog. The first thing I did as soon as I put it on, was grab onto each side & lift my arms up like the model featured in the dress. Right after that I spun around a few times. This dress makes me feel super girly. I have yet to wear it. My only negative comment is that the top isn't lined. I plan on lining it myself...one other thing is that it looks so much more fitted on the models. It fits a little looser in person but that look still works with the dress. I love it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
What a surprise....
5.10.2012
" I loved the light look of this dress on the website and got one in mint. It is quite a piece of clothing to wear.. very heavy (I presume the multiple fabric layers are causing this feel of overweight on my shoulders)! And, for once, the xs is really an xs... just a bit too tight at the bust, but still fitting. It is very delicate as it is made of what was called 'cheese clothe', in the years it was trendy to wear items made of it..lol...I'm not sure I like the cables to knot in the back, a bit too big for the dress look, so I'm searching a way to get rid of them without destroying the dress. In an out, I like the dress, even if I imagined it a little more exciting than it is. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:montana
age:14-20
body type:curvy
wonderful
5.7.2012
" i got this dress in my usual size and if fit well at first but stretched out just a little bit after that, but it's ok. Also i just really love this dress! Its soooo pretty on and just what i was looking for - i've spent a good year or two trying to find clothes similar to lindsey lohan's character on georgia rule and this is very similar to the style. Thank You FP! another satisfied customer "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:31-35
body type:slender
Pretty but too delicate
5.4.2012
" I ordered this dress in an xs. I am a 32A so everything fits me well. The dress is very pretty but really delicate. I found there were some snags in the waist area. I just tried on once, when I took off, there became two big holes. I planned to exchange it at first thought, but when I called the customer service, there were none left for the mint color. I don’t want to exchange for ivory. She said I could return it. Actually, I really like this dress in mint color. So, I tried to sew it by myself and tried to see whether it works. It cost me 2 hours to make up for the big holes. It looks ok now, if you don’t watch it carefully, you may not find the defects. As there is no price tag on this dress when I received it, I thought it might be returned by someone else before because of the delicacy. I need to be very very careful when I am wearing it, and I don’t know how long it can last. And next time, if the hole is too large , I cannot sew it back how can I deal with this dress? It gave me too much worries ! I hope the designer really think of the efficiency of the dress and don’t use that kind of delicate material any more. It’s really pretty—so pretty I cannot convince myself to return it, but if it is too delicate and cannot last long, it would let customer down. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Beautiful!
4.19.2012
" I just got this dress in ivory and it is gorgeous! The gauze is amazing, as are all the details. The dress IS super sheer, but that's not a big issue. Feel like a princess in this dress, LOVE it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
How Sweet It Is
4.12.2012
" This dress is just beautiful! I bought the mint in a large and it was just stunning! The top is sheer and has a slightly loose fit. The rope straps give this dress a tough edge. The length hit me just like it does the model at 5'9". The fabric is gauzy and voluminous. LOVEEEEEE "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Diani Dress
Name:
Location:california
age:31-35
body type:petite
pretty but poor quality
1.30.2012
" I ordered this dress in an xs as I am petite. It fit everywhere but around the bust. I am a 32B so I would say this runs a little tight in the bust area. The dress I ordered came ripped where the gauze meets the eyelit. The dress is pretty but very delicate. For the hefty price tag, I expected better quality. The entire bottom of the dress is made of layers and layers of gauze. You would probably not be able to wear rings or bracelets with this dress as they might snag the dress. And if you had one big snag you would end up with one big hole in the dress. The dress already had threads pulled in many areas which made the dress look a little ratty. I will be returning this dress. "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large