Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Bella Donna Dress

Stunning crochet "V"-neck dress with crisscross straps in back. High-low style. Slightly oversize fit. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length in front: 29" Length in back: 41 Bust: 29" Strap Length: 17 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Bella Donna Dress
Review 1 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:nc
age:14-20
body type:slender
love
2.13.2012
"i'm 5' 10" and 125lbs and the dress fits me just like the model. i got a small but had to exchange it for an XS because it ran huge.
got each color and am in love with them!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Czech Republic
age:21-25
body type:petite
I'm sad :-(
2.7.2012
"I ordered a size S. I'm from Czech Republic - I EU/36 size. Dresses are great to me, I'd say it's size EU/40. Besides that, I had to pay high duties :-( I have to go back dresses and I will have to pay additional postage to america. :-( It took me a lot of money already. With that, I would be so great, I had not. Besides hanging on me. Dress is without shape."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Perth, Australia
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Bella Donna Bellisimo!
2.7.2012
"I had my eye on this little number from the get go! As I live in Australia, I try to avoid returning by reading reviews on garments prior to purchasing - thanks to all you ladies that take the time to review your purchases! Everyday I would check the FP site with baited breath...finally when the first review went up I took the plunge and made my order in fear of missing out! I sized down on the advice of the reviewer and got a S. I love this its unique, well made, can be dressed up or down love, love, love it! I purchased the viscose slip in black (would of preferred the purple as shown on the model but alas all sold out). Looks fantastic - I am yet to step out in it due to the fact that I work on a mine site fly in / fly out but on my next break watch out Perth. That is the only reason I have given it 4 rather than the full 5 stars. Thank you FP for offering your wares to our sunny shores I am addicted and having spread the word think I am on a few husbands/boyfriends hit lists for sharing my FP addiction with my girlfriends!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:so cal
age:41-45
body type:athletic
love love love it!!
2.6.2012
"i knew right when i saw this on the website that i had to have it. so glad i got it when i did as the white one is no longer available. it does fit a bit loose but that's how it's supposed to fit. i wear it with a black seamless romper or bando and a pair of shorts. i am 5'4" and 125 pounds and got a medium. i opted for that size because i am a 34 D up top. very good quality and well made. i'm sure it will be one of my go to outfits this summer. highly recommend!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, California
age:26-30
body type:slender
Awesome!
2.3.2012
"I was nervous about this dress after reading the previous reviews, but thankfully, I'm totally in love with it. Yes it's a little loose. Yes the color is a little different than in the magazine image, but the other photos are more true to real life color (I wouldn't describe it as yellow, more just creamy/antique/off-white). I tried this on with the Silk Florals Maxi Slip, tan wedges, a super faded light blue denim vest and a Sibilia necklace similar to the Bryce Canyon necklace on this website (same maker/color/style only triangular shaped because Bryce Canyon sold out last year). It all looks ridiculously good together. If you are crazy for crochet, you will probably find this dress worthy of your affection :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Silk Florals Maxi Slip
4.6 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
Bryce Canyon Collar
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 6 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:SC
age:36-40
body type:slender
Irregular
1.29.2012
"Very dissappointed when I tried this on only to realize that this one is def an irregular as it hangs crooked from the back and the straps are sewn on far to the left side of the back. Obvously a dud. When i tried shifting the dress to make it straight in the back it was then crooked in the front and this is the reason for 3 stars. Otherwise the dress fit fine being just a bit loose and does have a cheap yellow undertone for color. It is not off white as appears in the pics. Guess I am stuck with the dress despite the mishap in this one because I have already purchsed the cami dress to go underneath and my JC gladiators go great just like in the pic and I HATE HATE HATE spending MY $ on return shipping when it is not my fault. I am not happy with the defect at all and of the prospect of having the hassle of returning it and hoping to get another in my size that is not an irregular. I believe I may be able to fix it myself with some needle and thread. I am beginning to be frustrated with the quality of many of my most recent FP purchases/gifts and am beginning to turn my eye toward other designers. For reference I am 5' 5" 115 pounds 36D and the small in this was a good fit if hadn't been a dud."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb1.30.2012
Hi, we hate to have you spend your money on return shipping for a defective item too! I've passed your info on to customer service and someone should be in touch soon to help with a return label!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:petite
WOW! BEAUTIFUL!
1.27.2012
"I absolutly love this dress! I love the look and feel of crochet. I bought the red and it is so flattering! I layered over a deep puprle bodycon dress, ADORABLE! i can see this going way into summer layer over swimsuits & rompers. Looks great with sandals or boots!! Get this or you've missed one of the best so far!!!!!!!! btw i am short 5'2" and 108, xs fits perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Like, not love.
1.25.2012
"I bought this in the cream color. No issue with fit as it is cut large. When it arrived I was surprised to see that it was a pale yellow tone. The macramé work is big and open and the piece looks very much like it does in the photo. I'm not really that impressed with the quality of the yarn used. I thought it would make a good coverup at the beach, and I think it will. So I'm keeping it. I'm going to try it with leggings and a layering top for the winter... Would love to see FP style it in some more ways."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:over 45
body type:petite
Huge!!!
1.23.2012
"What is the point of making an extra small that fits a girl who normally wears a medium or large? That's exactly what happened with this dress. I returned an XS to the store because it was way too big and shapeless on me, and it fit the sales girl who wears a medium/large. She is 5'11" and weighs 140 pounds. This is vanity sizing and it's so silly. Please try to rework dresses like this for small people. I love the crochet and the orange color, but I'm really frustrated by the sizing. This is only one in a series of XS Free People items that seem to fit tall ladies better than true XS ladies."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Almost a hit...
1.20.2012
"I think I'm going to keep this, but I have to make up my mind. Everyone should look at the last image of the red dress. See how the diamond/teardrop crochet pattern at the waist looks "thicker", that's because the dress sticks out and makes a weird ridge there. It does NOT lay flat as it appears in the catalouge shot. It's wildly unflattering. Compounding the problem is that is the place where the dress is the least sheer, so it's not obvious that the dress was poorly constructed or if you're tubby. (There's a reason the studio model stands 3/4 with her hand on her hip as opposed to profile with her arms to her side!!! Give it up FP, think about the logistics of these designs and stop concealing unflattering construction with "magic" angles and clothes pinned to the model. It's driving me to other designers in a big way.) Furthermore, if you ordered out of the catalouge, as I did, before seeing the studio shots, you were sorely disappointed. The hi/lo hem is as pictured in the studio shots and not nearly as dramatic as in the catalouge shots. That said, I'm still thinking I might keep this just because I don't have a casual red dress, and I love crochet dresses. If you get this, size down a full size, it's huge. If between sizes, go down 1.5 sizes. What a frustrating dress."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love it!
1.18.2012
"Definately size down. I am a big girl, 5'10", 150 lbs. I wear a 30 or 31 jean size. Usually always wear a large in FP tops. Went with the M in this because it is an open design. It fits just like the pictures. The back hangs to just above my ankles and I am tall. It is very low in the front, but I am small up there, so that could be part of it!! I think it will be very versatile. You could wear it with skinny jeans and a layering top until the weather gets warmer. I am in Colorado. It is very pretty and well made!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large