Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Stavros Buttondown

Fine gauge sweater button down shirt. Long sleeves and collared. Two front pockets. Semi-sheer. *57% Cotton, 43% Rayon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 27" Bust: 48" Bottom Opening: 48" Sleeve Length: 23"
overall average rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Stavros Buttondown
Review 1 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:San Francisco, California
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
I love this shirt but...
7.8.2013
"all i can say is SIZE DOWN. I wish I did. I bought this shirt in the stone color and I love it so much, for a while i wore it at least once a week, until I noticed two holes on the bottom backside. I was SO upset. Also, it does stretch out, incredibly much, and it's proven to be troublesome to deal with the sleeves. Nonetheless size down and you'll be fine. One of my favorite FP buys!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Albany, NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
stavros buttondown; white; size medium
5.4.2013
"I had the opportunity to purchase this top in-store, and got it for sale price! I sized up two sizes (my usual is a xs/s and I got this in large) after trying it on as I wanted a looser fit and thought it may also shrink a bit in the wash. The material is soft and breezy, and I love the fit--loose but fitted and feminine. Great closet staple, can be worn so many ways!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Washington, US
age:21-25
body type:slender
Soft, loose, perfect
2.20.2013
"I went perusing for a basic button-down to wear for work, and was pleasantly surprised when I stumbled upon this one. I’m 5’6”, about 110lbs, and I ordered this shirt in a medium. It’s pleasantly loose, soft, and perfect for layering over just about anything. I couldn’t be happier. Oh, and the shipping was also insanely fast! I ordered this on Saturday, and with no mail service on Sunday or Monday (due to holiday), I was shocked to find it at my door on Tuesday. LOVE you, Free People!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
great for layering
2.19.2013
"I love this shirt. So much. I own the stone color, black and ivory, the first two in size xs and ivory in s, and there really isn't too much of a difference in the fit. You can tell it's slightly bigger but for me it hasn't really made any difference in how it looks on me. I'm 5'4 118 lbs and this shirt looks just as good buttoned up as it does open over a fitted tank. Very casual and cute! Can't give it 5 stars though because of the price alone. $108 dollars for a sheer button down?? holy"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:DMV
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
versatile go-to buttondown
2.11.2013
"Wore my cherry red one for the first time yesterday and loved it! At 5'7", 140 lbs, 34DD, have lots of trouble finding buttondown shirts that don't pull acrss the bust so don't own many buttondowns (of the 4 in my closet, 2 are FP!). Purchased S, my regular FP size, and the extra roominess provides fit at the bust while the beautiful sheer fabric great for layering over a cami, tank, etc. It drapes delightfully and the cherry red color is sexy casual or dressy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:petite
Great & Comfortable
10.11.2012
"I just tried this on in my local free people store. It is so soft! The rayon mixed in really makes it better than just cotton. The blue is a beautiful color, but I ordered the red. It does run a little big I thought. But I think anyone would get a lot of great use out of it! I definitely want another one!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Buttondown Beauty
9.26.2012
"This is a great layering piece. Wear it over a dress or tank or by itself. Be careful not to snag the material. It fits only slightly loosely and has a longer shirt tail in the back. A great "go to" top."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
<3 <3 <3
9.6.2012
"LOVE this top!!! It is soft, lightweight and so cute! The pictures don't show it, but it is a tad longer in the back. Looks so cute tied in the front. The sleeves are a little snug at the bottom, but it helps them stay up the arm. Highly recommended!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Must Have
8.27.2012
"This shirt is a must have for so many reasons. First it is so versitile, it can be worn by itself during the summer when its hot and it can be layered in the fall. As others have stated it is also really soft and the material is very light. I purchased the xsmall in stone and it fits perfect (5'0 98 lbs) keep in mind that the style of the shirt is meant to be loose. I highly recommend everyone to buy this!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON
age:26-30
body type:curvy
cherry is more like orange
5.21.2012
"i was so excited to try this shirt on so i headed to the mall to see if my department store had it...THEY DID! not only was it ON SALE for $89.00 BUT they had my size. unfortunately, the cherry red was orange. and when i say orange, i mean orange. there was nothing red about the shirt at all. i have been looking for a red button down for the summer and FP was the only store i found that had one...so imagine my disappointment when i saw it was orange =(
BUT the material was absolutely gorgeous, soft, breezy and light. it is the PERRRFECT shirt for ANY season. I am STILL going to grab this, but i'll either grab the white, the stone, or the blue. for reference I am usually between a M and a L, and i tried the M on in this stop. I didn't find it "baggy" at all actually. I think a L would be perfect because it would drape perfectly. PLUS, i am a 36DD breast, size 10 so i want it to look comfy.
(i deducted a star based on the fact that the cherry red is really an orange..but i still LOVE the top!)
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:aspen, co
age:21-25
body type:petite
a must have
5.16.2012
"this shirt is amazing! I purchased it in stone size XS (5'3 100LB) and I am obsessed with it. It does fir big, but it's suppose to. It goes great with everything or just by itself as a cover up! I will be wearing this all summer long"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:honolulu, HI
age:41-45
body type:curvy
gorgeous!
4.28.2012
"i purchased this top in the "stone" color and it is gorgeous! i love the light and breezy airiness of this top and also how versatile it is. i'm choosing to wear mine on the casual side with a pair of cutoffs or skinny jeans with booties or even flip flops. i was a bit hesitant because of the price but in the end, i am extremely happy with my purchase. just for reference, i am 5' 6" 130lbs 34DD and the medium fit just the way i wanted it to, baggy like the look on the model. no regrets, great top!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
size down once or twice
3.18.2012
"Depending on how baggy you want it to look. Very sheer thin delicate fabric. Requires a bandeau or cami. Really cute and fun. I think you can make this casual as pictured or dress it up for work with a nice camisole under and a clean looking blazer. Light and easy shirt. Recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:LA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
So sad, had to send it back.
3.5.2012
"Okay so I was eyeing this button-down in lime for the longest time and three weeks ago finally went for it. At first I was super happy as the lime was gorgeous, the fit was great and the material was super soft. However, after only two wears and one wash (and yes, I was super careful and hand washed and put it flat to dry as directed) a thread pulled and made a significant hole in the middle of the shirt. FP's customer service was very understanding and refunded me. But still, $100 for a shirt that unravels in two weeks is disappointing."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:MASS
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
VERSATILE SHIRT,SWEATER
3.2.2012
"THIS SHIRT IS SOFT LIKE A SWEATER,IT CAN BE WORN ALOT OF DIFFERENT WAYS.IT DEF RUNS BIG. IF YUO WANT IT LOOSE GET YOUR NORMAL SIZE, IF TOU WANT IT FITTED SIZE DOWN.DONT HESITATE IF YOUR THINKIIN ABOUT THIS ONE.ITS REALLY COMFY!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:toronto
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love the lime
2.29.2012
"I got this in the lime, it's fantastic, can hardly wait for the nice balmy breezes to wear it. It will go great with a pair of leggings and jeans. It's a really nice shirt, FP has hit it out of the park."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:China
age:21-25
body type:petite
big surprise!!
2.26.2012
"When I open the package I feel the shirt is not good,looks too big for me,but after I wear it,I like it,that's a big surprise for me.If the color white hasn't sold out I must buy one again!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:United States
age:36-40
body type:petite
Wonderful staple item
1.28.2012
"I bought this shirt, size xs, in ivory and have worn it many times since. It is light and airy and looks great with everything from a leather skirt to jeans to leggings. It is fairly see through so I pair it with a cute black tank with a lace accent when I want to dress it up, and a plain tank when I want to wear a more casual style. Be aware however, the material is very thin and will catch easily so watch what jewlery and belts you wear it with."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love this shirt!
1.5.2012
"This shirt is so comfy and can also look sexy if you want it to. I got the white in size xs - I'm 5'7.5", 103 lbs, 32B, 25" waist, typically an xs, and it fits perfectly. You could size down if you wanted to and it would still look oversized. The pockets on mine are placed just like the model in the white shirt (so lower down than the lime shirt) which is what I wanted - it looks more relaxed and casual. This shirt looks great with a nude bra underneath or with cute bralettes showing through the sheer fabric. It looks good knotted or loose, with the sleeves rolled up or rolled down, and buttoned or open. It hangs really nicely and looks cute with leggings and a cardi/sweater, or with cords/jeans, or with nothing except cute panties underneath if you're showing off for someone! I'm looking forward to spring when it will be warm enough to wear this shirt with a bralette, cords, moccasins, and a really pretty scarf that will make a simple/casual outfit pop! If you've got extra cash for a versatile, cute, comfy, and snuggly shirt, buy this!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Stavros Buttondown
Name:
Location:City
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Winter Time Staple
12.20.2011
"Looks Just the way it does in the photos, I bought it in my size a Medium and it was the right amount of oversized, Looks cute worn open like a cardigan too. Winter Time Staple!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>