Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Crochet Beau Boot

Distressed leather pull-on boot with beautiful crochet upper. Leather strap across the front ankle. Low heel. *By Free People
overall average rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Crochet Beau Boot
Review 1 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Stuttgart Germany
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
ADORABLE
3.6.2014
"Not only are these boots SO unique, but they are comfortable. I wear slim fit or skinny jeans with them and was excited to see that my socks don't show through the lace. On cold days, double the socks because that lace offers very little protection for your feet. Love these boots and get SO many compliments on them!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Livermore,CA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Obsessed
2.25.2014
"These boots are amazing... I am a solid 7 and the 37 fit perfectly. I have worn them with socks and without.... Must be very careful with these beauties due to delicate lace top. So many compliments every time I wear them....LOVE! Waiting for the black/grey color to come back in stock =)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:athletic
My Favorite Pair of Boots!
12.21.2013
"These are one of my favorite purchases from Free People! They are super comfortable and I can wear them all day without them hurting my feet. You can dress them up or down. Seriously want a pair in every color!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Hong Kong
age:26-30
body type:slender
Comfortable everyday boots with a twist
11.13.2013
"I love the styling of these boots. The lace design gives these cowboy boots a nice feminine twist. They have just the right amount of slouch as even though the lace is very delicate, the strip of leather at the back holds everything up. I got this in distressed black and the color is exactly as shown in the photos.
Cons:
These run at least half a size large, and this is coming from a girl with wide feet. The quality of the leather is decent but don't expect superb craftsmanship. The gap between the sole and upper isn't finished nicely on my pair but the design more than makes up for it and so I decided to keep mine.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Richmond, Va
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Too slouchy
11.9.2013
"Let me start by saying I've loved the look of this boot the minute I saw it. I finally got the grey, which is indeed much more like a distressed black. Very cool, though i wasn't sure I loved how uneven the dye was on the lace. Maybe based on all the feedback, my pair also came with a warning about the delicacy of this lacy part, esp. when pulling on the boot.
My problem with this style is that the lace shaft is just too slouchy for my taste. All the FP pics here must be doctored to keep the shaft up, or maybe it's just the pair I received.
Anyway... that slouchiness, coupled with the delicacy factor (on a boot that cost $170), is what led me to return my pair. No regrets.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:midwest
age:41-45
body type:slender
LOVE these boots!!
10.15.2013
"I bought these boots because of all the great reviews, and now I know why!! I wear a 7.5 and I ordered a 37, The fit is perfect and they are so comfortable! They are the most unique and beautiful boots I've ever owned!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Singapore
age:36-40
body type:petite
Beautiful design but poorly made
9.30.2013
"I love the design and the colour of these boots. I got the Olive-grey-blue. But wow, the quality is appalling! The boot is finished very poorly, the stitching is rough and haphazard, there are random bits of excess material poking out where they shouldn't. The heel of the leather upper does not line up properly with the heel bottom, creating a ridge where the inside material which should not be seen is visible. I still like them and will keep them, but bear in mind not to expect a top quality boot if you like the design enough to go for them."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:FL
age:over 45
body type:curvy
LOVE!!
9.14.2013
"I have never really had a pair of boots that I really thought were comfy and so I was skeptical of getting another pair... These fit right out of the box!
As someone with fairly wide feet, these didn't kill my feet and the fun lacy/crochet top feature is not only unique and pretty, but it serves to keep these from feeling like your feet/legs are in "leather jail" -- it's like a boot bottom and an airy, loose crocheted "sock" on top. It totally balances out the heavier leather foot-confiing feeling on your foot. Kind of like sticking one leg out from under the sheets at night. :)
The leather is really distressed but I love that. They're just so cool-looking. Try 'em! You'll love 'em!!
I normally wear a size 10 and the Euro size 41 fit perfectly. The heel slips just a bit, but I didn't have socks on when I tried them on, so maybe that'll correct itself when I do. The chocolate brown color is really dark and mine were not at all as "shiny" the images here make them look -- but each pair probably differs. Mine are more matte leather than glossy like in these pics. One thing they do "warn" you about by way of a tag on the boot: use care when pulling them one or off so you don't tear the fabric part at the top. Makes sense. So if you just grab the leather part at the top or the strip of leather at the back, you should be good to go. What would have been really cool is if instead of fabric, they'd laser-cut suede or leather for the top. :) But really, the fabric is def part of why these boots are so unique and why they're boots but still cool and airy vs. all-theather and kind of hot and stiff.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:athletic
lovely boot
8.28.2013
"Can wear with shorts or leggings, very stylish. Wish they were leather lined, but other than that very happy with them!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:PA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Worth the Money!
7.14.2013
"I bought these shoes last winter/spring in the tan color. I'm always looking for shoes and clothes that I can wear to work and wear out and still look cute in "real life."
I am so glad that I splurged on these. They've gotten so much use and I am stopped every time I wear them by people asking about them or complimenting them.
They're so comfortable, airy, and work well for a dressier look or a more casual look. I've rocked them with skirts and dresses too and they're perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:athletic
LOVE LOVE LOVE
6.27.2013
"What a stunning pair of boots. I got the black and the crochet bit is a faded black but I LOVE them. I read all the reviews and decided to get my normal size 8(39eu) as I have a high arch, which is hard to get into boots without a zip and my feet slipped in nicely. They are just a tad big but nothing an innersole won't fix. I've worn them all day (without out the innersoles) and they are comfortable.I've worn them with skinny jeans of all colors and they go with everything. Can't wait to wear them with skirts, It's our winter here. I have received soo many compliments. They are just beautiful. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND. You won't be disappointed."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:albuquerque, nm
age:21-25
body type:slender
disappointed
6.13.2013
"bought these in "olive" but they're way more of a blue color and are slightly darker than the picture that is shown. i really loved the blue, distressed, matte color shown but mine were shiny and looked super fake. i thought maybe they were some vegan leather, but looking at the description i'm astonished they're actually leather. they look like plastic. maybe the other colors look better but these were such a let down. definitely going back. ps for sizing i wear 7.5-8 and ordered 38 and they fit very well."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb6.13.2013
Hey Alexandra42peter, yes, the Olive is more of a bluish-grey color. With some wear, the shininess will dull down and give that distressed look that you desire. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:petite
Coolest boots ever!!
6.3.2013
"These boots scream Free People! They are comfortable and really cute with skinny jeans and a tunic top. I am happy with the color (grey)boots that I bought."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Columbus, Ohio
age:41-45
body type:athletic
beautiful versatile boots
4.14.2013
"I normally wear an 8 or 8.5 in most good brands and took a 38 in these after finding the 39s just WAY too big. The 38 is just about perfect for me with a very comfortable fit that doesn't rub or slide. I've worn them with both ripped jeans and feminine flirty dresses and adore them with both; they'll be equally great with skirts and shorts. Surprisingly, I also walked quite a bit in them in uneven terrain (hilly streets of Asheville, NC) and was comfortable all day! I own a lot of boots, but these have quickly become some of my absolute favorites - wouldn't hesitate to recommend them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:MASS.
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Extremely Cute!!!
4.4.2013
"These are definitely one of a kind and very cute. I ordered the tan and wear them with some nice slouch socks that have lace tops on them . Even though they run large, they are extremely comfortable . My feet seem to feel just right on the arch and heel. Nice with jeans or dressing up! Very well made! Can't wait to see how many compliments I get with these!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Leather and Lace
4.1.2013
"These boots were a second-choice purchase when I learned that the original slouch boots had sold out. So, with that in mind, I wasn't expecting to really like these, let alone, decide that they're probably the better design for my feet!
First of all, the blend of feminine crocheted lace and chunky, distressed leather is so brilliant.
Next, the added styling of the strap across the top is interesting, and, also, functional for my high instep. By unfastening it the first few times, I was able to comfortably slip in my feet. Afterward, the leather and fabric seemed to melt around the form of my feet and I've not needed to make any adjustments since. (Nor has the boot stretched in any awkward ways.) I find that the length is perfectly true to size - for me, a US 9 medium = a Euro 39. And the rounded toe box, along with a more slender heel base, accommodate my narrow heels and broad toes in the most delightful way! These boots are not practical for the rugged outdoors where I live, however, on pavement, they are made for walking - for hours upon hours of urban hiking.
I bought the tan, and love the versatility of its tones. The distressing is very believable; its warm, tawny hues accent many colors in my wardrobe. Great with skinny jeans, cutoff-shorts, and long skirts. The lack of over-slouching is prevented by a strip of leather running up the back along the Achilles Heel to meet the top band, which is an another subtle detail of stylistic and practical value. Thanks for these, Free People!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Everyday Boot
3.27.2013
"Love these Boots! They go with almost everything and they are perfect for the spring time (since I am not quite ready to give up my boot fetish for the warming weather just yet). I love the little pop of heal they give in the back and the lace crochet adds a little bit of femininity."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Vintage, Feminine and Worth the Price!
3.23.2013
"These boots are GORGEOUS. All of my friends are jealous. They look just as fabulous in real life as they do online. I saw these on Pinterest I think and I immediately had to find them. I kind of winced at the price only because I never splurge on shoes like this, but now that I see the quality of them they are completely worth it! The only things were that they were a bit more bulky than I realized but the femininity of the crochet lace balances it out. They are also a little bit big but nothing that thick socks or insoles don't fix. I would also warn people to pay attention to the heel size before buying them since they are pretty bulky but I personally love the look of it! Overall these are the most beautiful shoes I've ever owned and I am SO excited to make everyone jealous come warmer weather when I wear them. :)"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
LOVE!
3.21.2013
"Sizing is perfect, absolutely love these boots, have had so many comments as they're so unique and funky. Buy!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Crochet Beau Boot
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
fan-crochet-tastic
3.18.2013
"the reviews on sizing are all over the place, so i decided to err on the side of caution and order 39 for my usual 8. it's a little loose but not falling off loose. i got the olive and the color is greyish-blue just as pictured. the crochet is delicate, but the leather strip at the back is perfect for pulling the boot up. the boots are perfectly distressed, and the color is neutral enough to be versatile. i also find them quite comfortable. one of the prettiest boots i now proudly own."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>