Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau

Adorable smocked bandeau with beaded floral detailing in front. *100% Viscose *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 10" Bust (relaxed): 21 " This bandeau is part of our special Fp One collection. The designer for Fp One has lived in India for 20 years. While there, she became inspired by how the beautiful Indian workers worked so effectively from their homes and used traditional hand crafted techniques. She found herself joining these workers and getting involved in the process alongside them. Her hands on design approach helped bring a modern touch to the traditional techniques that these women used. Together, they created unique designs that mix both old world and new world aesthetics. A lot of the design details used on the Fp One garments stem from the decorating ideas that came from the design elements in our very own Free People stores, such as the patterns, prints, colors, and embellishments found on hangers, curtains, furniture covers, and mannequins.
overall average rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Review 1 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:14-20
body type:petite
so elegant
3.3.2012
" I love this tube top. I don't usually go for strapless things because I'm very small on top. That being said, this top is so amazing. I'm usually an XS and I bought the small and it was still extremely fitted. It's also very short, not even covering my navel. The beading on the front is so delicate and a lot more intricate than the picture indicates. I plan on wearing this with a Free People lace blouse and a pair of FP high waisted colored shorts. Can't wait to wear! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
size up
2.17.2012
" It's a very versatile bra top. very elegant. But you really need to size up. I usually wear XS. This one S is still too tight for me. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:athletic
cute little piece
2.13.2012
" Got it at the sale price. I usually wear XS/S but ordered a M taking into account other people's review. It fits me well. So the sizing is indeed smaller than the regular. It's short and I'm planning to wear it with this red maxi dress I bought on fp. The whole look is very nice. Very happy with this purchase although I probably wouldn't pay more than the sale price for it. I'm likely to get one in another color:) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous Top
2.10.2012
" I LOVE THIS TOP. I bought the black color and i'm definitely buying the lavender. I sized up to a medium (i'm usually an XS at fp) because everyone said it was so small. I'm so glad i did. The medium fits perfectly and even if the XS and small fit tightness wise i doubt they would have been long enough.. I'm a 32AA 5'7" and the top JUST covers my bellybutton. So, if i had ordered blindly, sizing would have been an issue. The beading is absolutely gorgeous. It doesn't look cheap and the people who are complaining about that are being snobby. I haven't had any issues with snagging either.... I have REALLY really long hair and that hasn't been an issue with this top. I've worn cardigans and wrap sweaters over it and its been no problem. Maybe I'm just lucky, but if its truly an issue for you then jus be a little extra careful. I pair it with the mesh and tiers skirt (black OR nude) and the mulberry rose crown and they all look beautiful together. just make sure you have a good strapless bra for this top otherwise you will look sag-ish and lumpy. Its a steal at the sale price. Don't hesitate on this one "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Cut & Sew Wrap Sweater
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:31-35
body type:petite
Ivory is beautiful
2.10.2012
" the details on this top are even prettier in person. great layering piece. It runs small in the bust but not as fitted as I would have liked in the waist. I got a size small but a medium would have probably worked, too. It's too short for me to wear alone, but I'm sure I'll find plenty of uses for it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Calabasas
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Itty Bitty
2.9.2012
" I went to the store to try this on because it was just what i was looking for. I wear a 34DD and the large didn't fir at all. Yes, i realize that i have a large chest, but i wear the other bandeaus in Large with no issue. The quality seemed a little shabby because i saw a few of them that already had the beading falling off. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:China
age:21-25
body type:petite
reduce price as soon as I received it
2.9.2012
" The color is nice,and the looks so elegant. But the size too small.Besides,what broken my heart is the price has reduced as soon as I received the bandeau, T_T "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb2.10.2012
Hi, We have a price adjustment policy. Please contact us at service@freepeople.com to see if your purchase qualifies for a credit. Hope this helps!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:14-20
body type:slender
Tight, but that's how it's supposed to fit.
2.6.2012
" I saw these on sale in store and had to buy it in the white and mint. Mint is my favorite color and I just fell in love. The beading detailing is so lovely and looks classy. I'm normally a small, and I got a small. Probably because I'm a 32A, I didn't have trouble with it. Do be careful with the beading and wearing it with sweaters. It will snag things! Even in store, they had them laying on top of each other, I had to carefully pry the top on off and release some threads it had taken from the one underneath. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:26-30
body type:petite
SUPER SMALL!!!
2.4.2012
" SO SO SO SO SO SMALL!!!! I usually wear an XS in Free People. I read some of the reviews so I decided to order a medium. I am a 34B and I barely fit into the top. I think a large might have fit. I'm not sure why people love this top so much. Besides the size issues the beading on this top snags everything! I ended up keeping the top only because I also purchased the Voile & Lace Trapeze Slip in Tea and I needed something underneath so I took a seam ripper to the beading and took all of it off. I like it now without the horrible beading because I can actually wear it under something as a layering piece. If I had it to do over again I would probably just pass on this… "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Decorative touch
1.31.2012
" This bandeau does not have much give. I am normally a medium and often size down to a small in fp. I don't think a medium would even fit. I have an athletic frame and 34A. The material is nice and thick and the beading is a nice decorative touch. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:athletic
The PERFECT wintery princess bandeau
1.28.2012
" When I say this on sale I Immediatly bought it! And after recieving it I definetley would have payed full price for this. I was overly impressed, I was expecting a thin fabric but it was actually perfetly thick and soft, the beads are absoloutly beautiful, they look very classy not cheap whatsoever. The only thing is that it runs very small, I am a 34B and wear a small in all of FP's bras, bandeaus and when I got it it was very tight, at the end of the day my breathing felt off. So I exchanged for a Medium, and im expecting it will be much better! at 19.95...its a MUST BUY. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:santa clarita
age:14-20
body type:petite
soo cute!
1.28.2012
" so i was reluctant on this purchase but ended up giving in... now that it's on sale i wish i would have waited but anyways it's a super cute tube top the detail is amazing and it doesn't slip down. it's extremely useful under sheer tops as well i bought an xs,for reference im 5'2 104 lbs. 32A 24" 36" "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:california
age:14-20
body type:petite
pretty but runs super small
1.22.2012
" tried this on in store in the pink and ivory. the colors and detailing are really pretty and delicate looking.
but at 5'3", 93 lbs, 32a, I'm always an xs in fp. but even the small felt uncomfortably tight. also, it's definitely a bandeau not like a barely-cropped top like it looks on the models. it came down to like the bottom of my ribcage so that you could completely see my stomach and everything..
I didn't end up getting it but I think if you sized up a couple sizes it would probably be more comfortable and flattering.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:seattle
age:14-20
body type:petite
Gorgeous beading
1.22.2012
" The material is a little rougher than I expected, but the delicate beading makes up for it. I tried on XS and S but there was little difference. I got the mint green color and can't wait to start wearing it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Mill Valley, CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Finally....the price is right
1.15.2012
" I tried a few of these tops on at the FP store the day after Christmas and they were on sale for what it's selling here now. I had ordered the yellow satin maxi skirt from here with the model wearing this tube top and hadn't received it yet, so when I saw the tube tops at the store, I tried all of them on in various sizes and colors. I'm 5'3" ....127 lbs.
The tops run small, sheer enough that you need to wear something under it or over it (like the capelet that's for sale here) and from top to bottom it was short. Photo is a bit deceiving because it looks like it could be a bit longer and tucked into the yellow maxi skirt waistband. The maxi skirt has a high waistband.
My daughter and I couldn't believe it was the same one used in the photo on the site paired with the maxi skirt. There is a big plastic "rhinestone" near the top with a few other beads. The top looks cheap and have no idea how FP came up selling it for $58. There is nothing extraordinary about it to be priced that high. $19.95 is what the orginal price should have been.
The skirt arrived, and am sending it back, because it has issues (see review). I was seriously thinking about getting the tube top even though it looked different in person than the photo, because I was going to get the capelet, too, so I'd have the same look of the photo for the maxi skirt.....Now that I've seen both in person, I don't know about going through the hassle of getting the capelet.
Half the things don't look as good as depicted in photos (quality/workmanship/fabric sheerness). Hate to write that, because I really like FP. I've ordered alot from here, but am considering "in person" purchases only from now on.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Wyoming
age:over 45
body type:slender
Unique top!
1.12.2012
" The beading detail is what makes this top special. It really is pretty. But what sold me was the color. I got the lavender and plan to wear it with the lavender mesh half slip that's also on sale. Lavender is hard to find but one of my favorite colors. I do think this top runs small though. I usually wear a XS or S in FP tops, but since the only size available in the lavender was L I took a chance and ordered it. It's a little longer than ideal, but it does fit me. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Mesh Half Slip
4.2 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:santa cruz, ca
age:14-20
body type:petite
Cute but...
1.10.2012
" I loved this top online and bought it when it went on sale! However I was expecting it to be more form fitting and less of just a straight tube. It looks very cute on but even with my tiny chest (32 B) it was difficult to get on and off. I can imagine that any bigger would definitely be more difficult. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:US
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
love it!
1.2.2012
" I saw this in stores and bought the ivory in a smal. it fits perfectly (i wear a 34B) and it helps that it is stretchy. I was afraid it would be hard to wear since it is cropped but I wore it easily with a high waist skirt. It looked really cute! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:Greenwich Ct
age:21-25
body type:slender
not for busty girls
12.31.2011
" this is a very nice layering piece, definitely worth the price. but if you have a large bust like me it kind of looks awkward. sizing up would help, i'm a 32C and ordered the small, the medium would definitely work better "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Smocked Beaded Bandeau
Name:
Location:las vegas, nv
age:26-30
body type:slender
a delicate little tube
12.31.2011
" I bought this bandeau in the store as soon as it went on sale. it is an easy throw on piece to add on to any highwaisted bottom. (i love to wear mine with the high waisted two piece lace skirt.) I bought the black one and now want one in every color. I'm 5'8" and a size 30/32b top and went with a medium for a little extra length. they do run small so beware. that is the only issue if you are busty. I do love this gem of a top though. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Two Tone Pieced Lace Maxi
4.9 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
1 2 next>>