Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

High Waisted Skirt

Stretch knit high waisted mini skirt. Elastic pull on waistband. * 95% Cotton, 5% Spandex * Machine Wash * Imported Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 20" Waist: 25 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Customer Reviews for High Waisted Skirt
Review 1 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Exactly as pictured
7.20.2011
" This skirt is exactly as pictured - it is figure flattering, a beautiful colour, hugs right and holds tight. It's a great addition to my wardrobe! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
Good staple piece
5.4.2011
" I love this skirt, I have the black in XS I"m 5'1 110) and it fits perfect. I really wanted the XS but it was too small, not a problem though because the XS worked out fine. I tried it on with a few tanks, slouchy sweaters and it works with everything. Can be dressed up with heels, or dressed down with some boots. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:massachusetts
age:26-30
body type:athletic
perfect
4.12.2011
" i love this skirt and am obsessed with it and wear it all the time. dress it up, dress it down, tuck in a shirt, have an oversized t over it, its just amazaballs with everything. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:North Carolina/Germany
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
My go-to piece
4.3.2011
" i LOVE THIS SKIRT. my black one is getting faded because i've worn it close to a million times, so I think i'll be buying another, but i'm totally ok with that! I bought a medium, just because in my experience with skin-tight materials that aren't thick body-con, sometimes you can see right through them...which no one wants. BUT, i don't have that problem at all with this skirt. I wear it during daytime, and nighttime. Also, sometimes i yank it up and wear it as a super-tight tube top with a pair of high-waisted shorts and a belt. super cuteeee. I wish i had better pictures, but here are some examples! ***TOTALLY WORTH IT, BUY BOTH COLORS*** also, i feel like i should add that you don't have to wear it so high. I fold mine over all the time, and sometimes i pull it up high, but just throw a cropped shirt over it. or a sweatshirt and some tights, whatever works. <3 happy shopping!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:new yorkkk:)
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
so flattering!
3.24.2011
" i am soooo happy with this skirt. the taupe is exactly how it is pictured. its soo oflattering on my body (im 114 lbs, 5'5 34b) and long enough to wear to work and school! im soo happy with it, another great free people buy! its a little bit thin, but still wearable! love it "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Kirkland WA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Great basic piece to have!
1.23.2011
" I LOVE this skirt!! Such a great basic skirt that is soooo versitile!! Can wear it scrunched, high waisted, low waisted, and layer many different ways!!! Options are endless!!! Fit is true to size as I picked up my usual size in FP, xs. LOVE!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Must Have!!
1.22.2011
" I bought this skirt last winter in black because the price was awesome and I wear it all the time. I had been waiting for the taupe color and it finally became available, so I snatched it up! I am 5'4" and around 117 lbs. I have the black in a small and the taupe in a medium (that's all that was available) and I think I like the medium better. It doesn't ride up as much. Both look great though! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great Skirt, so so quality
12.22.2010
" The fit and style of this skirt is right on, and just as every other reviewer said, a wonderful staple to have in your wardrobe, and super wearable. However, after a couple washes it seems to lose its stretch, and has become a littler looser than I would like it to. Possibly could be solved by sizing down, but was overall slightly dissappointed in its longevity (I've had it about 3 months), but its pretty inexpensive, so not a huge deal. Definitely would still reccommend though. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:NZ
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
brilliant wardrobe basic!
12.17.2010
" I ordered the black in a small and found it a bit too big in the waist but just right on the hips (25" waist 35" hips) which is fine. neat basic to have in your wardrobe, very flattering and very versatile piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:West Springfield MA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Size up if you.......
12.2.2010
" I decided to go up a few sizes than my normal size since this skirt seems to run tight, glad I did. My intentions were to wear this skirt knee length and the large was perfect for just that. It's not loose at all, thinking to go up a few sizes and all it would be, but not at all. The material is very stretchy and thin. Im glad I purchased the taupe color and hope this skirt brings out a lot of use. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfect!
12.1.2010
" This is such a great skirt! You can wear it so many different ways! High waisted, lower for a longer skirt, longer and folded over, or even as a tube. I am 5'4", 120 pounds, 26" waist, and the S fits perfectly. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Norwalk, CT
age:14-20
body type:petite
Perfect Essential
11.29.2010
" This skirt (I got it in black) is the perfect thing to have in your closet, especially on those days that you are rummaging through your closet looking for something cute to go out in. I love it for going out or even for dressing down when I still want to feel cute. I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!!! :-) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Wonderful!
11.17.2010
" It it such a wonderful piece of staple clothing! It is a must have! So versatile and inexpensive. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Clarendon hills
age:14-20
body type:petite
PERFECT
11.14.2010
" This skirt fit me perfect. i was hesitant to buy it at first because i thought it would be to long on me since i am only 5'2 but it actually was a perfect length! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:Kansas
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Thin material
10.26.2010
" I bought two skirts from free people. This one and the scrunch skirt. I decided to send this one back. The material is thin and hugging enough it shows any imperfections. I think for girls with nothing to hide, this would be a perfect very flattering skirt, but that is not me "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:massachusetts
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
waist is a bit big
10.17.2010
" i'm 5'8' and a half and weigh 150lbs and have a 25 inch waist and 38 inches around hips/butt and i bought a medium so it is a bit big in the waste but it fit fine everywhere else. i did not find that the skirt was at all see through but maybe thats because i bought the right size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:ca
age:26-30
body type:petite
Highwaisted skirt sz m
8.28.2010
" A little loose on the waist. Very cute - returned for size small. Waiting for it to arrive. Nice basic staple "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:CT
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
PERFECT!
7.29.2010
" True to size. Makes my butt look great. Not recommended for big girls because it hugs every curve and shows every flaw. Which is not a problem for me but it might be for others. I'm 5'4'' 125 lbs and it fits like the model except goes down to right where my knee cap starts when it is at my waist. Practical simple and elegant! Can be dressed up or down and great for the price. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
my go to skirt!
7.21.2010
" i'm obsessed with this skirt! i just ordered it in the new color i cant wait until it comes. It's the perfect skirt to dress up or down and its super flattering! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for High Waisted Skirt
Name:
Location:chicago
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
best fp item i've ever bought!!
7.2.2010
" let me start by saying i've tried on a billion of these skirts and this one is BY FAR the most flattering AND the best value! i'm about 5'5" and usually wear a size 4 bottoms- sometimes 6 because i have a pretty curvy booty. but this was super flattering, hugged my curves just right while making my waist look tiny! i got a medium just because i was worried about it being too tight/see through, and it's perfect. the length is an inch or two longer than i'd prefer, but it's easy to scrunch it a little or adjust it so it's no problem. i've tried this on with about 10 different tops from my closet and it looks great with all of them! it's easily my new wardrobe stable- my advice is to buy this skirt asap!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>