Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Like a Virgin Dress

Pieced together embroidered mesh and gauzy cotton sleeveless dress. Cutout detailing at the upper back. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Like a Virgin Dress
Review 1 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Better in Eggshell
2.23.2014
"I first purchased this dress in stores in the white eggshell color. I purchased a large because it was the only one there, and it made layering underneath so easy. The dress is perfectly adorable and flows so well. For whatever reason, I liked the eggshell much more than I enjoyed the black version of this dress (which I also ordered because I thought it'd be just as fantastic).The stitching of flowers shows up much better in the eggshell version of the dress."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Truly Wanted to Like It...but
1.27.2014
"This dress looks so cute on the model, but I was disappointed. I'm usually a sz. 8/10, 36 D and ordered a med. While it fit in the bust, the rest of the dress looked like a tent! if you think its going to look somewhat form fitted like the model, it won't! Unfortunately had to return it : ("
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Quite Lovely
12.19.2013
"Fits great and really flattering. Even for us over 45's it is pretty, comfy and sexy all at once. Highly recommend getting it. I am really happy with this purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
comfy go-to LBD
12.18.2013
"the fit feels a bit loose as designed, which i actually really appreciate in a go-to LBD that is comfy and not form-fitting. i'm 5'3" and the length is also great, with the longest part just above my knees and the shorter lining still providing sufficient coverage. i got the black and it's not see-through so i don't need to wear a bra with it. the mesh panels are strategically placed so that they aren't too scandalous at all. this turned out to be a very practical purchase as the dress is versatile and can be dressed up and down."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Lovely
7.20.2013
"This dress is lovely.It would fit all shapes and sizes, It is not big and looks exactly like on model. Must have."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Cute, But Way Too Big
7.14.2013
"Okay, I got the chance to hit up a Free People store that opened recently in my area! I had wanted this dress for awhile (I want the denim color, but they didn't have it in store) so I tried it on just to have an idea on sizing. I'm glad I did, because it was huge. I usually wear a Medium in Free People dresses, and I ended up in an XS. Even then I could have gone down a little bit, but it was okay. I would at least size down one size when ordering! Otherwise, it's a beautiful dress and I'm looking forward to getting the Denim in an XS when it's available :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:DC area.
age:41-45
body type:petite
So Beautiful!
7.9.2013
"This is so much more special in person! I am 5'2 32a and ordered the XS. It is roomy but not big. I did not need to wear a bra because even though I got the cream color you can not see through it. I simply want to wear this dress everyday! It is the perfect length for my height. I love it. If you are on the fence about this dress I suggest you give it a try!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Very pretty
6.19.2013
"I agree with another review about how flattering this item is, it's quite simply amazing on. The only reason I gave it a 4 star rating is that it's more of a tunic if you are A) over 25 , thats me, and or B) tall which I am at 5'9" That being said it darling. But to me a top not a dress."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:petite
GORGEOUS dress that is also HUGE
6.19.2013
"I must say - this dress is even more beautiful in the store than it appears to be online, especially the washed denim colour, which is much more vibrant in person. However, I am begging Free People to please consider introducing their clothes either in petite sizes or at least making their XS more akin to an XS from most other good retailers. I understand that the aesthetic of FP is much more carefree and bohemian but be that as it may, there is no reason for the clothes to be completely shapeless. This dress hung so low and so loose on me that it was pretty close to being immodest, which is ironic, considering its sweet girl appearance. FP, please introduce smaller sizes for us smaller girls. The last time i bought a sweater from FP, it literally fell off my shoulders and down my waist, falling at my feet. I buy a lot of clothes and that has never happened to me. I am small but I am full-figured and clothes usually stay on.
All that said, I LOVE this dress. Please introduce it in a smaller size so that I can wear it. THANKS!"
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
I. Just. Can't...
6.19.2013
"Can't find the words to express the experience of this dress. Aghhhhhhhh! That's the only word.
5'7", 135lbs, 32b. XS ivory fits Ughmazing. Not too fitted or relaxed - accentuates smallest part of u then flows gently down the hips. Other customers in store and sales associate also agreed it's spectacular. Very soft and princessy and flowy. Just very very special.
My bra strap does show in back, however. I hafta figure out this problem...otherwise, it's perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Denver
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect white dress
6.13.2013
"I am in love with this dress! I bought it to wear as a bridesmaid dress for a beach wedding in August. It is girly, flowy, sexy, and so comfy. I can't wait to wear it for the wedding. It will also be super easy to dress down - looks great with a jean or leather jacket, flip flops, tights and boots... very versatile. I am 5'3 105 lbs and the XS fits great. It's a little loose but I really like the fit."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Montréal
age:26-30
body type:petite
Looovee!
6.11.2013
"Usually the Medium it makes me, this dress is a little big for me... but it is very comfy and I love it! =)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:illinois
age:21-25
body type:petite
Very unsure
5.29.2013
"I just received this in the mail today and i'm a pretty short/small girl 5'0 100lbs and i got the XS in the vanilla color. It's REALLY big on me which maybe that could be the style. i don't know how i feel about it yet. i will probably give it a few days and maybe return it or keep it if i can see myself wearing it around. but i really want to love the dress. it is beautiful. maybe just not on me."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
age:21-25
body type:curvy
A fairy princess
5.29.2013
"I received this dress in the mail I got it in the blue in a medium my regular FP size. I love it! It's so pretty and the lace is so intricate! I'm only 5'4 so it's pretty long goes to my knees. It makes me feel like a fairy princess though! And I have not problem with the back my bra doesn't show! It's a great dress :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:TX
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Both sweet and beautiful.
5.26.2013
"I haven't bought this dress yet, though I tried it on in a store and plan to order it soon. I didn't want to take it off. The blue color is my favorite, because it has a sweet demure look to it and you can really see the detailing of the dress. I'm 5'8", 140 lb. and the small fit perfectly. Frankly, I can't wait to receive it in the mail; it really does make you feel like a princess when you try it on. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because wearing a bra with it is very tricky; I'm still not sure what to do about it. I only tried the blue and black on. You CAN go braless in the black one, but for the blue one, your nipples will show through if you don't wear a bra (I assume the same is true for the white). I'm not sure what type of bra you can wear that isn't going to show through the cutout in the back, so I guess I'll have to go bra shopping with the dress on later."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:socal
age:36-40
body type:slender
feel like a princess
5.24.2013
"I've been eyeing this one for a while. Love the feminine lace and uneven hem line. This is the perfect casual day dress. I originally thought I wanted ivory, but ended up buying the denim after seeing it person. It's a great neutral color. I sometimes wear a medium in the dresses to try for a little extra length, but in this one, the medium hung too low on my chest. The small was perfect at the top. It's just a hair short for my taste, but it is so pretty that I have to overlook it! For reference, I'm 5'8" 135."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Akron, Oh
age:36-40
body type:slender
Even better on!
4.24.2013
"I just bought this dress and I have to say I am in love with it! It is feminine and adorable on! I cannot wait to wear it! I am 5'7" 125 and I ordered the small fits perfect!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Like a Virgin Dress
Name:
Location:Austin Texas
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
really really cute.
4.17.2013
"I really like this dress. I was worried the bust area would be too tight but it fits perfectly. It's comfy and you can just throw it on and go. It is a little short, but thankfully not too bad!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo